??!
1 photo
GIO Car Insurance - Comprehensive

GIO Car Insurance - Comprehensive

1.9 from 24 reviews · View Statistics

How to compare car insurance to find the best policy for you

With so many car insurance providers and policies on the market, dipping into the policy pool can be confusing. Use this guide for tips on how to find the car insurance that's ideal for you.

Read now

Reviews

1.9

24 reviews
  • Value for Money
    2.3 (20)
  • Customer Service
    2.0 (20)
  • Timeliness
    2.4 (20)
  • Job Satisfaction
    1.8 (12)
  • Transparency
    2.0 (20)
  • Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks (4), <1 week (3), 1-2 months (2), 3+ months (1) and 1-2 weeks (1)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (8) · No (9)
Previous
Next
Lisa S.

Lisa S.New South Wales

Refuses Choice of Repairer

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Be aware of GIO

published

GIO ignored my claim having wrong timestamps. GIO is unable to track their own timestamps of calls that i have made. Now it's under review and I'm driving a car that cannot be locked.Samething can happen to you and be aware.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Siddique

SiddiqueSydney, NSW

Not At Fault Claim

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMercedes-Benz S-Class
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
Siddique
Siddique
Car Insurance

Find out how GIO Car Insurance - Comprehensive compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ms D

Ms DSydney, NSW

My car smashed by Capital Smart after GIO did not offer me choice of repairer as per policy.

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelAudi Q3 8U TDI
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Anonymous

AnonymousSydney, NSW

Very slow and not helpful claim recovery

published

My fence was damaged by a third party car insured with GIO.
GIO made no effort to get quotations but pushed the work to the impacted parties.
Quotes submitted for more than a week with no response from GIO, and impacted parties got to call to follow up. And still no immediate action to recover the claims for repairs for more than 2 weeks. Have no trust in GIO claim management and efficiency at all.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderNo
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Renzos

RenzosSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Regularly better than expected

published

I've been with GIO Comprehensive insurance since 2017. They have constantly performed better than expected. Each time I made a claim, the claims consultant made the whole stressful situation easy. Each time I call to change and address or enquire about something, the call centre staff are always friendly, and seem to engage in general friendly chit chat (such as talking about dogs, tv shows, mcdonalds, etc). It's like speaking to a friend! I highly recommend them!

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelKia Cerato
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Yas

Yas

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

The call centre people are imbeciles.

published

I was applying for a new insurance company so I had to give my new insurance company. As you have to be thorough and accurate about reporting your claims history, I chatted with some of their representatives online and they said that they will email it to me within 3-5 business days. This was on the 4th August 2020. As I have not received that document, I gave them a call. There was someone, an absolute idiot in their call center from the Philippines who did not even know the ABCof customer service. When I asked to be transferred to someone else, he blatantly denied my request because I was no longer their customer. Is that how you treat people when they are not your customers anymore?

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota Camry ASV50R / AVV50R Atara S
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJanuary 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Mozza

Mozza

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Had the most present experience ever

published

Just had my car written off and the experience and settling the claim was seamless. I had no time waiting on hold I’ve got through to the claims team to submit the claim let them know what had happened, Took the car to the repairer assessment place and unfortunately it was written off, when I called them I got straight through without being on hold to the claim team they forwarded me to the total loss team without being on hold and the claim was settled and paid out on the spot no hassle whatsoever. Was a stressful time and this seamless approach by GIO made an awful experience much less stressful.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
UpYours

UpYoursCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 70 reviews
  • 102 likes

Going, going, gone!

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how GIO Car Insurance - Comprehensive compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
bellysmelly

bellysmellyAU

  • 34 reviews
  • 41 likes

No hassle claims

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelVolkswagen Tiguan 5N 103TDI
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

No Value for Money

published

I have been with GIO since 2013, despite having made no claims and a perfect driving record my premiums just went up and up and up! Finally, after my latest renewal notice jumped again to over $120 + per month, I finally woke up and looked around for a better deal and found a similar policy with the same excess, but greater agreed value for only $58 per month! Very disappointed in GIO.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelHolden Ute
See all answers
Adam B.

