?
? !
1 photo
GMHBA Health Insurance

GMHBA Health Insurance

4.2 from 315 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.6

73 reviews
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (33)
  • Transparency
    4.7 (33)
  • Customer Service
    4.8 (35)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (24)
    • 1-2 weeks (12)
    • 2-4 weeks (2)
    • 3+ months (3)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (48) · No
Previous
Next
Brian C.
Brian C.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • Verified

Excellent Hospital Cover overall @ reasonable costs with good range of partnered Hospitals.

published

Good value Cover & inclusions, easy to communicate with actual staff/persons. Easy re Claims with good actions taken & resolved = satisfied customers over our years with GMHBA & would recommend for Overall Cover Hospital/Medical.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital Only
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Frank Health Insurance

Looking for Health Insurance?

Read the reviews for Frank Health Insurance

511 reviews
Ad
Deb
DebIllawarra, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Great value

published

A wide range of policies at very competitive prices. Excellent customer service and easy to set up a policy and claims. Any queries are answered promptly. We have been with GMHBA for about 3 years now.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Anne42
Anne42Hunter Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Good Policy

published

Extras good value but unable to claim exercise classes etc because I have had this policy for a long time, approx 22 yrs. very easy to set policy up. Staff helpful.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Health Insurance

Find out how GMHBA Health Insurance compares to other Health Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Helen
HelenSouthwest, VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • Verified

Came to the rescue!

published

During the pandemic and stood down from work GMHBA offered me a hold on payments which I accepted, but when I needed surgery, just one phone call to the helpful staff at GMHBA I was able to get my surgery with all benefits. I honestly don't know what I would have done if it had not been for them. I would encourage everyone to join GMHBA.

Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital Only
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

rob k
rob kSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • Verified

a terrific not for profit health insurer

published

What is seldom pointed out is that GMHBA is part of a coalition of 5 health unsurers including Defence Health. It is no fly by night organisation. The only way it can be better, actually, is if one lives in Victoria where it is based. This is a good deal especially for Dentistry. I wish it could set up facilities in other states. Nonetheless, it is terrific. As a not for profit facility they do listen to their members. Additionally they are very good value. I have done the rounds of the biggies, as I grew older and became pension dependent. I can guarantee it.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Related Articles
Previous

Best Super Funds in 2020!

A good super fund can make a substanial difference to the amount you retire with. From retail super funds to self managed super funds, view reviewer ratings for the best super funds of 2020!

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.7 Nov 2019
best-super-funds-in-2020

Best Credit Cards in 2020!

Whether it's the sign up bonus, rates and fees, or reliable customer service that you look for in a credit card, a credit card is often used everyday, so it's important you choose one that meets your needs and that you're happy with. These are the best credit cards this year, as decided by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.19 Nov 2019
best-credit-cards-in-2020

Australian Government Rebates & Incentives for Private Health Insurance

There are a number of government rebates, discounts, and additional charges that could apply to you when taking out private health insurance. We've outlined the main ones here so you don't have to dig through all the research yourself.

Nathan S.
Nathan S.7 Feb 2020
australian-government-rebates-incentives-for-private-health-insurance
Next
Wendy M.
Wendy M.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • Verified

Gmhba is a wonderful health insurance I work in a hospital and are extremely happy with my cover!

published

I am not sure but a few years more than 15 years as my previous Health Insurance Goldfields in Perth closed and I had to choose another one and I chose GMHBA

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Frank Health Insurance

Looking for Health Insurance?

Read the reviews for Frank Health Insurance

511 reviews
Ad
Robert
RobertGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • Verified

First class health cover

published

Transferred to GMHBA around 10 years ago. Rates are very competitive and rebates better than the major insurer we previously used. Any phone queries have always been answered with politeness and competence. Claims via mail are processed quickly. Couldn’t be happier, and always happy to recommend to others

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

  • Verified

I am more than happy with GMHBA

published

I have been with GMHBA for 10+ years, claiming some extras but a year ago was questioning whether to continue with hospital cover; and then I had a nasty fall and suffered multiple fractures... very nasty. Thank goodness for GMHBA for covering all my hospital and rehab. expenses. And the came the diagnoses of Parkinson's Disease. Thanks to GMHBA, I am having physiotherapy and voice therapy. This new world of Parkinson's is quite scary but having the support of this health fund eases the anxiety. Excellent value.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

