??!
3 photos
Garmin Vivoactive 3

Garmin Vivoactive 3

Classic, Music
3.3 from 52 reviews · View Statistics

How to find the best smart watch or fitness tracker

Choosing a new smartwatch can be both exciting and overwhelming - Read on for information to help point you in the right direction.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    4.9 (7)
  • Build Quality
    4.6 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 (7)
  • Battery Life
    4.3 (7)
Previous
Next

Just bought Vivoactive 3 - white with rose gold

published

I've only had my Vivoactive 3 for 3 weeks, though I'm wishing I bought it earlier.
Being my first smart watch, it's hard to compare, though I'm enjoying the look of it, functionality (particularly the sleep tracking) and all for a great price on sale.

The only issue I've had is that it disconnects from my Garmin App about once every day or two, which I need to shut down and restart both phone and watch to get them re-connected. I charge every 4-5 days, once it gets below 20% - as I'd hate for it to go flat during the day.

Altogether a great watch and it can be worn from the beach to work without a worry.

Purchased in October 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for $250.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
See all answers

Cracked Screen in 2 Days, Customer Service Not Responsive

published

Watch face cracked within first 2 days of receipt. Contacted Garmin, quick to tell me not covered by warranty and provided no other assistance. Still waiting on a response from Garmin. Received response and they are replacing watch.

Purchased in August 2020 for $200.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
See all answers

very good watch!

published

never had a bad experience, all features work well and reliable. had for over 2 years, found garmin also very helpful, easy to connect to phone and costume watch faces and Bluetooth is good

Purchased in December 2017 at rebel sport for $350.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
See all answers
Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Find out how Garmin Vivoactive 3 compares to other Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
LisaM

LisaMSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Good device, easy to use

published

Set up was very fast and easy. More accurate the. The Fitbits I used to use. Heart rate more accurate, more exercises and can customise more. Battery life is about the same.

Purchased in December 2019 at Rebel Sport for $249.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
See all answers
Alli_Oliver

Alli_OliverMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 14 reviews
  • 12 likes

Very happy for the most part

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Rebel Sport for $250.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
See all answers
SMK

SMKGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Solid watch you can wear 24/7

published

I have owned this watch for 3 months.

Comfort: Very comfortable. The strap is flexible. Aesthetically it does not look like a smart watch.

Battery:I wear this 24/7 and workout around 5 times a week. I need to chanrge my watch once a week.

Tracking: I track my Crossfit workouts. I have really gotten the most out of accurately monitoring my HR during WOD’s. This watch tracks running, rowing and walking really well.

Other pros: Apple pay, step count and phone notifications have all been featured i have found helpful

Purchased in June 2019 at Catch for $338.95.

Value for Money
Build Quality
See all answers
yankeesgirl

yankeesgirl

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great for me

published

Purchased in November 2017 at Garmin for $429.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
See all answers
Janelle

JanelleQueensland

  • 2 reviews

Easy to use!

published

Good, easy to use fitness tracker/watch. Love the gps tracking. The battery life is great only need to charge once a week (this is after using the gps for 30-60min/4 times a week). I find that the charger connection isn’t as snug as it should be, it often falls out if moved the bit slightest when charging.

Date PurchasedSept 2018
Tom

TomMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Good all rounder

published

I do love my Garmin although sometimes i do wish I'd bought the Apple watch just because it would be handy to have music and be able to make calls from the watch sometimes. Nevertheless i have the Vivoactive 3 and it really is a good watch for people who a do a bit of a fitness but also just want a good smart watch. Interface isnt as nice as the Apple i dont think, although the fitness tacking is better. Sometimes disconnects from phone so you dont receive notifications but not a deal breaker. Dont really use the Garmin Pay as Apple pay on the phone is easier. I would probably buy the Vivoactive 3 with the music storage over a non-cellular Apple Watch but the Cellular Apple watch trumps all the Garmins i think.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Find out how Garmin Vivoactive 3 compares to other Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Megan Easton

Megan EastonAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Live in it now!

published

I love my garmin vivo active 3 fitness watch, it monitors everything I need and appears to be pretty accurate. Since I have had it I have been able to monitor my stress levels, heart beat, sleep and steps. It has even updated recently to show REM sleep.
Its water proof and I don't take mine off unless im going to work (I cant wear to work) so it showers and swims with me. The battery lasts around 5-7 days and I normally just charge it when I'm in the car driving somewhere - it doesn't take long.

