3 photos
Garmin DriveAssist 51 LMT-S

Garmin DriveAssist 51 LMT-S

MPN: 010-01682-42
2.0 from 13 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best GPS Navigation Systems in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Garmin? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.1 (9)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (9)
  • Ease of Use
    2.9 (9)
  • Readable Number PlatesYes (4) · No (1)
  • Video Quality
    3.6 (9)
  • Battery Life
    2.1 (9)
  • Audio Quality
    3.5 (8)
  • Night-Time Video Quality
    2.8 (9)
  • Battery Life
    2.1 (9)
  • Route Choice
    2.6 (7)
  • GPS Location Accuracy
    3.4 (8)
Previous
Next
D. Rivers
D. RiversGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Ok but...

published

Bought this a few years ago just before I got a proper dash cam. The maps are good but sometimes they take you around the long way, good audio alerts and bluetooth operation, the gps can be a bit slow to lock on at times. As for the dash cam feature ok for traffic use during the day e.g. collision and lane warnings but useless at night. Also the suction cup window mount falls off the window all the time. Next time I would get one without the camera and stick with a proper dash cam for video.
I rate this unit 6/10

Purchased in September 2017 for $450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Jordy
JordySydney
  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Has some good points

published

Product has some good features. Needs audible alerts such as over the speed limit, school zone ahead. The beep does not tell what the alert is and the written alert is so small you need to take your eyes off the road to read it. Will go back to cheaper brand which has audible voice notifications. I'm surprised this meets Australian standards as it's illegal to take you eyes off the road to read a message.

Purchased in May 2021 at flybuy points.

Build Quality
Value for Money

very poor navigation and fails at 13 months old.

published

Garmins have always been hit and miss on lifespan, doing weird things after updates and end of life.
This one is unacceptable failing after just 13 months, parked in the garage!
I'll be buying another brand now to replace all three Garmins.

Purchased in January 2020 at JB Hifi Home for $303.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
GPS Navigation Systems

Find out how Garmin DriveAssist 51 LMT-S compares to other GPS Navigation Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Neil H.
Neil H.South East Queensland, QLD

Horrible

published

I hate it! I've had it now for approx 5 years now and every update is a nervous time waiting for it to work or not. Today was or not

Incentivised Review No
Grant Armstrong
Grant ArmstrongGippsland, VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Final Follow Up

published

Purchased at Johnny Appleseed GPS Physical store for $420.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Tellyz
TellyzPerth, WA
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Mixed feelsings about this unit.

published

I've had this 18 months now.
What's ok.
Easy to set up, footage, connectivity, easy to install.
What's not ok.
Only months after using it it would lock up. Disconnect power and wait for battery to drain then plug in again is the only solution I've found. It does it regularly on hot days but cooler winter day as well.
Bluetooth phone calls through the unit are not very successful.
I've found Google maps to be more accurate in routes it suggests and Google maps on the phone in portrait seems to give a more suitable orientation.
It was expensive so I did expect a better quality product.

Purchased in September 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Wasteknot
WasteknotSydney, NSW
  • 11 reviews
  • 12 likes

Failed after 4 months.

published

What is more annoying than a brand new and expensive device failing after only 4 months?
I purchased a Garmin DriveAssist51 in August, it was working well but it stopped functioning correctly today at 8.30am. Now it is stuck in a weird initializing loop and half a day of troubleshooting and searching online for answers have achieved ZILCH !!!! PLUS: If there is a fix out there somewhere it should not be this hard to find it!
At this point in time I would not & will not ever recommend a Garmin device to anyone.

Purchased in August 2019.

Incentivised Review No
Bergs
BergsMid North Coast, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very Good GPS/Dash Cam, with a few annoying short comings

published

Purchased in August 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $369.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
MisterRareSteak
MisterRareSteakMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 5 reviews

No map updates, poor routing, dangerous

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
GPS Navigation Systems

Find out how Garmin DriveAssist 51 LMT-S compares to other GPS Navigation Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Paul
PaulSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews

Cheap piece of Rubbish

published

Purchased in May 2018 at Ryda.com.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Gray McGowan
Gray McGowan
  • 2 reviews

It started out perfectly...

published

It was wonderful when I first installed it, with great features and ease of use, including allowing subsequent updates without any problem, but now, it won't even switch on, let alone allow the updates which are apparently due.
My wife wants me to chuck it in the bin and return to the Navman DriveDuo we had previously, even though this DriveAssist 51 is/was better. I am seriously considering it...

Purchased in November 2018 at Harvey Norman for $379.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Gray McGowan
Gray McGowan

Following my previous comment, the Garmin once again failed to open/switch on, so has now been replaced by another brand. Pity, as it's features were superior.

Brian
BrianNewcastle, New South Wales
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Unit

published

Great unit. Can't fault it except now I see it $80 cheaper than I bought it 2 weeks ago at the same store. DOH!
A couple of annoying features that can be turned off. Great screen image and volume. Camera is also moveable so no problem placing it just about anywhere on the windscreen. Also phone works better than the bluetooth on the radio without a voice delay as with the radio. Very happy with this product 51LMT-S.

Do Not buy this

published

I bought this pricey model because of the extra features like blue tooth working with the phone. However, this feature did not work very well. When I called Garmin they sent me a refurbished model even though I just bought the new one. Then the refurbished one worked worse than the original one.

See all Garmin DriveAssist reviews

Questions & Answers

Walt D.
Walt D.asked
DriveAssist 51 LMT-S

Can the GTM-25 traffic Cable be used with the Drive 51?

No answers
Jason S.
Jason S.asked
DriveAssist 51 LMT-S

Is there a way to mount this with a dash mount so that the dash cam can see the road? I heard that some of the garmin's allow you to flip the indentation to the other side? Or if you turn it upside down will the screen flip like a phone?

No answers
Cam
Camasked
DriveAssist 51 LMT-S

Why cant I use a standard USB power cable in my car. My car does not have a cigarette lighter!!!!

1 answer
Bergs
Bergs

I believe you need to purchasing a Garmin specific USB cable to be able to charge the GPS. You will need it because the battery only last about 30 minutes

See all Garmin DriveAssist 51 LMT-S questions

Get an answer from our members

Garmin DriveAssist 51 LMT-S

Details

Compare both Garmin DriveAssist
CategoryDash Cams and GPS Navigation Systems
Price (RRP) $449.00
Screen Size 5"
Channels 1
FeaturesAutomatic Incident Detection (G-sensor), Bluetooth, Forward Collision Warning, GPS, Lane Departure Warning, Motion Detection, Smartphone App, Voice Control and Wi-Fi
Battery life30 minutes
Weight191.4 g
Dimensions 35 x 55 x 8 mm
Display TypeVGA
ConnectivityBluetooth
Battery Life0.5 hours
Weight191.4 kg
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Compare both Garmin DriveAssist
Visit official website
  • MPN: 010-01682-42
  • GTIN12: 753759170196

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.