?
? !
1 photo
GMHBA Health Insurance

GMHBA Health Insurance

4.2 from 315 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.6

73 reviews
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (53)
  • Transparency
    4.5 (51)
  • Customer Service
    4.7 (55)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (37)
    • 1-2 weeks (18)
    • 2-4 weeks (3)
    • 1-2 months (1)
    • 3+ months (4)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (73) · No
Previous
Next
Brian C.

Brian C.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • Verified customer

Excellent Hospital Cover overall @ reasonable costs with good range of partnered Hospitals.

published

Good value Cover & inclusions, easy to communicate with actual staff/persons. Easy re Claims with good actions taken & resolved = satisfied customers over our years with GMHBA & would recommend for Overall Cover Hospital/Medical.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital Only
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Frank Health Insurance

Looking for Health Insurance?

Read the reviews for Frank Health Insurance

507 reviews
Ad
Deb

DebIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

Great value

published

A wide range of policies at very competitive prices. Excellent customer service and easy to set up a policy and claims. Any queries are answered promptly. We have been with GMHBA for about 3 years now.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

  • Verified customer

Great organisation.

published

I have been with GMHBA for over 20 years. Easy claim submission and process. Website easy to use. Staff very easy to talk to and knowledgeable about claim details and policy content.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateDecember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Health Insurance

Find out how GMHBA Health Insurance compares to other Health Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Darryl C.

Darryl C.South East Queensland, QLD

  • Verified customer

Happy with their medical cover

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

John

John

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified customer

Membership has been a valuable asset over the years

published

30 years membership meant a lot of money laid out in the early years but several health issues in the past ten years means we have been adequately covered and peace of mind has been of enormous value.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital Only
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Anne42

Anne42Hunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Good Policy

published

Extras good value but unable to claim exercise classes etc because I have had this policy for a long time, approx 22 yrs. very easy to set policy up. Staff helpful.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Frank Health Insurance

Looking for Health Insurance?

Read the reviews for Frank Health Insurance

507 reviews
Ad
bobfeatherston

bobfeatherstonPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

Insurance works but working with head office is problematic

published

I have been with GMHBA for more than thirty years and have found their insurance works well in claiming for all of my medical requirements but when I have tried to claim for the remainder of my Connect Rewards I have found problem after problem. I think the web sit could be made a bit easier to navigate.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30Yes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Helen

HelenSouthwest, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

Came to the rescue!

published

During the pandemic and stood down from work GMHBA offered me a hold on payments which I accepted, but when I needed surgery, just one phone call to the helpful staff at GMHBA I was able to get my surgery with all benefits. I honestly don't know what I would have done if it had not been for them. I would encourage everyone to join GMHBA.

Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital Only
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

rob k

rob kSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified customer

a terrific not for profit health insurer

published

What is seldom pointed out is that GMHBA is part of a coalition of 5 health unsurers including Defence Health. It is no fly by night organisation. The only way it can be better, actually, is if one lives in Victoria where it is based. This is a good deal especially for Dentistry. I wish it could set up facilities in other states. Nonetheless, it is terrific. As a not for profit facility they do listen to their members. Additionally they are very good value. I have done the rounds of the biggies, as I grew older and became pension dependent. I can guarantee it.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Health Insurance

Find out how GMHBA Health Insurance compares to other Health Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Wendy M.

Wendy M.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • Verified customer

Gmhba is a wonderful health insurance I work in a hospital and are extremely happy with my cover!

published

I am not sure but a few years more than 15 years as my previous Health Insurance Goldfields in Perth closed and I had to choose another one and I chose GMHBA

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Robert

RobertGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

First class health cover

published

Transferred to GMHBA around 10 years ago. Rates are very competitive and rebates better than the major insurer we previously used. Any phone queries have always been answered with politeness and competence. Claims via mail are processed quickly. Couldn’t be happier, and always happy to recommend to others

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

  • Verified customer

I am more than happy with GMHBA

published

I have been with GMHBA for 10+ years, claiming some extras but a year ago was questioning whether to continue with hospital cover; and then I had a nasty fall and suffered multiple fractures... very nasty. Thank goodness for GMHBA for covering all my hospital and rehab. expenses. And the came the diagnoses of Parkinson's Disease. Thanks to GMHBA, I am having physiotherapy and voice therapy. This new world of Parkinson's is quite scary but having the support of this health fund eases the anxiety. Excellent value.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Frank Health Insurance

Looking for Health Insurance?

Read the reviews for Frank Health Insurance

507 reviews
Ad
George D.

