?
? !
35 photos
Ford Focus

Ford Focus (page 6 of 18)

LW Mk2, LW Mk1, LS, etc...
3.2 from 353 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.0 (36)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (36)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (33)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (34)
  • Braking
    4.1 (34)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.9 (34)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.3 (32)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (34)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (34)
  • Handling
    3.9 (33)
  • Interior Design
    3.7 (34)
  • Boot Size
    3.8 (34)
  • Comfort
    3.9 (34)
  • Features
    3.6 (32)
Previous
Next
Michael

MichaelAU

  • 45 reviews
  • 25 likes

Dodgy transmission - Dodgy heater pipe in drivers compartment - terrible customer service

published
BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

2 years old and still happy !

published

A spritely performer with well weighted controls and great steering feel. Quiet and comfortable cruising on the highway and still responsive enough to offer this old petrolhead some fun in the twisties.
No warranty issues at all after 28000km and fuel consumption typically between 6.0 to 7.5 litres / 100 km.
Sync 2 infotainment / nav superior to many much more expensive cars.
No complaints from me and no intention of trading up any time soon ... well done Ford.

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size1.5 Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Todd

ToddCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Constant Transmission Trouble

published

I bought this car in 2016, 2 litre petrol version.

Since that time i have needed a number of repairs.

1. Transmission Control Module
2. Transmission Dual Clutch
3. Transmission Timing Cover

There seems to be a common theme here, all about the transmission? Ford don't seem to think so.

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Ford Focus compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
bubblym

bubblymSydney Aust, NSW

  • 20 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great big brother car without powershift.

published

My Jan 2016 ford focus is a great little car, drives smoothly no issues so far great price at time, is the one without the trouble power shift. Good size small family car, good size boot compared to the little brother Fiesta.
Great inclusions with the trend, nav, reversing camera, but missed out on Apple car play by 6 months. But honeslty
not needed if you have nav included with blue tooth, as apple car play uses your data.

Please do passed bad reviews of powershift models scare you from non.

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Torn

TornMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

It's ok

published

Unfortunately it has the turning circle of a luxury cruise liner, making tight car parks a nightmare. It's an ok drive if not a little bumpy, you'll definitely feel it on uneven roads and when highway diving you'll get a lot of noise leaking in. Fuel economy is ok as long as you're not using it in the city as a work car, constant traffic light stops will reduce efficiency. Very quick off the mark. Questionable audio jack and USB placement (back of the glove box). Don't hate it but wouldn't buy it again. Oh and a chunky middle section leaves long legged folks a little cramped for the sake of some ridiculous "holders".

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pops

PopsWA, 6111

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Little Legend

published
BodyHatch
BadgeST
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mullso

MullsoGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Second family car

published

We bought the ford focus sport about a month ago as a second car for my wife to use for work - overall its a great little car
Great to drive handles well although a little sluggish if you dont use the gears - yes we bought a manual - coming from the UK where manual cars are the norm rather than the exception as here in Oz.
Interior and exterior are very good and the interior design and trim is excellent quality
As a little run around - its definitely work a look

BodyHatch
BadgeSport
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lee

LeeGreystanes

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Bad transmission worst ever

published

So far the reliability has been good & its cheap too run but once the transmission starts to play up Ford cant fix so its a bad buy & your stuck with it, just join the class action against Ford & hope for the result to be in your favour cause no-one wants it as a trade in

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Anne

AnneWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 19 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Compact Car

published

After larger car, this ticks all the boxes especially for parking. Great for steering, vision and enough room in the boot.
Nice red colour, good to look at and quiet on the road. Plenty gadgets although we,re happy with CD slot, usually missing these days.
A good choice for us ’young pensioners’ to downsize.

BodySedan
BadgeTrend
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Ford Focus compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ian

IanGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Excellent Car

published

I have owned my Ford Focus Sport (auto) since March and am impressed.
I have traveled 11000ks and so far no issues. The engine is very responsive and is mated to a 6 speed standard auto gearbox. . Interior is well designed with 8" display sync 3 which works seamlessly. Seats are also very comfortable. There are plenty of cars in this segment but I chose the ford for it's handling and styling. The car feels solid . No rattles or squeaks and runs on standard unleaded.
If your looking for a small hatch you might want to consider the Focus . It is fun to drive.

