6 photos
Ford Mondeo MC (Wagon)

Ford Mondeo MC (Wagon) (2010-2014)

3.8 from 24 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.3 (3)
  • Value for Money
    2.3 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.7 (3)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (3)
  • Braking
    4.0 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    2.7 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    2.0 (3)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.7 (3)
  • Handling
    3.7 (3)
  • Interior Design
    3.0 (3)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (3)
  • Comfort
    4.7 (3)
  • Features
    3.7 (3)
Previous
Next

Flawed gearbox

published

If it wasn't for the gearbox I would be happy with this car, over 1100km range from 70l tank of diesel.
2014 mc tdi lx wagon with 85000 on the clock, still looks like new in engine compartment but just had major gearbox failure.
Spent over $6000 getting dual clutch repaired at 70000km.
I would strongly advise to not even consider buying a Ford with a dual clutch sports shift transmission as they are flawed, extremely complex and expensive to repair. The mechanic currently with the car has a Ford Kuga with 40000km also with a failed transmission.
Now most likely scrap the car as I'm reluctant to waste more money and just accept the loss of probably over $12000
I think I'm off Fords for life after this experience.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
Year2014

Beware of unreliable Powershift transmission!

published

Purchased in May 2019 for $10,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Other Wagons

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
7empest
7empestCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 13 likes

A total lemon

published

I bought my Mondeo because it was European made and fuel efficient, but it’s turned out to be a total lemon. The first major repair was a blown transmission - a $7,000 repair. Since then it’s been one issue after another. Avoid at all costs!

Purchased in May 2012 for $15,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Wagons

Find out how Ford Mondeo MC (Wagon) compares to other Wagons

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mick Dobee
Mick DobeeSydney, NSW
  • 8 reviews

It never actually let me down on the side of the street, but it has way too many issues - STAY AWAY!

published
BadgeTitanium TDCi
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedMay 2012
grl8862
grl8862NSW, 2263
  • 30 reviews
  • 35 likes

Better fuel economy than LPG

published
BadgeTDCi
BodyWagon
TransmissionDCT
Engine Size2.0L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedFeb 2013
Related Articles
Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Christine
ChristineVictoria
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Forget about an SUV - get the Mondeo wagon

published

Purchased a 2012 TDCi wagon. Fabulous car for fuel economy & great safety rating. Drove Melbourne to Cairns, cost only $220 in diesel. Great with overtaking & on the open road. Not as smooth to drive around town, but only making this comparison to my previous vehicle (2012 Ford XR6). A very spacious, reliable, & trouble free vehicle. Had looked at SUV's in the same catagory, however price & vehicle boot size couldn't be compared. These wagons are fantastic value for money.

BadgeLX TDCi
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
congaflute
congafluteSouth West, QLD
  • 19 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great family wagon

published

Purchased second hand due to needing a wagon and better safety rating than our older car. The diesel is fume free, economical and quiet. I had to get used to the blinker being on the wrong side for Australia. The seat is very comfortable front and back, suitable for large and small people.

BadgeTDCi
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
matt58_au1
matt58_au1warilla

great car only had one problem will soon be fixed

published

i found that is a great car plenty of leg room great eco (fuel)what else can i say oh my wife really loves this car.I have had one problem the dpf (diesel particulate filter but the car yard is going to fix this problem so i wont have to pay for this problem.

BadgeZetec TDCi
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Other Wagons

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Dimsie
Dimsiedaylesford

Ford Mondeo Station Wagon Feedback

published
BadgeLX TDCi
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedAug 2012
Wagons

Find out how Ford Mondeo MC (Wagon) compares to other Wagons

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Brett Leete
Brett LeetePerth
  • 7 reviews

Compact family wagon

published

Sleek looking compact wagon. Has all the trimmings including voice activated audio and cd player. Sea ts are comfortable with a good fabric and look. Tends to wear passenger rear tyre quicker than the rest. Excellent mileage on long runs. Electric windows with plenty of leg room. Perfect for the small family. Ample space in the bag for luggage or shopping.

BadgeLX
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2014
Brett M
Brett MAU
  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Beautiful, simple car.

published

Just bought a 2011 Mondeo with 18,000 kms on it. Just like it came off the show floor. A little under power for a wagon but great to drive and sticks to road like glue. Nice driving position and plenty of leg room for the whole family. Huge boot space and a lot of options in car for anyone who needs them.
Had it serviced last week by Ford (very competitive on price), no issues.
Overall a nice, cheap to run second car.

