5 photos
Ford Transit

Ford Transit

VM, VO
2.9 from 38 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Vans in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Ford

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    2.5 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    2.5 (2)
  • Braking
    2.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    1.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    2.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    3.5 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    2.0 (2)
  • Handling
    3.5 (2)
  • Interior Design
    3.5 (2)
  • Boot Size
    3.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    3.0 (2)
  • Features
    2.5 (2)
Previous
Next
Bruno F
Bruno FSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Absolute GARBAGE from rust to multiple sensor failure and mechanical failure just buy something else

published

Ignition switch failure
Mass airflow sensor failure
Fuel solenoid failure
Fuel filter early failure
Water cooling joint breakage just by gently wagging it to disconnect the hose

I could go forever
Shocking service
No parts available not even at Ford dealership

Go straight past it

Purchased in October 2011.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5

Don't do it to yourself

published

Purchased in June 2017 for $55,000.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5

absolutely pain in the Ass

published
Badge350
BodyVan
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2012
Trevor S
Trevor Sbairnsdale

82000 km and needs new motor

published

Five years old, country 82000 kms, with no warning shudder shudder shudder engine gone, Ford quotes $10000.00 to fix, that's a bit of bad luck. What's the point in having something great to drive if it doesn't work.and work it is supposed to do, now it's off the road for as long as it takes, and I do my deliveries in a wheelbarrow?

Badge(No Badge)
BodyCab Chassis
Engine Size2.2L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Vans

Find out how Ford Transit compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tony
TonyTolga

Not Happy Ford

published

I have enjoyed the two years of owning this vehicle. But at 70,000km, the clutch has gone including gear box. Ford Customer Fleet Care has not been helpful at all. I've been without my vehicle for 5 weeks and still waiting on parts. And with this being my work vehicle which I work out of every day, it becomes Very disturbing. I know we live in North Queensland but we do have Daily Air Freight Services. I would not recommend a Ford due to lack of service from Customer Care plus the fact of it's age and such major problems at such low Km.

Badge350L
BodyVan
Engine Size2.2L Turbo
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2014
Bas
BasSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Never again

published

Must be the worst van in the world! Everything has gone wrong - timing chain jumping- rear wheel seal leaks- water pump- vacuum pump - hydraulic clutch pump- belt tensioner- clutch- many more things. Parts are extremely expensive and ford charge 3 times more than aftermarket products. Every mechanic I've been to hates these vans.

Badge350
BodyVan
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2006

Deliberate engineering of products so they only last for the warranty period.

published
Badge350L
BodyVan
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
TransmissionManual

Related Articles

Previous
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next

piece of ^%&*

published

My partner has a 2008 2.4 turbo diesel and we have spent thousands on this piece of $%^$. I have come on here to see if anyone else has had their drive chain (timing chain) snap on them. We need as many people to come forward as possible. If you are one of many please message me

Badge(No Badge)
BodyVan
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionManual

Timeing chain tensioner failure.

published

Ex-rental 6-berth. Engine died after 13 months ownership and 10000klms use. Seemed like a good buy at $55000. Just spent $14000. On new engine, clutch and injectors (fitted). Expensive when they go wrong. Timing chain tensioner fault is well known. Word of warning. Have it checked and replaced. Would not buy again.

Badge290
Body6-berth motorhome.
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Vans

Find out how Ford Transit compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tony
TonyAdelaide

Don't buy get something else

published

Owned it from new 2010 model to date have had gearbox replace under warranty twice in the last 12 months rear seals replaced four times tail shaft yoke twice and still no answers from ford they have claimed it's wear and tear car has travelled 197000 k's I know that is a lot but as the car has only been used for long distance driving and carrying no load or towing I think that maybe there's a issue with the six speed manual don't your self a favour buy something else
Engine power is good for a turbo diesel
Gearbox

Engine Size2.4L Turbo
BodyVan
Nototransit
NototransitMelbourne

Do not buy a ford transit

published
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Badge350
BodyVan
WheelbaseLong
Ian70
Ian70AU
  • 26 reviews
  • 13 likes

Junk.

published

Where to start? Brake rotors; twice. EGR valve, twice; water pump. I bought this van for it's carrying capacity and it can definitely take the weight I put in it...but it's just not worth the grey hair. It's one of the most unreliable vehicles I have ever owned. I used to like Fords...not anymore.
Load capacity. It has a barn doors option. It has very good rear visibility. Good fuel economy on the diesel.
Unreliable. It's a money pit. The standard jack included with my transit, won't lift the car high enough to change the tyre.

TransmissionManual
Vans

Find out how Ford Transit compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Terrible

published
BodyVan
Mustafa18
Mustafa18
bob
bob

You mean after the previous guy spent $11,000 onrepairs you still bought it? If you was an eskimo I reckon I could sell you ice!

Questions & Answers

djwaller4
djwaller4asked
Transit

Hello. Does anyone know much about the locking system on a 2006 v j transit camper van?

2 answers
Cally
Cally

Nup. But after reading all the endless expensive repair bills on ford transit vans theres no way lm buying one now

djwaller4
djwaller4

Well after sorting out the couple of little problems known with these models. I'm now very happy to report, the ol Transhit is running sweet, and I'm pretty happy at the moment....

TONY E.
TONY E.asked
Transit VM (2006-2013)

I have installed 2 master clutch units in 6 months, do I have a problem with clutch or master clutch unit which is made of plastic?

1 answer
Cally
Cally

Its made of plastic

g dogg
g doggasked
Transit

What is the difference between a fa and a vm chassis?

1 answer
kombi53
kombi53

to be honest I do not know ! my experience is with the new Transit custom long wheel base, great looking, goes well, the drivers seat did not suit me to the point with 500kms on the clock I traded it back to Ford, not a cheap experience !!

See all Ford Transit questions

Get an answer from our members and Ford representatives

Ford Transit

Details

Compare both Ford Transit
Ford Transit VM
  • Discontinued

Ford Transit VM (2006-2013)

3.0
(24)
CategoryVansVans
Release dateJan 2014Jan 2006
Discontinuation dateDec 2013
Compare both Ford Transit

Other Vans

Previous
Next
See all Vans

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.