1 photo
GMHBA Health Insurance

GMHBA Health Insurance

4.2 from 322 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by GMHBA Health Insurance

Reviews

4.6
73 reviews
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (20)
  • Transparency
    4.1 (18)
  • Customer Service
    4.7 (20)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (13)
    • 1-2 weeks (6)
    • 2-4 weeks (1)
    • 1-2 months (1)
    • 3+ months (1)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (25) · No
Previous
Next
  • Verified

Great organisation.

published

I have been with GMHBA for over 20 years. Easy claim submission and process. Website easy to use. Staff very easy to talk to and knowledgeable about claim details and policy content.

Value for Money
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateDecember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Darryl C.
Darryl C.South East Queensland, QLD
  • Verified

Happy with their medical cover

published
Value for Money
4/5
Transparency
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

John
John
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Membership has been a valuable asset over the years

published

30 years membership meant a lot of money laid out in the early years but several health issues in the past ten years means we have been adequately covered and peace of mind has been of enormous value.

Value for Money
4/5
Transparency
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital Only
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

bobfeatherston
bobfeatherstonPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Insurance works but working with head office is problematic

published

I have been with GMHBA for more than thirty years and have found their insurance works well in claiming for all of my medical requirements but when I have tried to claim for the remainder of my Connect Rewards I have found problem after problem. I think the web sit could be made a bit easier to navigate.

Value for Money
4/5
Transparency
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30Yes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Health Insurance

Find out how GMHBA Health Insurance compares to other Health Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Margaret
MargaretSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • Verified

People need to have a good Health Fund

published

I have found over the years that GMHBA has given good value. However on the prognosis that you only get what you pay for I have always had top hospital cover that has worked fairly well for me. I am not sure how long I have been with GMHBA but is many years.

Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Ray Carroll
Ray Carroll
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Life Saver

published

Very good value.
Excellent time frame for claims.
A long, long time!
Nothing else to say at this point in time. Ridiculous to have the rule of having at least thirty words when all is covered above.

Value for Money
4/5
Transparency
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Meercat
Meercat
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Expensive but okay

published

Good staff who are always helpful. Dental cover minimal.
Would like to see a comparison with other insurance companies comparing apples with apples.
Will review costs inApril 2020 to decide on future insurance

Value for Money
4/5
Transparency
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Related Articles

Previous
Super Funds Awards 2020!

A good super fund can make a substanial difference to the amount you retire with. From retail super funds to self managed super funds, view reviewer ratings for the top-rated super funds of 2020!

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.7 Nov 2019
super-funds-awards-2020
Credit Card Awards 2020

Whether it's the sign up bonus, rates and fees, or reliable customer service that you look for in a credit card, a credit card is often used everyday, so it's important you choose one that meets your needs and that you're happy with. These are the top-rated credit cards this year, as decided by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.19 Nov 2019
credit-card-awards-2020
Australian Government Rebates & Incentives for Private Health Insurance

There are a number of government rebates, discounts, and additional charges that could apply to you when taking out private health insurance. We've outlined the main ones here so you don't have to dig through all the research yourself.

Nathan S.
Nathan S.7 Feb 2020
australian-government-rebates-incentives-for-private-health-insurance
Next
RoseL
RoseL
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Health Insurance is expensive and refunds are at best average.

published

I pay for Silver + Hospital which is top cover for seniors. For my recent hospitalisation I paid an excess ($250 being half of annual excess as I've had a previous admission this year). The GAP after Medicare and Health Fund refunds for my surgeon was more than half of the fee, and the GAP after refunds for my anaethetist was more than one third of the fee.
Health Insurance Premiums have increased markedly in recent years but despite paying more the refunds are growing expotentially. It is time the Health Funds lobbied the Government for changes that see premiums increasing less and refunds increasing more.
It is becoming less attractive for me to continue being insured when Public Hospital care is free!

Value for Money
3/5
Transparency
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

  • Verified

Has been peace of mind.

published

Bit complicated - hard to follow options. Not sure any more. I am considering dropping out all together now.
Claiming is great with f to f people to help you.

