??!
10 photos
ghd Hair Straighteners

ghd Hair Straighteners

Eclipse, IV styler, Platinum Plus, V, 3.1B and 7 more
3.1 from 1,978 reviews

Loved it....... until it just stopped working!!

I purchased my GHD platinum straightener 2-3 years ago. They have always been my favourite straighteners. Then today while doing my hair it stopped working!!
The straightener stopped heating, the light started flashing red and it started beeping.
For the amount that I paid for this, I would’ve expected it to last much, much longer. What a waste of money! And from what I can see on here, I’m certainly not the only person that has had this issue.
Extremely disappointed. My first one ever lasted much longer, almost 10 years. I guess the quality has gone downhill but you still pay high prices for their products.
Maybe it’s time to try a new brand.

Purchased for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Wavy

A little disappointed

I previously owned an eclipse GHD straightener, it made my hair shiny, sleek and straight from top to bottom; giving off a very fresh look. It since died and decided to purchase the new White Platinum +
When I turned it on the sound was muffled and sounded cheap compared to the eclipse. I found that the plates would catch on my freshly blow dried hair when dragging it through my sectioned off hair. The finish of my hair looked dry and not nearly as fresh as the eclipse. It still does the job, but it is a down grade if you’re use to an older model GHD

Purchased in August 2019 for $345.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Wavy

Not as good as I expected :(

The last time I bought a GHD was in 2012 limited edition peacock straightener. I thought this time I would go for a top of the line model and got the platinum plus. It is not as nice to hold, feels flimsy and not as well made. Heats up quick but feels like it’s burning my hair more than my old model. It is also catching my hair in the little crevices and feels like it’s pulling even though I’m not holding it closed tightly. I’ve loved my GHD straighteners for so long but this model is a real let down.

Purchased in August 2019 at Oz Hair & Beauty Online store for $315.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Curly
Straightening Time 15 minutes

It is an absolute dream!!

I am so obsessed with ALL GHD products but this straighter is just unreal. It is smooth on the hair and keeps my hair straight for days. It taken only a few seconds to heat up. and it is just so easy to use!

Purchased in March 2019 at Hairhouse Warehouse Online store for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 10 minutes

Pathetic

I’ve had my straightener for 12 months and doesn’t matter how I clean it or how often it just continues to pull hair when you use it and you cannot set the temp on it, 180 degrees is the temperature that should be used on hair with straighteners.
It doesn’t straighten very well.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Straight

Big improvement on previous model

Love my new GHD. The biggest difference between this and my last ghd is how it maintains heat. I have very long hair and my old model cooled down as it reached the mid lengths, slowing down the whole process! The platinum + stays consistently hot the entire time, so much faster. I feel that it actually makes my hair shinier. An expensive appliance but well worth the extra if you are straightening you hair every second day.

Purchased in February 2019 at Price Attack for $322.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Wavy

Quick, no fuss hair straightening

The ghd platinum plus hair straightener works fast to straighten hair. Sleek design and quick to heat up. Easy to use, lightweight. More pricey compared to other straighteners on the market.

Purchased in December 2018 at Shaver Shop for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Wavy

The only GHD you’ll ever need

This is my 3rd GHD and is absolutely a super star of a hair straightener. My hair is thinner these days so it takes less than 10 mins to do the job. Good paddle size and easy to use. Heats up quickly. My daughter who has very thick, curly hair loves this straightener. Her hair looks healthier after using it. A bit more pricey but worth it. No issues at all with it.

Purchased in December 2018 at Shaver Shop Online store for $320.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 10 minutes

Good but not great

Why the fuss . They say it’s better than the original well I could not see the difference considering the price. It has some issues so not worth the price difference

Purchased in August 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Curly
Straightening Time 30 minutes

RED LIGHT WON'T STOP FLASHING!

My first GHD platinum straightener was replaced due to red light continuously flashing and no heat being transmitted. The replacement platinum straightener is now doing the exact same thing! No heat! Considering the price i payed for this straightener i at least expect a high quality product, and that is not what i got in the GHD platinum straightener! Im very dissapointed! I rely on my hair straightener and unfortunately I can not rely on these straighteners.

Purchased for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Curly
Straightening Time 15 minutes

Disappointed

My original GHD lasted me 8+ years with absolutely no issues. This GHD lasted me 2 years - out of no where the light started flashing, beeping and it turns itself off. Very very disappointed - these appliances should last so much longer given the price. They just aren't even close to the same quality as the originals. I am very unlikely to purchase another GHD.

Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Curly
1 comment
Hi Amyp, Thank you for your review. We would like to apologise for your recent experience with your product and the replacement that you received. A private message has now been sent to yourself requesting some further details which will allow us to look into this further for you. Regards, ghd

Love it! Best hair straightener

Got this for my birthday this year in May 2019 and it has been the best thing since sliced bread! Every other hair straighteners I have had have not lasted! My toddler has even thrown this one and it’s still perfect!

Purchased in May 2019 at GHD online for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 5 minutes
1 comment
Hi Jessie, Thank you for taking the time to provide positive feedback, its greatly appreciated. We are very pleased to hear you are enjoying your new ghd and it has survived a game of catch with your toddler. May you enjoy many more good hair days - everyday! Regards, ghd

Blew up, useless,irrepairable

Literally had for 3 years max, I hardly use it, always stored in its pouch in the box, and I was half way through my hair tonight when it sparked poofed and blew up. Waste of money.! No doubt theyll do nothing due to it not being in 12 months

Purchased in December 2016 for $425.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 20 minutes
1 comment
Hi Rissa, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of the issue you have experience in relation to your product and we apologise for any upset that this may have caused you. To discuss this with the team directly, please contact them on 1300 443424 and they will be happy to help in any way that they can. Regards, ghd

Great

Great to use. Reliable and durable. I would die without my god. It’s my 3rd and would buy another one. Had a mini but left it in a unit at beach.

