?
? !
35 photos
Ford Focus

Ford Focus (page 4 of 18)

LW Mk2, LW Mk1, LS, etc...
3.2 from 353 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.0 (36)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (36)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (33)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (34)
  • Braking
    4.1 (34)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.9 (34)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.3 (32)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (34)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (34)
  • Handling
    3.9 (33)
  • Interior Design
    3.7 (34)
  • Boot Size
    3.8 (34)
  • Comfort
    3.9 (34)
  • Features
    3.6 (32)
Previous
Next
Elizabeth

ElizabethNorthcote

Ford Focus EPAS Power Steering Failure

published

This is just an update on the common EPAS failure in the 2011 - 2015 Ford Focus. I own a 2011 model, which is out of warranty by almost 2 years. After the EPAS steering failed, I was presented with a $6000 bill to repair it. I filed against Ford Australia in VCAT under the Australian Consumer Law. Ford settled and paid for the repair before the court date and the matter has now been finalised. I urge anyone else with this issue to do your research and if possible, file in consumer court under the ACL.

BodyHatch
BadgeTitanium
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Henry

HenryBROOKDALE

  • 4 reviews

Ford Focus, A friendly and practical family car.

published

I often use it to work.Although this car is small, but also can be satisfied with the family.I also often participate in other car friends self-driving tour.I use the car every day.I provide daily maintenance, as well as periodic maintenance.My car is still relatively new, so there are no problems.

BodySedan
BadgeSport
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brad

Brad

  • 5 reviews

WORST CAR EVER

published
BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Ford Focus compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michael

MichaelGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Technically a lemon

published

This car has had numerous issues with its Power-shift transmission\clutch. I bought the car brand-new and it has never had a new car feeling because of it's jerky starts. Very disappointing, but I will give it an extra star for the features and general build quality - it does feel a lot more robust than the other cars in the same class that I test drove.

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
monos111

monos111PAKENHAM

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Stay away .. horrible gear box

published

The gear box is a disaster always have an issue with the gear box and get ford to fix it - like every 10000~15000 K,
It's very dangerous car as it can't take off in the needed speed so it's very dangerous in freeway.

Ford are not trusted anymore and they refuse to take the responsibility of their trouble car which ended up heading to the court.
Very soon will here about a huge figure for combansetion .

BodySedan
BadgeTrend
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jules

JulesPerth

Only a matter of time before there's a fatality....

published
BodyHatch
BadgeAmbiente
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Not happy Jan4

Not happy Jan4Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Avoid Ford Focus LW petrol version with automated dual clutch

published
BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Power steering malfunction

published
BodySedan
BadgeTitanium
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brad C

Brad C

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

2011 FORD Focus Lemon

published

2011 Ford Focus Steering has failed. Its a know issue with Ford Australia but they refuse to recall or fix. USA has done a recall but not Australia. Would not recommend. I refuse to pay for a part thats failed due to no fault of my own. Ford even told me there was nothing I could have done to prevent it and that it is a know issue.

BodyHatch
BadgeAmbiente
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2011
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Ford Focus compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Laura

LauraPerth, WA

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Dangerous to drive

published

Ford have lost the case against ACCC regarding faulty cars yet are refusing to fix the problems with them.
My ford focus stalls (automatic car), it will drive in reverse when I put in drive (and vice versa), the petrol gauge has not worked since day 1 and the time on the radio runs fast even though I always reset it.
The way myself and others are treated by the dealers is also a disgrace.

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

This is a perfect car I don't want to leave it in Greece I want it here in Australia as I have a d

published
Body£2400
BadgeC-Max
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
RachelF

RachelFMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Power Steering Failure

published

You can add my Focus to the list needing to have the power steering replaced. Submitted a claim to Ford Australia for compensation but was denied as the car is out of warranty and too old. It’s only done 30000km. $3004 plus installation for the replacement part which four weeks later I’m still waiting on as they have no stock in Australia. After reading other reviews I will be following this up further with Ford Australia as I too should be entitled to some form of compensation. Apparently this issue was made know to Ford in May 2011; if I was aware of this, I would not have purchased this car. Other than that I have been reasonably happy with the car however in hindsight would not purchase again regardless of power steering issues.

