1 photo
GMHBA Health Insurance

GMHBA Health Insurance (page 2 of 3)

4.1 from 321 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by GMHBA Health Insurance

Reviews

4.6
73 reviews
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (37)
  • Transparency
    4.6 (36)
  • Customer Service
    4.7 (38)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (28)
    • 1-2 weeks (12)
    • 2-4 weeks (2)
    • 3+ months (3)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (52) · No
Previous
Next
Jacqui
JacquiPioneer Bay
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Private healthh insurance is important to me.but it.is getting very expensive for people on the pension

published

Over a few years and I have never had a problem with claims l found gmhba very good when my husband was diagnosed with mind and I also found gmhba very caring

Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Stewart Liddell
Stewart LiddellGippsland, VIC
  • Verified

Have been behind us for many years.

published

We have been well served by our health fund over a period of approx 30 years. They have been there for us during some challenging times including current issues during the past few years.

Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

  • Verified

GMHBA seems to be Made for Us

published

We are happy with our Health Fund because it meets our needs pretty well. We have kept ancilliaries cover particularly for Eye Health and Hearing issues and it has been excellent to date. We will not be changing Health Funds any time soon.
Ray and Jose Jones

Value for Money
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Eileen Kennedy
Eileen KennedyWestern District, VIC
  • Verified

Premiums keep rising and services reducing.

published

I have only used my plan for doctor visits and diagnostic testing, although I have used the extras package quite a bit. Claims are managed well at this level of us.

Value for Money
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Health Insurance

Find out how GMHBA Health Insurance compares to other Health Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kenneth Pakes
Kenneth PakesGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Have no complaints as service is 1st class

published

The policy is definitely good value, and did not take very long to arrangs.e
When I lodge a claim it is usually processed within a few days.
I have nbeen with GMHBa for many years

Value for Money
4/5
Transparency
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

  • Verified

Excellent

published

Good value yes
Did not take long at all was done through the private hospital and the attending medical surgeons.
Have been with the fund about 6 months now quiet happy with the change from H C F.

Value for Money
5/5
Transparency
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Liselotte Lindsay
Liselotte LindsayGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • Verified

Keep up the good work.

published

I believe that GMHBA provide good value for the premium you pay when compared to other health funds. I also believe in keeping locals in GEELONG in a job.

Keep up the good work.

Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Related Articles

Previous
Super Funds Awards 2020!

A good super fund can make a substanial difference to the amount you retire with. From retail super funds to self managed super funds, view reviewer ratings for the top-rated super funds of 2020!

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.7 Nov 2019
super-funds-awards-2020
Credit Card Awards 2020

Whether it's the sign up bonus, rates and fees, or reliable customer service that you look for in a credit card, a credit card is often used everyday, so it's important you choose one that meets your needs and that you're happy with. These are the top-rated credit cards this year, as decided by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.19 Nov 2019
credit-card-awards-2020
Australian Government Rebates & Incentives for Private Health Insurance

There are a number of government rebates, discounts, and additional charges that could apply to you when taking out private health insurance. We've outlined the main ones here so you don't have to dig through all the research yourself.

Nathan S.
Nathan S.7 Feb 2020
australian-government-rebates-incentives-for-private-health-insurance
Next
Trevor
TrevorSouthwest, VIC
  • Verified

Things that could be better

published

Have been with GMHBA for many years but do find that it is one of the more expensive funds and often out of pocket quite a bit - even when using GMHBA Dental etc. No major concerns really but high membership costs should reduce out of pocket expenses.

Value for Money
3/5
Transparency
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Phillip Swifte
Phillip SwifteThe Mallee, VIC
  • Verified

How I have experienced GMHBA

published

Seems to be as good or better than competitors
Claims are paid within 24 hours
Phone enquiries are answered promptly
If answers not avail. immediately-they always phone back
Been a member since 1983-maybe under an older name.

Value for Money
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Health Insurance

Find out how GMHBA Health Insurance compares to other Health Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sue D
Sue DSouthwest, VIC

Fantastic staff and great advice

published

We have been insured with GMHBA for over 25 years and hope to only ever claim dental check up and ambulance cover, but when ever we have needed a bit more the cover has been great and the follow up to make sure we are happy with the cover has been more than we expected. All health cover seems expensive but I have no complaints about value for money from GMHBA

Value for Money
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Rod Shepherd
Rod ShepherdGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Great service from GMHBA

published

GMHBA have by far the best call centre and provide accurate information regarding all aspects of their support and services covered by the policy. It would be very hard to move away from a team that provide this level of service.