Purchased in May 2018 for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Short
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 5 minutes

Rips your hair out

I was upgraded to the platinum plus after my previous platinum thermostat failed twice, I actually regret getting the platinum plus it has caused me so much pain since getting it, my hair is constantly getting my hair stuck in the plates and ripping hair out, other then that I have found it’s a great ghd my hair has never been healthier or shinier but it’s really not worth the daily pain of hair being ripped out.

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Curly
1 comment
Hi Kayla, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you have been left disappointed by your recent purchase and we apologise for any disappointment caused. Please contact our customer service team on 1300 443 424 and they will be happy to help in any way they can. Regards, ghd

Never buy GHD again

Had straightener replaced twice under warranty, same issue continues with the 3rd straightener, flashes light, beeps, turns off. Customer service hard to deal with at times, never buy GHD again.

Purchased in July 2017 for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Straight
Straightening Time 5 minutes

So good

I have been using GHD for 4 years now and it’s the best thing I’ve ever bought. Doesn’t burn my hair , I use heat protect spray tho . Last long but the only down side it just stopped working after 2 years so I had to buy a new one

Purchased in February 2016.


GHD platinum

I bought 2 GHD Platinums. One for myself one for my daughter. Both have packed up within 18months Both with red flashing light problem. $700 down the drain!! Not happy

Purchased in December 2017 at Hairhouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 10 minutes
1 comment
Hi Jacqui, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with your products and we apologise for any inconvenience caused. A message has been sent to yourself to request some additional information to allow you to look into this further for you. Regards, ghd

Awesome

This is the best out of any hair straighteners on the market. The way that is smooths and curls is perfect. Great for long or short hair. Never burns the hair and doesn’t dry it out

Purchased in January 2017 at Hairhouse Warehouse Online store for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Wavy

Best I've ever owned

Was a bit expensive, but worth every penny. My hair is thick, frizzy and untamable, but I use the straightener twice a week the day after I wash my hair and have smooth, frizz free hair all week. Heats up within 20 seconds, just remember to use heat protection product.

Purchased in December 2018 at Shaver Shop Physical store for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Curly
Straightening Time 20 minutes

Page 1 of 99

Questions & Answers

Frequently Asked Questions about ghd Hair Straighteners

What does a flashing red light mean for my ghd Hair Straightener?

If your ghd Straightener has a blinking red light indicator, it indicates that the heat plates are not able to reach or maintain its temperature. If the plates are cold to the touch, you may need to warm them up with your hands. If this doesn’t solve the issue, this may indicate a deeper hardware fault; contact ghd for assistance.

What are the main differences between ghd Hair Straightener models?

The main differences between ghd Straightener models are the choices of unit & heat plate size (ranging from “small” to “large”), included accessories, and colours. In addition, Platinum models have a tri-zone heat sensor to more granular temperature control.

Latest Consumer Questions

Sadly My GHD Straightener just died halfway through straightening my hair for a wedding. Although I have owned it for three years it is only used a couple of times a month, always kept in its protected pouch with the heat guard on, still looks new. I realise it is now out of warranty but surely for the price of the product the consumer has a right to expect a longer life expectancy, or are my expectations unrealistic? I have contacted GHD but have had no response so far. Very disappointed. This is my third GHD that has died.
1 answer
Hi Annabelle! My GHD eclipse did the exact same thing, I kept it in a heat proof case, used it some times not even once a month. I had mine for just over three years. I was very annoyed, as they cost a lot of money. I was able to get in contact with GHD by calling them. I gave them a few details on the model and the best they could do was give me there new model for $150. Which I guess is better than nothing. Good luck!

My ghd platinum straightens just flash red and beep when turned on, heard it’s a fault with them! I don’t believe they are under warranty anymore how do I get them fixed??
No answers

Hi i have a ghd bout 6 or 7 yrs now wen i turn it on de red light cums on and den wen its heated up it beeps and de red light keeps flashing, is this ok? I cant remember whether wen it heats up it beeps and de red light stays on or it stays flashing thanks
1 answer
Hi Jenny, Thank you for your query. We are very sorry to hear about the issue you are having with your product. Please contact our team on 1300 443424 with your product on hand and they will be happy to help in any way that they can. Regards, ghd

Details

ghd Platinum Plusghd IV stylerghd Eclipseghd V Amethystghd V Birds of Paradiseghd V Gold Classicghd V Gold Minighd V Pink Blushghd V Pink Diamondghd 3.1Bghd Midnight Collectionghd Jamelia Limitedghd Scarletghd Peacock Limited Editionghd Purple Indulgenceghd Metallic Collectionghd Platinumghd V Arctic Goldghd V Copper Luxeghd V Gold Maxghd V Marine Allureghd V Opalghd V Ruby Sunset
CategoryHair StraightenersHair StraightenersHair StraightenersHair StraightenersHair StraightenersHair StraightenersHair StraightenersHair StraightenersHair StraightenersHair StraightenersHair StraightenersHair StraightenersHair StraightenersHair StraightenersHair StraightenersHair StraightenersHair StraightenersHair StraightenersHair StraightenersHair StraightenersHair StraightenersHair StraightenersHair Straighteners
Max Temperature185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C
Price (RRP) $199$300$270$270$280$235$315$270$270
Replaced byghd Platinum Plus

Visit official website - Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.