5 photos
Ford Transit

Ford Transit

VM, VO
2.9 from 38 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Vans in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Ford

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.5 (4)
  • Value for Money
    4.8 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (4)
  • Noise Level
    4.8 (4)
  • Braking
    5.0 (4)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.8 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (4)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (4)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (4)
  • Handling
    4.8 (4)
  • Interior Design
    4.5 (4)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (3)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (4)
  • Features
    4.0 (4)
Previous
Next
rogfra1770
rogfra1770South East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Jack of all trades, master of some

published

Use as my car and weekend escape vehicle
Wider than you think, lower than it looks, quicker than it should be with more equipment than you would expect in a van

Purchased in January 2020 at Ford Dealers for $50,990.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5

A great reliable and economical transportation.

published

My transit was coverted ito a camper and one a year I tour Europe for aproximately 30,000 Km.
It has 286,000 Km and had no major breackdown. The engine 2.2L Diesel 140HP is fuel efficiently 6.2 L/ 100Km. Doesn't consume any oil between changes ( 15,000 Km ). I use only 100% Synthetic oil 5W 30.
I had to replace the left hub bearring. I will replace the 4 injectors and the EGR valve to improve the emission and to stop the slight black smock on shifting gears.
It is a very reliable vehicle and drives comfortable. The turning radius is not tight due to the front wheel drive and a the long wheelbase. The passenger door fails to lock sometimes.

Purchased in June 2008 at Privet sale.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Shygirl101
Shygirl101Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 4 reviews

Great Tradie Van

published

This is a great Van, there is room for all your tools you can pretty much customise the back with however you need to work. Gets good fuel mileage too and is super comfortable to drive.

Purchased in March 2016 at Private Sale.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
kangachick
kangachickAU
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Older Ford Transits better than new ones

published

I have a Ford Transit Winnebago 2001 and its been fantastic. I'm the 3rd owner and the vehicle has performed very well. Travelling around Australia, if I do need anything incl servicing, all mechanics know Ford. And parts are easy to get.
All the bad reviews are referring to newer models.
Mine is 2001 - yes its 18 years old, but things were built differently back then, better quality = built to last.
I wanted to put this here to balance out the bad reviews. Keep in mind, people are more likely to spend time writing a bad review than a good one. It gives them a vent. I would buy an older Ford Transit chassis again, just the older models. They go forever.

Badge(No Badge)
BodyWinnebago
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Vans

Find out how Ford Transit compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Transit motorhome

published
Badge350L
BodyVan
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2013

Great little work horse

published

Vehicle inspection by mechanic well worth $$$
2007 2.4 litre diesel swb van which has done 100km since purchased.
Have replaced waterpump. I keep it serviced at 10km intervals.
A pleasure to drive, zippy little machine, economical and handles couriering just fine.
Stepped out of a VW crafter and prefer my transit.

Badge330
BodyVan
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
WheelbaseShort
TransmissionManual
Leigh Jensen
Leigh JensenPerth
  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

The best all round car I have ever owned

published

Bought a new 280 Low Roof MWB FWD in 2012. Fitted windows all round, folding rear seat, fans & insulation & lining to rear cargo area. This is my daily driver & family wagon & work van. Very comfortable ride, handles extremely well, does NOT drive like a van. Would I buy another one? Most definitely.

Faults - the front passenger bench seat is a little too upright for real comfort
- small leak from power steering column at 60,000km and 5th gear shredded at 65,000km. Both fixed under warranty by Lane Ford, with no hassle from Ford Australia - excellent service from both parties.

Purchased in June 2012 at Lane Ford for $33,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

Related Articles

Previous
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next

Turbo problems

published

Van runs perfect until you hook up and tow it gets a gear like warning light that relates to petrol engines but its a 2.4 turbo diesel, turbo shuts down and has no power, taken to ford dealers they are useless also clutch pedal has no pressure after long drive but fine if driven short term

Engine Size2.4L Turbo
BodyVan
Bob L
Bob L
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Ford Transit VM Dual wheel jumbo. An excellent delivery van

published
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
WheelbaseLong Jumbo
Vans

Find out how Ford Transit compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

awesome

published

I have had my 2010 transit for 6 months and very happy with it so far. I have my own plumbing business, the transit pulls through with flying colours, it is always fully load and when it needs tow a trailer it dose it with ease. The transit has a good balance off power and fuel efficiency.
Plenty of room in cab and cargo area, a pleasure to drive.
Parts are a little expensive for a ford, a little more power would be great.

BodyCab Chassis
vk2loz
vk2lozAU
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent

published

i have 375000 klm on my 06 transit regular service never had a problem i am sure that a Japanese van would have died by now as i regularly have 1.5 ton in the back and another 1 ton on the trailer i have towed a xr Fairmont to every state in Australia and never broke down , i bet a smaller van would do that , i have been very happy with the van my wife drives it as well and loves it , keep up the good work ford thanks for a great van
turbo good view from the drivers seat , easy to park great tow car turbo diesel stand in the back with out bending over
bumpers should have been color coded , long way up to the drivers seat and i am 6 foot tall

BodyVan
Kingfish
Kingfish

I have a 2008 Transit Winnebago and reckon it is fantastic. I fitted a Steinbauer tuning chip... overpriced but made the 2.4 motor climb hills with less gear changes.

anton s
anton s

I have a fiat scudo 2008 fuel pump cost $2400.00 f/sway bar bushes $500.00 want to swap cars

vk2loz
vk2loz

NO anton s ,,,i will keep the transit , i am op to 766,000 k`s have had 2 clutches the girl uses a little oil now but drives great ,,,maybe a rebuild next year !!fingers crossed and touch wood .

Questions & Answers

djwaller4
djwaller4asked
Transit

Hello. Does anyone know much about the locking system on a 2006 v j transit camper van?

2 answers
Cally
Cally

Nup. But after reading all the endless expensive repair bills on ford transit vans theres no way lm buying one now

djwaller4
djwaller4

Well after sorting out the couple of little problems known with these models. I'm now very happy to report, the ol Transhit is running sweet, and I'm pretty happy at the moment....

TONY E.
TONY E.asked
Transit VM (2006-2013)

I have installed 2 master clutch units in 6 months, do I have a problem with clutch or master clutch unit which is made of plastic?

1 answer
Cally
Cally

Its made of plastic

g dogg
g doggasked
Transit

What is the difference between a fa and a vm chassis?

1 answer
kombi53
kombi53

to be honest I do not know ! my experience is with the new Transit custom long wheel base, great looking, goes well, the drivers seat did not suit me to the point with 500kms on the clock I traded it back to Ford, not a cheap experience !!

See all Ford Transit questions

Get an answer from our members and Ford representatives

Ford Transit

Details

Compare both Ford Transit
Ford Transit VM
  • Discontinued

Ford Transit VM (2006-2013)

3.0
(24)
CategoryVansVans
Release dateJan 2014Jan 2006
Discontinuation dateDec 2013
Compare both Ford Transit

Other Vans

Previous
Next
See all Vans

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.