??!
16 photos
Ford Fiesta

Ford Fiesta

WT, WS, WZ, etc...
3.6 from 153 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (3)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (3)
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (3)
  • Braking
    4.0 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (3)
  • Suspension
    4.7 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.7 (3)
  • Handling
    5.0 (3)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (3)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (3)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (3)
  • Features
    4.3 (3)
Previous
Next
Emanon01

Emanon01Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 12 reviews
  • 7 likes

Highly recommended!! Economical ✅ Reliable ✅ Practical ✅

published

My wife has owned a 2009 and a 2016 Ford Fiesta that were purchased new from dealership both have performed amazingly without fault. Have never had any of the issues I’ve seen reviewed on here which might be due to having maintained car very well with regular services always on time. The 2009 model we sold in 2016 had 120,000km and can confirm it is still running in perfect condition. I have no doubt the 2016 model will also perform the same. Some great things about the 2016 model is it handles well either long distance or around town, very economical with a full tank costing only 30-40$, comfortable drive with a little kick in it and smooth off the mark.

Purchased in August 2015 at Ford Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
GSC

GSCPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

What a brilliant little all rounder.

published

Bought 2009 manual 1.6 in 2014 with 66,000km on clock for $8,700 and sold it for $6,000 five years and 50,000km later. A brilliant little driver's car with a torquey engine and great steering / suspension for a "standard" model. Had prerty much same performance as the 2007 Suzuki Swift Sport we had earlier. General quality is not that great compared to a Japanese car but it was super cheap to run parts / service wise. If I had a child looking for a first car this would be my first choice.

Purchased in November 2014 at Private seller for $8,700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2009
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Kristie

KristieBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Cannot kill this cheapo legend

published

Bought 2007 model as ex demo. Has no bells and whistles thus my mechanic says it will go forever. So far put 178000kms on it and going strong. Pretty good on fuel.

Purchased in December 2008.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2007
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Hatchbacks

Find out how Ford Fiesta compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Beardy Bonce

Beardy BonceSydney, NSW

  • 20 reviews
  • 12 likes

Great little car

published

We bought a used, low kms, 2010 5 door 1.6 Zetec as a first car for our son. My wife used the car as a daily drive until he had passed his test.
The car is well equipped, economical, nippy and roomy. I previously owned a 2010 Focus XR5 and think that this fiesta is almost as much fun to drive.
We have added after market gator parking sensors.
Great car, can't fault it so far.
The dealer we bought it through was also fantastic...

BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Natalie

NataliePerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Good little run around

published

The performance has been really good so far, after six years (and a few charges) I have only now had to change the battery which I think is rather good.
The car handles very well and is responsive to movements, it is good in traffic and comfortable to drive. I wish the Bluetooth didn't just connect to your phone for calls made and received but also connected to Bluetooth devices for music.

BadgeCL
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2012
ricko

ricko

  • 2 reviews

Love It Great Little Car

published

We have a 2017 WZ Fiesta Sports 1.0L turbo 3 cyl ecoboost engine, I have driven quite a few small cars over the last few years, but not as enjoyable to drive as this little car, it does long trips comfortably and very good city driving, delivers good fuel economy 4.7 to 4.9 Highway Driving 5.5 to 6.00
City Driving. My Wife and both drive it, she drives it gently & I drive it with a bit of stick, and it copes very well.
There is plenty of leg room in the front, possibly could do with some extra gauges.
Overall a very good vehicle.

BadgeSport EcoBoost
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Lindsay

LindsaySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Good Small car

published

Bought after Trading Ford KA2 Collection with over 200000 ks on the clock, Fiesta very Low Ks 38000 so far good car bought Manual, instead of powershift which was problematic, So Far fiesta is a great drive and, Like the Rd holding good power for City commute and nice handling, I have the CL model which is not much different to the LX or Zetec.

