1 photo
GMHBA Health Insurance

GMHBA Health Insurance (page 2 of 3)

4.2 from 322 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by GMHBA Health Insurance

Reviews

4.6
73 reviews
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (53)
  • Transparency
    4.5 (51)
  • Customer Service
    4.7 (55)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (37)
    • 1-2 weeks (18)
    • 2-4 weeks (3)
    • 1-2 months (1)
    • 3+ months (4)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (73) · No
Previous
Next
Debra
DebraGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

I only have extras but as it’s top cover I am very pleased with my out of pocket expense

published

I have been a member for quite along time and don’t plan on leaving anytime soon so I will continue with this membership. If I find a better job with a good pay rate I would consider adding hospital

Value for Money
4/5
Transparency
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageExtras Only
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Troublemaker
Troublemaker
  • 2 reviews

I don't do reviews but they are OK

published

Only doing this to stop the annoying pop-ups that keep appearing on my machine.
You want 30 words well here goes - ten nine eight seven six five four three two one.

Value for Money
4/5
Transparency
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim ApprovedYes
RoseL
RoseL
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Health Insurance is expensive and refunds are at best average.

published

I pay for Silver + Hospital which is top cover for seniors. For my recent hospitalisation I paid an excess ($250 being half of annual excess as I've had a previous admission this year). The GAP after Medicare and Health Fund refunds for my surgeon was more than half of the fee, and the GAP after refunds for my anaethetist was more than one third of the fee.
Health Insurance Premiums have increased markedly in recent years but despite paying more the refunds are growing expotentially. It is time the Health Funds lobbied the Government for changes that see premiums increasing less and refunds increasing more.
It is becoming less attractive for me to continue being insured when Public Hospital care is free!

Value for Money
3/5
Transparency
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

  • Verified

Happy customer

published

Can't remember when I joined, but I am more than happy with my GMHBA membership - claims are always handled promptly. My only problem is following the on line claims system so have reverted to hard copy.

Value for Money
4/5
Transparency
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Health Insurance

Find out how GMHBA Health Insurance compares to other Health Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
  • Verified

Very Happy

published

I feel I am getting good value and making claims is very easy.
Claims are paid into my bank and very quick to resolve
I have been with GMHBA for at least 15 years

Value for Money
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

  • Verified

Has been peace of mind.

published

Bit complicated - hard to follow options. Not sure any more. I am considering dropping out all together now.
Claiming is great with f to f people to help you.

Joined in 1995

Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Anne Veronica
Anne VeronicaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • Verified

Happy but dont know how long I can afford it.

published

Fairly good. Yes
Instant hicaps
10 months this time. Previously a long time member till a new job in 1996 paid for it with MHB. Unhappy with Bupa so have returned.

Value for Money
4/5
Transparency
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Related Articles

Previous
Super Funds Awards 2020!

A good super fund can make a substanial difference to the amount you retire with. From retail super funds to self managed super funds, view reviewer ratings for the top-rated super funds of 2020!

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.7 Nov 2019
super-funds-awards-2020
Credit Card Awards 2020

Whether it's the sign up bonus, rates and fees, or reliable customer service that you look for in a credit card, a credit card is often used everyday, so it's important you choose one that meets your needs and that you're happy with. These are the top-rated credit cards this year, as decided by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.19 Nov 2019
credit-card-awards-2020
Australian Government Rebates & Incentives for Private Health Insurance

There are a number of government rebates, discounts, and additional charges that could apply to you when taking out private health insurance. We've outlined the main ones here so you don't have to dig through all the research yourself.

Nathan S.
Nathan S.7 Feb 2020
australian-government-rebates-incentives-for-private-health-insurance
Next
Gerard Evans
Gerard EvansSouthwest, VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • Verified

36 year member and no plans to leave

published

I have been a member of GMHBA since joining as a single in 1983. Since then my wife and children have been added and always had good cover and service

Value for Money
4/5
Transparency
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Jeanette Ruwoldt
Jeanette RuwoldtWestern District, VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

GMHBA - Happy to have local office to refer to..

published

Not sure it is good value. We trust GMHBA to be doing the right thing by us. Claims are always processed quickly and efficiently. We have been with GMHBA approx

Value for Money
4/5
Transparency
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Health Insurance

Find out how GMHBA Health Insurance compares to other Health Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
  • Verified

Great for us so far!!!

published

GMHBA has been our health insurance for over 20 years and we have been looked after well by this company. Claims are quick, easy and with no fuss. Hospital stays and other medical issues are taken care of and the staff are very caring and helpful.

