?
? !
4 photos
Ford Focus LR

Ford Focus LR (2002-2005)

3.8 from 9 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.8

9 reviews
3
(0)
2
(0)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (1)
  • Braking
    5.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.0 (1)
  • Handling
    5.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    5.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (1)
  • Features
    4.0 (1)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Mg08

Mg08Hunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Owner of three LR Focus’

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +1Thumbnail

Purchased in April 2018 for $4,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

This is a perfect car I don't want to leave it in Greece I want it here in Australia as I have a d

published
Body£2400
BadgeC-Max
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rusty

Rusty

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Most annoying pile of you know what

published
BodyHatch
BadgeLX
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Ford Focus LR compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Aliocre

AliocreMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Good...to a point

published
BodyHatch
BadgeCL
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lee

LeeGreystanes

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Bad transmission worst ever

published

So far the reliability has been good & its cheap too run but once the transmission starts to play up Ford cant fix so its a bad buy & your stuck with it, just join the class action against Ford & hope for the result to be in your favour cause no-one wants it as a trade in

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Pleasant Driving and steady performance

published
BodyHatch
BadgeST
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2006
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
RjC

RjCsouthaustralia

  • 17 reviews
  • 14 likes

Nice little car

published

for a small car I'm quite impressed!
Steering is fairly responsive, very zippy, and the 5spd manual makes it a fun car to drive. So far no issues and I've got 170k on the clock,
To put fuel in the car you need your key to open the cap, also to open the bonnet you need to move the ford emblem at the front and use the key which gets annoying but it's not a deal breaker, you get used to it and the indicator stick is on the left side of the steering wheel compared to most other cars where it's on the right.
It's cheap on fuel, easy to park, plenty of room inside and it's a zippy little car!

BodySedan
BadgeLX
TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
TheTrue

TheTrueAdelaide

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

A fine car that will last a lifetime!

published

I bought my 2003 LR in 2011 so it was 8 years old and it had 44,000km on it. I service it only once a year and drive it full time. I've only had wear issues - Changed my tyres, changed my plugs etc. I've never had an issue with this car. Ford as a brand is reliable(I've had two Falcons and my current Focus, none of which have ever caused any issues with me). This car will just keep going without a rattle, shake or stutter. Perfect first car and/or perfect get-around everyday car. I've now done 105,000km on it. Long Live The Focus!

BodyHatch
BadgeCL
TransmissionManual
Engine Size1.8
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
andrew_lund

andrew_lundHunter Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Excellent Handling, Easy To Live With

published

I've had the focus for 9 years now, have been really happy with it. Feels well made, doors shut with a satisfying thud! Not much has gone wrong with it, power steering pump died, auto trans needs topping up now and then, and driver's power window needed fixing. However, not bad for a 13-year-old car that lives outside and has 150,000kms on it. Even the stereo still works perfectly, very happy.

BodyHatch
BadgeZetec
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Ford Focus LR compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
See all Ford Focus reviews

Questions & Answers

Erin.louise

Erin.louiseasked

Focus LR (2002-2005)

Does this Model and year of Ford Focus have the dcg and/or clutch problem? Automatic model.

2 answers
kymbo
kymbo

I think all early model focuses had problems but mine does not it is all good & it is an auto...

willy40
willy40

I think that the gearbox problems started around the LW 2011, with the petrol engine and dry clutch DCG

See all Ford Focus questions

Get an answer from our members

Ford Focus LR (2002-2005)

Details

Compare all 20 Ford Focus
CategoryCars, Hatchbacks and Sedans
Starting Price $26,690
TransmissionManual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels16" Alloy
Fuel Consumption8.7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 55 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2L
Max Power96kW @ 5500rpm
Max Torque178Nm @ 4500rpm
Country of ManufactureGermany
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2002
Discontinuation dateDec 2005
Compare all 20 Ford Focus

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.