??!
1 photo
GIO Car Insurance - Comprehensive

GIO Car Insurance - Comprehensive

2.0 from 17 reviews

Car Insurance Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of car insurance would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

2.0

17 reviews
5
(4)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(12)
  • Value for Money
    2.2 (14)
  • Customer Service
    2.2 (14)
  • Timeliness
    2.4 (14)
  • Job Satisfaction
    1.8 (6)
  • Transparency
    1.9 (14)
Previous
Next
Mozza

Mozza

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Had the most present experience ever

published

Just had my car written off and the experience and settling the claim was seamless. I had no time waiting on hold I’ve got through to the claims team to submit the claim let them know what had happened, Took the car to the repairer assessment place and unfortunately it was written off, when I called them I got straight through without being on hold to the claim team they forwarded me to the total loss team without being on hold and the claim was settled and paid out on the spot no hassle whatsoever. Was a stressful time and this seamless approach by GIO made an awful experience much less stressful.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
UpYours

UpYoursCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 62 reviews
  • 97 likes

Going, going, gone!

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
bellysmelly

bellysmellyAU

  • 29 reviews
  • 39 likes

No hassle claims

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelVolkswagen Tiguan 5N 103TDI
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how GIO Car Insurance - Comprehensive compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

No Value for Money

published

I have been with GIO since 2013, despite having made no claims and a perfect driving record my premiums just went up and up and up! Finally, after my latest renewal notice jumped again to over $120 + per month, I finally woke up and looked around for a better deal and found a similar policy with the same excess, but greater agreed value for only $58 per month! Very disappointed in GIO.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelHolden Ute
See all answers
Adam B.

Adam B.Sydney, NSW

Customer Service!

published

I had to call GIO three time to insure my new car as my requirements changed. Each time I was answered promptly and the consultant was able to assist very quickly and easily. Without doubt the best customer service I’ve ever experienced when purchasing over the phone.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive and Compulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelHonda CR-V
See all answers
lisa

lisaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Will never use gio every again

published

They wrote off my car as "Repairable write off" under valued my car by $1200, took 30 days to finally process my claim and then advised me that wont pass on the 12 month registration refund. Apparently they get to keep that. Sooooo wrong. I called 4 or 5 times to check on the process of my claim. Each time , waiting from 30 - 45 mins to have my call answered. Never again.

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Expose thugs

Expose thugsGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 16 reviews
  • 17 likes

Avoid GIO like Corona virus.

published

Been with them for 12 months. At renewal price went up by (from 1450 to 1650) 18% but at the same time reduced value of vehicle by around 25%. No claim either.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
Expose thugs
Expose thugs
Unhappy customer

Unhappy customerCentral West, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Insurance buyers beware

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Car ModelMitsubishi Verada
See all answers
Brett

BrettPeel, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

No Such Thing As Loyality

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car Model2008 Toyota Yaris YRS NCP91R 5 Door Hatch
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how GIO Car Insurance - Comprehensive compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Adam L.

Adam L.

  • 3 reviews

the latest information on my claim with gio claim#m057139406 rego cm92sv

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Ravi Patel

Ravi Patel

  • 2 reviews

Dead root staff and their process Completely Disgraceful

published

My car got written off since last two and no one approached me yet, I tried to call them three times and everytime was advised that department takes around 40 minutes to take call, I said i am waiting and 2.5 hours it past 08 pm and they said its now not operating hour please call tomorrow.
same story of yesterday

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Robyn

RobynSydney, NSW

Would not recommend to anyone

published

Put claim in on 18/12/2019, smash repairers sent in quote 20/12/2019, on line assessor was booked to approve quote 24/12/2019 they reckoned they didn’t receive quote but it was sent as the repairer got a email to say it would be looked at on the 24/01/2020 no I didn’t make a mistake on the dates [name removed] definitely said Christmas Eve. No communication from GIO. Cannot understand Offshore person on phone except for “sorry about that”which was said a number of times. After lengthy phone call still no closer to get my car repaired. Will be changing companies as soon as this is over.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Car ModelMitsubishi Lancer
See all answers
Rob

RobSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 13 likes

Hopeless windscreen claim

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Cassy

CassyHunter Region, NSW

Horrible Service!

published

Over 2 months without a car and still waiting for Gio! Always been with them but never again, first claim and always paid on time!! Worst Customer service i have ever experienced!!

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Fantastic

published

A dramatic incident happened with my car and its the first time I have ever had to make an insurance claim, gio made it so easy and they were very helpful throughout the whole process. Within a week my car was removed and assessed, and the next week my claim was settled. It all took 2 weeks and Im very happy and thankful for there rapid response. There customer service is beyond amazing, and they were very sensitive but professional with my situation. I will continue to be a loyal gio customer! Thanks again :)

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car Insurance

Find out how GIO Car Insurance - Comprehensive compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Worst service ever

published

I have comprehensive insurance from last 4 years, i never come across their service before but this time, i had an major accident. I was nearly die and they won't give a damn about that. I understand that they have to investigate and then take the decision which is fair enough but it's being more than a month, they were investigating and now they come to conclusion that it might happen intentionally.
I just wanted to ask one thing, did any one of their consultant check the car. I don't think so. If they do then they might not say that.
Highly dissatisfied and i never recommended anyone for their service and they have
No loyalty towards customer.
Waste tons of time.
No Outcome at all.
Crap service.
Just charging money.

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateOctober 2019
natalie isaacs

natalie isaacsSydney, NSW

Want to hear a million answering machine options, then ads, then 15 minutes wait (ads). Call GIO

published

Shocking customer service. I wanted to go with them but oh my goodness. I gave up before l even started. Just to talk to something which l never did took more than 15minutes so l called another provider instead.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelToyota 86 ZN6 GTS Manual
See all answers
See all GIO Car Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Tina

Tinaasked

Car Insurance - Comprehensive

Can I take my car to any car repairer of my choice.

2 answers
Fired Up
Fired Up

The answer is listed in their website or one phone call away

john smith
john smith

call GIO & ask them

Get an answer from our members and GIO representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.