??!
8 photos
Fujitsu Designer
3.9 from 29 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.9 (7)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (5)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (7)
  • Heating / Cooling Speed
    3.8 (5)
Previous
Next
erdbrink

erdbrink

  • 2 reviews

working fine

published

got that device July 2019. Working fine for heating and cooling. Takes ~5 minutes to get started,...
Question though: Last year, when we turn on heating, there was quite a bit for water coming out of the outside unit. We had the installer come back to attach a pipe so water is not running down the external wall.
This year, we're heating quite a bit and so far,... no water whatsoever!
Is there supposed to be constantly condense water from the outside unit in heating mode? Again, there's nothing so far, even when heating all day.
Just checking if that's fine as such, or if the pipe might be blocked causing a (long term) damage?
Thanks

(location: Sydney)

Purchased in July 2019 at Appliances Online for A$1,392.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelGood
Room TypeLiving/Dining Area
See all answers
1 comment
Fujitsu
Fujitsu A.Fujitsu
Snoozing

SnoozingGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Noisy operation

published

I have had this unit for just over 5 years and have noticed how noisy it is compared with other brand air conditioners that I have had installed in other rooms. Unfortunately, I had this fitted in our bedroom and find it unsuitable for a quiet environment with a 'ticking' sound when the thermostat cuts in and the fan stops.

Purchased in September 2014 for A$1,700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelGood
Room TypeLarge Bedroom
See all answers
1 comment
Fujitsu
Fujitsu A.Fujitsu

Hi Valued Customer, we would suggest for you to contact a technician to review the noise coming from your Fujitsu Air Conditioning unit or call to speak with our technical support team who will happily discuss this with you Tel: 1300 364 484.

Dean

DeanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Have installed these in our last two houses and looking to use them again in the next!

published

We have owned 4 of these designer split systems in our last 2 homes. Both places we had a 5kw and 2.5kw units.
Their performance has been excellent! Even on the hottest summer days we have had running the two units in our home have kept it cool.
We have never had an issue with the units and are constantly being used. We no longer use Gas ducted heating because these units perform so well.
We just bought our next new home and I'm seriously thinking of buying these again.
Only down side is that in the past 6 years this unit hasn't advanced. Many of the other competitors now offer wifi conectivity. It will be out of the Fujitsu Designer range or the Daikin Zena ranges.

Purchased in July 2016 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelGood
Room TypeLiving/Dining Area and Whole House
See all answers
1 comment
Fujitsu
Fujitsu A.Fujitsu
Split System Air Conditioners

Find out how Fujitsu Designer compares to other Split System Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Janey

JaneySydney Surrounds, NSW

Biggest waste of money

published

Had it for 5 years and had to get it repaired twice in that time. It’s now a month out of warranty and it’s not working again!!!
I just got repair quote from Fujitsu for $834.17 (turns out that the coil is now broken)!!!
I’ve hardly been able to use it in the time I have had it due to issues, so I definitely would NOT recommend this product if you want something long lasting (even if it does look nice).

Purchased in December 2014 at Appliance Central.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelGood
Room TypeLiving/Dining Area
See all answers
1 comment
Fujitsu
Fujitsu A.Fujitsu

Disappointed

published

Bought this about 6 months after comparing many and went against a few suggestions due to its sleek design.But proved to be very ineffective.Doesnt cool as sold.Using it for a small 1 bedroom apartment yet I have to use a cooler together with the air conditioner to help cool.Wouldnt suggest this sleek AC.

Purchased in July 2019 at Bing Lee for A$999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelGood
Room TypeLiving/Dining Area
See all answers
1 comment
Fujitsu
Fujitsu A.Fujitsu
Naeem

NaeemSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

A little noisy but does the job

published

I bought it from Bing Lee during their 20% off Ebay sale and Fujitsu was also running $150 cashback promo so the total price came to $409.20.

The looks have been great but it's bit noisy when warming up. Overall I am pleased with the product, especially the price I paid for a known brand.

Purchased in April 2019 at Bing Lee for A$409.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Room TypeSmall Bedroom
See all answers
1 comment
Fujitsu
Fujitsu A.Fujitsu
Elvin N.

Elvin N.

  • 5 reviews

My first air cond

published

This air conditioning is my first air cond that I ever have, I cannot remember how long ago but i recommend to anyone thinking of buy a this brand you cannot get it wrong.

