?
? !
2 photos
Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S

Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S

61 LMT-S, 51 LMT-S
3.2 from 40 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.3 (8)
  • Value for Money
    2.1 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    2.3 (8)
  • Battery Life
    1.7 (7)
  • Route Choice
    2.3 (7)
  • GPS Location Accuracy
    3.0 (7)
Previous
Next
Engima2

Engima2Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Unit

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Harvey Norman for $208.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Cant find home

published

I have lived at my current address for 13 years.When I enter my address,it replies that it cant be found.After 13 years and many map updates,It still cant find me.

Purchased in July 2019 at Canadian Tire for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
John Sowle

John SowleMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Terrible user features

published

Cannot remove direction banner, speed camera alert shrinks before reaching the camera. Cannot turn off school alerts or any of the other alerts, despite there being a setting to do so. FPS rate on camera gives jittery playback. Wish i had reviewed it before i bought it. I live near a school,and so does my girlfriend, so the school alerts go off, non stop even in the driveways.

Purchased in March 2020 for $495.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
GPS Navigation Systems

Find out how Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S compares to other GPS Navigation Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Duncan

DuncanMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Absolutely the worst

published

Purchased in December 2015 for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
David L.

David L.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Piece of Junk

published

Purchased in September 2019 for $279.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Unable to load pois, for campsites, giving it untill next , if it cant be sorted then its on ebay

published

Can not load pois, have tried every way to do it poi loaders club loaders file transfer you name it I have tried. Unfortunately garmin accept no responsibility. It mostly crashes on no usb connection, yet have tried all sub modes in catorgaries

Purchased in June 2019 at JB Hifi Home for $239.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
George

GeorgePerth, WA

  • 21 reviews
  • 11 likes

Great GPS especially for overseas

published

Purchased in November 2018 at Johnny Appleseed GPS Online store for $329.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
MansfieldJohno

MansfieldJohnoNortheast, VIC

  • 21 reviews
  • 18 likes

Never get Lost Again

published

Best thing I have ever bought for the car. No more getting lost or searching thru maps and taking the wrong road. Easy to set up. With lifetime free maps. Comes with built in dash cam as well. Sooooo easy to use. Paid $170 on Ebay. Brand new unit. included free Garmin high speed multi charger. All with 12 months replacement warranty

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chris

ChrisGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

A great GPS for the price.

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
GPS Navigation Systems

Find out how Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S compares to other GPS Navigation Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Angela K

Angela KPerth, WA

  • 27 reviews
  • 26 likes

This is great

published

Bought this to take on holiday in our hire car and now we have put it in my husbands car and so far it has been amazing, better than the in built navigation system in my car.
Very impressed so far and would buy another of this brand if we ever needed one.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Darryl

DarrylSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great for the price.

published

Great GPS with lots of extras. Speed check ... free lifetime maps ... easy to understand voices ... The interface is pleasant to look at ... It shows places to eat ... where to buy fuel ... so many extras to mention. The detailed maps are easy to follow. I paid under $200. Great value for money.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
ThePeoplesChamp

ThePeoplesChampCanberra Central 2601, ACT

  • 20 reviews
  • 29 likes

A great gps let down by terrible update utility.

published

Purchased in May 2016 for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
John13

John13Perth, WA

  • 50 reviews
  • 52 likes

Overrated and overstated with many hidden shortfalls.

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
john wilson

john wilsonGold Coast

  • 15 reviews
  • 35 likes

A really great product

published

I purchased this unit for my wife's Range Rover after being lead on a 15klm. trip around the outskirts of Bundaberg instead of 4klms through the center of town by the inbuilt unit.This isn't the first time that this has happened. My wife who is technology challenged fitted the unit and programed it, while I was away for a week, it's that easy, her own words. She has been for several fact finding trips with this unit, she couldn't be happier it does everything she has asked of it, I am looking forward to using it myself.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Greg

GregWattle Glen Victoria Australa

Best yet

published

I have had other garmin sat nav’s, nothing wrong with just upgraded each time. I have found this new model to be nothing but fantastic, larger screen & map detail easier to read & keep eyes on the road rather than looking down to use the Nissan Xtrail in car model
Connects easily to my smartphone for the other features & notifications

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
GPS Navigation Systems

Find out how Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S compares to other GPS Navigation Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Not worth it!

published

This is the 2nd Navman I've had in 3 months! Both have just died on me without any reason! Horrible product , never purchasing a Garmin again! Looks good but works horribly, maps arnt in date , hardly any signal strength , absolutely terrible! Will be going with tomtom or Navman next!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Frustrated

FrustratedMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Worst product I have ever purchased.

published

Will not update software.
Takes forever to find satellites (usually never unless multiple restarts).
Will not connect to phone.
Voice commands do not work.
Manuals worse than useless
Support incomprehensible, uncontactable
I have never had such a frustrating product in 30 years of using high end tech. Usually such products are ok, connect and do what they should. This thing - terrible. But it isn't only the device, everything about Garmin appears to be impossible. Manuals, support, everything.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
William S

William SAdelaide

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Worst GPS I have ever owned

published

One, the maps are very old and WRONG, if you use your gps for a 5 km trip...the directions will probably end up a 10 km trip...it might look flash...but very poor in my opinion, will never buy Garmin again after the experience with this one... and will go back to either Navman or Tomtom...they may not look as flash... but at least give decent directions

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Joc

JocVictoria, 3585

  • 13 reviews
  • 5 likes

Its a great little set up well worth the money.

published

This is great we have owned a tom tom and a navman and have never been overly impressed with these but I have now updated to this Garmin drive smart 61 LMT-S and its great maps are easy to download and it shows parking spots and heavy to light traffic I'm so glad we bought this.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Henry

HenryGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Best GPS Unit out there

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2
See all Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S reviews

Questions & Answers

gordon hayes

gordon hayesasked

DriveSmart 51 LMT-S

where is the clock

2 answers
Engima2
Engima2

On mine, its down the bottom on the RHS..

gordon hayes
gordon hayes

thanks for the reply but it is not on mine what about voice directions

Aurossco

Aurosscoasked

DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S

Can l update maps on a Garmin drive 61LMT-S GPS with out a computer thanks

No answers
Rex Beer

Rex Beerasked

DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S

Can it output sound to radio (Bluetooth?) headphones.

1 answer
jb4105
jb4105

have never needed this option when driving

See all Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S questions

Get an answer from our members

Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S

Details

Compare both Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S
CategoryGPS Navigation SystemsGPS Navigation Systems
Price (RRP) $279.00
Screen Size 5"6"
Display TypeVGA
ConnectivityBluetooth
FeaturesFree Map Updates, MicroSD Slot and Voice Control
Battery Life1 hours
Dimensions 140 x 84 x 18 mm
Weight0.17 kg
Compare both Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.