Adam B.Sydney, NSW

Customer Service!

published

I had to call GIO three time to insure my new car as my requirements changed. Each time I was answered promptly and the consultant was able to assist very quickly and easily. Without doubt the best customer service I’ve ever experienced when purchasing over the phone.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive and Compulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelHonda CR-V
See all answers
lisa

lisaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Will never use gio every again

published

They wrote off my car as "Repairable write off" under valued my car by $1200, took 30 days to finally process my claim and then advised me that wont pass on the 12 month registration refund. Apparently they get to keep that. Sooooo wrong. I called 4 or 5 times to check on the process of my claim. Each time , waiting from 30 - 45 mins to have my call answered. Never again.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Expose thugs

Expose thugsGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 16 reviews
  • 18 likes

Avoid GIO like Corona virus.

published

Been with them for 12 months. At renewal price went up by (from 1450 to 1650) 18% but at the same time reduced value of vehicle by around 25%. No claim either.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
Expose thugs
Expose thugs
Unhappy customer

Unhappy customerCentral West, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Insurance buyers beware

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMitsubishi Verada
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how GIO Car Insurance - Comprehensive compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Brett

BrettPeel, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

No Such Thing As Loyality

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car Model2008 Toyota Yaris YRS NCP91R 5 Door Hatch
See all answers
Adam L.

Adam L.

  • 3 reviews

the latest information on my claim with gio claim#m057139406 rego cm92sv

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Ravi Patel

Ravi Patel

  • 2 reviews

Dead root staff and their process Completely Disgraceful

published

My car got written off since last two and no one approached me yet, I tried to call them three times and everytime was advised that department takes around 40 minutes to take call, I said i am waiting and 2.5 hours it past 08 pm and they said its now not operating hour please call tomorrow.
same story of yesterday

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Robyn

RobynSydney, NSW

Would not recommend to anyone

published

Put claim in on 18/12/2019, smash repairers sent in quote 20/12/2019, on line assessor was booked to approve quote 24/12/2019 they reckoned they didn’t receive quote but it was sent as the repairer got a email to say it would be looked at on the 24/01/2020 no I didn’t make a mistake on the dates [name removed] definitely said Christmas Eve. No communication from GIO. Cannot understand Offshore person on phone except for “sorry about that”which was said a number of times. After lengthy phone call still no closer to get my car repaired. Will be changing companies as soon as this is over.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMitsubishi Lancer
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Rob

RobSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 15 likes

Hopeless windscreen claim

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Page 1 of 2
See all GIO Car Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Tina

Tinaasked

Car Insurance - Comprehensive

Can I take my car to any car repairer of my choice.

2 answers
Fired Up
Fired Up

The answer is listed in their website or one phone call away

john smith
john smith

call GIO & ask them

Get an answer from our members and GIO representatives

Details

Compare all 5 GIO Car Insurance
CategoryRoadside Assistance Providers and Car Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Business, Home and Contents, Life and Travel
Coverage TypeComprehensive
UnderwriterAAI
Legal Liability Cover Included up to $20 million
Roadside Assistance Included
Reduced or Zero Excess Windscreen CoverZero Excess Optional Extra
Choice of RepairerAllowed
After Accident Care
Emergency Transport & AccommodationIncluded up to a total of $1,000
Towing Costs Included
Hire Car after a No Fault Accident

After an incident covered by your policy where your car is damaged and:

  • cannot be safely driven or is in for repairs; and

  • you or the driver of your car were not at fault for the incident; and

  • you have provided the name and address of the person at fault and the registration number of their vehicle;

Essential / Emergency RepairsIncluded up to $1,000
Benefits
Pay As You Drive / Fixed Kilometre DiscountNot Offered
Hire Car after Theft

Included up to $75 per day for up to 21 days

Lock and Key ReplacementNot Included
Trailer & Caravan CoverIncluded
Child Safety Seats and PramsIncluded up to a total of $750 per item
New-for-old Car Replacement

Earlier of 2 years

Personal Property CoverIncluded up to $1,000
Uninsured Motorist Benefit Not Applicable
Accidental Loss or Damage
FireIncluded
CollisionIncluded
Natural EventsIncluded
Theft or Attempted TheftIncluded
Compare all 5 GIO Car Insurance

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.