Transparency
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Bill Soong
Bill SoongGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Friendly staff and refund claim service actioned promptly

published

Yes the policy is of good value and was easy to set up,
Our claims have been processed immediately and payment made into our bank account the next business day.
We have had the policy for 12 months (changed from another provider that we were with for 30 years)

Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Health Insurance

Find out how GMHBA Health Insurance compares to other Health Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MAF
MAFSouthwest, VIC
  • 2 reviews

Refund transaction

published

As usual, the staff member was friendly and prompt in servicing my refund claim transaction. All was promptly and efficiently handled in about 5 minutes. I did not have to wait as there was a vacant officer who greeted me as I entered.

Value for Money
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
MAF
MAF

Yes, I wrote this review, Peter Ferguson

  • Verified

Pleasant surprise

published

This year for the first time I made a claim on my hospital insurance. I knew that there was money from the now discontinued rewards program to put towards the excess but was very pleasantly surprised to be sent a refund, also from the rewards program - without any paperwork or fuss - for the excess on the anaesthetist's bill and a pathology bill.

Value for Money
4/5
Transparency
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Ronald Pentland
Ronald PentlandGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • Verified

Recent dealings with GMHBA have been excellent

published

I think this is my 4th or 5th year with GMHBA I was recommended to them by my relative
My claims have been settled with no hassles, but due to Government cuts Doctors extra charges are making it harder to find the finance

Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Graeme W
Graeme WGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • Verified

I'm Staying

published

My hospital insurance has been with GMHBA for several years now. I have always found the staff to be helpful. As they are one of the few mutual funds remaining in Australia, I will be staying.

Value for Money
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital Only
Coverage TypeSingle
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

brooklans
brooklansGrovedale
  • 3 reviews
  • Verified

Outstanding service, great value

published

I should have moved to gmhba a long time ago. The staff are terrific sought to know my needs and packaged accordingly no problems with refunding processes ease of access to the office

Value for Money
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageExtras Only
Coverage TypeSingle
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Peter L
Peter LPerth, WA
  • Verified

No intention to switch funds.

published

Have been with GMHBA for many years. Don't know for how long. We are very happy with the benefits and service GMHBA provides. Have had many and varied claims including major hospital and there have never been any issues.

Value for Money
4/5
Transparency
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Terrence Gilbert
Terrence GilbertMurray Region, NSW
  • Verified

Simple to deal with

published

I have been a member for well over 10 years now ans suffered my fair share of illness requiring surgery and hospital stays, coverage has never been an issue with them and all bills paid without question

Value for Money
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Jane Hattwell
Jane HattwellGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

I like gmhba

published

Gmhba is valuable and they respond quickly on the phone when I have a question. We got a fair amount back for my daughters braces and I like being able to pay monthly

Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2018
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Donte
DonteGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • Verified

No surprises.

published

We have been with GMHBA for a long, long time. Always had top hospital and top extras. Recent years we have had a few health issues that go with age and they resulted in 4 major surgeries and many specialists visits. Everything was explained and made easy to understand by GMHBA. Very quick refunds.

Value for Money
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Customer Service
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

  • Verified

Good but could be better!

published

Overall my policy is really good but I encountered problems with some stuff that every other health insurance covers and GMHBA won't cover a single dime for (example: sleep apnea machine). Also, I struggle to know my limits because they had "a problem in their system" for over a year now.

Value for Money
4/5
Transparency
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Michael Fitz-Gerald
Michael Fitz-GeraldGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • Verified

great service

published

It's great value for our family. so easy to use, fast process for claim. It is so easy to set up.
We lodged a claim via gmhab app, it only took 2 days to get our claim. most time is instant money back from the clinics.
We have been with GMHBA for almost 40 years. will not leave without this insurance.

Value for Money
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

  • Verified

excellent

published

been with GMHBA 15 years and others since 1965. Originally found to be cheaper than others. Have received excellent service particularly in the last 7 years with much illness and never a complaint from the fund and have had comment to the effect that it is at the top of the list for looking after the members.

Value for Money
4/5
Transparency
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital Only
Coverage TypeFamily
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Deb Fowkes
Deb FowkesGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Can't live without you

published

Whenever l call up a real people actually answer, they are extremely helpful and always make sure you are happy with their response. Claims are made really easy. Good value for money

Value for Money
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateSeptember 2014
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Page 2 of 3

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.