??!
2 photos
Garmin DriveSmart 61 LMT-S

Garmin DriveSmart 61 LMT-S

MPNs: 010-01679-42 and 010-01681-42
3.6 from 26 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (6)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (6)
  • Ease of Use
    2.9 (7)
  • Battery Life
    3.2 (5)
  • Route Choice
    3.6 (5)
  • GPS Location Accuracy
    4.2 (5)
Previous
Next
LorenC

LorenC

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Garmin Drive 61 at least works - unlike the Navman My690 which didn't

published

My previous Garmin Nuvi lasted for many years without issues so I'm hoping this model is as good. No problems at all with charging, as opposed to the Navman which kept losing charge and refusing to turn on for no explicable reason (even though it was always connected to the car's charger). It's too soon to give a detailed review of the Garmin Drive but so far so good.

Purchased in November 2019 at JB Hifi Home for $149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
jb4105

jb4105Downer 2602, ACT

  • 16 reviews
  • 7 likes

in Hindsight Not my best purchase

published

First problem I noticed the 12v lighter plug means I can have no other device in use at the same time. So cannot charge my phone if required. I could use the USB plug provided with my two plug port but the cord is too short.
The maps have taken me in the wrong direction and also wanted me to make a right turn onto a road with only a left turn. The pronunciation of street names and suburbs needs a big improvement. Yesterday it told me I was going the wrong way in a one way street I drive down every week. Also every time I drive I have to agree to drive safely.

Purchased in May 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

Unable to load pois, for campsites, giving it untill next , if it cant be sorted then its on ebay

published

Can not load pois, have tried every way to do it poi loaders club loaders file transfer you name it I have tried. Unfortunately garmin accept no responsibility. It mostly crashes on no usb connection, yet have tried all sub modes in catorgaries

Purchased in June 2019 at JB Hifi Home for $239.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
GPS Navigation Systems

Find out how Garmin DriveSmart 61 LMT-S compares to other GPS Navigation Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peter b7

Peter b7Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Very good except it keeps rebooting continuously at startup & sometimes when driving.

published

I discovered if you disconnect the vehicle power after use & then when needed start Garmin on it's internal battery by pressing the back power button & then connect vehicle power to the Garmin it works fine & does not continually reboot itself.

Purchased in February 2019 at eBay.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
George

GeorgePerth, WA

  • 21 reviews
  • 11 likes

Great GPS especially for overseas

published

Purchased in November 2018 at Johnny Appleseed GPS Online store for $329.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Col W.

Col W.Torrens 2607, ACT

Miner problems

published

Overall the product is very good but I do have some issues or corrections (which I will also raise with Garmin), after a 3000km trip in country and outback areas.
*A caravan park I was looking for was not listed.
*Petrol pump icon is used for Truck Stops and Rest areas where there is NO petrol. If you search for the nearest petrol it will also list these places as the nearest location.
*Entrance to a caravan park 500m in the wrong place which you could miss subsequently forcing a u turn on a busy road.
*Plotted a 229km route in the outback when the shortest distance was 129km.
Otherwise it worked well everywhere on my trip.

Purchased in April 2017 at Johnny Appleseed GPS Online store for $600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Col W.
Col W.

I should add that Garmin support is pretty mediocre, and it seems impossible to contact them by email to offer any suggestions that could I prove the product. It seems the only way to contact them is by phone.

Ruthie

RuthieHolt 2615, ACT

saving my history

published

I have had previous Navman GPS and have been able to go into my past history of the last few months. This one doesnt seem to have the facility for this. I need this service and use it constantly

Purchased in January 2019 for $300.00.

Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
John D

John DSoutheast, SA

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Really like it.

published
Steve

SteveSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Ok, but I had to return it

published

It’s a good basic GPS, but I had to return as one basic feature missing surprisingly. You can’t turn off voice directions and still hear notifications of going over speed limit or upcoming, strange as I had this on a Tom Tom 10 years ago, even the free Waze has this, It’s all audio on or all off, just not useable for my needs.

GPS Navigation Systems

Find out how Garmin DriveSmart 61 LMT-S compares to other GPS Navigation Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gaela Russell

Gaela RussellCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 32 reviews
  • 13 likes

So good we bought 2

published

Mapping has proven accurate thus far (albeit with limited use). We have both the 6" and 7" models as the windscreen is further away in one car and they replace a Navman S80 that is going to the 3rd vehicle and a Tom Tom GO 720 that got drowned.

The navigation menus are somewhat easier to use than either of those, the turn by turn function is handy and the large displays make reading at a glance easy.

