?
? !
4 photos
Ford Focus LZ (Hatchback) Trend

Ford Focus LZ (Hatchback) Trend (2015-2018)

4.3 from 16 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.3

16 reviews
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (1)
  • Braking
    4.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    3.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.0 (1)
  • Handling
    4.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    2.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    3.0 (1)
  • Features
    3.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Spiro H.

Spiro H.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Well Built

published

I have just sold my 2017 LZ auto hatchback. In my 2 and a half years of ownership I found it to be well built with few discernible rattles or squeaks, the structure was very rigid. The rear view camera is large & clear. The controls are simple to use and it had a good heater and cool air conditioning. Over 18,000 km I averaged 8.8 L/100 km, with 90% of the km's being city/metro driving. It's initial acceleration was not overly brisk but once at 40 km/h and above its mid range performance was strong. At 110 km/h its revs were 2,000 rpm. The ride was a bit firm around town, dropping the tyre pressures from the recommended value helped improve the ride. Overall I was happy with the car and had no problems.

Purchased in November 2017 for $22,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brett

BrettFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

I was amazed with the total package

published
BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sarah

SarahSydney

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love it!

published

Bought this car as second owner with 73,000km and i love it! it looks great drives great couldn't ask for anything more! Never had any issues at all, its great on fuel too! it would be amazing for a first car owner the fact the base model comes with sat nav and cameras is amazing (mines an ecoboost)

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Ford Focus LZ (Hatchback) Trend compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Geoff19

Geoff19adelaide

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

2017 LZ Focus Trend

published
BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size1.5L Ecoboost
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Glydau2014

Glydau2014Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Worst car out there

published
BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tabula Rasa

Tabula RasaFrankston North

  • 5 reviews

Great little car

published

Great little car for basic running around. Packed full of features. Lots of boot space for its size. Feels more like a larger sedan to drive but has the convenience of being a small car for city parking. Loads of tech so its full of features and feels more like a premium vehicle than a small run about

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Haid G

Haid GMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Perform good if think of the price

published

Perform stable and smooth with high speed especially on highway. Engine is quiet.

But the interiors are quite rough, some plastic part come out just after two month purchasing. Air con not very good as running slow.

Think about the safety, it’s quite reliable hatch car with around 20k price.

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

2 years old and still happy !

published

A spritely performer with well weighted controls and great steering feel. Quiet and comfortable cruising on the highway and still responsive enough to offer this old petrolhead some fun in the twisties.
No warranty issues at all after 28000km and fuel consumption typically between 6.0 to 7.5 litres / 100 km.
Sync 2 infotainment / nav superior to many much more expensive cars.
No complaints from me and no intention of trading up any time soon ... well done Ford.

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size1.5 Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
bubblym

bubblymSydney Aust, NSW

  • 20 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great big brother car without powershift.

published

My Jan 2016 ford focus is a great little car, drives smoothly no issues so far great price at time, is the one without the trouble power shift. Good size small family car, good size boot compared to the little brother Fiesta.
Great inclusions with the trend, nav, reversing camera, but missed out on Apple car play by 6 months. But honeslty
not needed if you have nav included with blue tooth, as apple car play uses your data.

Please do passed bad reviews of powershift models scare you from non.

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Ford Focus LZ (Hatchback) Trend compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
baccarat

baccaratmelbourne

LUV IT

published

I have the base model trend hatch and could not be happier with the features- handling- power -and overall style of the car.This car feels and drives like a six with 132kw on tap and good torque.The automatic gearbox is seemless in shifting and the turbo has no lag when flooring from a standstill.The sat-nav sync 3 is so user friendly with a big 8 inch touchscreen.I highly recommend anyone considering this car to buy one it's really a no brainer for the money.

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Clinton and Kreisel

Clinton and KreiselPerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great find in the small car range

published

We bought the new focus, Turbo engine in March 2016 and it has been nothing but a pleasure to drive this car. It's easy to drive around, has got the power in its Turbo and is perfect for city and long distance driving. Great fuel economy too!!!

The interiors are great. The sound system, Bluetooth, sat nav etc and e all touch screens. The cruise controls , volume, FM tuning etc are all buttons on the steering wheel that gives the driver ease of use. Everyone was surprised to see the SAT Nav but this feature is a standard in the base range of the Focus trend (upgrade in most other cars)

Overall, love the car.. winning blue has won our hearts.

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size1.5L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Carole32

Carole32Logan

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Huge improvement

published

The 2016 Ford Focus (LZ) is a huge improvement on the previous LW model. The Powershift transmission and dual clutch have been replaced with a conventional Torque Converter automatic transmission. It's an extremely smooth ride from start to finish with the 1.5l ecoboost engine giving plenty of power.

On an open road or city driving it handles perfectly with no excessive noise and economical petrol consumption.

Inside, the Sync3 technology is intuitive and easy to set up and operate. In fact you get more you'd expect for the base model, Trend.

I haven't had it long but his time Ford got it right - a pleasure to drive and a huge difference to previous models.

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size1.5l ecoboost
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dave of WA

Dave of WAPerth

  • 7 reviews
  • 12 likes

WoW what a drive

published

This is an awesome vehicle- We upgraded our 2011 Focus to the 2017 LZ model we optioned it with the tech pack. Yes- you will want to take the long road home- such is the overall driving experience with this vehicle . The engine/ gearbox combo is best I have ever come across. The sitting position the overall dash/ touchscreen is perfect as is the sat nav -- The "tech pack" includes adaptive cruise control which once you have used it is a must have. Had it only for 3 weeks 400k - too early to comment on durability seems well built. Economy average has been 6.7l/100km on the 1.5 litre turbo.

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
SandyG

SandyGSouth Brisbane

  • 41 reviews
  • 31 likes

The best Focus yet

published
BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
RogetDodger

RogetDodgerCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 12 likes

Great car

published

Done 2500kms. Nearly run in. Engine and auto trans combination fantastic. Handles great and quiet to drive. Fantastic power from the engine. Gets to 100 kph with no effort. Overtaking easy. Good stereo and navigation. Got the $300 convenience pack. Should be standard. Seats very comfortable. Great space inside. Average petrol usage 7.2. Lots of country ks though.

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Ford Focus LZ (Hatchback) Trend compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
SandyG

SandyGSouth Brisbane

  • 41 reviews
  • 31 likes

Functional Comfortable hatch

published
BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.6
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all Ford Focus reviews

Questions & Answers

Glenn H.

Glenn H.asked

LZ (Hatchback) Trend (2015-2018)

Is there any issue with the Lz 2015 manual gearbox? Has there been any recalls over this gearbox?

2 answers
Belinda
Belinda

Sorry Glenn, I don't know, my Focus is an auto, it's great, quick and responsive.

Ian
Ian

I have a 2017 focus sport auto LZ
It's a standard torque converter gearbox. No issues what so ever. Previous models with the PowerShift transmission were a problem.
45000klms on the clock. No squeaks or rattles. It's just the same as I drove it off the lot.
Cheers

See all Ford Focus questions

Get an answer from our members

Ford Focus LZ (Hatchback) Trend (2015-2018)

Details

Compare all 20 Ford Focus
CategoryCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $23,390
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Fuel Consumption5.8 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 55 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.5L
Max Power132kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque240Nm @ 5000rpm
Country of ManufactureThailand
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2015
Discontinuation dateDec 2018
Compare all 20 Ford Focus

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.