BadgeCL
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
hooch

hoochsydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

ECOnetic great commuter

published

had econetic for 7 years from near new. used for commuting long ks. never skipped a beat. always serviced with ford also without issue. over 130,000 ks from original tyres, brakes & clutch. changed all at once, clutch still had a heap on it, brakes still maybe 20,000. fuel economy is as quoted. regularly does better than 3.8l/100k. cheapest car ever! also good fun to drive, not a lot of power but good handling. nothing impressive with body or interior quality. panel fit is everywhere. comfort is bog standard, but thats what its designed for! stereo and bluetooth is good. AC struggles in high summer. heater takes ages to get warm. i've also been surprised with what i can fit in the back

BadgeECOnetic
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSept 2011
Janine

JaninePerth

  • 4 reviews

Great Car

published

Great to drive, park, fast, good visibility, good size boot.
I love this car it's quite sedate before you hit 80klms, but it goes from 80 to 120 in no time a no effort. Have to be mindful of the speed as very easy on the open road to be breaking the speed limit in a quick time.
Handles well on corners. In 8 years the car has had one battery replaced, nothing else and no other issues.

BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2010
Hatchbacks

Find out how Ford Fiesta compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Awesome car!! Absolutely loving it!!

published

I have had this car for about a month now. With 140xxx on the clock, she still drives like new! Previously I had owned a 2006 Kia Rio and my Ford is so much better. I have had no transmission issues (which is claimed to be a massive problem in these cars). Good fuel consumption.
The engine can get a bit noisy but that’s barely a problem. There is also surprisingly a good amount of leg room, I can fit 4 people in this car (squishy of course because it’s a hatchback).
I as of yet have no regrets!!

BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Julz

JulzSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Best daily car EVER

published

I used to own a highly modified 2008 Subaru STI pushing 300kw at the wheels. I sold it and purchased the Fiesta ST as a downgrade but boy was I surprised.. It's actually more fun and easier to drive! Besides going slow in a straight line this thing is literally a train on rails when cornering. Boost kicks in very early around 2000rpm so it's always feeling zippy. I get about 600km per tank of fuel. Very decent on petrol especially when I drive partially aggressive.

BadgeST EcoBoost
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2015
Jacob C

Jacob CAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love It!

published

Have a 2016 Fiesta ST with the optional Mountune Kit.
I’ve prevously had a Honda S2000 and Infiniti G37. This car is obviously much smaller than those two, but doesn’t mean it doesn’t pack a punch.

Very responsive steering and throttle. Only complaints are that the Sync Voice system is largely unresponsive and slow.

In all areas of actually driving the car, it’s excellent.

BadgeST EcoBoost
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2017
Niamh

Niamh

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love it

published

Love driving my fiesta. Have had no issues so far. I bought a 2010 model 2 years ago and she is still going strong. Very reliable and cheap to run. I regularly use the car to transport 3 of my dogs - two rotties and a maltese and they all fit comfortably on the back seat.

BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2015
McDev

McDevPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love it!

published

I was a bit wary prior to buying my Ford fiesta ST before due to well known 'ford problems'. But then as I research, it's just the power shift ones! Months later on, I'm still enjoying my car averaging 6.6L/100km in mixed driving. Best of both worlds! The only problem I found in the car is that my cheeks hurt from so much smiling as while I drive it!

BadgeST
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Doug

Doug

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

Excellent car!

published

Very good fuel consumption, easy to park and drive around. Has all the features necessary. Big booth as well. Hatch is a good option for carrying bags around. Very comfortable ergonomic seats. This is the best car I have ever owned. Drives very well in the city and on the open road.

BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Hatchbacks

Find out how Ford Fiesta compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Slik57

Slik57Adelaide

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

What a ripper

published
BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2014
ALANAKELLY

ALANAKELLYKerang

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Love this

published

I love the ford econetic and its fuel economy and how quite it is on the road. This car is amazing and i love it. So sporty and drives great. Love the electrical features and how compatible it is with your phone. One of the smartest cars that ive come across.

BadgeECOnetic
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2014
Ash Z

Ash ZHopetoun, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Perfectly designed Hatchback

published

Green 5speed.
They should've left the design process and stopped when they reached the WS.
It's sleek, looks awesome in the metallic green with low profile wheels.
Amazingly zippy with excellent pickup off the go and smooth change through the gears.
Parts and components are easy to get and cheap, not that we've had to replace anything on it, but at least if we need to, we know we're covered.
It fits 3 kids in the back comfortably and plenty of room in the front for a 6ft adult.
Brakes can get a lil spongy at times, but nothing a small bleed doesn't fix. Great on fuel economy and they just last.

BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2010
Rheeann

RheeannSydney

  • 2 reviews

Perfectly Styled Little Car.

published

I absolutely LOVE my fiesta. It is a manual car that I have owned for 5 years and I have no had one major issue with it. I love it so much that when my husband suggested buying a bigger 'family' car, I struggled to find one that I liked. The interior feels quality and is really nicely put together. The voice recognition isn't very good with my voice but it does work most of the time. I love the colour white that ford has. The power is quite good for a small car.

BadgeCL
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2012
JLJL

JLJLVictoria, Australia

Great car with no problems.

published
BadgeSport EcoBoost
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2014
Page 1 of 4
See all Ford Fiesta reviews

Questions & Answers

Roy O.

Roy O.asked

Fiesta

As a fiesta eco boost 1000cc got a cam belt or time omg chain?

No answers
Nico

Nicoasked

Fiesta WP (2004-2005)

I am considering purchasing a 2005 Ford Festiva. Are there any common issues associated with this model?

No answers
Rach

Rachasked

Fiesta

Hi, I'm looking at buying a 2010 Ford Fiesta LX that's done 90,000ks. It just had its 90k service.
I've had it RAA checked and they've said it's due for timing belt change (10 years/150,000ks). How much would this cost? And are there any other issues I should consider? Thanks

4 answers
Kristie
Kristie

Pretty sure I never changed my timing belt and I’m at 180k

Fred17
Fred17

I purchased a 2009 WS Fiesta Zetec last October and found it required the timing belt change when I read the manual. Given the previous owner's attitude to servicing, there was no way it would have been done. I did this: I bought the required parts online. I could get them cheaper than my mechanic could. Change the water pump at the same time. Be aware that "timing belt kits" often come with camshaft seals, and if your mechanic goes ahead and does them, you'll then need new bolts for the sprocket(s) they have to remove to get at the seals. They are once only usage "torque to yield" bolts. I'd suggest not to do the seals unless they obviously need replacement- and get the bolts in first. I'd also advise to have a new accessory belt on hand, mine started disintegrating within days of the timing belt work because they're stretch fit and not really designed to be reused. If the car runs like a hairy goat after the work, the cam timing's out. This happened to me, there were 3 bolts supplied to "lock" the camshaft and the workshop used the wrong one. All up cost for me was $1200, but that included a service with oil filter and 5W-20 oil (the recommended grade), a new driveshaft seal plus fitting, a wheel balance and a few other odds and sods. If no other work is required and you don't change the cam seals it might be in the $700 to $800 region. My mechanic has reasonable hourly rates, but charged me $104 for "special tools hire" which annoyed me. Presumably that wouldn't happen at a Ford dealership but they'd undoubtedly find other parts "needing" replacement.

Fred17
Fred17

It's likely to be in the region of $700-800 although my service was ~$1200 including parts. I had the gearbox end drive shaft seal replaced, a wheel balance and other odds and sods. I also supplied many of the parts as I could get them cheaper online than the workshop could get them in. Be aware that many "timing belt kits" come with cam seals, and if the workshop goes ahead and changes them, you'll need new sprocket bolts as they're single use only "torgue to yield". In my case that caused a delay of a week while they were ordered in and fitted. Also, the accessory belt on my car nearly disintegrated within days of getting it back: it's stretch to fit and not really designed for reuse, so get a new one of those as well as a water pump kit. You may also need a new thermostat, or at least it's sensible to have the extra parts fitted as so much has to be dismantled to do the timing belt. If you avoid the cam seals (i.e. they look fine) you might save up to $100 or possibly more in costs.

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 8 Ford Fiesta
CategoryHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacks
Starting Price $15,825$22,525$27,490$17,825
TransmissionManualAutomaticManualDual-Clutch (DCT) and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels15" Steel16" Alloy17" Alloy15" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption5.8 L/100km5.3 L/100km6.2 L/100km5.8 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 42 L42 L48 L42 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.5L3 Cylinder 1L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.5
Max Power82kW @ 6300rpm92kW @ 6000rpm134kW @ 5700rpm82kW @ 6300rpm
Max Torque140Nm @ 4400rpm170Nm @ 4500rpm240Nm @ 5000rpm140Nm @ 4400rpm
Country of ManufactureThailandThailandGermanyThailand
Safety Features
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Reversing Camera
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Keyless Entry
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)5 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2013Jan 2013Jan 2013Jan 2013
Compare all 8 Ford Fiesta

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.