George D.
George D.Victoria
  • 2 reviews

Perfect for a retired couple living in regional Victoria

published

Great policy at highest level without pregnancy cover. Local eyewear outlet is excellent. Recent knee replacement covered without excess for surgeon. Has dental affiliates too. I recomme d this product highly.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Health Insurance

Find out how GMHBA Health Insurance compares to other Health Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Siew-Hoon
Siew-HoonGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • Verified

An expensive necessity

published

Compared to other policies, at last review , it appears as good as or better than others . I have been with GMHBA for approximately 40 years and have found my dealings better than satisfactory

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

creecy
creecySouthwest, VIC
  • Verified

We are happy

published

It is a local fund
The profits could/should keep our premiums lower

The phone system is slow ,which can be annoying, an update colin breed slow phone

Update on the net would be good

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Denny
DennySouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • Verified

Great policy

published

Policy is good value for money
We have lodged claims and refund was speedy and easily lodged over the phone
Have been with this company for 2 years and have not had any worries

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Frank Health Insurance

Looking for Health Insurance?

Read the reviews for Frank Health Insurance

511 reviews
Ad
Shaw M
Shaw MSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

A very good and useful support.

published

# We have been with GMHBA for nearly 8 years !
# We were assisted in setting up our policy by a broker and it has been very good value.
# All claims have been met very promptly and all queries answered efficiently.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageExtras Only
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Patto
PattoGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Have always felt comfortable with it

published

Amember from the 1970's (IOOF-GMHBA) My family-Daughter's family loyal 50 yrs. Meant nothing.Daughter recently refused support-operation deemed not covered. Someone in ‘Authority’ could've shown compassion. It's about people Not money

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Jan
JanSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

We have no problems at all with GMHBA. Continue the great service.

published

We have been able to put in claims for Dental, Optical and pharmacy receipts. All claims have been received with GMHBA with immediate results. We have been with GMHBA for 2 years and very happy with continued service.

Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30Yes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Health Insurance

Find out how GMHBA Health Insurance compares to other Health Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 4
See all GMHBA Health Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Wilma S.
Wilma S.asked

Which A C T pathology groups do GMHBA have agreements with . I would like to join but have read reviews which Suggest ACT residents may be disadvantaged .thank you Wilma

2 answers
Old boy
Old boy

Capital Pathology has the bulk of the business in the ACT. Only a problem if you are hospitalised and lot of blood tests were done, as in my case. I am not sure if GMHBA has no fee agreements with others in the ACT.

Wilma S.
Wilma S.

Thanks for your response . Perhaps GMHBA could clarify this .

Carol W.
Carol W.asked

Is GMHBA refunding extras to policy holders not used during COVID?

3 answers
John
John

Perhaps a rethink on the way this question is asked may help - at least me - especially the reference to COVID
I am not aware of what may be suggested here
What exactly has prompted this question?
Is their murmuring within the ranks I know nothing about?

Carol W.
Carol W.

There was a mention on Channel 7 last week that some health funds were refunding portions of unused extras on policies during 2020.

John
John

Thanks. It is now dawning on me as to your intent ... don't follow those type of sensational Public Affairs TV shows
My response: Why expect a refund?
What about 'normal' years when 'we' don't use all of our 'entitlements'
So, why should we cry foul just because we have a political lockdown?

I did not receive a full Extras refund fr GMHBA on new spectacles, as I did not think to check if my wife had claimed earlier in the same year (mine was at a considerable cost - three sets of specs: general, reading and 'required' prescription sun glasses (early cataracts developing). If I had just held out till the new Extras year rolled over ... !

Would be nice to be able to claim 'certain extras' to support specific medical conditions, in my case, a quality BP monitor
My long history of cardiac claims (GMHBA) would surely have given some value where our GMHBA Extras have generally (I think) been on the moderate side. Not sure how this could be manageable without an even greater admin burden on the Health Fund

And where do you stop like, a no-claim bonus where we don't use our Hospital cover for any year?

On my care insurance I recently had an automatic refund of approx $250, all because I had just included one of my daughters (aged 45) as another authorized driver (not a full-time driver). I was not under any penalties on that policy, although her no-claim accident history counted towards that $250.

My only point here is flexibility if possible at all, and every case on its merit and loyalty. Thank you. John

Elke
Elkeasked

Is varicose vein treatment covered in the Bronze Plus Insurance package? It is not clear. It does not mention veins, only blood.

1 answer
Jann
Jann

Try ringing them on their 13hundred number and asking.

See all GMHBA Health Insurance questions

Get an answer from our members and GMHBA Health Insurance representatives

Details

CategoryHealth Insurance
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.