17 photos
Ford Mondeo

Ford Mondeo

MB, MA, MD, MC
4.3 from 116 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    1.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.5 (2)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (2)
  • Braking
    4.0 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    2.5 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    2.5 (2)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (2)
  • Handling
    3.0 (2)
  • Interior Design
    2.0 (2)
  • Boot Size
    3.5 (2)
  • Comfort
    3.5 (2)
  • Features
    4.0 (2)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail

Flawed gearbox

published

If it wasn't for the gearbox I would be happy with this car, over 1100km range from 70l tank of diesel.
2014 mc tdi lx wagon with 85000 on the clock, still looks like new in engine compartment but just had major gearbox failure.
Spent over $6000 getting dual clutch repaired at 70000km.
I would strongly advise to not even consider buying a Ford with a dual clutch sports shift transmission as they are flawed, extremely complex and expensive to repair. The mechanic currently with the car has a Ford Kuga with 40000km also with a failed transmission.
Now most likely scrap the car as I'm reluctant to waste more money and just accept the loss of probably over $12000
I think I'm off Fords for life after this experience.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
Year2014
7empest
7empestCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 13 likes

A total lemon

published

I bought my Mondeo because it was European made and fuel efficient, but it’s turned out to be a total lemon. The first major repair was a blown transmission - a $7,000 repair. Since then it’s been one issue after another. Avoid at all costs!

Purchased in May 2012 for $15,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Daniel
DanielSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 29 reviews
  • 21 likes

Started out as great vehicle, but now...

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +1Thumbnail

Purchased in February 2018 at Byrne Ford for $33,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cars

Find out how Ford Mondeo compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dazza
Dazza
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Transmission is faulty put in park and rolls forward, put in reverse and rolls forward

published

Not happy with ford vehicles in general because of problems I’ve had with 2015 kuga replacement motor replacement transmission which I had to pay for it and 40 didn’t want to know about it and didn’t answer my phone calls. Disappointed and forward seven forwards in the last 12 years and will never buy forwards again, what the hell, Ford are going downhill. Which I had to pay for and ford didn’t want to know about it and didn’t answer my phone calls.

BadgeTitanium
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Mick Dobee
Mick DobeeSydney, NSW
  • 8 reviews

It never actually let me down on the side of the street, but it has way too many issues - STAY AWAY!

published
BadgeTitanium TDCi
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedMay 2012
Related Articles
Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next

Transmission issues

published

The ford mondeo is not a good car. After 5 months i started having transmission issues. Took it to several places and costing hundreds, it still isnt fixed. I finally got into a ford machanic and was told to cut my losses and sell quick as possible. To fix the 2 sences in the gearbox would cost me around $5000. I saved everything to buy this car and now im stuck the a broken car, no savings and faults after faults

BadgeLX TDCi
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Ross Richards
Ross RichardsPerth, WA
  • 5 reviews
  • 11 likes

Uh Oh

published

I took my car to Ford at Midland for a service. It came back with a transmission fault. I spent several hundred dollars trying to get the problem diagnosed, not solved...diagnosed. Ford Midland basically said buy a new car. The Ford Mondeo is not reliable. I had a 2 litre Torq diesel. The car was about 7 years old and perfectly maintained. I've never seen such poor problem ownership as I have with Ford. They basically washed their hands even though they created the fault. I had to sell my car with money still owing on it.

BadgeTDCi
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedJan 2012
See all Ford Mondeo reviews

Questions & Answers

Garrett L.
Garrett L.asked
Mondeo MC (2010-2014)

I have 2010 Ford Mondeo automatic and when you put the car into reverse and give it gas it keeps cutting out why does the car do that

No answers
teenz
teenzasked
Mondeo MC (2010-2014)

There is a 2011deisek auto for sale by needs new transmission how much to fix.?

2 answers
Stephen B.
Stephen B.

Quote for my 2014 model with 85000km on the clock was $15000 for new transmission so the car was a write off.

teenz
teenz

Thanks .

w gurr
w gurrasked
MD (Hatchback) Trend (2015-2021)

where are the mondeo available a s the local ford dealers are not aware of a 2021 mondeo hatch 5 door
diesel being available what dealer has them

No answers
See all Ford Mondeo questions

Get an answer from our members

Ford Mondeo

Details

Compare all 10 Ford Mondeo
CategoryCars and WagonsCars and WagonsCars and WagonsCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $35,040$49,340$42,340$33,190
TransmissionAutomaticDual-Clutch (DCT)AutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolDieselDieselPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption8.5 L/100km5.3 L/100km5.3 L/100km8.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 62 L62 L62 L62 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2L4 Cylinder 2L4 Cylinder 2L4 Cylinder 2L
Max Power149kW @ 5400rpm132kW @ 3500rpm132kW @ 3500rpm149kW @ 54000rpm
Max Torque345Nm @ 2700rpm400Nm @ 2000rpm400Nm @ 2000rpm345Nm @ 2700rpm
Country of ManufactureSpainSpainSpainSpain
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2015Jan 2015Jan 2015Jan 2015
Compare all 10 Ford Mondeo
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.