Value for Money
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2018
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

  • Verified

Always there for me

published

Had a few unexpected medical issues this year and GMHBA never faulted. Cant thank them enough. My bills were paid no questions asked. I have no regret for being part of a first class insurer.

Value for Money
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Coverage TypeSingle
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Jacqui
JacquiPioneer Bay
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Private healthh insurance is important to me.but it.is getting very expensive for people on the pension

published

Over a few years and I have never had a problem with claims l found gmhba very good when my husband was diagnosed with mind and I also found gmhba very caring

Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Health Insurance

Find out how GMHBA Health Insurance compares to other Health Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bayside
BaysideSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • Verified

Health Insurance rating

published

Have been with GMHBA over 10 yrs. Hard to compare with other insurers, although I think my rate is similar to others.
I claim online and find it very easy to complete

Value for Money
4/5
Transparency
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Stewart Liddell
Stewart LiddellGippsland, VIC
  • Verified

Have been behind us for many years.

published

We have been well served by our health fund over a period of approx 30 years. They have been there for us during some challenging times including current issues during the past few years.

Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

  • Verified

GMHBA seems to be Made for Us

published

We are happy with our Health Fund because it meets our needs pretty well. We have kept ancilliaries cover particularly for Eye Health and Hearing issues and it has been excellent to date. We will not be changing Health Funds any time soon.
Ray and Jose Jones

Value for Money
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Kenneth Wylie
Kenneth WylieSouthwest, VIC
  • Verified

Retired couple

published

It is getting very expensive we have been with this company for nearly 60 years. The last claim we had was very slow nearly three months to get the refund

Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Denise Grigg
Denise GriggCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • Verified

No worries

published

I think policy is quite good value all claims have been dealt with quite quickly and never seem to have had any problemshave been with Gmhba years not sure how long

Value for Money
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Eileen Kennedy
Eileen KennedyWestern District, VIC
  • Verified

Premiums keep rising and services reducing.

published

I have only used my plan for doctor visits and diagnostic testing, although I have used the extras package quite a bit. Claims are managed well at this level of us.

Value for Money
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Kenneth Pakes
Kenneth PakesGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Have no complaints as service is 1st class

published

The policy is definitely good value, and did not take very long to arrangs.e
When I lodge a claim it is usually processed within a few days.
I have nbeen with GMHBa for many years

Value for Money
4/5
Transparency
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Ros
RosGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified

Service is good.

published

We've been with this company for many years and the main advantage is the ease when dealing with queries or claims. You ring the number and get a person who always helps. It's quite confusing these days as to what your're covered for, as as far as our policy being economical, I'm not really sure. I think the changes the Government has made has just made the policies more confusing.

Value for Money
4/5
Transparency
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

  • Verified

Excellent

published

Good value yes
Did not take long at all was done through the private hospital and the attending medical surgeons.
Have been with the fund about 6 months now quiet happy with the change from H C F.

Value for Money
5/5
Transparency
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Liselotte Lindsay
Liselotte LindsayGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • Verified

Keep up the good work.

published

I believe that GMHBA provide good value for the premium you pay when compared to other health funds. I also believe in keeping locals in GEELONG in a job.

Keep up the good work.

Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Trevor
TrevorSouthwest, VIC
  • Verified

Things that could be better

published

Have been with GMHBA for many years but do find that it is one of the more expensive funds and often out of pocket quite a bit - even when using GMHBA Dental etc. No major concerns really but high membership costs should reduce out of pocket expenses.

Value for Money
3/5
Transparency
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Phillip Swifte
Phillip SwifteThe Mallee, VIC
  • Verified

How I have experienced GMHBA

published

Seems to be as good or better than competitors
Claims are paid within 24 hours
Phone enquiries are answered promptly
If answers not avail. immediately-they always phone back
Been a member since 1983-maybe under an older name.

Value for Money
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Sue D
Sue DSouthwest, VIC

Fantastic staff and great advice

published

We have been insured with GMHBA for over 25 years and hope to only ever claim dental check up and ambulance cover, but when ever we have needed a bit more the cover has been great and the follow up to make sure we are happy with the cover has been more than we expected. All health cover seems expensive but I have no complaints about value for money from GMHBA

Value for Money
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Page 2 of 3

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.