2 photos
ghd Original IV Styler

ghd Original IV Styler

4.1 from 463 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Hair Straighteners in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by ghd

Reviews

4.7
15 reviews
5
(10)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (14)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (15)
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 (15)
  • Hair Length Short, Medium and Long (15)
  • Hair Style Straight (2), Wavy (7) and Curly (6)
  • Straightening Time 28.462 minutes
  • Hair Care
    4.2 (13)
Previous
Next
Rachel W.
Rachel W.Sydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews

Built to last!

published

I purchased my ghd original in 2010 and it is still going strong, I decided to buy a replacement in the exact same style, mostly just to treat myself, but honestly the original was absolutely fine - a little wear and tear on the outside but function was immaculate for 11 years and daily use.
Amazing. These are perfect for straightening, curling and natural waves.
I use it along with the heat protectant spray and my hair feels great & protected.

Worth the price point!

Purchased in April 2010 for $230.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Hair Care
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 20 minutes
Chloe M.
Chloe M.New South Wales
  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

Always great products

published

I’ve been using GHDs personally and in my salon for 10 years and I love them. My one heats up in seconds. I can straighten my hair in less than 4 minutes and I’m very pleased with the job it does. It’s very easy to use and maintain which is important for me.

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Wavy
Emily L.
Emily L.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Excellent Product - Great Service

published

I had a GHD styler for 14 years, and then was gifted a new GHD not long after.

Sadly, this one was faulty. Lisa, from the customer service team was lovely to deal with and helped me with my warranty request - my GHD holds sentimental value for personal reasons but Lisa was polite, and a pleasure to deal with.

I will continue to use GHD's, for life!

Thank you Lisa, and GHD.

Purchased at Mecca Cosmetica Physical store for $210.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Hair Care
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Curly
Straightening Time 15 minutes
Cards Master
Cards MasterSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • Verified

Good product but costly

published

It's a costly product.
It won't straighten your hair if its overly curled.
But it will help to maintain the straightness for few months once you get your hair done professionally.

Purchased in January 2020 at eBay for $210.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Hair Care
2/5
Incentivised Review No
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 60 minutes
Hair Straighteners

Find out how ghd Original IV Styler compares to other Hair Straighteners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
T-LeeB
T-LeeBSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

It's an original

published

Heats up in minimal time, gets very hot, too hot unfortunately. I wasn't accustomed to the GHD technology, and unfortunately fried the ends of my hair when initially using it. I've changed the way I use it but recommend anyone buying one of these second hand (which is what I did), reconsider.
They are too hot and will damage your hair if you don't know what you're doing. I have it on professional advice the new technology is very good.

Value for Money
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Hair Care
2/5
Incentivised Review No
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 30 minutes
Amanda
Amanda
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

The best !!

published

The original is the best in this case! Quick and easy to use, heats ups so fast, doesn’t burn hair and has a great non sip handle which is great cause I have very long hair. Exactly what I needed

Purchased in May 2020 at Shaver Shop for $235.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Hair Care
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 30 minutes
Katelynmuzz
Katelynmuzz
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

amazing on my thick curls

published

I love this GHD, I have thick ringlet curls and when I use this my hair stays straight for about 2 days!!! (Well by the second day it’s kinky but none the less still straight)
I feel it gets to a good heat and takes less time to straighten my high maintenance hair than normal cheaper alternatives take, I’m probably not the best example as if you compare me to someone with normal straight hair obviously mines gonna take 10x as long.
I don’t use it every day as it is quite time consuming, however I haven’t noticed any damage or negative affects on my hair..

Purchased in December 2018 for $200.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Hair Care
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Curly
Straightening Time 30 minutes
MelissaF
MelissaFRyde
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Amazing straightener however small plate

published

This straightener heats up super fast and has lasted me years! In comparison to the max GHD this one is very time consuming and you have to seperate your hair into small portions to get a nice dead straight look, also takes a few times going over. Because of that I feel it damages your hair a little more, however that could also be purely because of how straight I like my hair and obviously being a smaller plate it takes more time and needs more going over!
However had you asked me my opinion before buying the max I would have given it 5 stars any day of the week!!