Purchased in February 2012.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation LevelAverage
Room TypeLarge Bedroom and Small Bedroom
See all answers
1 comment
Fujitsu
Fujitsu A.Fujitsu

HI Elvin, Thank you for taking the time to place your rating and comment on Product Review, your feedback is important to us. We are delighted to hear you are pleased with your Fujitsu Air conditioning unit and would recommend people to purchase too.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Dave

DaveGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Looks beautiful but a little noisy

published

We have installed four of these Designer series split systems in the bedrooms of one of our properties. They look stunning - sit close to the wall, and the white on the front panel is a pure white (not an off-white like some cheaper brands). They heat and cool effectively and seem to be quite energy efficient.
The indoor units can be noisy when the fan is on high, which might be a concern in bedrooms for light sleepers. We also have Fujitsu Lifestyle series units in another property and they are far quieter.
I would recommend these units for spaces that need something that looks good like small- to medium-sized living areas or a study, but I wouldn't install them in a bedroom again.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
1 comment
Fujitsu
Fujitsu A.Fujitsu

Hi Dave, Thank you for your feedback on Product Review. Your units shouldn't be noisy on high fan. If you contact our assist department from the 2nd January, they will be able to arrange a service technician to come and inspect this for you.

Michael

MichaelMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Heat/cools well. Loud when heating. Front panel lift action failed for me too.

published

Heating and cooling works great for bedrooms. Internal unit is noisy, Fujitsu have advised the noise is normal, I also have other Fujitsu models which make no noise hmmm. Front panel lift action broke after a year see: https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=XKiO2LCIduQ. I've since discovered the broken front panel is a common issue. Remote control is NOT backlit which is not ideal when you have kids.

Unit is cosmetically quite attractive.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
1 comment
Fujitsu
Fujitsu A.Fujitsu

Hi Michael, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on Product Review. if you would like us to have another look at your air conditioner please contact Fujitsu Assist on 1300 658 840.

Split System Air Conditioners

Find out how Fujitsu Designer compares to other Split System Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nik

NikSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Works well, A bit Noisy

published

The Fujitsu Designer air conditioner has been a great addition for the household. It heats up the room and controls the temperature quite well and quite quickly. The machine can get noisy though when warming up and operate at high temperatures. Overall I am pleased with the product, especially if you can get it on sale.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
1 comment
Fujitsu
Fujitsu A.Fujitsu
Matt2018

Matt2018Adelaide

  • 6 reviews

Simply Excellent

published

Heats and cools brilliantly. Super quiet, even on high though I recommend leaving it around 22 degrees on low as this is the most cost efficient way to heat or cool. (Just change the mode). Easy to use controls. Looks good on the wall too. Haven't needed to have it serviced yet!

Date PurchasedMay 2014
1 comment
Fujitsu
Fujitsu A.Fujitsu

Hi Matt, We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your Fujitsu Air Conditioner. Thank you

Dianearnot

Dianearnot

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

It works but is not great.

published

My husband, and AC engineer, fitted this unit into our bedroom. It looks nice and neat when not in use but the outdoor unit is quite noisy when it runs. The door lifts up and opens when in use and, although a nice touch, our has broken. The lifting wheel is made of plastic and not sufficient to lift the door time after time.

Date PurchasedSep 2015
I never do reviews

I never do reviewsCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

nice looking, quiet and efficient.

published

Nothing tricky but I think the aesthetic design and the additional efficiency make it well worth it. We put one of these in each of the bed rooms and I have nothing at all bad to report. I think a fixed wall mounted control might be a nice option instead of the remote that tends to walk (I have small children) but that's not a complaint. I like them.

Date PurchasedJan 2015
michael

michaelAuburn

Perfect product, so quiet, can’t live without it.

published

we bought this machine last year , it was installed beautifully, and the machine itself work beautifully as well, very quiet, very smooth, and most of all , very energy saving, the machine is easy to use ,once you set up your liking, all you need just one press. Highly recommended.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Raj

RajSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Ecxcellent Fujitsu split system

published

Very happy overall and found slightly better with cooling compared to heating and unit very quite. Installation seems quite simple and completed in 2-3 hours time by technician and we like this unit as quite easy to use for controlling temperatures and change settings to different modes as required with weather conditions and finding economical with power usage compared to existing other split air conditioning units.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Split System Air Conditioners

Find out how Fujitsu Designer compares to other Split System Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jlb01

Jlb01Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Effective Aircon

published

5kw unit's performance is quiet, need to be outside to hear it work and even then you have to listen hard. Installation was done in a very efficient manner and minimal disruption to home. Installer easily explained settings on remote and now would not be without it. would certainly recommend installer as a great outfit

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Apey

ApeyMelbourne

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Air-Con

published

We've had our unit for the last 2 years. We've had no reliability issues at all.

The unit is fairly quiet, both inside and outside where the compressor lives. In terms of functionality it offers fairly standard functionality and is very similar to its competitors.

The key highlight of this air con are its handsome looks. The unit has a front fascia which is seamless when the air-con is OFF, but moves up to expose the grille when the air-con is switched ON. It carries a minimalist look.