BodyHatch
BadgeAmbiente
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2011
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Paying customer

Paying customer

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awesome Car

published

I have been so lucky I've had the car only for three weeks and have encountered zero problems.
I have the base model,the drive is smooth and quiet and the finish of the car is all quality. The comfort level is outstanding... Compared to my other cars. Fuel is great 7.3/100.
Other all Im very happy..

BodyHatch
BadgeAmbiente
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dagg

Daggmelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Cheap ford substandard customer service.

published

We just had a service, tried to get the inbuilt GPS maps updated. It turns out that is not included, if you want to update the GPS you have to go on to the ford web site and buy a new SD card for $200 with no updates included. So if you want to stay up to date you have to spend $200 each year. This stinks! You can go to Jb HiFi and get a unit with life time updates.

BodySedan
BadgeTDCi
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Disappointing Ford focus

published

I bought new a 2013 ford focus. Was good getting the transmission recall done under warranty in 2016 but the car also needed the main seal replaced. We went through 3 sets of rear tyres to one front set and was puzzled as to why this was happening. 2yrs on now in 2018 and the shutter is back in the transmission so fortunately this was fixed under warranty (within 14,000km of expiry) and once again the main seal was leaking and we had to pay to replace it. A week after this was done the steering assist malfunction light comes on as i start my car. I was unable to drive the car and had it towed..its now costing me thousands to replace the steering rack..just unacceptable from a 5yr old car at 140,000km. Disappointing.

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Ford Focus compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rusty

Rusty

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Most annoying pile of you know what

published
BodyHatch
BadgeLX
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Glydau2014

Glydau2014Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Worst car out there

published
BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Faults

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSport
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stressed out

Stressed out

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Used to have a ford focus

published

The potential to be a great car, but it is not. Faulty transmission that has a 4-5 second delay on acceleration, very dangerous An intermittent fault in the cruise control, also very dangerous, and the noisiest car I have even driven.on non skid surfaces. Trade in value? Informed people do not want them. The Ford dealership did not acknowledge there were any faults. I offered the manager my car for a week to drive his wife and kids around in, he declined the offer. No more Fords for me.

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tabula Rasa

Tabula RasaFrankston North

  • 5 reviews

Great little car

published

Great little car for basic running around. Packed full of features. Lots of boot space for its size. Feels more like a larger sedan to drive but has the convenience of being a small car for city parking. Loads of tech so its full of features and feels more like a premium vehicle than a small run about

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 4 of 18
See all Ford Focus reviews

Questions & Answers

peter

peterasked

Focus LW Mk1 (2011-2012)

anyone had issues with this model? looking to buy one as long as it's not a lemon ,and it is manual

1 answer
Jenny I.
Jenny I.

Hi Peter, I probably can't make a comment on a manual MK1 but trust me if you think of buying an auto, my advise would be to RUN as fast as you can away from it. I have had nothing but trouble with the gearbox in mine and have just had it fixed for the 9th time, so fingers crossed they got it this time. Good luck but buy another brand.

Seren

Serenasked

Focus

Hi I have a 61plate ford focus titanium I have a heating problem it works in all areas but to my feet why what could it be ?

2 answers
bearcat91
bearcat91

Do you mean 19? IF IT IS the current model there are buttons between the temp dials for upper and lower air con outlets. Press for on or off.

Seren
Seren

no its 2011 and yes to change were u want the air to come out works but no heating comes out at the feet area

Sal

Salasked

Focus LV (2009-2011)

Diesel auto model. Does this have the transmission problem?

No answers
See all Ford Focus questions

Get an answer from our members

Ford Focus

Details

Compare all 20 Ford Focus
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $29,990$28,990$34,490$25,990
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.4 L/100km6.4 L/100km6.4 L/100km6.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 52 L52 L52 L52 L
Engine3 Cylinder 1.5L3 Cylinder 1.5L3 Cylinder 1.5L3 Cylinder 1.5L
Max Power134kW @ 4500rpm134kW @ 4500rpm134kW @ 4500rpm134kW @ 4500rpm
Max Torque240Nm @ 5000rpm240Nm @ 5000rpm240Nm @ 5000rpm240Nm @ 5000rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2018Jan 2018Jan 2018Jan 2018
Compare all 20 Ford Focus

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.