??!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.2 (5)
  • Value for Money
    4.6 (5)
  • Ease of Use
    4.8 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (5)
  • Safety
    4.0 (4)
Previous
Next
Mark O

Mark OCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Not a bad little saw

published

Bought my Ferrex 16" saw at Aldi for $99 a year ago as a back up saw for my twenty year old Husqvarna - TBH I didn't expect much for 99 bucks but now it's accounted for about 5 tons of firewood it no longer owes me anything - Just changed the OEM chain which wasn't the best and now with a decent one it cuts like a champ - Mainly cutting Iron Bark and Red Box Gum usually up to about 12" in diametre - Had no issues with starting cold or hot but it can leak chain oil a little if l leave it full to the brim - Bottom line is if you feed it fresh fuel keep the air filter clean and look after the chain it's a good little saw for occasional DIY use.

Purchased in September 2019 at ALDI for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Vkoio4

Vkoio4

  • 3 reviews

Has cut a lot of firewood!

published

Over a couple of seasons I've used my Gardenline 45cc as a backup saw for the smaller stuff, but also some heavier work. It's been pretty darned good value for being on the markdown table at $40! Always reliable to start and idle, easy to handle and no particular fuss. It powers through thick, hard timber in reasonable time. The chain is low quality of course, but has lasted until now. I enjoy using the handy tool-less adjuster, though it's probably not as robust as the typical two bolts and nuts. My saw doesn't seem to leak much oil for a Chinese unit and, unlike my 62cc eBay specials, actually does oil the chain! The fuel line has now rotted, its first failure, but one that is fixed for a few cents. So, overall, a decent little unit.

Purchased at ALDI for $40.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Heath McInerney

Heath McInerneyCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

About time an affordable 4 stroke chainsaw

published

This saw is good on fuel. Runs nice and smooth. Ok it's not a 24" bar stihl or husky, but for what it is; it is a good saw. Ingenious how the engine oil is the bar oil. Only bad point, the file that comes with it, is soft and wears out after only 6 or 7 sharpens. That being said, new files are only about $7 at any mower/chainsaw store. No harder to start than any other saw. I have been cutting Aussie natives with it

Purchased in August 2019 at ALDI for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how ALDI Petrol Chainsaw compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Gutsy unit .....so far so good

published

Purchased in March 2019 at Aldi Carnegie for $150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Steve

SteveAlbury

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Ideal For Light Work

published

Bought this 37 cc chainsaw from Aldi primarily for light work during annual camping trips. Starts every year with 2-3pulls,nice compact size does the job great. Its not industrial designed so only good for light domestic jobs. But it does overly leak chain oil so only put enough oil in for what you need.

Purchased in February 2014 for $100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Tough little saw 47.1 CC Chainsaw $199

published

47.1 CC 4-stroke chainsaw from Aldi Toowoomba for $199.

I think Gardenline finally listened. This saw kicks butt. It's a 4-stroke which is completely different fom
other chainsaws I've used in the past. I know chainsaws and this thing blows my mind. Sounds like a
generator when idles and sounds like a trailbike revving. Love the sound. Haven't had much negativity to
say except, get a better spark plug as the cheap chinese sparkplug causes the saw to spit after that, it's a
47.1 CC monster. Make sure yall use 98 octane fuel and 10w 30 pure oil for the best performance.

Starts everytime now. Don't drop start it, won't help you much.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
James

JamesGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Awesome Saw

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Plenty of power starts easy

published

Gor my 53cc aldi chainsaw for $100... was on the clearance rack to start it i dont listen to the instructions i turn the ignition switch off give it 2 pulls with the choke on then turn ignition switch on with no choke & it starts easy although the bar is 16 inch ive been cutting hardwood logs up 20 inch thick wirh no problems the stated 2.2kw of power isnt to be laughed at anyway so far so good

