7 photos
Ford Mondeo MC

Ford Mondeo MC (2010-2014)

Hatchback, Wagon
4.2 from 52 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.6 (5)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (5)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (5)
  • Braking
    4.4 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.0 (5)
  • Gear Shifting
    2.6 (5)
  • Suspension
    4.6 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.8 (5)
  • Handling
    4.0 (5)
  • Interior Design
    3.6 (5)
  • Boot Size
    4.4 (5)
  • Comfort
    4.8 (5)
  • Features
    4.0 (5)
Previous
Next

Flawed gearbox

published

If it wasn't for the gearbox I would be happy with this car, over 1100km range from 70l tank of diesel.
2014 mc tdi lx wagon with 85000 on the clock, still looks like new in engine compartment but just had major gearbox failure.
Spent over $6000 getting dual clutch repaired at 70000km.
I would strongly advise to not even consider buying a Ford with a dual clutch sports shift transmission as they are flawed, extremely complex and expensive to repair. The mechanic currently with the car has a Ford Kuga with 40000km also with a failed transmission.
Now most likely scrap the car as I'm reluctant to waste more money and just accept the loss of probably over $12000
I think I'm off Fords for life after this experience.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
Year2014

Very fuel efficent family car

published

Purchased in February 2012 for $20,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Beware of unreliable Powershift transmission!

published

Purchased in May 2019 for $10,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cars

Find out how Ford Mondeo MC compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
7empest
7empestCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 13 likes

A total lemon

published

I bought my Mondeo because it was European made and fuel efficient, but it’s turned out to be a total lemon. The first major repair was a blown transmission - a $7,000 repair. Since then it’s been one issue after another. Avoid at all costs!

Purchased in May 2012 for $15,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
nick i.
nick i.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 3 reviews

Mostly good. Bit of a slow gearbox holds it back.

published

This car does the job. I have the diesel version and extremely fuel efficient. Only problem is when you accelerate at low speeds there is a massive lag which can be quite frustrating. Trying to pull out into a gap in traffic can be difficult. Other than that it’s a very functional car in all other aspects. Fantastic boot space. Great for bikes and don’t need a roof rack.

Purchased in January 2016 for $13,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Related Articles
Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Joe nguyen
Joe nguyenSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

Best car I’ve driven or owned

published
BadgeZetec TDCi
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedMay 2018

Nice

published

I personally think that the car I chose to buy was a far more superior drive to even the newer ones I looked at. Performance is on tap, handling a little heavy, but I like that in a car. Hardly know it’s a diesel until you clock 900ks and still have room to move. Interior is hands on, easy to reach and navigate. Only dislike in this model/ year is where the window switches are located. Behind/ underneath door armrest. A little ‘ out of the way’ but 1st world problem. Being 6’2”, legroom is fantastic front and rear.

BadgeZetec TDCi
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Mick Dobee
Mick DobeeSydney, NSW
  • 8 reviews

It never actually let me down on the side of the street, but it has way too many issues - STAY AWAY!

published
BadgeTitanium TDCi
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedMay 2012
grl8862
grl8862NSW, 2263
  • 30 reviews
  • 35 likes

Better fuel economy than LPG

published
BadgeTDCi
BodyWagon
TransmissionDCT
Engine Size2.0L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedFeb 2013
Cars

Find out how Ford Mondeo MC compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Christine
ChristineVictoria
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Forget about an SUV - get the Mondeo wagon

published

Purchased a 2012 TDCi wagon. Fabulous car for fuel economy & great safety rating. Drove Melbourne to Cairns, cost only $220 in diesel. Great with overtaking & on the open road. Not as smooth to drive around town, but only making this comparison to my previous vehicle (2012 Ford XR6). A very spacious, reliable, & trouble free vehicle. Had looked at SUV's in the same catagory, however price & vehicle boot size couldn't be compared. These wagons are fantastic value for money.

BadgeLX TDCi
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
congaflute
congafluteSouth West, QLD
  • 19 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great family wagon

published

Purchased second hand due to needing a wagon and better safety rating than our older car. The diesel is fume free, economical and quiet. I had to get used to the blinker being on the wrong side for Australia. The seat is very comfortable front and back, suitable for large and small people.

BadgeTDCi
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
matt58_au1
matt58_au1warilla

great car only had one problem will soon be fixed

published

i found that is a great car plenty of leg room great eco (fuel)what else can i say oh my wife really loves this car.I have had one problem the dpf (diesel particulate filter but the car yard is going to fix this problem so i wont have to pay for this problem.

BadgeZetec TDCi
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Dimsie
Dimsiedaylesford

Ford Mondeo Station Wagon Feedback

published
BadgeLX TDCi
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedAug 2012
Brett Leete
Brett LeetePerth
  • 7 reviews

Compact family wagon

published

Sleek looking compact wagon. Has all the trimmings including voice activated audio and cd player. Sea ts are comfortable with a good fabric and look. Tends to wear passenger rear tyre quicker than the rest. Excellent mileage on long runs. Electric windows with plenty of leg room. Perfect for the small family. Ample space in the bag for luggage or shopping.

BadgeLX
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2014
Brett M
Brett MAU
  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Beautiful, simple car.

published

Just bought a 2011 Mondeo with 18,000 kms on it. Just like it came off the show floor. A little under power for a wagon but great to drive and sticks to road like glue. Nice driving position and plenty of leg room for the whole family. Huge boot space and a lot of options in car for anyone who needs them.
Had it serviced last week by Ford (very competitive on price), no issues.
Overall a nice, cheap to run second car.

BadgeLX
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Date PurchasedJune 2017
Cars

Find out how Ford Mondeo MC compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 4
See all Ford Mondeo reviews

Questions & Answers

Garrett L.
Garrett L.asked
Mondeo MC (2010-2014)

I have 2010 Ford Mondeo automatic and when you put the car into reverse and give it gas it keeps cutting out why does the car do that

No answers
teenz
teenzasked
Mondeo MC (2010-2014)

There is a 2011deisek auto for sale by needs new transmission how much to fix.?

2 answers
Stephen B.
Stephen B.

Quote for my 2014 model with 85000km on the clock was $15000 for new transmission so the car was a write off.

teenz
teenz

Thanks .

Chris. S
Chris. Sasked
Mondeo MC (2010-2014)

Hi, I have a mondeo 2012 wagon which I enjoy . Except occasionally the engine malfunction light comes on. I have to stop car and restart. I took it to local ford service centre, they couldn't find any faults in the computer system. They say bring it in when this happens. This is fine but you never know when its going to happen next. Any answers please.

1 answer
David Sheilds
David Sheilds

Go buy yourself a cheap OBD2 scanner and keep it with you so you can diagnose when it occurs

See all Ford Mondeo MC (2010-2014) questions

Get an answer from our members

Ford Mondeo MC (2010-2014)

Details

Compare all 10 Ford Mondeo
CategoryCars and WagonsCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $32,840$30,990
TransmissionAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Steel16" Steel
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption9.5 L/100km9.5 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 70 L70 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.3L4 Cylinder 2.3L
Max Power118kW @ 6500rpm118kW @ 6500rpm
Max Torque208Nm @ 4200rpm208Nm @ 4200 rpm
Country of ManufactureBelgiumBelgium
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2010Jan 2010
Discontinuation dateDec 2014Dec 2014
Compare all 10 Ford Mondeo

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.