BadgeLX
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Date PurchasedJune 2017
Quickpig
QuickpigSoldiers Point
  • 31 reviews
  • 24 likes

Motoring on

published

Purchased for $12,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Great economy

published

Bought a 2nd hand Mondeo 2012 Diesel wagon with 145,000 km with good body condition. It is very economical to run average tank 860km city driving. Had heard about transmission problems but made sure the car had an up to date service history and bought from a dealer not privately to give me the added warranty protection. My wife loves driving it. The 6 speed power shift transmission is intuitive when driving and has great pulling power up hills which for a 2 litre is excellent much better than my other car which is a 3.8 litre Mitsubishi. Very glad I bought it.

BadgeTDCi
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedMar 2017
1 comment
R. D.
R. D.
chrismac
chrismacwollongong
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Generally good

published

Bought the car with 75000ks and drove for 25000ks. The car is solidly built and handles well. Engine is smooth with plenty of torque.Fuel economy was great averaging 6.3 during all types of driving. I found the transmission at times hesitant particularly when accelerating in traffic and this was a little disconcerting. The air con is terrible, nowhere near as cold as it should be.

BadgeLX TDCi
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2015
Other Wagons

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Consumer #1
Consumer #1Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

It's a ripper!

published

I had reservations but a couple of months into ownership it's proved to be a ripper. I believe it's sharing its 2.0L diesel engine with Peugeot and Citroen - the Ford uses their own transmission (Powershift) which is well matched. I came from a 4.0L Ford and this drives with a more responsive powerful feel. Finish is what you'd expect from a Ford. Has all the mod cons such as ACC and Sensors to make my drive safe. I'm averaging over 1000km for a tank (60L), so REALLY economical. On the road it handles really well, surefooted and tracking beautifully. Heaps of space, easy to use. Long trip a breeze, smooth and comfortable. Looks pretty good, feels strong - overall I'm happy.

BadgeTitanium TDCi
BodyWagon
TransmissionDCT
Date PurchasedJuly 2016
1 comment
Consumer #1
Consumer #1
Wagons

Find out how Ford Mondeo MC (Wagon) compares to other Wagons

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2
See all Ford Mondeo reviews

Questions & Answers

Moana E.
Moana E.asked
MC (Wagon) (2010-2014)

My Mondeo wagon audio doesn't work?? No radio/cd or aux... Display...'no audio' .. no sound... And now cannot push any button... Stays on 'aux'.. please help!... On/ off button does work.... Also... my parking sensors alarms and reverse gear alarms do not sound either!! Omg!

1 answer
Jason
Jason

Hi Moana, did you end up getting this fixed? My partner's Mondeo is doing the exact same thing and we can't work out the problem!

Tracey H.
Tracey H.asked
MC (Wagon) (2010-2014)

Hi
I have 2010 Mondeo Diesel 6 speed auto I was driving on highway this morning and warning came up " transmission hot touch brake" I pulled over turned if off only for about 2 mins then continued on my way kept leaver in Drive and warning did not appear again, Does any1 know why this warning may have appeared ?

2 answers
Mark L.
Mark L.

Hi Tracey sounds like transmission has gotten too hot for some reason and computer has told you to put the brakes on and slow down so it can cool down. Hopefully transmission is only due for an oil and filter change. Check log book to see when this was last done. Needs to be done every 60000klms max!!! When this is done get mechanic to check computer with scan tool to see if any error codes were logged.

Mark L.
Mark L.

Tracey put some newspaper on the ground under the engine gearbox and see if there are any leaks overnight from the transmission as it could be low on fluid. Topping up or changing the transmission fluid is a bit of a fiddly process. If its leaking definitely a problem and will cause transmission to overheat as will overdue for a change transmission fluid service.

See all Ford Mondeo questions

Get an answer from our members

Ford Mondeo MC (Wagon) (2010-2014)

Details

Compare all 10 Ford Mondeo
CategoryCars and Wagons
Starting Price $32,840
TransmissionAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels16" Steel
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Fuel Consumption9.5 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 70 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.3L
Max Power118kW @ 6500rpm
Max Torque208Nm @ 4200rpm
Country of ManufactureBelgium
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2010
Discontinuation dateDec 2014
Compare all 10 Ford Mondeo

Other Wagons

Previous
Next
See all Wagons

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.