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Greybeard

GreybeardUpper Coomera, Qld

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

A great Chainsaw

published

Although I have only have had my ALDI Gardenline 53 cc Chainsaw for a few weeks I have found it to be a great piece of equipment, but must admit the spark plug connection is badly designed, while checking the spark plug gap the clip came off with the rubber boot, could be the problem why some don't start, a new clip fixed the problem.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how ALDI Petrol Chainsaw compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Works good but is cheaply made

published

Workss good plenty of power, but safety brake broke chain got hot and stretched with caused the chain to wear out the chain bar cost me $90 to get fixed as l lost my reset so if your just looking for something to use every now and then ok but not to use alot

Date PurchasedMay 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
GreenOz

GreenOzAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Clutch could be the problem sometimes

published

I am surprised how such cheap chainsaw perform. Starts very easy every time, specifically after stopped while still warm. Some problems with chain falling off and clutch that keep slipping terribly while the smallest bit of oil gets from oiled bar very easy. Overall quite not bad chainsaw for the price, enough power to fall 30 cm trees.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

I tryed to break it

published

I've tryed to destroy mine added s longer bar n chain used it on only large iron bark logs (1m+ round) n it's never missed a beat. Starts easy. Only complaint is it vibarates like a mofo n is thirsty af but what do u expect for 100 bucks.. the stihl saw has required more maintenance but I guess it is older

Date PurchasedJan 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Patrick

PatrickCanberra

Starts everytime... good little chainsaw for under $100

published
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Aldi 12" saw.

published

Bought Aldi garden line chain saw 12" have had 3 years I've cut Cyprus trees 40' up in cherry picker all day long you need a dependable saw doing that type of work. Take it with me when I camp I have a stil saw bought Aldi one for back up works just as hard as stil. I find if you run 50 to 1 petrol oil no probs. Also you've got to tune them properly they don't come that well tuned cheers.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
GCoast

GCoast

  • 2 reviews

Works well so far

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how ALDI Petrol Chainsaw compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ray59

Ray59Newcastle

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Yet To Let Me Down

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all ALDI Petrol Chainsaw reviews

Questions & Answers

Jen G

Jen Gasked

Petrol Chainsaw

How to adjust chain in Model GCSG50F

No answers
Johnnyous D.

Johnnyous D.asked

Petrol Chainsaw

Where can I get a chain for my chainsaw at ?

1 answer
Chainsaw user
Chainsaw user

Bunnings

deandownunder

deandownunderasked

Petrol Chainsaw

Would like to buy a spare bar for my 2020 Ferrex 16inch chainsaw. There must be generic bars that fit but cannot find info. Thanks for any help.

2 answers
Chainsaw user
Chainsaw user

Bunnings

deandownunder
deandownunder

Thanks for replying.

See all ALDI Petrol Chainsaw questions

Get an answer from our members and ALDI representatives

ALDI Petrol Chainsaw

Details

Compare all 11 ALDI Petrol Chainsaw
CategoryPetrol ChainsawsPetrol ChainsawsPetrol ChainsawsPetrol Chainsaws
Price (RRP) $99.99$99.99$149.00$99.00
Use PruningPruning, Small tree felling, trimming, and cross-cutting and Tree felling, sawlog prep, and millingPruning and Small tree felling, trimming, and cross-cuttingPruning
Bar Length20 cm36 cm41 cm40 cm
FeaturesAnti-Vibration System, Automatic Chain Oiling / Lubrication, Carrying Case Included and Tool-free Chain TensioningAnti-Vibration System
Power (kW)1.5 kW
Engine Displacement25.4 cc46 cc53 cc45 cc
Special Buy Dates
  • 17 Apr 2021
  • 17 Apr 2021
  • 21 Mar 2018
  • 27 Mar 2019
  • 25 Mar 2020
  • 9 Apr 2016
  • 22 Oct 2016
  • 19 Aug 2017
  • 1 Sep 2018
  • 12 Oct 2019
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateApr 2021Apr 2021Mar 2018Apr 2016
Discontinuation dateApr 2021Apr 2021Mar 2020Oct 2019
Compare all 11 ALDI Petrol Chainsaw

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.