??!
2 photos
Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S

Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S

61 LMT-S, 51 LMT-S
3.2 from 40 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.7 (9)
  • Value for Money
    1.4 (9)
  • Ease of Use
    1.4 (10)
  • Battery Life
    1.7 (6)
  • Route Choice
    1.2 (6)
  • GPS Location Accuracy
    2.3 (6)
Previous
Next

Cant find home

published

I have lived at my current address for 13 years.When I enter my address,it replies that it cant be found.After 13 years and many map updates,It still cant find me.

Purchased in July 2019 at Canadian Tire for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
John Sowle

John SowleMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Terrible user features

published

Cannot remove direction banner, speed camera alert shrinks before reaching the camera. Cannot turn off school alerts or any of the other alerts, despite there being a setting to do so. FPS rate on camera gives jittery playback. Wish i had reviewed it before i bought it. I live near a school,and so does my girlfriend, so the school alerts go off, non stop even in the driveways.

Purchased in March 2020 for $495.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
DRCSydney

DRCSydneySydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Garmin 51 LMT-S is not fit for purpose

published

I've had this Garmin for two years and tested it through much of Sydney, particularly in places I know well. It finds maddening routes from one place to another (eg back streets instead of direct routes); the pronunciation of street names is often ridiculous (eg River Road West is River Request); even on straightforward routes it does unnecessary diversions (eg heading south on Burns Bay Rd from Lane Cove to Drummoyne it takes me up the ramp to Church Street, Hunters Hill, then back down the ramp on the southern side to rejoin the main road). It has to be one of the worst products I've ever purchased.

Purchased in February 2018 at Johnny Appleseed GPS Physical store for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
GPS Navigation Systems

Find out how Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S compares to other GPS Navigation Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Duncan

DuncanMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Absolutely the worst

published

Purchased in December 2015 for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
David L.

David L.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Piece of Junk

published

Purchased in September 2019 for $279.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
jb4105

jb4105Downer 2602, ACT

  • 16 reviews
  • 8 likes

in Hindsight Not my best purchase

published

First problem I noticed the 12v lighter plug means I can have no other device in use at the same time. So cannot charge my phone if required. I could use the USB plug provided with my two plug port but the cord is too short.
The maps have taken me in the wrong direction and also wanted me to make a right turn onto a road with only a left turn. The pronunciation of street names and suburbs needs a big improvement. Yesterday it told me I was going the wrong way in a one way street I drive down every week. Also every time I drive I have to agree to drive safely.

Purchased in May 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Unable to load pois, for campsites, giving it untill next , if it cant be sorted then its on ebay

published

Can not load pois, have tried every way to do it poi loaders club loaders file transfer you name it I have tried. Unfortunately garmin accept no responsibility. It mostly crashes on no usb connection, yet have tried all sub modes in catorgaries

Purchased in June 2019 at JB Hifi Home for $239.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Complicated to setup and, apparently, no capacity for the "lifetime free maps updates"

published

Purchased in September 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ruthie

RuthieHolt 2615, ACT

saving my history

published

I have had previous Navman GPS and have been able to go into my past history of the last few months. This one doesnt seem to have the facility for this. I need this service and use it constantly

Purchased in January 2019 for $300.00.

Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
GPS Navigation Systems

Find out how Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S compares to other GPS Navigation Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ThePeoplesChamp

ThePeoplesChampCanberra Central 2601, ACT

  • 20 reviews
  • 29 likes

A great gps let down by terrible update utility.

published

Purchased in May 2016 for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
John13

John13Perth, WA

  • 50 reviews
  • 52 likes

Overrated and overstated with many hidden shortfalls.

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Baz

BazForrestfield

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

A big disappointment.

published

The find gas station feature is a joke. Crossing the nullarbor where fuel is only avail every 300 kms or so the garmin keeps telling me fuel is avail at truck stops. These are usually a small gravel parking are with a rubbish bin. When I tried to put in Nundroo where fuel is available it could not find it. Tried Nullarbor roadhouse which was about 60 k ahead and was told it was 500 plus k behind me. No where near as good as my old tomtom. Could lead inexperienced travelers into big trouble.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Not worth it!

published

This is the 2nd Navman I've had in 3 months! Both have just died on me without any reason! Horrible product , never purchasing a Garmin again! Looks good but works horribly, maps arnt in date , hardly any signal strength , absolutely terrible! Will be going with tomtom or Navman next!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Frustrated

FrustratedMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Worst product I have ever purchased.

published

Will not update software.
Takes forever to find satellites (usually never unless multiple restarts).
Will not connect to phone.
Voice commands do not work.
Manuals worse than useless
Support incomprehensible, uncontactable
I have never had such a frustrating product in 30 years of using high end tech. Usually such products are ok, connect and do what they should. This thing - terrible. But it isn't only the device, everything about Garmin appears to be impossible. Manuals, support, everything.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
William S

William SAdelaide

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Worst GPS I have ever owned

published

One, the maps are very old and WRONG, if you use your gps for a 5 km trip...the directions will probably end up a 10 km trip...it might look flash...but very poor in my opinion, will never buy Garmin again after the experience with this one... and will go back to either Navman or Tomtom...they may not look as flash... but at least give decent directions

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
GPS Navigation Systems

Find out how Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S compares to other GPS Navigation Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
See all Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S reviews

Questions & Answers

Aurossco

Aurosscoasked

DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S

Can l update maps on a Garmin drive 61LMT-S GPS with out a computer thanks

No answers
Rex Beer

Rex Beerasked

DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S

Can it output sound to radio (Bluetooth?) headphones.

1 answer
jb4105
jb4105

have never needed this option when driving

Bruce

Bruceasked

DriveSmart 61 LMT-S

I belong to the CMCA and need to download their poi's. We have tried and tried to no avail.
How do you do it, Just about to give up on my $200 garmin.

1 answer
jb4105
jb4105

I really have no idea what to do to get your poi's. I am totally frustrated with my Garmin, tries to take me the wrong way on one way streets, tells me to turn at 3 not sure what that means, and also 'right turn ahead on to' with no indication of street names. its a total lemon

See all Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S questions

Get an answer from our members

Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S

Details

Compare both Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S
CategoryGPS Navigation SystemsGPS Navigation Systems
Price (RRP) $279.00
Screen Size 5"6"
Display TypeVGA
ConnectivityBluetooth
FeaturesFree Map Updates, MicroSD Slot and Voice Control
Battery Life1 hours
Dimensions 140 x 84 x 18 mm
Weight0.17 kg
Compare both Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.