??!
1 photo
Gasmate Odyssey 3T

Gasmate Odyssey 3T

2.8 from 26 reviews

See the Best Gas BBQs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
5
4 star
6
3 star
1
2 star
6
1 star
8

Jaybee

JaybeeAU

  • 2 reviews

Poor design and build

published

This unit leaks like a sieve. Fat and food fall through gaps in the main body and when using it as an oven the lid is designed so that moisture runs down and escapes all around the perimeter on the outside and eventually all over the floor.

Purchased in December 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $650.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Even Heat DistributionNo
See all answers

crayde h.

crayde h.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Poorly made

published

Worst product to assemble. You have to physically bend the equipment in order to construct it. Plastic bends as you construct it indicating that it was poorly designed. Not good

Purchased in November 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Adzy H

Adzy HKambah 2902, ACT

  • 3 reviews

3t searzone Best bbq for the price. Prefer over the Ziggy and webber for heat and size. Love it

published

Only issue I had was assembling. Instructions are about dodgy and Trolley could be a bit easier to put together but once we got the trolley together and cured the plates I absolutely love this bbq.

For the price of webber's and Ziggy's this walks all over them in terms of heat and value for money. And yes I have had the alot of different bbqs ranging from cheap to expensive to compare to. The 3T searzone Sears steaks better then any other bbqs I have owned. I have not had any heat issues with mine as some people have mentioned inconsistent heat spots. I find that the heat control adjusts very well for me.
Best bbq for the price I have bought :-)

Purchased in June 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Andrew B.

Andrew B.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Gasmate Odyssey 3T Searzone - picture of beauty

published

Pulled it out of the big box and stuck it together no worries! When they say "pre installed" screws I think they mean YOU have to install them a few threads in then the parts slip in behind them. The other way they loosen in transport. Also I have noticed all my burners are located much higher than on previous 3T models I have seen so mine really sizzles. This thing is so gorgeous it stayed in my lounge room for a week so I could drink beer and admire it before taking it outside. Only issue is the vent holes towards the back can allow bugs and critters in and rain if outside.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
See all answers

kim a.

kim a.Central Queensland, QLD

Poor quality and Performance

published

We purchased this bbq Gas mate Odyssey 3T from Bunnings. It took a few hours of mucking around to assemble the stand as screw were missing and plastic frame didnt seem to fit correctly. Then when used for the first time we cooked rissoles so we needed to use the side flat plate, after the meat being on the plate for over 30mins it was still grey. No sizzle!! the side burners are to far away from the plate for any type of cooking. Very disappointed in the design, performance and quality
We returned to Bunnings for a full credit without any issues.
I'm off to buy a Weber!!!

Purchased in August 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $670.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Even Heat DistributionNo
See all answers

Pete

PeteLaunceston, TAS

Good thing once assembled. Take your time

published

Got it home and the "installed scews" weren't. But thats ok I just used my brains and worked it out. The igniters didnt work to start with because you have to keep the knob pushed in and wait for the gas to come up from the bottle first time. They were sparking but not going to ignite till the gas arrives. Seems like a good thing. Also have a baby q Weber for the caravan and this seems every bit as good quality and cooks the same. As long as the quality in material is there, which it seems to be, they arent exactly high tech complex machines

Purchased in August 2019 for $399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers

Julia V

Julia VCoffs Harbour

Would not buy this bbq even for my enemy

published
Date PurchasedSep 2018

Great

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Eleven11

Eleven11Melbourne

  • 4 reviews

Good Size For Couple

published

It took a while to assemble all the little buts but this BBQ is great - especially for a couple. It is easy to start and looks excellent on our patio and takes up very little space. It does an great job with all meats and the searing area is great to. Cleaning is a bit of a chore but that the same for all barbies. I am very happy with this.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Angry

AngryClaremont Meadows

  • 9 reviews

Dissapointed and do not recommend

published

Bought the Professional 4 Burner Kitchen 2 years ago and the ignition switch needs replacing. When I called gas mate, they could not help even though they still the product they don't have the spare parts for the product. I was told to try calling them in a couple of months. " Very Disappointed "

