17 photos
Ford Mondeo

Ford Mondeo

MB, MA, MD, MC
4.3 from 116 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (3)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (3)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (3)
  • Braking
    4.7 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.7 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.7 (3)
  • Suspension
    4.7 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (3)
  • Handling
    4.3 (3)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (3)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (3)
  • Comfort
    5.0 (3)
  • Features
    3.7 (3)
Previous
Next
Paul
PaulGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

A little disappointed

published

Purchased in November 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
nick i.
nick i.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 3 reviews

Mostly good. Bit of a slow gearbox holds it back.

published

This car does the job. I have the diesel version and extremely fuel efficient. Only problem is when you accelerate at low speeds there is a massive lag which can be quite frustrating. Trying to pull out into a gap in traffic can be difficult. Other than that it’s a very functional car in all other aspects. Fantastic boot space. Great for bikes and don’t need a roof rack.

Purchased in January 2016 for $13,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bobby Boardshorts
Bobby BoardshortsMelbourne
  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Hidden gem of a car

published

My first Modeo wagon was back in 2010 and this is my third one(renew every 3 years) and the best so far. This car has excellent road handling, heaps of torque, all the bells & whistles you need in a car such as
-easy to use touch screen with no fuss sat nav
-alloy wheels
-driving lights
-huge cargo space
-usb ports
-great sound system
- parking sensors
The list goes on. I also occasionally drive my wife’s Audi and this car comes pretty close for comparison to drive.
I do approx 45,000 kms a year and have had no issues with any of my Mondeo’s.
If your looking to buy a wagon just take it for a drive, you wont be disappointed.

BadgeAmbiente
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Cars

Find out how Ford Mondeo compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Iron man
Iron manGREVILLIA

Performance advantages

published

I think it's very good in terms of performance, and it's very quiet
I love the interiors, the only thing that's not enough is the internal space
Clutch joint point is very good grasp, but the various stalls are relatively smooth. Car steering power is just right, but there are auxiliary parking and other intelligent systems, parking in a bit effortless, security greatly improved.

BadgeST
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
Date PurchasedApr 2015
HarryGopal
HarryGopalLaunceston, TAS
  • 10 reviews
  • 10 likes

Love this beauty.

published

Well I have always been a Mondeo Man. Used it in UK for more than 5 years, use this beauty down under. No major problems. I drive around in Tasmania so sometime cold starts gives me a knocking sound. But after 15 minutes drive it goes off otherwise its a brilliant vehicle. Good average 6L/100 KM in highways and urban driving gives me around 7.4/100 KM. Love to drive this European/American beauty in Australian roads.

BadgeTitanium TDCi
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedJune 2011
Related Articles
Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next

Nice

published

I personally think that the car I chose to buy was a far more superior drive to even the newer ones I looked at. Performance is on tap, handling a little heavy, but I like that in a car. Hardly know it’s a diesel until you clock 900ks and still have room to move. Interior is hands on, easy to reach and navigate. Only dislike in this model/ year is where the window switches are located. Behind/ underneath door armrest. A little ‘ out of the way’ but 1st world problem. Being 6’2”, legroom is fantastic front and rear.

BadgeZetec TDCi
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Christine
ChristineVictoria
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Forget about an SUV - get the Mondeo wagon

published

Purchased a 2012 TDCi wagon. Fabulous car for fuel economy & great safety rating. Drove Melbourne to Cairns, cost only $220 in diesel. Great with overtaking & on the open road. Not as smooth to drive around town, but only making this comparison to my previous vehicle (2012 Ford XR6). A very spacious, reliable, & trouble free vehicle. Had looked at SUV's in the same catagory, however price & vehicle boot size couldn't be compared. These wagons are fantastic value for money.

BadgeLX TDCi
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
prwhye2
prwhye2
  • 3 reviews

Very nice car car I had for 8 years.

published

Neat and a delight to drive,all interior options very easy to use and understant.Great 2.3lt petrol engine,auto trans no problems,just lacks top end torque.Otherwise a very comfortable car to drive and tow a camper trailer with ease.Not suitable to tow caravans though as weight and towing rates will not be compliant.Economy good especially on cruise control.Plenty of space for luggage.Spare tyre not practical as not a full spare and causes inconvenience.Did have noise problems with power steering but great since problem was fixed.A car that could have been my last until we bought a caravan.Always used 95/98 octane fuel.