George D.Victoria

  • 2 reviews

Perfect for a retired couple living in regional Victoria

published

Great policy at highest level without pregnancy cover. Local eyewear outlet is excellent. Recent knee replacement covered without excess for surgeon. Has dental affiliates too. I recomme d this product highly.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Siew-Hoon

Siew-HoonGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • Verified customer

An expensive necessity

published

Compared to other policies, at last review , it appears as good as or better than others . I have been with GMHBA for approximately 40 years and have found my dealings better than satisfactory

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

creecy

creecySouthwest, VIC

  • Verified customer

We are happy

published

It is a local fund
The profits could/should keep our premiums lower

The phone system is slow ,which can be annoying, an update colin breed slow phone

Update on the net would be good

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Health Insurance

Find out how GMHBA Health Insurance compares to other Health Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Denny

DennySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified customer

Great policy

published

Policy is good value for money
We have lodged claims and refund was speedy and easily lodged over the phone
Have been with this company for 2 years and have not had any worries

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Shaw M

Shaw MSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

A very good and useful support.

published

# We have been with GMHBA for nearly 8 years !
# We were assisted in setting up our policy by a broker and it has been very good value.
# All claims have been met very promptly and all queries answered efficiently.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageExtras Only
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Margaret

MargaretSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • Verified customer

People need to have a good Health Fund

published

I have found over the years that GMHBA has given good value. However on the prognosis that you only get what you pay for I have always had top hospital cover that has worked fairly well for me. I am not sure how long I have been with GMHBA but is many years.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Frank Health Insurance

Looking for Health Insurance?

Read the reviews for Frank Health Insurance

507 reviews
Ad
Patto

PattoGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified customer

Have always felt comfortable with it

published

Amember from the 1970's (IOOF-GMHBA) My family-Daughter's family loyal 50 yrs. Meant nothing.Daughter recently refused support-operation deemed not covered. Someone in ‘Authority’ could've shown compassion. It's about people Not money

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Jan

JanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

We have no problems at all with GMHBA. Continue the great service.

published

We have been able to put in claims for Dental, Optical and pharmacy receipts. All claims have been received with GMHBA with immediate results. We have been with GMHBA for 2 years and very happy with continued service.

Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30Yes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Page 1 of 4
See all GMHBA Health Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Carol W.

Carol W.asked

Is GMHBA refunding extras to policy holders not used during COVID?

3 answers
John
John

Perhaps a rethink on the way this question is asked may help - at least me - especially the reference to COVID
I am not aware of what may be suggested here
What exactly has prompted this question?
Is their murmuring within the ranks I know nothing about?

Carol W.
Carol W.

There was a mention on Channel 7 last week that some health funds were refunding portions of unused extras on policies during 2020.

John
John

Thanks. It is now dawning on me as to your intent ... don't follow those type of sensational Public Affairs TV shows
My response: Why expect a refund?
What about 'normal' years when 'we' don't use all of our 'entitlements'
So, why should we cry foul just because we have a political lockdown?

I did not receive a full Extras refund fr GMHBA on new spectacles, as I did not think to check if my wife had claimed earlier in the same year (mine was at a considerable cost - three sets of specs: general, reading and 'required' prescription sun glasses (early cataracts developing). If I had just held out till the new Extras year rolled over ... !

Would be nice to be able to claim 'certain extras' to support specific medical conditions, in my case, a quality BP monitor
My long history of cardiac claims (GMHBA) would surely have given some value where our GMHBA Extras have generally (I think) been on the moderate side. Not sure how this could be manageable without an even greater admin burden on the Health Fund

And where do you stop like, a no-claim bonus where we don't use our Hospital cover for any year?

On my care insurance I recently had an automatic refund of approx $250, all because I had just included one of my daughters (aged 45) as another authorized driver (not a full-time driver). I was not under any penalties on that policy, although her no-claim accident history counted towards that $250.

My only point here is flexibility if possible at all, and every case on its merit and loyalty. Thank you. John

Elke

Elkeasked

Is varicose vein treatment covered in the Bronze Plus Insurance package? It is not clear. It does not mention veins, only blood.

1 answer
Jann
Jann

Try ringing them on their 13hundred number and asking.

Joyce H.

Joyce H.asked

How do I claim on a podiatry paid account ,I am in gold class over the internet

1 answer
Jann
Jann

Contact GMHBA and they can send you a direct link to send a photo image of the account. Very easy and payment is usually in your account within 1 - 2 days. Then each time you make a claim you use that same link.

See all GMHBA Health Insurance questions

Get an answer from our members and GMHBA Health Insurance representatives

Details

CategoryHealth Insurance

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.