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
jkhvkl876565

jkhvkl876565GREVILLIA

  • 4 reviews

Garmin Vivoactive 3

published

Meet individual needs, long standby time, itself is very light, running without a mobile phone. Personally, the app design is not as iwatch, the settings are not friendly, the instructions are not friendly, many of the content is not clear, complete the watch with replacement, interface settings, various parameters adjustment, these are very good.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Britt

BrittLaunceston

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good for casual use

published

I use this watch daily to track runs, long walks, rides and occassionally hiking. The battery life is fairly good, lasting me usually 4 days of daily GPS and no smart watch use. The watch is very slimline, so suitable for someone interested in fitness wearables that can also blend into fancier attire. If wearing long sleeves the touchscreen can get swiped a bit here and there which can be annoying as it can interrupt exercise. The watch is generally quite good for those with a casual to moderate interest in tracking exercise; I'd recommend the Fenix 5/5S/5X for anyone with more dedication.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Mango

MangoSydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 6 likes

Excellent battery life, sleep tracking and works for me.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Daniel

DanielBrisbane

  • 5 reviews

Perfect device for working out but missing some ''smartwatch features''

published
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Henry H

Henry HSydney

  • 4 reviews

Garmin is a huge upgrade from Fitbit

published

Smartwatch/activity is an exceptional hybrid which works well for cycling, running and even wearing in the office. The battery is good as it lasts a few days with moderate use and most importantly the styling is discrete enough to wear in the office without looking overly sporty. I would recommend for anyone considering an activity tracker/watch. Garmin pay function is also really handy as it stores your credit card and enables paypass/paywave without the card.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Find out how Garmin Vivoactive 3 compares to other Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
NicG

NicGAU

  • 4 reviews

Great for running, but mediocre addtl features

published

As expected for Garmin watches, this is a great running watch, shows all data that I need. Notifications are good, but difficult to clear at times. Love customisable watch faces, but sometimes doesn’t sync (a Garmin Connect issue most likely). Garmin Pay only available for some banks, so haven’t tested yet. Also like ease of swapping 3rd party bands to vary the look.
Overall would recommend if you’re a runner, but not if you’re after a ‘smarter’ watch.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
JPK

JPKBurwood

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Product with awesome features

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
DC

DCMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

More sport than smart - but good at what it does

published
Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Beau

Beau

  • 4 reviews

Great tracker

published

I have had this watch for around 4months now. I wear it pretty much everyday. It is great for running and cycling, but doesn't seem to track things like gym sessions very easily. It is a great companion if you are a golfer like I. It is great to get a live distance read out for each shot telling you how far to the front, center, and back of the greens. It also keeps track of the distance you hit each shot and will save you from carrying around a score card.

The companion app is simple and efficient to use also.

See all Garmin Vivoactive 3 reviews

Questions & Answers

Sandra

Sandraasked

Vivoactive 3

Can battery be replaced and at what cost

1 answer
DimplesDimples
DimplesDimples

hi there, I think you should ask Garmin. The batter is a rechargeable battery and I am not sure what type. T

Leo P.

Leo P.asked

Vivoactive 3

does Philips 2000 Series True Wireless Bluetooth Earphones compatible with the garmin vivoactive 3 music

No answers
Steve

Steveasked

Vivoactive 3 Classic

How can I recalibrate the GPS?

1 answer
Marcio Strauch
Marcio Strauch

Hi! Im sorry, i dont know how recalibrate the GPS. You should ask the support. Usualy, the GPS calibrates automaticaly when you do reset factory and press a new activity.

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare both Garmin Vivoactive 3
CategorySmart Watches / Fitness TrackersSmart Watches / Fitness Trackers
Price (RRP) $449.00$499.00
Screen Size 1.2"1.2"
ConnectivityBluetoothBluetooth and Wi-Fi
Construction MaterialStainless SteelPlastic and Polypropylene
Colour / FinishBlack, White, Rose GoldBlack with Stainless Hardware
Voice AssistantNoneNone
SensorsAccelerometer, Altimeter, Barometer, Compass and Heart Rate SensorAccelerometer, Altimeter, Barometer, Compass and Heart Rate Sensor
InterfaceBezel (Physical), Buttons and TouchscreenButtons and Touchscreen
LoudspeakerYesYes
WaterproofingSwim-proofSwim-proof
Battery Life7 days7 days
Weight43 g39 g
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)
Compare both Garmin Vivoactive 3

  • GTIN12: 753759173166 and 753759173265

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.