Joined in 1995

Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Health Insurance

Find out how GMHBA Health Insurance compares to other Health Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Anne Veronica
Anne VeronicaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • Verified

Happy but dont know how long I can afford it.

published

Fairly good. Yes
Instant hicaps
10 months this time. Previously a long time member till a new job in 1996 paid for it with MHB. Unhappy with Bupa so have returned.

Value for Money
4/5
Transparency
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Gerard Evans
Gerard EvansSouthwest, VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • Verified

36 year member and no plans to leave

published

I have been a member of GMHBA since joining as a single in 1983. Since then my wife and children have been added and always had good cover and service

Value for Money
4/5
Transparency
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Jeanette Ruwoldt
Jeanette RuwoldtWestern District, VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

GMHBA - Happy to have local office to refer to..

published

Not sure it is good value. We trust GMHBA to be doing the right thing by us. Claims are always processed quickly and efficiently. We have been with GMHBA approx

Value for Money
4/5
Transparency
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Health Insurance

Find out how GMHBA Health Insurance compares to other Health Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bayside
BaysideSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • Verified

Health Insurance rating

published

Have been with GMHBA over 10 yrs. Hard to compare with other insurers, although I think my rate is similar to others.
I claim online and find it very easy to complete

Value for Money
4/5
Transparency
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Kenneth Wylie
Kenneth WylieSouthwest, VIC
  • Verified

Retired couple

published

It is getting very expensive we have been with this company for nearly 60 years. The last claim we had was very slow nearly three months to get the refund

Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Denise Grigg
Denise GriggCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • Verified

No worries

published

I think policy is quite good value all claims have been dealt with quite quickly and never seem to have had any problemshave been with Gmhba years not sure how long

Value for Money
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Questions & Answers

Marlene K
Marlene Kasked

Does GMHBA cover some/all the cost of blood pressure monitors

No answers
Wilma S.
Wilma S.asked

Which A C T pathology groups do GMHBA have agreements with . I would like to join but have read reviews which Suggest ACT residents may be disadvantaged .thank you Wilma

2 answers
Old boy
Old boy

Capital Pathology has the bulk of the business in the ACT. Only a problem if you are hospitalised and lot of blood tests were done, as in my case. I am not sure if GMHBA has no fee agreements with others in the ACT.

Wilma S.
Wilma S.

Thanks for your response . Perhaps GMHBA could clarify this .

Carol W.
Carol W.asked

Is GMHBA refunding extras to policy holders not used during COVID?

3 answers
John
John

Perhaps a rethink on the way this question is asked may help - at least me - especially the reference to COVID
I am not aware of what may be suggested here
What exactly has prompted this question?
Is their murmuring within the ranks I know nothing about?

Carol W.
Carol W.

There was a mention on Channel 7 last week that some health funds were refunding portions of unused extras on policies during 2020.

John
John

Thanks. It is now dawning on me as to your intent ... don't follow those type of sensational Public Affairs TV shows
My response: Why expect a refund?
What about 'normal' years when 'we' don't use all of our 'entitlements'
So, why should we cry foul just because we have a political lockdown?

I did not receive a full Extras refund fr GMHBA on new spectacles, as I did not think to check if my wife had claimed earlier in the same year (mine was at a considerable cost - three sets of specs: general, reading and 'required' prescription sun glasses (early cataracts developing). If I had just held out till the new Extras year rolled over ... !

Would be nice to be able to claim 'certain extras' to support specific medical conditions, in my case, a quality BP monitor
My long history of cardiac claims (GMHBA) would surely have given some value where our GMHBA Extras have generally (I think) been on the moderate side. Not sure how this could be manageable without an even greater admin burden on the Health Fund

And where do you stop like, a no-claim bonus where we don't use our Hospital cover for any year?

On my care insurance I recently had an automatic refund of approx $250, all because I had just included one of my daughters (aged 45) as another authorized driver (not a full-time driver). I was not under any penalties on that policy, although her no-claim accident history counted towards that $250.

My only point here is flexibility if possible at all, and every case on its merit and loyalty. Thank you. John

See all GMHBA Health Insurance questions

Get an answer from our members and GMHBA Health Insurance representatives

Details

CategoryHealth Insurance
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.