??!
2 photos
Ford Transit VM

Ford Transit VM

3.0 from 23 reviews

See the Best Vans in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
9
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
2
1 star
9

A great reliable and economical transportation.

published

My transit was coverted ito a camper and one a year I tour Europe for aproximately 30,000 Km.
It has 286,000 Km and had no major breackdown. The engine 2.2L Diesel 140HP is fuel efficiently 6.2 L/ 100Km. Doesn't consume any oil between changes ( 15,000 Km ). I use only 100% Synthetic oil 5W 30.
I had to replace the left hub bearring. I will replace the 4 injectors and the EGR valve to improve the emission and to stop the slight black smock on shifting gears.
It is a very reliable vehicle and drives comfortable. The turning radius is not tight due to the front wheel drive and a the long wheelbase. The passenger door fails to lock sometimes.

Purchased in June 2008 at Privet sale.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Shygirl101

Shygirl101Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Great Tradie Van

published

This is a great Van, there is room for all your tools you can pretty much customise the back with however you need to work. Gets good fuel mileage too and is super comfortable to drive.

Purchased in March 2016 at Private Sale.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Trevor S

Trevor Sbairnsdale

82000 km and needs new motor

published

Five years old, country 82000 kms, with no warning shudder shudder shudder engine gone, Ford quotes $10000.00 to fix, that's a bit of bad luck. What's the point in having something great to drive if it doesn't work.and work it is supposed to do, now it's off the road for as long as it takes, and I do my deliveries in a wheelbarrow?

Badge(No Badge)
BodyCab Chassis
Engine Size2.2L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2013

Wouldn’t buy another ford.

published
Badge350
BodyVan
Engine Size2.2L Turbo
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2017

Never again

published

Must be the worst van in the world! Everything has gone wrong - timing chain jumping- rear wheel seal leaks- water pump- vacuum pump - hydraulic clutch pump- belt tensioner- clutch- many more things. Parts are extremely expensive and ford charge 3 times more than aftermarket products. Every mechanic I've been to hates these vans.

Badge350
BodyVan
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2006

149000 and oil in cooling system. Not the head, but the oil cooler. Still $5000 damage

published

I had oil in cooling system at 149000. Initial thought that it was a blown head gasket. Worked out it actually was the oil cooler failing internally. Because hoses, temp meter, radiator and water reservoir were all contaminated, they had to replace the lot. To change oil cooler, the gear box had to come out. All and all a $4900 bill. Despite several flushes to get the oil out of the system, oil is still coming loose and float in the reservoir after trips. So for months I will have to clean the reservoir.

Badge(No Badge)
BodyCab Chassis
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2012

Perfect!!! Just need tow bar and back seat

published

Just need to know can I fit a back seat to my 2007 model vm ford transit, it's a work model with no windows it does have plug holes where something can go in I think. It's says TRW 19 on the plug hole area? Is that a code for a seat or anything

Badge330
BodyVan
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
WheelbaseShort
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2016

Transit motorhome

published
Badge350L
BodyVan
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2013

bakingplumber

bakingplumbersydney

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

blown head gasket problems

published

Purchase Vm Cab Chassis new in 2010 has been a great vehicle, allways regularly serviced with lots of country driving. Just one concern about been told that they can blow a head gasket or worse around 150k t0 180k . My just hit 152k and guess what has happen, a blown head gasket or worse. Has anyone else heard of this or had this problem. deciding whether to sell once repaired ?.

Badge350
BodyCab Chassis
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2010
1 comment
bakingplumber
bakingplumber

conclusion cracked head, only 1 in Australia at that time and 5 weeks to repair and $8500

Deliberate engineering of products so they only last for the warranty period.

published
Badge350L
BodyVan
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
TransmissionManual

piece of ^%&*

published

My partner has a 2008 2.4 turbo diesel and we have spent thousands on this piece of $%^$. I have come on here to see if anyone else has had their drive chain (timing chain) snap on them. We need as many people to come forward as possible. If you are one of many please message me

Badge(No Badge)
BodyVan
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionManual

Timeing chain tensioner failure.

published

Ex-rental 6-berth. Engine died after 13 months ownership and 10000klms use. Seemed like a good buy at $55000. Just spent $14000. On new engine, clutch and injectors (fitted). Expensive when they go wrong. Timing chain tensioner fault is well known. Word of warning. Have it checked and replaced. Would not buy again.