BadgeZetec TDCi
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.3L Petrol
Date PurchasedAug 2009
Brett Leete
Brett LeetePerth
  • 7 reviews

Compact family wagon

published

Sleek looking compact wagon. Has all the trimmings including voice activated audio and cd player. Sea ts are comfortable with a good fabric and look. Tends to wear passenger rear tyre quicker than the rest. Excellent mileage on long runs. Electric windows with plenty of leg room. Perfect for the small family. Ample space in the bag for luggage or shopping.

BadgeLX
BodyWagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2014
Cars

Find out how Ford Mondeo compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Maurice Smith
Maurice SmithMid North Coast, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car. Best Ford ever!

published

The Mondeo is a great car. It has virtually all the same fittings and accessories as our Mercedes and cost significantly less. The only fault I can find with this car is that it is extremely difficult to get the ignition key in. It's tucked away behind the steering wheel and you really need to open the front door to find the keyhole!
Other than that it does everything really well, without fuss, and once a year servicing is economical

BadgeZetec TDCi
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedJuly 2013
Quickpig
QuickpigSoldiers Point
  • 31 reviews
  • 24 likes

Motoring on

published

Purchased for $12,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Gary
GarySydney
  • 7 reviews
  • 16 likes

Great car for a great price.

published
BadgeTitanium EcoBoost
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2012
cranky
crankyCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

The Mondeo is a great car to drive.

published
BadgeTitanium
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Turbo Petrol
Date PurchasedSept 2016
1 comment
cranky
cranky

Great car - Bad Air con

published

Overall I've been very happy with my 2011 Zetec Mondeo Hatch. Fuel economy is good in the diesel and handles very well with a large boot. The only let down is the Aircon. It's blowing hot air and fuses. Taken it to Ford three times and they can't fix it? Asked another Ford dealership in Adelaide and they advised me the cost would be too high and they would need to get it to an air conditioner specialist. He diagnosed it as It could be the compressor or bad earthing? as the gas was good.

BadgeZetec TDCi
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedAug 2015
Woz
WozAU
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Easy to drive and enjoy driving again

published
BadgeTitanium
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L Turbo-Diesel
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Cars

Find out how Ford Mondeo compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2
See all Ford Mondeo reviews

Questions & Answers

Garrett L.
Garrett L.asked
Mondeo MC (2010-2014)

I have 2010 Ford Mondeo automatic and when you put the car into reverse and give it gas it keeps cutting out why does the car do that

No answers
teenz
teenzasked
Mondeo MC (2010-2014)

There is a 2011deisek auto for sale by needs new transmission how much to fix.?

2 answers
Stephen B.
Stephen B.

Quote for my 2014 model with 85000km on the clock was $15000 for new transmission so the car was a write off.

teenz
teenz

Thanks .

w gurr
w gurrasked
MD (Hatchback) Trend (2015-2021)

where are the mondeo available a s the local ford dealers are not aware of a 2021 mondeo hatch 5 door
diesel being available what dealer has them

No answers
See all Ford Mondeo questions

Get an answer from our members

Ford Mondeo

Details

Compare all 10 Ford Mondeo
CategoryCars and WagonsCars and WagonsCars and WagonsCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $35,040$49,340$42,340$33,190
TransmissionAutomaticDual-Clutch (DCT)AutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolDieselDieselPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption8.5 L/100km5.3 L/100km5.3 L/100km8.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 62 L62 L62 L62 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2L4 Cylinder 2L4 Cylinder 2L4 Cylinder 2L
Max Power149kW @ 5400rpm132kW @ 3500rpm132kW @ 3500rpm149kW @ 54000rpm
Max Torque345Nm @ 2700rpm400Nm @ 2000rpm400Nm @ 2000rpm345Nm @ 2700rpm
Country of ManufactureSpainSpainSpainSpain
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2015Jan 2015Jan 2015Jan 2015
Compare all 10 Ford Mondeo
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.