Date PurchasedJun 2015

Sgf

Sgf

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Odyssey 3T searzone

published

Just bought the 3T searzone yesterday from Bunnings. They were extremely helpful as was the Gasmate support. I've used this last night for the first cook and again this morning for breakfast. It is excellent. I'm confused as to why people mostly buy Weber as this can be run as one side only or the full plate and grill. The searzone function is amazing. Highly recommend this BBQ so far. Only downside is a little hard to line up some of the bolt holes when installing.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

this is great BBQ and easy to use

published

I got my gas mate about 6 weeks ago and I use nearly every other night I have cooked a chicken' 2 legs of lamb roast beef ,pizza and just BBQ meats to roast and never had a fail with any of it I love my gas mate I recommend.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Steven

Steven

  • 2 reviews
  • 10 likes

Poorly built and most importantly doesnt get near hot enough

published
Date PurchasedJul 2017

Does not get hot

published

Love the idea of this bbq, great for beach locations with the plastic gram and alloy hood. But it stops there.... the jets on the out sides are far to low and there is not enough head to brown a sausage! If you try and roast you cannot do this without the Centre element on high so you will incinerate everything in the centre. I think a redesign is needed for the outer elements.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
arminvaa

arminvaaMackay

  • Verified purchase

First impressions

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
YOUng

YOUngParramatta

  • 7 reviews

Decent product

published

Decent product with one half grill and other half flat pan. Very similar to other product in the same design. Good for apartment balcony. Any standard size gas tanks will it. Drip tray replaceable with any basic aluminum tray. Easy to clean as plate can be removed. Easy to carry due to size.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

nir_th

nir_thSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good build but no performance

published

It looks solid and good design with strong looking parts but when it comes to cooking only the wok cooking area can produce enough heat. Rest of area 3/4 or more is just to rest the cooked food. Equally hard to clean the inside. Had it for a while until I realised this model has fault on it. Bunnings happily offered refund/replacement and I got my money back. I will buy below $200 ones which does the job. Gasmate deceived me with its outer look. Please fix this problem before selling it so that people don't have to bother with buying- assembling-dismantling-return like me.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Disappointed

published

had the small version of the gas mate for about 6 months now, worked fine for my liking and never had any major issues... till tonight
The mounts on the BBQ that hold the entire thing together have obviously been weakening for a while now without my knowledge. Whilst cooking tonight the bolts that go through the mounts have gotten too hot and melted straight through the "plastic" mounts and the BBQ fell. Not only did I lose all my food but I was inside while it happened with no knowledge of it. By the time I got outside the plastic frame was seconds from being on fire. Expecting a refund and won't buy another

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Exact same issue

published

Extremely disappointed with the bbq. Hot plate never got hot enough to cook with lid up. I don't want to always cook with lid down.
Very good customer service from Gasmate and they did try to help.
Ended up returning the bbq to Bunnings for full refund. Now to try and find one that does all.

Date PurchasedNov 2016

Looks can be deceiving...

published

My wife bought me this as a birthday present, when she said you can return it if you don't like it I should have trusted my gut instinct and returned it.
$650 for a BBQ that takes an hour to cook 8 sausages... generates absolutely no heat from the outside burners, the wok area is the only bit that gets hot but is completely useless because the grill cooking area at the wok is too small to be practical.
Maybe with the lid closed and you want to cook a roast for a few hours it might be ok but for everyday use... totally avoid it.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Kingsman

Kingsmanasked

I've just bought one and find that only the left burner ignites while the other 2 center and right rely on the flame from the left burner to start. Is this how it is designed?

2 answers
Macca skippy
Macca skippy

I don't have that problem, I can start any burner individually.

The ignition comes out a hole near the front of the burner, if your holes are not blocked I would be taking it back.

Kingsman
Kingsman

Thank you. I Will be in contact with the agent in the morning.


markanna

markannaasked

Can it be used on natural gas?

1 answer
Macca skippy
Macca skippy

I don't think so, as this BBQ is newly released Gasmate told me that they are still arranging for accessories, I would expect it would include an adapter. Searched everywhere for a cast iron wok, found one at BBQ's galore for $35, you really need to clean all the black paint off it before you season it.


Get an answer from our members and Gasmate representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.