1 photo
GIO Home and Contents

GIO Home and Contents

1.9 from 152 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Home and Contents Insurance in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by GIO

Reviews

2.4
18 reviews
  • Value for Money
    1.2 (9)
  • Transparency
    1.0 (7)
  • Customer Service
    1.0 (9)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • 1-2 months (1)
    • 3+ months (8)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (11) · No
Previous
Clear all
Next
Rebecca S
Rebecca SGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Worst insurance company!

published

I have tried to call my case manager left messages and emails for over 2 weeks to arrange repairs and no return calls or emails. Paid my excess and now nothing. A joke for an insurance company

Incentivised Review No
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim Made Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tan
TanLondon
  • 5 reviews
  • 9 likes

DO NOT USE GIO - read my experience BUDGET DIRECT 1/2 the price with better coverage

published

GIO staff are incompetent, they are not trained in their policies so the advice that they give you is inaccurate, this results in your insurance policy being useless. When you raise the issue of advice provided by numerous consultants, they ignore this. So my insurance cost me over $4800 for the year, I was not covered and Budget Direct was half the price with better coverage. SHOP around and avoid GIO at all cost.

Value for Money
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim Made Yes
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Alex M.
Alex M.
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified

2021 WORSE INSURANCE COMPANY - due to incompetent staff member

published
Value for Money
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim Made Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Aggro
AggroNewcastle
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

GIO - DO NOT USE

published
Value for Money
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim Made Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how GIO Home and Contents compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chad
ChadSydney, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

don't use GIO. they will try hard to get out of insuring you.

published
Value for Money
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim Made Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hermes
HermesGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified

*** 2021 Worse Insurance Company - due to incompetent staff member ***

published
Value for Money
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim Made Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jarrad
JarradGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Poor claims experience

published
Value for Money
3/5
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim Made Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Super Funds Awards 2022!

A good super fund can make a substantial difference to the amount you retire with. From retail super funds to self managed super funds, view reviewer ratings for the top-rated super funds of 2022.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Jan 2022
super-funds-awards-2020
Credit Card Awards 2020

Whether it's the sign up bonus, rates and fees, or reliable customer service that you look for in a credit card, a credit card is often used everyday, so it's important you choose one that meets your needs and that you're happy with. These are the top-rated credit cards this year, as decided by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.19 Nov 2019
credit-card-awards-2020
What Is Peer-To-Peer Lending?

Peer-to-peer lending is quickly gaining popularity among Australian borrowers and investors. If you've never heard of it before, this 2 minute read will give you a quick rundown so you can decide if P2P lending is right for you.

Nathan S.
Nathan S.14 Nov 2019
what-is-peer-to-peer-lending
Next
Cate
CateGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

THE BIGGEST RIP OFF INSURANCE

published

After we received our most recent renewal earlier this month and saw that it had gone up 33.6% to an exorbitant amount of $9,259.92 annually for a strata complex, we contacted another insurance company for a price comparison. We were shocked to discover that, for the same cover for building and contents and the same excess and flood insurance, the premium from another well known insurer was only $2,020.08 annually. This is a saving of $7,239.84  for the year.

We had been using GIO for our home and content insurance for 12 years and thought they were a reputable decent insurance company. Disgraceful GIO. You should be ashamed of yourself. Do your homework and stay away from the outrageously, exorbitant insurance company.

Value for Money
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeOther
Claim Made Yes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

totally dysfunctional claims department and GIO home repair Team Terrible time wasting experience

published

6 weeks delay to replace skylight dome , water damaged attic flooring and electrician , small claim around $4,500 two days work at the outside . home repair team hopeless they will not answer emails

Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how GIO Home and Contents compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Stephen
StephenSydney, NSW

Integrity of gio home insurance

published

My parents made a claim for hail damage in December as of 9/4/19 gio contractors have completed no progress the 500 dollars access has been paid the start and completion date has long past many phone calls to the builder and gio show a lack of sincerity and integrity if this is not address in 7 days legal action will be pending

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim Made Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateDecember 2018
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
K.....
K.....
  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Take excess quick. Repair slow!

published

Made a claim in early January. Excess taken immediately. Claim Accepted. Nothing done almost April. No aircon for most of summer. Thanks very much! Not even excuses just no action.

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim Made Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateJanuary 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

mickscott
mickscottasked

I would be very interested to hear from somebody at GIO about their reviews here and what I consider a very poor rating of 2 stars from 122 reviews . Does this even concern anybody at GIO ? It concerns me to think my family has been paying thousands of dollars every year for the last 45 years for what seems to be second rate insurance . Very disturbing for a staunch loyal 45 year customer .

1 answer
Larraine
Larraine

I have just had contents ins claim and had no trouble they were very easy to deal with and have settled claim with no trouble at all

Daphne E.
Daphne E.asked

I submitted a very important question this morning and submitted my question. Have not seen any
reply. Daphne

1 answer
PopHi
PopHi

What was the important question?

Michelle D.
Michelle D.asked

Does contents insurance cover damage by someone's horse to anothers persons car.

2 answers
Fired Up
Fired Up

Check with GIO

David B.
David B.

only if the horse is comprehensively insured

See all GIO Home and Contents questions

Get an answer from our members and GIO representatives

Details

CategoryHome and Contents Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Business, Car, Funeral, Home and Contents, Landlord, Life, Motorcycle and Travel
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.