?
? !
35 photos
Ford Focus

Ford Focus (page 5 of 18)

LW Mk2, LW Mk1, LS, etc...
3.2 from 353 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.0 (36)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (36)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (33)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (34)
  • Braking
    4.1 (34)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.9 (34)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.3 (32)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (34)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (34)
  • Handling
    3.9 (33)
  • Interior Design
    3.7 (34)
  • Boot Size
    3.8 (34)
  • Comfort
    3.9 (34)
  • Features
    3.6 (32)
Previous
Next
mum knows best....

mum knows best....North sydney

  • 11 reviews
  • 10 likes

Unfixable- Ford should refund or replace

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSport
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Terrible DSG auto gearbox and other problems

published

Awful DSG auto gearbox - shuddered and hesitated when you most needed it. Dealer just fobbed off my complaints - blamed my driving style. Claimed to fix the problem every time I took the car in but nothing changed. Had to replace brake disks after only three years. Brake pads wore through in record time. No longer have any trust or faith in Ford. Will never buy another Ford.

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Skyer

SkyerBrisbane, QLD

  • 19 reviews
  • 10 likes

Heaps of Tiny little issues that just scream imperfection and 1 Big issue

published

Background - 2008 Ford Focus CL LS, bought brand new.

Positives - Nimble, Small, quit quick.

Negatives - Interior has started to fall apart. Mirror is rusting around the edges, back of rear seat glue has separated, gear knob broke, gear sleave broke, radio plug keeps falling off, heater core went just before the 3 year warranty finished. Air box filter screws broke the plastic, light bulbs keep blowing, plastic under radiator fell off on highway, paint has started pealing on the roof, top engine mount has been replaced twice other wise there is a horrible rattle and shake.

Options I should have gotten was cruise control instead we got paint protection which had a lifetime warranty that they don't honour.

BodyHatch
BadgeCL
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2008
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Ford Focus compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Herbie

HerbieSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent handling

published

We have 2013 auto turbo diesel S.
Great pulling power when turbo kicks in. Around 6.5 Lts per 100 km. Very economical. We can drive from Sydney to the Gold Coast on a tank.
Front seats have great support. Driving position is totally adjustable to suit any body shape. We have silver paint and car looks great. I replaced Michelin tyres with same, not great mileage, but excellent braking and handling. 60k service just completed. It was having transmission vibration issues with rough changes. 60k transmission oil and filter replaced and now drives like new again. Don’t go longer than 4 years or 60k to change trans oil or you will have same problem.

All in all, we are very Happy with equipment level and value.

BodyHatch
BadgeSport
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dkman

Dkman

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Ok

published

Brought privately (mistake) has 26,000 on odometer and it started shuddering upon acceleration . Took it to nova ford and they found someone had not put the could connections back in their correct place . No problems since but after reading all the bad reviews for this car I will sell it as I have no confidence in it . The ford fixed to the tcm and clutch material will probably be sufficient but would rather get rid of it .

BodyHatch
BadgeAmbiente
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Yaas

YaasHillside

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very good second hand car

published

The driving experience is very good. Handles surprisingly well for a ten year old car. Can be a bit loud while driving but that is to be expected.
My model is the ghia which has leather seats which are great but suffers a bit in the heat. The aux is in the dash which is a bit awkward as well
Currently costing around 100 dollars of 98 fuel a month, half yearly service just under 300 dollars and registration renewal which 600 dollars.

BodyHatch
BadgeGhia
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Matt A

Matt ANundah

  • 5 reviews

Could be better

published

a solid car mechanically, just need to be careful of paint peeling on plastic parts of the chasis. This can end uo costing you a bit in cosmetic repairs, but wont stop you from getting from a to b. Fuel efficiency is pretty good across long drives but drops significantly in suburban traffic.

BodyHatch
BadgeZetec
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2011
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Shefo

ShefoMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good car - still few to improve.

published

Fuel consumption is O.K considering the 2.0L engine. Car boot size is average. People sitting in rear seats will suffer a little bit because of the small room for legs. Side mirrors don't give the best vision angle. Car speed and acceleration is great. Brakes are fine. All options are handy: cruise control, Bluetooth, Phone keypad, information screen and multifunction wheel. Front seats are great and far better than the rear ones. AC is powerful.

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bec Stone

Bec Stone

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car

published

The focus provides a reliable and decent driving experience. Runs fairly quietly, although there are some issues with clunky gear changes in the transmission which is a known fault in this model. Great on fuel Approx 15L/100k. Great boot space for a small sedan. Interior is pleasantly furnished and dashboard easy to read and access

BodySedan
BadgeTrend
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Ford Focus compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Wendy

WendyNortheast, VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Was great car until.......it wasn't!

published
BodySedan
BadgeTitanium
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
DSL

DSLPerth

  • 3 reviews

Relaxing Driving Experience

published
BodyHatch
BadgeLX
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Aliocre

AliocreMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Good...to a point

published
BodyHatch
BadgeCL
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Fred

FredCobram

  • 7 reviews
  • 9 likes

Fantastic little car

published

Model # Ford Focus Titanium 2012 Model, Awesome little car, very good On Diesel, get up to around 800 kms on a. Tank, I have the turbo Diesel Model which doesn't have the issues with the carbon canister or auto transmission. it has been a awesome Little car, Have now done 35000KM and just changed the Tyres to Kuhmo ECSTA LE SPORT KU39 which are much quieter than the original Michelin Sports 3 tyres that were fitted from factory, I use it for getting from client to client, ( I travel from Client to client) Very Happy and love the Winning blue color.. Have put mine up for sale only because I need a Car that I can put 3 baby seats in the back with room in boot for a double pram.