BodyHatch
BadgeSport
Engine Size1.5ltr turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dazza

DazzaNewcastle NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Nice car, handles & drives well

published
BodyHatch
BadgeRS
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSept 2008
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mik

MikBrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car and cheap on fuel !!

published

I love my ford focus, it is so easy to drive and has all the gadgets you need to get into those tricky places :) The fuel consumption is amazing at only $50 a tank about 90% of the time and never goes over $55 to fill up. I have a turbo diesel version and love it. Very roomy and spacious for a hatchback. Never had a problem with it and only pay for the service itself. In love and will keep it for a long time. Would be great for learners and provisional drivers also.

BodyHatch
BadgeSport
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Ford

hhh

hhhSydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

good one

published

Im still in P1. This car is really good. It's the ideal car for the one who like speed and the sound of engine. The smell is kinda weird inside but not too much. The design of AUX jack and USB's place are also weird. They took me so long to find. This car is really fuel efficient. Highly recommended

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ethan R

Ethan RSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 17 reviews
  • 16 likes

good car

published

Got my ford focus at the beginning of the year been great there is heaps of legroom
great glovebox but poorly designed bonnet when you hit the bonnet not very hard the bonnet locks so you can't unlock it
the noise is a bit noisy but you get over it in awhile

BodySedan
BadgeLX
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Electric power steering failure

published

Dangerous driving experience.
Spacious front, very little space at the back.
Not reliable at all might be a death trap.
Power steering locks while driving and could possibly be a death trap to you and family.
Ford will not take responsibility in fixing the issue or recall these models, they have advised owners to fork the money to fix the issues and will not guarantee that the power steering fault issues will be fixed in the future.

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Ford Focus compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Trudy

Trudy

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Love my Ford Focus Titanium

published
BodyHatch
BadgeTitanium
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Crap gearbox and Power steering issue!

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSport
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
FocusFan

FocusFanSydney, NSW

  • 22 reviews
  • 15 likes

Fantastic buy!!

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSport
Engine Size1.5 litre Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Brilliant handling!

published

This is the best car I have ever owned. Superb dynamics, stylish and a real driver's car. The diesel provides exceptional economy with real grunt when you need it. Excellent for those long country trips. Very comfortable driving position with good support. A little cramped in the rear and boot could br a bit bigger.

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
tmulholland

tmulhollandAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car with disaster transmission

published

As far as. Performance, comfort, economy and functionality go this Ford Focus is a great little car for the price. It's only fault, and it's a bigger, is the power shift transmission. It's been introduced without enough testing and Ford is paying an enormous cost. My 2013 model has had two reboots and four replacement clutches in 80000klms.
To Ford Australia's great credit, they have offered a very generous proposal to replace my vehicle with a new model, which is a vast improvement on the LW model.
If you are one of the unfortunate owners of a problem car, I urge you to talk quietly to your dealer.

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 6 of 18
See all Ford Focus reviews

Questions & Answers

peter

peterasked

Focus LW Mk1 (2011-2012)

anyone had issues with this model? looking to buy one as long as it's not a lemon ,and it is manual

1 answer
Jenny I.
Jenny I.

Hi Peter, I probably can't make a comment on a manual MK1 but trust me if you think of buying an auto, my advise would be to RUN as fast as you can away from it. I have had nothing but trouble with the gearbox in mine and have just had it fixed for the 9th time, so fingers crossed they got it this time. Good luck but buy another brand.

Seren

Serenasked

Focus

Hi I have a 61plate ford focus titanium I have a heating problem it works in all areas but to my feet why what could it be ?

2 answers
bearcat91
bearcat91

Do you mean 19? IF IT IS the current model there are buttons between the temp dials for upper and lower air con outlets. Press for on or off.

Seren
Seren

no its 2011 and yes to change were u want the air to come out works but no heating comes out at the feet area

Sal

Salasked

Focus LV (2009-2011)

Diesel auto model. Does this have the transmission problem?

No answers
See all Ford Focus questions

Get an answer from our members

Ford Focus

Details

Compare all 20 Ford Focus
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $29,990$28,990$34,490$25,990
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.4 L/100km6.4 L/100km6.4 L/100km6.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 52 L52 L52 L52 L
Engine3 Cylinder 1.5L3 Cylinder 1.5L3 Cylinder 1.5L3 Cylinder 1.5L
Max Power134kW @ 4500rpm134kW @ 4500rpm134kW @ 4500rpm134kW @ 4500rpm
Max Torque240Nm @ 5000rpm240Nm @ 5000rpm240Nm @ 5000rpm240Nm @ 5000rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2018Jan 2018Jan 2018Jan 2018
Compare all 20 Ford Focus

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.