1 photo
Gator GHDVR82W

Gator GHDVR82W

2.4 from 10 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Dash Cams in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Gator? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

2.4
10 reviews
5
(2)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(6)
  • Build Quality
    2.5 (8)
  • Value for Money
    2.1 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    2.4 (8)
  • Readable Number PlatesYes (4) · No (3)
  • Video Quality
    3.1 (7)
  • Battery Life
    3.0 (4)
  • Audio Quality
    3.0 (7)
  • Night-Time Video Quality
    3.0 (6)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Alex
Alex
  • 3 reviews

I don't want to give even one star.

published

It turns off and on by itself while driving.Crucially, it's a toy that goes out in the face of a minor car accident.I got ripped off. Don't ever buy it.

Purchased in January 2021 at Drugscreen for $80.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Extremely Unhappy

published

Straight up doesn't record even when the wifi is connected. I will be returning it. Beware of this product. Do not buy. I have wasted days trying to troubleshoot plus I wasted the $125 installation fee which I can't get back and will have to pay again when I buy a better unit.

Purchased in February 2021 at Supercheap Auto Physical Store for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Dash Cams

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Only good as a door wedge or to throw at a stray cat

published

Compact design. BUT Wi-fi will NOT connect anymore since iPhone updated to 13.1. This means you cannot set crash settings or date or time or anything. Basically, it is completely f*cked. Disappointed considering how much I paid for this useless piece of trash.

Purchased in December 2019 at Supercheap Auto for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Dash Cams

Find out how Gator GHDVR82W compares to other Dash Cams

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mars
MarsSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

Ended up in the bin.

published

I had one for 6 months and exchanged for a second that lasted 4 months. Both froze a couple times a day and eventual stopped powering up. It went in the bin.

Purchased in October 2019 at Autobarn for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Andrew
AndrewCentral Queensland, QLD
  • 118 reviews
  • 39 likes
  • Verified

Cheap Entry Level Dash Cam

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Supercheap Auto for $139.97.

Build Quality
Value for Money
JUDD H.
JUDD H.Murrumbidgee Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Once connected no dramas

published

Had so much trouble setting it up, took it back to where i brought it they connected it to there phone in 1 minute .. got in contact with after sales surpport and blow and behold they talked me through the process and it is now connected ...
The pictures look fine on mobile maybe a little grainy but overall happy with my purchase!! Great entry level dash cam

Purchased in August 2020 at AutoPro for $134.25.

Build Quality
Value for Money
nww1969
nww1969Sydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 10 reviews
  • 20 likes

Poor connectivity, poor customer service.

published

Does not like to connect to mobile.
Just brings up the wifi connection page on yoir phone when you try to pair.
Customer service treats you like it's your fault with little help.

Purchased in February 2018 at Supercheap Auto for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Roadrunner
Roadrunner
  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent GHDVR72W brother

published

I actually have the GHDVR72W and find it very easy to use app works perfectly quality of product & picture perfect, beats buying the expensive Blackvue product which my friend purchased and gave the same results.

Purchased in July 2019 for $130.00.

Incentivised Review No
Readable Number PlatesYes
Features / Functions
Video Quality
Battery Life
Audio Quality
Night-Time Video Quality

Other Dash Cams

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
rayc101
rayc101
  • 26 reviews
  • 36 likes
  • Verified

Good dash-cam ruined by WiFi connectivity and file format issues

published

The camera seems well made and was easy enough to install, but that's where the good stuff ends.
Since there is no LED screen, files are viewed through WiFi on your phone or by loading the memory card into a card reader. The WiFi app did not connect despite many reloads and attempts, and regardless of whether using Android or iPhone (Apparently Gator's WiFi connectivity issues are well-known). The video files are in MP4 format, and stills are in JPEG format. MP4 is not supported by Win 10 and other common media players.
After two days reloading the WiFi app, and downloading a number of different video players, I gave up and returned the whole thing for a refund. I'll now go back to a reliable Viofo A119s.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in November 2019 at Supercheap Auto for $138.95.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Dash Cams

Find out how Gator GHDVR82W compares to other Dash Cams

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Andy
AndyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great product that delivers what it promises

published

The GHDVR82W was easy to install, the picture quality is terrific and has a wider angle lens than most cams. It begins recording as soon as you start the vehicle and stores the video clips in 3 minute sections. It states that it operates in extreme temperatures however I am yet to test this claim. When it senses an incident it saves it in a separate video on the chip and also sends copy to your phone. If you want to take a picture at any time you simply wave your hand near the dash. I've been very impressed with the product, it delivers everything it promised and more at a mid range price. Well worth paying a few more dollars than the cheaper options

Questions & Answers

Moses M.
Moses M.asked

I already have a rear camera installed. Can I connect that rear camera to the GHDVR82W? As i dont want to have to pull the interior apart to fit a new camera

1 answer
Andy
Andy

Its not something I can answer but I would suspect the cabling would be similar so it may well be a possibility, suggest you talk to an Auto Electrician.

Brad
Bradasked

Does this Dashcam have a "Parked Mode"?

2 answers
Fired Up
Fired Up

Can you ring the company ?

nww1969
nww1969

Expect to be treated like a kid.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.