??!
10 photos
ghd Hair Straighteners

ghd Hair Straighteners

Eclipse, IV styler, Platinum Plus, V, 3.1B and 7 more
3.1 from 1,931 reviews

I love this product

the straightener takes 20-30 seconds to heat up and gets to a very great heat level. it straightens my hair so fast, super easy to use, but has had only a satisfactory effect on the health of my hair.

Purchased in December 2018.

1 comment
##- Please type your reply above this line -## <table width="600"><tr><td><div class="ghd-header" style="padding: 45px 0; text-align: center; width: 100%; max-width: 600px;"><img src="https://theme.zdassets.com/theme_assets/9032565/6aacc6bb7c75e2e2906f9a60cfeb13803e3b644a.png" width="97" height="58"></div><div style="border-bottom: 1px solid #cecece; border-top: 1px solid #cecece; color: #ddbb62; font-family: serif; font-size: 24px; padding: 22px 0; text-align: center; text-transform: uppercase; width: 100%; max-width: 600px;">THANK YOU FOR YOUR EMAIL</div><div style="color: #666666; font-family: serif; padding: 22px 0; width: 100%; max-width: 600px;"> Hi ProductReview.com.au, Thank you for contacting us, our offices are currently closed. Your enquiry will be dealt with as quickly as possible, once our office reopens. Contact Number : 01924 423 400 Opening hours: 09:00 - 17:00 Monday to Friday. In the mean time… While you are waiting for our reply, we have extensive information on our website that might answer your question more quickly. </div> </td> </tr> </table> <table width="600"><tr><td style="text-align: center;"><a href="https://www.facebook.com/ghduk"><img src="https://theme.zdassets.com/theme_assets/9032565/cefb620a24b0417cece4cf2c5a21c59ed283e5e3.jpg" width="35px" height="35px"></a>&nbsp;&nbsp;<a href="https://instagram.com/ghdhair"><img src="https://theme.zdassets.com/theme_assets/9032565/fe8804ff4830ae8d95d5844c810b26af4e555443.jpg" width="35px" height="35px"></a>&nbsp;&nbsp;<a href="https://twitter.com/ghd"><img src="https://theme.zdassets.com/theme_assets/9032565/ecdc67bd8bd58eeff6f92534cba07bf53d12b608.jpg" width="35px" height="35px"></a>&nbsp;&nbsp;<a href="https://www.youtube.com/c/ghdglobal"><img src="https://theme.zdassets.com/theme_assets/9032565/78a844b2421e40bd9a71b51a1471fa06d5c2c972.jpg" width="35px" height="35px"></a></td></tr></table><br><table width="600" style="border-top: 1px solid #cecece; padding: 20px;"><tr><td width="300" style="text-align: center;"><span style="color: #666666 !important; font-family: serif !important; font-size: 12px; text-decoration: none !important;">©2019 Jemella Group Ltd Bridgewater Place | Leeds | West Yorkshire | LS11 5BZ Company number: 04115691 VAT number: 886 6123 89 Data protection registration number: Z1663328 All rights reserved </span></td></tr></table>

Excellent!! I love!

I love this hair straightener! It doesn't take long to heat up at all! And when using it OMG! Wonderful! i have really course thick curly hair but this product does the trick! Every time without fail it has left me with perfectly straight, silky hair! Works wonders!! Would highly recommend as it works for all hair types and doesn't take long to tackle the task!

Purchased in December 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Curly
Straightening Time 35 minutes

Loving it so far!

I'm a GHD girl from way back so when my original one died after 10 years, I was devastated and sceptical about buying another GHD as I had heard the new ones weren't as good. However I believe the technology has improved a lot in recent years so I went for the Platinum above all the other brands and am extremely happy with it! Very smooth, no snagging, does a great job!

Purchased in February 2019 for $265.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 20 minutes

Product blew up

Was a great straightener until it defaulted and burnt my hair quite badly. It isn't acceptable for the product to blow up even if it's been used for 1.5 yrs. Ridiculous. Waste of money, faulty product and damages hair.

Purchased in March 2017 for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Wavy
2 comments
Hi Shar, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with your product and we apologise for the disappointment caused. Some further details have been requested from yourself to allow us to look into this for you. Regards, ghdThank you

Poor performance from the GHD Gold Professional

I purchased a GHD Gold Professional styler in August 2018. I have had numerous GHDs over the last decade. The GHD Gold Professional styler does not heat up well and it leaves my hair frizzy within 1 hour after straightening. This has never happened on previous GHDs, nor any other straightener. My hair has always been sleek and smooth after straightening with previous GHDs. I've tried all the tips and bought additional products to help the straightness or curls remain in place, but it doesn't work. I am extremely disappointed with the quality/ effectiveness of the straightener and do not feel like I received value for the cost paid.