Badge290
Body6-berth motorhome.
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
TransmissionManual

Great van

published

i owned a transit VG for 12years and replaced it with a 2011 VM with 200,000 Klms on clock, yes a lot of K's for a 2011 model, but theses were highway klm's carting eggs, this is a excellent van, looks new, motor is very powerful, storage departments all over the van which is really handy, 1st gear is a bit slow, but wynds up after that, although the turbo is noisey, i have not replaced anything yet at 230,000 Klm. i did look hard for a van like this at the right price $23,000 on the road, i would not but anything lest that 2012 model now, otherwise you may inherite other peoples problems, and have it checked out by a accredited mechanic !!! i want a sprinter but cost too much, This van was a great choice and so far so good.

Badge350
BodyVan
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionManual

Great little work horse

published

Vehicle inspection by mechanic well worth $$$
2007 2.4 litre diesel swb van which has done 100km since purchased.
Have replaced waterpump. I keep it serviced at 10km intervals.
A pleasure to drive, zippy little machine, economical and handles couriering just fine.
Stepped out of a VW crafter and prefer my transit.

Badge330
BodyVan
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
WheelbaseShort
TransmissionManual

Leigh Jensen

Leigh JensenPerth

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

The best all round car I have ever owned

published

Bought a new 280 Low Roof MWB FWD in 2012. Fitted windows all round, folding rear seat, fans & insulation & lining to rear cargo area. This is my daily driver & family wagon & work van. Very comfortable ride, handles extremely well, does NOT drive like a van. Would I buy another one? Most definitely.

Faults - the front passenger bench seat is a little too upright for real comfort
- small leak from power steering column at 60,000km and 5th gear shredded at 65,000km. Both fixed under warranty by Lane Ford, with no hassle from Ford Australia - excellent service from both parties.

Engine Size2.4L Turbo
Badge280
BodyVan
WheelbaseMedium

Turbo problems

published

Van runs perfect until you hook up and tow it gets a gear like warning light that relates to petrol engines but its a 2.4 turbo diesel, turbo shuts down and has no power, taken to ford dealers they are useless also clutch pedal has no pressure after long drive but fine if driven short term

Engine Size2.4L Turbo
BodyVan

Bob L

Bob L

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Ford Transit VM Dual wheel jumbo. An excellent delivery van

published
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
WheelbaseLong Jumbo

Tony

TonyAdelaide

Don't buy get something else

published

Owned it from new 2010 model to date have had gearbox replace under warranty twice in the last 12 months rear seals replaced four times tail shaft yoke twice and still no answers from ford they have claimed it's wear and tear car has travelled 197000 k's I know that is a lot but as the car has only been used for long distance driving and carrying no load or towing I think that maybe there's a issue with the six speed manual don't your self a favour buy something else
Engine power is good for a turbo diesel
Gearbox

Engine Size2.4L Turbo
BodyVan

Nototransit

NototransitMelbourne

Do not buy a ford transit

published
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Badge350
BodyVan
WheelbaseLong

awesome

published

I have had my 2010 transit for 6 months and very happy with it so far. I have my own plumbing business, the transit pulls through with flying colours, it is always fully load and when it needs tow a trailer it dose it with ease. The transit has a good balance off power and fuel efficiency.
Plenty of room in cab and cargo area, a pleasure to drive.
Parts are a little expensive for a ford, a little more power would be great.

BodyCab Chassis

Page 1 of 2

See all Ford Transit reviews

Questions & Answers

Pete B

Pete Basked

I have 2007 transit 2.4 TDCI. It has developed a whistle which I’m thinking may be turbo/air intake related. Any clues? Also my clutch goes soft after heavy climbing returns to normal when not under this stress.

1 answer
Coogie
Coogie

We also have 2007 Transit and has developed whistle. Mechanic tells me that it is leaking turbo gasket - not a problem to leave it for a while. Apparently is costly to replace due to time spent dismantling various components to get to it.


Trav

Travasked

hey mate wondering if you could recommend somewhere to got a 2006 transit engine vm 2.4 litre ?

2 answers
Rony
Rony

Hi mate , just call me tomorrow.
0433078978

Thanks

Alex L
Alex L

0421747553 Alex thanks mate


Grumpy ford owner

Grumpy ford ownerasked

Front wheel bearings are they poor or what?

2 answers
Marina
Marina

Have not experienced a problem with front wheel bearings (yet), but I am not surprised this would be the next unexpected cost on my ford Transit VM.
- At 149.000 km, oil cooler failed. Cost $ 5.000
- At 155.000 km, alternator broken.
Cost $ 1.500

So yeah, what will the next thing be, front wheel bearings????

Rony
Rony

some one just ripe you off , if you are in Melbourne . There is one good ford Transit Mechanic. Let me know . if you need any detail


Get an answer from our members and Ford representatives

Details

CategoryVans
Release dateJan 2006
Discontinuation dateDec 2013
Compare all Ford Transit

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.