The mounts look solid (especially compared to the Tom Tom) and seem to hold better even in hot weather.

Peter

PeterWA, 6169

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Reliable Garmin model but read carefully extra features

published
Chris

ChrisGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

A great GPS for the price.

published
Hans Ignals

Hans Ignals

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like

Overall, pretty good, but POI data inaccurate

published

Maps are fine, although they cannot be completely up to date every time there’s an update.
Easy to install, bought a reversing camera to go with it, which is pretty useful. However the warning message at the bottom of the screen obscures the view of my tow ball which is handy when connecting a trailer. The warning should be at the top of the screen out of the way.
Much of the POI data is wrong. Schools showing up that were closed down many years ago. Petrol stations listed at private home addresses, in newsagents, rest areas, and places where there are no petrol stations. Railroad crossings show up even though the railway was dismantled and no longer operational.
Quality of sound when using Bluetooth phone connection is mediocre.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Angela K

Angela KPerth, WA

  • 27 reviews
  • 26 likes

This is great

published

Bought this to take on holiday in our hire car and now we have put it in my husbands car and so far it has been amazing, better than the in built navigation system in my car.
Very impressed so far and would buy another of this brand if we ever needed one.

Kev H

Kev HSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 38 reviews
  • 29 likes

Good Value

published
GPS Navigation Systems

Find out how Garmin DriveSmart 61 LMT-S compares to other GPS Navigation Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Garmin excellence again

published

Also fitted to Range Rover. Excellent for long trip planning due to large number of waypoints that can be stored. LR unit only stores 5 waypoints. Maps great but off road coverage is poor to hopeless.
Voice command is average. Overall though is great GPS and is my fourth Garmin unit. I think off-road maps can be purchased from Garmin.

Notoca

NotocaPerth, WA

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

So Far So Good

published
wedgetail

wedgetailClunes

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Ideal for what I need

published

Updated to the Garmin Drive smart 61 LMT-6 Got it at a competitive price from Harvey Normans. Good quick response when activated, nice large easily readable screen, clear voice command, easy to install very pleased with the devise. Following needs improvement, the supposed gas stations are invariably non existent, the speed zones are often incorrect. Apparently this is common in most name gps`s as they install the same map apps, despite these " issues " I am happy with the overall performance of the device. Word of warning device is NOT compatible with (hard wiring) direct to battery, causes malfunction !!!
Regards Wedge Tail

john wilson

john wilsonGold Coast

  • 15 reviews
  • 34 likes

A really great product

published

I purchased this unit for my wife's Range Rover after being lead on a 15klm. trip around the outskirts of Bundaberg instead of 4klms through the center of town by the inbuilt unit.This isn't the first time that this has happened. My wife who is technology challenged fitted the unit and programed it, while I was away for a week, it's that easy, her own words. She has been for several fact finding trips with this unit, she couldn't be happier it does everything she has asked of it, I am looking forward to using it myself.

Baz

BazForrestfield

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

A big disappointment.

published

The find gas station feature is a joke. Crossing the nullarbor where fuel is only avail every 300 kms or so the garmin keeps telling me fuel is avail at truck stops. These are usually a small gravel parking are with a rubbish bin. When I tried to put in Nundroo where fuel is available it could not find it. Tried Nullarbor roadhouse which was about 60 k ahead and was told it was 500 plus k behind me. No where near as good as my old tomtom. Could lead inexperienced travelers into big trouble.

Page 1 of 2
See all Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S reviews

Questions & Answers

Bruce

Bruceasked

DriveSmart 61 LMT-S

I belong to the CMCA and need to download their poi's. We have tried and tried to no avail.
How do you do it, Just about to give up on my $200 garmin.

1 answer
jb4105
jb4105

I really have no idea what to do to get your poi's. I am totally frustrated with my Garmin, tries to take me the wrong way on one way streets, tells me to turn at 3 not sure what that means, and also 'right turn ahead on to' with no indication of street names. its a total lemon

Rowdie

Rowdieasked

DriveSmart 61 LMT-S

I have just purchased my Garman. On its first try out I noticed that it was NOT warning me when I was close to a red light camera or a fixed speed camera .
I believed that this feature was part of the deal and was not able to be altered eg; turned off ? can you advise ?

No answers
Alistair Toop

Alistair Toopasked

DriveSmart 61 LMT-S

Hi does this model cover off road / dirt roads?
Thanks Alistair

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare both Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S
CategoryGPS Navigation Systems
Screen Size 6"
Compare both Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S

Visit official website
  • MPN: 010-01679-42 and 010-01681-42
  • GTIN12: 753759169787 and 753759170103

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.