??!
3 photos
Gaggia Classic

Gaggia Classic (page 2 of 4)

4.4 from 64 reviews

Reviews

4.4

64 reviews
5
(36)
4
(20)
3
(4)
2
(3)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (5)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (5)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (5)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (2)
  • Product is used
  • Consistency
    3.8 (5)
  • Milk Frothing
    3.2 (5)
Previous
Next
Barnstormer

BarnstormerMelbourne

  • 13 reviews

Great Manual Coffee Machine

published

This machine has been around for over two decades for a good reason, it is built like a tank! Commercial quality engineering and components in a domestic coffee machine. It is an even better machine if you go to the expense of upgrading the frothing wand. Makes a quality Crema delivered at the ideal temperature.

Date PurchasedSep 2004
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia

RIP old girl

published
Date PurchasedSep 2012
Dan

DanVIC, 3056

  • 10 reviews

We bought two of these

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Gaggia Classic compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
LawrieB

LawrieBPalmwoods

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Almost perfect

published

Like the other reviews this coffee machine is built like a battleship and uses good quality components thar are readily available should you break something.
It makes great coffee but for me the auto steam wand doesnt give me good milk texture so I replaced it with a Rancillio Silvio wand bought on ebay for $33 and now its perfect.
I also bought a spring loaded tamp and that makes the results predictably good, again worth the investment.
I was lucky to get it at $99 off the retail because it was Coffe Italia's birthday so happy about that. Hopefully this machine will last me for many years like the other owners say.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia

Hey Lawrie, thanks for sharing your experience with the Gaggia Classic! It sounds like you've got your coffee situation properly figured out. :)

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

scottp

scottp

  • 10 reviews
  • 11 likes

Classic in everyway - Quality machine

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia

Thank you for the great feedback. We're happy to hear you're enjoying your Gaggia so much. :)

Kind regards,
the Philips Australia team

Gaggia Classic is a Tank!

published

I've had my Gaggia Classic for 11 years, it has high quality materials and is built to last.

You need a burr grinder and find best settings to fully enjoy coffee on any machine. The quality of shots is as good as you will find anywhere.

The only downside is the single boiler, but that's understandable at this price point. I will upgrade at some point. If Gaggia put out a dual boiler similar to the Classic, it would be a hit.

Highly recommend over all the over brands sold in domestic stores. I got mine for $500 from Harvey Norman, very happy customer!

Date PurchasedJun 2005
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia

Great simple machine

published

Recently bought Gaggio Classic especially for my espresso coffee from Domenico in Moreland rd Coburg, who were wonderful, couldn't have been more helpful. Makes great coffee, and is just a good size.

1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia

We're glad to hear this and thanks for sharing Lis! :)

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Coffee gets better

published

We've had a Gaggia classic for about 10 years. No problems! Replaced the steam wand with a $37 upgrade (our son's idea). We've just purchased a new grinder (K3) and this now is showing the full potential of the Gaggia. Our son now has Gaggia and he's also 'lovin it'. The fact that it's all quality parts inside means replacements are available if needed.

Date PurchasedJan 2006
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia

Thank you so much for your review here! Great to read that both you and your son are 'lovin it'. ;-)

Kind regards,
the Philips Australia team.

PeteS

PeteSGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 13 reviews

Great espresso

published

I've had this machine for 12 months now and have had no problems with it. It took me a while to get the most out of it and am now very happy with the results. It takes a while for the boiler to heat up to optimum temp and I believe the boiler capacity is a bit small. I use a burr grinder directly into the commercial size portafilter and reckon the espresso quality is as good as any I've tried. I replaced a delonghi icona machine with the Gaggia and noticed the difference straight away. Would recommend this machine to anyone wanting a manual espresso machine.

Date PurchasedJun 2015
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Gaggia Classic compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Love it!

published
2 comments
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia
DRM
DRM

True

DannyEngineer

DannyEngineer

  • 15 reviews
  • 6 likes

Awesome Espresso Machine But Not Great At Frothing Milk

published

Had it for 7 years now. Fantastic espresso make not so much a good cappuccino or latte maker. I had to replace the milk frother nozzle with a Saeco one. It can now froth milk but only one glass at a time.

Had to replace a couple of small parts but not too major.
You really really really need to buy the three way valve cleaner or else your coffee will become bitter.
The machine has a shared boiler between the water and the steam so you have to let the steam build up after making the espresso.