Purchased in July 2017 for $200.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Hair Care
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Straight
Straightening Time 15 minutes
Nashwa H.
Nashwa H.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • Verified

Perfect

published

I did purchase DHD 11 years ago and I just updated for new one I love it never go wrong.
My hair is healthy and thick. My girls use it and I never think of another brand.

Purchased in January 2020 at Werribee Blinds for $400.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Hair Care
5/5
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Curly
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Hair Straighteners

Find out how ghd Original IV Styler compares to other Hair Straighteners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rachel E.
Rachel E.
  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified

Amazing straightener that has lasted years!

published

I purchased my GHD in 2017, and coming into March 2020, I still use it every single day and it still works perfectly. The cost is definitely worth it for a premium product that has lasted so long. I also have very curly hair, and it works wonders on it.

Purchased in May 2017 at Adore Beauty for $199.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Hair Care
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Curly
Straightening Time 60 minutes
ajhorne
ajhorneHunter Region, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified

Nothing beats a classic

published

Nothing beats a gold classic! The Ceramic plates glide through the hair with minimal pulling. Perfect for soft waves and curls. Unlike the newer generations which i have found clink and pull the hair rather than glide through.

Purchased in March 2016 at Price Attack for $220.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Hair Care
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Straight
Straightening Time 10 minutes
ghd
Customer C.ghd
Danielle
DanielleGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Old favourite

published

Have had a ghd hair straightener for years. Every time I believe the element has run its life cycle I go out and buy the exact same straightener again. Never an issue with the IV model.

Purchased in July 2017 at Hairhouse Warehouse Online store for $200.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Hair Care
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 15 minutes
ghd
Customer C.ghd
Hair Straighteners

Find out how ghd Original IV Styler compares to other Hair Straighteners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great Hairstyler

published

Bought this years ago and it is still going strong, have not had any issues with it. heat sup quick and stays hot. I would prefer a dial to adjust temperature for different style options.

Purchased in February 2018.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Curly
Straightening Time 30 minutes
ghd
Customer C.ghd
Kayla
KaylaSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Loving it so far

published

The straightener heats up in no time. It's super easy to use, as I can straighten my hair quickly and I haven't had any burns so far, which is amazing considering how accident-prone I am.

Purchased in January 2019 at Hairhouse Warehouse Online store for $168.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Hair Care
4/5
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 20 minutes
ghd
Customer C.ghd
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Jen A
Jen AGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent!! I love!

published

I love this hair straightener! It doesn't take long to heat up at all! And when using it OMG! Wonderful! i have really course thick curly hair but this product does the trick! Every time without fail it has left me with perfectly straight, silky hair! Works wonders!! Would highly recommend as it works for all hair types and doesn't take long to tackle the task!

Purchased in December 2017.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Hair Care
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Hair Length Long
Hair Style Curly
Straightening Time 35 minutes
ghd
Customer C.ghd

Questions & Answers

Hayley B.
Hayley B.asked

When I turn my GHD original on it beeps and the led flashes. The straightener heats up. It only beeps once. The led continues flashing. Is this normal? No issues with the straightener just not sure if the led should continue flashing

No answers
LULU
LULUasked

My ghd IV styler all of a sudden wont turn on. Any ideas?

1 answer
ghd
Customer C.ghd

Hi Lulu,

Thank you for your recent query.

To discuss any problems with your product, please get in touch with our team directly on 1300 443 424 and they will be happy to advise you further.

Regards,

ghd

Jarrah B
Jarrah Basked

How long is the straightener?

1 answer
ghd
Customer C.ghd

Hi Jarrah,

Thanks for getting in touch.

We can confirm that this product is 25.9cm in length.

Regards,

ghd

See all ghd Original IV Styler questions

Get an answer from our members and ghd representatives

Details

CategoryHair Straighteners
Price (RRP) $215.00
FeaturesAuto Shut-off and Universal Voltage
Plate TypeSingle Floating
Plate MaterialCeramic
Max Temperature185 °C
Cord Length2.7 m
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Colour / FinishBlack
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.