Purchased in August 2018 for $275.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Curly
Straightening Time 60 minutes
2 comments
Hi Nat, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of the issue you have experienced in relation to your product and apologise sincerely for the disappointment that this has caused you, particularly as you mention that you have not encountered this issue before. Should you wish to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact our team directly on 1300 443424. They will be happy to look into this and help in any way that they can. Regards, ghdThanks for responding. Does ghd stand by the quality of its product and offer a customer satisfaction/money back guarantee?

Not worth the money

I bought these less than 2 years ago and was very happy with how they straightened (even though every now and then my hair would get trapped under one of the plates and it would pull it out) then they developed a fault.
They would start to heat then flash red, beep and cool down so I contacted Ghd. I knew they were still within the warranty and HAD registered them on their website,
for all of you who think that when you register them this activates the warranty you would be wrong, this is what I was told by email from Braden at Ghd

I am able to advise that the registration process holds no information and does not effect nor validate the warranty of the product, it is solely to confirm that your product is a genuine ghd product.

So if you need them to be repaired you have to show the original receipt! Now I do understand this to a certain degree and usually keep receipts but on this occasion I didnt thinking that when I registered them that activated the warranty, obviously not, so now I am out of pocket by £200 and far from amused.

Be warned, they are not the company they once were, less than 2 years for this product is very disappointing

Purchased in June 2017 for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 15 minutes

4 pairs within a year!!!

I’m on my 3rd pair of these within a year and low and behold the last replacement pair which were the god platinum plus have stopped working ( on for a few minutes and start beeping and flashing red) my original pair stopped heating up the next pair gave off a burning smell and a rather loud pop in my hand. This is ridiculous. I’ve used ghd’s for the best part of 13years and never had a problem until the pair purchased just before Christmas 2017. Every time they’ve offered to replace and that’s all. So disappointed in GHD. Sort your mess.

Purchased in December 2017 for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 25 minutes

Perfect for my hair. God knows what I'd do without it.

I love my GHD. My hair would be a right mess every day without it. My third ghd since they were invented. This one now approx 7 years old & still going strong. My former ghd only stopped working as I accidentally knocked it onto the floor. Got this one & never looked back. I am also the proud owner of ghd platinum tropical sky straighteners bought in 2017. My best one for holidays & of course back up should my others fail.

Purchased in June 2012 at Salon Shop for $145.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Straight
Straightening Time 15 minutes

GUTTED

My children bought me these ghd's for Christmas. Great shape. However, a week into my holiday they started beeping with the light flashing red. I will be returning them where they were bought £175. After using ghd's since they were 1st launched and still having the original ones. I will be purchasing cloud nine!! Very upset as they were a gift and for them to go faulty whilst away!!!

Purchased in December 2018.


Great

I thought at first that this was an expensive purchase but it is so good. It does not burn my hair and it works beautifully and heats up in 30 seconds or so.

Purchased in June 2019.

Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Straight
1 comment
Hi Anni, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you are enjoying your new product. Regards, ghd

Shocking length of life and warranty

I have had 4 of these over the last 10 years and all have died with electrical faults. GHD refuse to replace it after I have contacted them as it is out of the 1 year warranty period. If you pay this amount of money for a straightener you expect it to last longer. My sister and I also take extremely good care of the product and are very careful with it. Very dissapointed in the service.

Purchased in February 2017 for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Curly
Straightening Time 20 minutes
1 comment
Hi Gemma, Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear of the issue you have experienced with your product, particularly as you mention that you have taken care of the item. Should you wish to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to get in touch with our AU team on 1300 443424 or at www.ghdhair.com/au/help/contact-us. They will be happy to help you in any way that they can. Regards, ghd

Easy to use

It is easy to use as I have very long hair. And my bf loves it as well. He has curved natural hair and it can be straight his hair with very shot time

Purchased in February 2019 for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Straight
Straightening Time 15 minutes

Flashing red light & just out of warranty

Treated myself to a new set of GHDs for Christmas 2016. Now after 2 years and 2 months I get the flashing red light and no heat. I find out now that the Platinum model is not repairable! What a rip off. GHD - you should be ashamed of yourselves!

Purchased in December 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Straight

Love it

Such a good straightener, heats up fully in less than 10 seconds and takes me only like 5 minutes to straighten all of my hair and stays straight all day.

