2 photos
Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S

Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S

61 LMT-S, 51 LMT-S
3.1 from 41 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best GPS Navigation Systems in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Garmin? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.8 (10)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (10)
  • Ease of Use
    2.1 (10)
  • Battery Life
    2.1 (8)
  • Route Choice
    2.0 (9)
  • GPS Location Accuracy
    3.0 (8)
Previous
Next
Corey
CoreyAspley
  • 16 reviews
  • 7 likes

Navigation and customer service is very disappointing

published

Purchased in October 2018 for $420.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5

Cant find home

published

I have lived at my current address for 13 years.When I enter my address,it replies that it cant be found.After 13 years and many map updates,It still cant find me.

Purchased in July 2019 at Canadian Tire for $300.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
John Sowle
John SowleMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Terrible user features

published

Cannot remove direction banner, speed camera alert shrinks before reaching the camera. Cannot turn off school alerts or any of the other alerts, despite there being a setting to do so. FPS rate on camera gives jittery playback. Wish i had reviewed it before i bought it. I live near a school,and so does my girlfriend, so the school alerts go off, non stop even in the driveways.

Purchased in March 2020 for $495.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
LorenC
LorenC
  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

Garmin Drive 61 at least works - unlike the Navman My690 which didn't

published

My previous Garmin Nuvi lasted for many years without issues so I'm hoping this model is as good. No problems at all with charging, as opposed to the Navman which kept losing charge and refusing to turn on for no explicable reason (even though it was always connected to the car's charger). It's too soon to give a detailed review of the Garmin Drive but so far so good.

Purchased in November 2019 at JB Hifi Home for $149.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
LorenC
LorenC

It's still going well - April 2021. No problems at all.

GPS Navigation Systems

Find out how Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S compares to other GPS Navigation Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Duncan
DuncanMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Absolutely the worst

published

Purchased in December 2015 for $350.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
David L.
David L.South East Queensland, QLD
  • 9 reviews
  • 9 likes

Piece of Junk

published

Purchased in September 2019 for $279.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5

Unable to load pois, for campsites, giving it untill next , if it cant be sorted then its on ebay

published

Can not load pois, have tried every way to do it poi loaders club loaders file transfer you name it I have tried. Unfortunately garmin accept no responsibility. It mostly crashes on no usb connection, yet have tried all sub modes in catorgaries

Purchased in June 2019 at JB Hifi Home for $239.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
1/5
Peter b7
Peter b7Perth, WA
  • 2 reviews

Very good except it keeps rebooting continuously at startup & sometimes when driving.

published

I discovered if you disconnect the vehicle power after use & then when needed start Garmin on it's internal battery by pressing the back power button & then connect vehicle power to the Garmin it works fine & does not continually reboot itself.

Purchased in February 2019 at eBay.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Col W.
Col W.Torrens 2607, ACT
  • 2 reviews

Miner problems

published

Overall the product is very good but I do have some issues or corrections (which I will also raise with Garmin), after a 3000km trip in country and outback areas.
*A caravan park I was looking for was not listed.
*Petrol pump icon is used for Truck Stops and Rest areas where there is NO petrol. If you search for the nearest petrol it will also list these places as the nearest location.
*Entrance to a caravan park 500m in the wrong place which you could miss subsequently forcing a u turn on a busy road.
*Plotted a 229km route in the outback when the shortest distance was 129km.
Otherwise it worked well everywhere on my trip.

Purchased in April 2017 at Johnny Appleseed GPS Online store for $600.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Col W.
Col W.

I should add that Garmin support is pretty mediocre, and it seems impossible to contact them by email to offer any suggestions that could I prove the product. It seems the only way to contact them is by phone.

GPS Navigation Systems

Find out how Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S compares to other GPS Navigation Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chris May
Chris MayGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 9 reviews
  • 15 likes

Great reliable unit. But just tell yourself - it is only a GPS

published
John D
John DSoutheast, SA
  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Really like it.

published
Steve
SteveSydney, NSW
  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Ok, but I had to return it

published

It’s a good basic GPS, but I had to return as one basic feature missing surprisingly. You can’t turn off voice directions and still hear notifications of going over speed limit or upcoming, strange as I had this on a Tom Tom 10 years ago, even the free Waze has this, It’s all audio on or all off, just not useable for my needs.

GPS Navigation Systems

Find out how Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S compares to other GPS Navigation Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gaela and Russell
Gaela and RussellCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • 47 reviews
  • 18 likes

So good we bought 2

published

Mapping has proven accurate thus far (albeit with limited use). We have both the 6" and 7" models as the windscreen is further away in one car and they replace a Navman S80 that is going to the 3rd vehicle and a Tom Tom GO 720 that got drowned.

The navigation menus are somewhat easier to use than either of those, the turn by turn function is handy and the large displays make reading at a glance easy.

The mounts look solid (especially compared to the Tom Tom) and seem to hold better even in hot weather.

Peter
PeterWA, 6169
  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Reliable Garmin model but read carefully extra features

published
Hans Ignals
Hans Ignals
  • 12 reviews
  • 1 like

Overall, pretty good, but POI data inaccurate

published

Maps are fine, although they cannot be completely up to date every time there’s an update.
Easy to install, bought a reversing camera to go with it, which is pretty useful. However the warning message at the bottom of the screen obscures the view of my tow ball which is handy when connecting a trailer. The warning should be at the top of the screen out of the way.
Much of the POI data is wrong. Schools showing up that were closed down many years ago. Petrol stations listed at private home addresses, in newsagents, rest areas, and places where there are no petrol stations. Railroad crossings show up even though the railway was dismantled and no longer operational.
Quality of sound when using Bluetooth phone connection is mediocre.

Incentivised Review No

Questions & Answers

Brett W.
Brett W.asked
DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S

My Garmin 51, doesn’t display the speed limit all the time only when I go over 60km is there any way to have the speed limit permanently on all the time. My old one used to be on all the time.

No answers
gordon hayes
gordon hayesasked
DriveSmart 51 LMT-S

where is the clock

2 answers
Engima2
Engima2

On mine, its down the bottom on the RHS..

gordon hayes
gordon hayes

thanks for the reply but it is not on mine what about voice directions

Aurossco
Aurosscoasked
DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S

Can l update maps on a Garmin drive 61LMT-S GPS with out a computer thanks

No answers
See all Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S questions

Get an answer from our members

Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S

Details

Compare both Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S
CategoryGPS Navigation SystemsGPS Navigation Systems
Price (RRP) $279.00
Screen Size 5"6"
Display TypeVGA
ConnectivityBluetooth
FeaturesFree Map Updates, MicroSD Slot and Voice Control
Battery Life1 hours
Dimensions 140 x 84 x 18 mm
Weight0.17 kg
Compare both Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.