2 photos
ghd Original IV Styler

ghd Original IV Styler

4.1 from 463 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Hair Straighteners in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by ghd

Reviews

4.0
8 reviews
5
(6)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(2)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (8)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    4.4 (8)
  • Hair Length Short, Medium (8) and Long
  • Hair Style Straight (2), Wavy (5) and Curly (1)
  • Straightening Time 12.571 minutes
  • Hair Care
    4.1 (7)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
MICHELLE
MICHELLESouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

Always does the job PERFECTLY!

published

My hair is quite thick and fluffy with a little frizz, so it doesn't take me long to have it looking smooth and straight. It takes a minute to heat up by that time i have brushed and parted my hair so no time wasted. It does my hair so nicely and doesn't damage it at all, Takes around 10-15 minutes to do my hair which is the length of the middle of my back. I go to the hairdresser once every 6 months and they always compliment on how strong and healthy my hair looks and feels. This is my second original GHD straightener in the past 11 years. My last one lasted 8 years and I have had this one now for 3 years and use it once or twice a week, definitely great value.

Purchased in December 2018 at Hairhouse Physical store for $195.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Hair Care
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 13 minutes
Amber
AmberGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

My curler broke into two parts, customer service is disappointing

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Straight
Shannylouisa
ShannylouisaPerth, WA
  • 15 reviews
  • 16 likes
  • Verified

Ghd have gone downhill

published

I had a limited edition ghd for about 7 years and recently replaced it with a new one. I had to get it replaced under warranty because it wasn’t getting hot enough. They sent me another one, the customer service is great but this one is crap too. How can they have changed so much since my limited edition one. I wouldn’t recommend at all, you’d be better off buying a cheap Vidal sassoon one, they work about the same.

Purchased in June 2020 for $185.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Hair Care
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 30 minutes
Ms Angel
Ms Angel
  • 4 reviews

Perfect.

published

I have been using GHD straighter since the day it came out, so it has been over 12 13 years, and I still use it to this very day, 2020.
Its durable and still works well.
Highly recommend.

Purchased in April 2008 for $400.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Hair Care
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Straight
Straightening Time 5 minutes
Hair Straighteners

Find out how ghd Original IV Styler compares to other Hair Straighteners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Alison
AlisonSydney, NSW

Easy to use for thicker hair

published

This GHD styler is perfect for thick hair it doesnt take much time to straighten it out it is a good value for the money as well it works all around wonders.

Purchased in March 2018 at Hairhouse Warehouse Online store for $200.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Hair Care
4/5
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 10 minutes
ghd
Customer C.ghd
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Vivien M.
Vivien M.
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect for my hair

published

With my type of hair, I’ve struggled to find the right straightener. Since getting this particular brand and model, I don’t have to worry about frizzy hair. Takes only seconds to warm up to temperature, can be adjusted to suit the style I want, and get ps the job done properly in a short amount of time.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Hair Care
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 5 minutes
ghd
Customer C.ghd
Von T.
Von T.Perth, WA

My favourite

published

I bought my ghd 4 years ago and it still to this day has not let me down. My hair is super annoying to the point where if I use different straighteners it starts to wave really quickly but i have NEVER had that problem with my ghd. It gives me perfectly sleek and silky hair and stays that way all day. I know alot of people say it's overrated and over priced but tbh its worth every cent. It heats up so fast and cools down real quick too. Seriously 100% recommend to my friends.

Purchased in October 2015 for $199.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Hair Care
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Curly
Straightening Time 15 minutes
ghd
Customer C.ghd
Hazyb
HazybSydney, NSW
  • 21 reviews
  • 9 likes

Good straightner

published

I got this straightener for christmas. It heats up really quickly and has adjustable heat settings as well as an on/off switch, so you don't have to switch it off at the wall socket the whole time. At first the blades did not meet, but then i realised you have to press them together quite tightly. I'm pleased with the way it glides over my hair without pulling it like my previous straightener did. It straightens very well. It cools down quickly too.
I would recommend this to everyone.

Purchased in December 2018 for $199.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Hair Care
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Hair Length Medium
Hair Style Wavy
Straightening Time 10 minutes
ghd
Customer C.ghd
Hazyb
Hazyb

Thankyou for your comment. Just telling it as I see it.
Love my GHD

Questions & Answers

Hayley B.
Hayley B.asked

When I turn my GHD original on it beeps and the led flashes. The straightener heats up. It only beeps once. The led continues flashing. Is this normal? No issues with the straightener just not sure if the led should continue flashing

No answers
LULU
LULUasked

My ghd IV styler all of a sudden wont turn on. Any ideas?

1 answer
ghd
Customer C.ghd

Hi Lulu,

Thank you for your recent query.

To discuss any problems with your product, please get in touch with our team directly on 1300 443 424 and they will be happy to advise you further.

Regards,

ghd

Jarrah B
Jarrah Basked

How long is the straightener?

1 answer
ghd
Customer C.ghd

Hi Jarrah,

Thanks for getting in touch.

We can confirm that this product is 25.9cm in length.

Regards,

ghd

See all ghd Original IV Styler questions

Get an answer from our members and ghd representatives

Details

CategoryHair Straighteners
Price (RRP) $215.00
FeaturesAuto Shut-off and Universal Voltage
Plate TypeSingle Floating
Plate MaterialCeramic
Max Temperature185 °C
Cord Length2.7 m
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Colour / FinishBlack
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.