Purchased in September 2018 at Rockingham for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 5 minutes

So quick!

Works so quickly which is super important when placing heat on your hair. Is aesthetically pleasing, light and heats up incredibly quick. Worth the cost and works great as a gift!

Purchased in July 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 15 minutes

The absolute BEST!

This straightener is the best ever. It heats up fast, it works quickly and so sleek and stylish! I’ve had previous ghd models that don’t even compare to this model. A definite buy!

Purchased in November 2018 at AMR Hair & Beauty for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 5 minutes

Great Product

Works well and lasted for years so far. Beeps when hot and doesn't take long to heat up. No issues with the power cord or any other wear like I have had with other brands.

Purchased in January 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use

Remington is better

It heats up quick and shuts itself down if left unattended which is good/safe, however I had to send it back after 6 months because it just stopped working. I expected more for $300.00 honestly my other $70.00 Remington hair straightener does a better job. It takes too long to straighten and it really dries the hair out, even with heat protection. I wouldn't recommend this product GHD platinum hair straightener. Not worth it save your money, the return was a hassle even with the receipt and warranty. I wasn't paid for this review I'm just super disappointed with the cost for the quality I received and fare enough I lost out but if I can save someone else $300.00, than I'm going to try. Just thought I'd share that with you guys.

Purchased in February 2018 at Hair warehouse for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 40 minutes

ghd platinum plus

very satisfied for times its to heat up
get hot to long last the 2 minutes very hor
very satisfied the time its take to straightened my hair
yes its has multiple position and controlling,
the negative effectiveness shown my look healthier and shinging .with this products its good products am happy to again

Purchased in April 2018 for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Hair Care
Hair Length Medium
Straightening Time 30 minutes

So much better than previous ghd's

I got this as a Christmas gift from my parents a year ago and I love it. I have quite coarse, long and thick hair that has been colored and my hair looks incredibly healthy when I use the ghd, although I find that it stays curled for longer than straight


Page 1 of 97

Questions & Answers

Frequently Asked Questions about ghd Hair Straighteners

What does a flashing red light mean for my ghd Hair Straightener?

If your ghd Straightener has a blinking red light indicator, it indicates that the heat plates are not able to reach or maintain its temperature. If the plates are cold to the touch, you may need to warm them up with your hands. If this doesn’t solve the issue, this may indicate a deeper hardware fault; contact ghd for assistance.

What are the main differences between ghd Hair Straightener models?

The main differences between ghd Straightener models are the choices of unit & heat plate size (ranging from “small” to “large”), included accessories, and colours. In addition, Platinum models have a tri-zone heat sensor to more granular temperature control.

Latest Consumer Questions

After turning on & they have heated up (about 1 minute), the red light starts to flash and beeps. The red light stays on flashing until the tongs are turned off. They still work but why the red light and beeping? I do not have the receipt as they where a present approximately 18 months ago.
2 answers
The red light and beeping means that the straightener is heated and ready to be used.Hi Bruce, Thanks for getting in touch. We are sorry to hear of your experience with your product and we apologise for the inconvenience caused. Please contact our customer service team on 1300 443 424 and they will be happy to help in any way they can. Regards, ghd

I switched my ghds on and the light and beep noice happened, they were heating fine and working then the light went off. The when I turned them on and off the light wasn't on. Any ideas?
1 answer
Hi, Thank you for your recent question. We apologise for the issue you are having with your order. Please do not hesitate to contact the team directly by submitting a query at the following link: ghdhair.com/au/help/contact-us Someone will then respond to you directly and will be happy to help in any way that they can. Regards, ghd

What does it mean when they flash red
1 answer
Hi Ellie, Thank you for your enquiry and we are sorry to hear this. Please do not hesitate to contact the team directly by submitting a query at the following link: www.ghdhair.com/au/help/contact-us Someone will then respond to you directly and will be happy to help in any way that they can. Regards, ghd

Details

Platinum PlusIV stylerEclipseV AmethystV Birds of ParadiseV Gold ClassicV Gold MiniV Pink BlushV Pink Diamond3.1BMidnight CollectionJamelia LimitedScarletPeacock Limited EditionPurple IndulgenceMetallic CollectionPlatinumV Arctic GoldV Copper LuxeV Gold MaxV Marine AllureV OpalV Ruby Sunset
Max Temperature185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C185°C
Price (RRP) $199$300$270$270$280$235$315$270$270
Replaced byghd Platinum Plus

Visit official website - Download manual

Similar listings