BodyHatch
BadgeTitanium
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Crystal WILD

Crystal WILD

  • 4 reviews

GREAT CAR

published

I brought my ford focus in 2007 brand new it was sitting on the lot but yes at the time I was looking at another car at that time I was looking at a Holden at the time cause I am a big holden fan I found the ford focus sitting on the lot and it just caught my eye. and friend of mine owned one of the previous models and yes I fell in love so I wen't to the car dealer to start the process by it end of the day I had the finance and started signing the contract I love my ford focus since having my car I have started spending money on it buy buying new alloy's beefing up the suspension tinting the windows and a lot more but no I would not update to the current model as the boot is smaller as well as the engine.

BodyHatch
BadgeCL
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2007
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
pubcrawla

pubcrawlawarilla

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Be careful

published

When buying this car make sure you check Transmission, Coolant leak inside the car on driver side and check if the alternator is over charging on the battery. lf you don't have any of these problems its a great car.
The biggest pro for this car its cheap on fuel.

BodySedan
BadgeAmbiente
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Ford Focus compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Angela L

Angela LAU

  • 4 reviews

User friendly

published

We've had this car for a few years now. It's reliable and is easy to manoeuvre. The boot is surprisingly very spacious for a hatchback. We've looked at other cars and none of them have boots as spacious as the focus. Drives very smoothly too. We're planning to buy a newer version of the focus soon.

BodyConvertible
BadgeCL
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jim

Jim

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Not happy with transmission issues...

published

had purchased a 2014 Ford Focus and never knew that it has a huge transmission issue caused by the (TCM). Honestly, all I know is that, if a car has a problem, it shouldn’t be running. But in my case, I was looking for an affordable and reliable car, so I got my eye on focus.... So now that I ended up taking the car for the same problem, over 8 times, in a period of 18 months, the great news has to come from the service guy at Ford and that is, my car will always have the same issue cause Ford can’t find a solution for it, and even if they change the transmission, it will fail again and again and again! How nice is that! They forgot that there is something called the Lemon law.

BodyHatch
BadgeTitanium
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sean

SeanCanberra

  • 8 reviews

Average car with various annoyances

published

I owned this car after buying it second hand. The aux port was inside the glove box for some strange reason which was not only impractical but difficult to plug in. The side skirting was cheap and easily came loose. Apart from that the fuel mileage was good but the suspension could have been better.

BodySedan
BadgeLX
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2011
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Haid G

Haid GMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Perform good if think of the price

published

Perform stable and smooth with high speed especially on highway. Engine is quiet.

But the interiors are quite rough, some plastic part come out just after two month purchasing. Air con not very good as running slow.

Think about the safety, it’s quite reliable hatch car with around 20k price.

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Che

CheGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love my car!

published

Love the look and feel of this car. wanted something that blended in with everyone but had just enough character to stand out. also love that it doesn't have too many gadgets but just enough to be modern. It's very responsive to the pedal, not the cheapest to run but compared to my 13 year old car it does the same fuel usage.

BodyHatch
BadgeRS
Engine Size2.3
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 5 of 18
See all Ford Focus reviews

Questions & Answers

peter

peterasked

Focus LW Mk1 (2011-2012)

anyone had issues with this model? looking to buy one as long as it's not a lemon ,and it is manual

1 answer
Jenny I.
Jenny I.

Hi Peter, I probably can't make a comment on a manual MK1 but trust me if you think of buying an auto, my advise would be to RUN as fast as you can away from it. I have had nothing but trouble with the gearbox in mine and have just had it fixed for the 9th time, so fingers crossed they got it this time. Good luck but buy another brand.

Seren

Serenasked

Focus

Hi I have a 61plate ford focus titanium I have a heating problem it works in all areas but to my feet why what could it be ?

2 answers
bearcat91
bearcat91

Do you mean 19? IF IT IS the current model there are buttons between the temp dials for upper and lower air con outlets. Press for on or off.

Seren
Seren

no its 2011 and yes to change were u want the air to come out works but no heating comes out at the feet area

Sal

Salasked

Focus LV (2009-2011)

Diesel auto model. Does this have the transmission problem?

No answers
See all Ford Focus questions

Get an answer from our members

Ford Focus

Details

Compare all 20 Ford Focus
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $29,990$28,990$34,490$25,990
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.4 L/100km6.4 L/100km6.4 L/100km6.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 52 L52 L52 L52 L
Engine3 Cylinder 1.5L3 Cylinder 1.5L3 Cylinder 1.5L3 Cylinder 1.5L
Max Power134kW @ 4500rpm134kW @ 4500rpm134kW @ 4500rpm134kW @ 4500rpm
Max Torque240Nm @ 5000rpm240Nm @ 5000rpm240Nm @ 5000rpm240Nm @ 5000rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2018Jan 2018Jan 2018Jan 2018
Compare all 20 Ford Focus

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.