Still a very good machine for what it is. Don't pay full price but wait until Myers has a discount on.

1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia
timcsky

timcskySouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 8 reviews

Patience produces a virtuous Flat-White, time after time

published
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia

Wow. Nice. Thanks a lot for submitting this review and for being a loyal fan. Glad you like it.

Somewhere between absolutely brilliant and supremely frustrating

published
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia

Hello Pieter, thanks for your valuable feedback. Maybe there are some tips and tricks left, please call to: 1300 660 976

saleh

salehLahore

  • Verified purchase

Happy with it soo far , could have been better

published

Makes good espresso and well built ( commercial type portafilter and 3 way solenoid valve) , wish they would have not saved money on boiler and cheap plastic frothier that blows off occasionally while steaming splashing milk all over the place .

1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia

We are glad to hear this and thanks for the feedback.

vBro

vBroGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 9 reviews

'Simply' a brilliant machine

published
1 comment
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia

Hi, thank you for your comprehensive review! We will make sure your feedback reaches our product team. Kind regards, the Philips Australia team.

Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Gaggia Classic compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
DreamensioN

DreamensioNSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

An excellant home espresso machine

published
Tine

TineSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Issues with thermostat and fuse on machine bought in 2011 and Philips no interest in replacing

published

We have an older machine bought in 2008 which we have been very happy with. We have spent more than the original acquisition cost of the 2011 machine on replacing fuse and thermostat annually as the latter keep failing and the the first one keeps blowing. Philips who owns the brand now have had no interest in replacing the machine and have only offered to pay $33.00 out of a repair cost of $193.00. Their customer care service have also been disappointing to deal with. 8 months ago it was hard to find any information on who was the authorised repairer in Sydney. Web-site has since been updated.

2 comments
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia

Sorry to hear about the difficulties you’ve experienced. Can you contact us on philips.product.review@philips.com along with your contact details, we’d like to get in touch and see if we can help you.

Tine
Tine

Happy to oblige. Email sent to above email address.

Billy.D

Billy.DGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Just about Perfect!

published
2 comments
Snazzie
Snazzie

It's not Italian made like a Saeco.

Billy.D
Billy.D

I have a Gaggia Classic at the moment and they are made in Italy.
The Saeco model l had was not as good.

miserychick

miserychickBrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Excellent

published
1 comment
catlovescoffee
catlovescoffee

miserychick: which wand did you upgrade to?

KAPC

KAPCGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Love this coffee machine

published

Always reliable, doesn't complaint, no mess, no mother card, just simple espresso the way it should be, the pump is really strong so you might find that the size of the ground equalizes the commercial machines, so some brands of supermarket coffee which are made for plungers wont give the perfect crema.
size, colour, price

1 comment
AMM
AMM
Page 2 of 4
See all Gaggia Classic reviews

Questions & Answers

SLS

SLSasked

Hello! I have a gagglia brera - has worked perfectly for several years. Now the light in the top left comes on to indicate that the water tanks needs to be re-filled - but it continues to come on and the machine will not work regardless of the water level in the tank. Please kindly advise! thanks,

1 answer
Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia

Hi there, thanks for asking. We advise you to contact our colleagues here for further assistance: https://www.segafredo.com.au/contact-us/

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Yve

Yveasked

What's with the little black plug in the bottom of the filter holder?

1 answer
PeteS
PeteS

Hi Yve. I'm not sure what it's called but you get a better crema with it in. I have the thin end in the outlet. It's sort of like one of those widgets the put in Guinness beer.

Aussie

Aussieasked

I would like to ask..."what material is the heating tank made of?..I had a coffee gaggia in the 1980's and after about 12 years the electrics went all brittle so I decided to tear it apart to check the heating tank..lo and behold it was aluminium and was corroded badly and there was tons of aluminium dust at the bottom..this is what I was drinking?
I hope before you purchase one ask if the heating tank is alum.. or stainless. Go for stainless if you can get it.
I am Italian born.

3 answers
PeteS
PeteS

Mine is alloy. I believe they are now stainless steel.

Aussie
Aussie

Thanks for that. I may consider buying another with ss tank. Cheers Aussie.

Gaggia
Philips S.Gaggia

Hi there, thanks for asking. Please contact:

Espresso Italia-Segafredo Australia
67/69 Scarborough Beach Rd
North Perth
6006
WA
08 9201 1350

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Get an answer from our members and Gaggia representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.