In summary, no reliability issues to date, solid and relatively quiet unit that looks the part in any modern setting.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Lou fab

Lou fabIllawarra, NSW

  • 20 reviews
  • 6 likes

Nice aircon

published

Looks great with sliding front facia
Easy to use remote cooling and heat both work great has a power option that blasts out the air to cool or heat room very quickly
Cools a 5 x 6 m room quite easy and keeps it at temp no drama would recommend

Date PurchasedJan 2017
rick

rick

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

good unit

published

We got the 2.5kw and 5kw models one for the bedroom and one for the lounge room, the 5kw is a fair bit quieter than the 2.5kw, they both are reasonably quiet, however we can just hear the 2.5kw compressor running opposite a brick veneer wall, the 5kw is practically not audible through the wall. we got these ones due to the energy rating a price was a bit cheaper than the others. they do not come with plumbing equipment for gas, some other brands might come with them, not a big deal though unless you were going to DIY install perhaps go with a brand that has the tubes supplied, however you may as well just pay someone the 500 bucks or so each that there is to install these units, saves you the hassle...

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Jenni

Jenni

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good

published

Pretty happy with the unit. Heating a 2brm unit and it does a good job even though it's a decent sized area. Very quiet too. Only problem I find is the unit is mounted high on the wall and if you are sitting on the lounge you feel a cool draft even thought it is set to heat. Sometimes it feels warmer then other times even though it is set at same temp

Date PurchasedSep 2016
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Mel X.

Mel X.asked

Designer ASTG09KUCA (2.5kW / 3.2kW)

Where is this Air Con (ASTG09KUCA) made in?

1 answer
Fujitsu
Fujitsu A.Fujitsu

Hi Mel please be advised Fujitsu Air Conditioning units are Fujitsu systems are designed and engineered in Japan and currently manufactured in China and Thailand. For any further information please visit our website www.fujitsugeneral.com.au or call Tel: 1300 364 484

hxtagf W.

hxtagf W.asked

Designer ASTG09KUCA (2.5kW / 3.2kW)

Mine works but the front door/panel won't lift up automatically, so this has impact on the cooling effects as the front panel blocks the air flow. How can we fix this issue? Please advise.

2 answers
Fujitsu
Fujitsu A.Fujitsu

Hi hxagf W, You will need to contact our Assist Team on 1300 658 840 so they can arrange a technician to attend to look at the issue for you.

Fujitsu
Fujitsu A.Fujitsu

Hi hxtagf/.W we would suggest a technician to fix your unit. Please call Fujitsu Assist Tel: 1300 364 484 and we will be able to advise the nearest Fujitsu Service Agent for you.

lani

laniasked

Designer ASTG12KUCA (3.5kW / 4.3kW)

I have just put every thing back after having cleaned the filters and the unit will go hot the panel does not lift up and open.what should I do?

1 answer
Fujitsu
Fujitsu A.Fujitsu

Hi Lani, can you please contact our technical support team on 1300 364 484 and they will talk you through fixing this up. Thanks

Get an answer from our members and Fujitsu representatives

Details

Compare all 6 Fujitsu Designer
Fujitsu Designer ASTG09LUCB
  • Discontinued

Fujitsu Designer ASTG09LUCB

No reviews yet
CategorySplit System Air ConditionersSplit System Air ConditionersSplit System Air ConditionersSplit System Air Conditioners
Price (RRP) A$1,639.00A$1,839.00A$2,689.00
Features Inverter, On/Off Timer and Remote ControlInverter, On/Off Timer and Remote ControlInverter, On/Off Timer and Remote ControlInverter, On/Off Timer and Remote Control
Cooling Power2.5 kW3.5 kW5 kW2.5 kW
Heating Power3.2 kW4.3 kW6 kW33 kW
Reverse Cycle YesYesYesYes
TypeFull System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)Full System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)Full System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)Full System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)
Cooling Energy Rating 5 stars3 stars
Heating Energy Rating 5 stars3 stars
Operating Temperature for Cooling10 to 4610 to 460 to 46
Operating Temperature for Heating-15 to +24-15 to +24-10 to +24
Auto Cleaning (Self Cleaning)YesNo
Indoor Unit Dimensions 282 x 790 x 870 mm282 x 870 x 185 mm282 x 185 x 870 mm
Indoor Weight9.5 kg9.5 kg9.5 kg
Max Indoor Sound Pressure Level42 dB47 dB36 dB
Outdoor Unit Dimensions 290 x 790 x 540 mm620 x 790 x 290 mm330 x 900 x 830 mm
Outdoor Weight40 kg68 kg
Max Outdoor Sound Pressure Level47 dB51 dB50 dB
Max Outdoor Sound Power Level64 dB68 dB64 dB
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateSep 2012Sep 2012Sep 2012
Replaced byFujitsu Designer ASTG09KUCA (2.5kW / 3.2kW)
Compare all 6 Fujitsu Designer

Visit official website
  • MPN: ASTG09KUCA

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.