1 photo
GMHBA Health Insurance

GMHBA Health Insurance (page 2 of 4)

4.2 from 315 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.6

73 reviews
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (33)
  • Transparency
    4.7 (33)
  • Customer Service
    4.8 (35)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (24)
    • 1-2 weeks (12)
    • 2-4 weeks (2)
    • 3+ months (3)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (48) · No
Previous
Next
Keith
KeithSouthwest, VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Geelong’s own, who does it very well!

published

Very happy with value, service and culture of the organisation. Always recommend. Very much part of Geelong community and supports many worthwhile endeavours. That’s all we really need to say.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Frank Health Insurance

Looking for Health Insurance?

Read the reviews for Frank Health Insurance

512 reviews
Ad
jelborough
jelboroughSouthwest, VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

very happy

published

My policy suits our needs and wants have been happy with enquires and excellent customer service regarding our claims I have a member of GMHBA my claims have had the same day turn around if not a phone call response has happened nearly all the time. I only have had an excellent experience with GMHBA

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Bob
BobSouthwest, VIC
  • Verified

Great friendly detailed service provider

published

It is great value taking into account all the options & potential medical issues.
It only took days to resolve and payback the claim
I / my family have been members for 25 + Years

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Health Insurance

Find out how GMHBA Health Insurance compares to other Health Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Debra
DebraGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

I only have extras but as it’s top cover I am very pleased with my out of pocket expense

published

I have been a member for quite along time and don’t plan on leaving anytime soon so I will continue with this membership. If I find a better job with a good pay rate I would consider adding hospital

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageExtras Only
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Troublemaker
Troublemaker
  • 2 reviews

I don't do reviews but they are OK

published

Only doing this to stop the annoying pop-ups that keep appearing on my machine.
You want 30 words well here goes - ten nine eight seven six five four three two one.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim ApprovedYes
Related Articles
Previous

Best Super Funds in 2020!

A good super fund can make a substanial difference to the amount you retire with. From retail super funds to self managed super funds, view reviewer ratings for the best super funds of 2020!

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.7 Nov 2019
best-super-funds-in-2020

Best Credit Cards in 2020!

Whether it's the sign up bonus, rates and fees, or reliable customer service that you look for in a credit card, a credit card is often used everyday, so it's important you choose one that meets your needs and that you're happy with. These are the best credit cards this year, as decided by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.19 Nov 2019
best-credit-cards-in-2020

Australian Government Rebates & Incentives for Private Health Insurance

There are a number of government rebates, discounts, and additional charges that could apply to you when taking out private health insurance. We've outlined the main ones here so you don't have to dig through all the research yourself.

Nathan S.
Nathan S.7 Feb 2020
australian-government-rebates-incentives-for-private-health-insurance
Next
  • Verified

Happy customer

published

Can't remember when I joined, but I am more than happy with my GMHBA membership - claims are always handled promptly. My only problem is following the on line claims system so have reverted to hard copy.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Frank Health Insurance

Looking for Health Insurance?

Read the reviews for Frank Health Insurance

512 reviews
Ad
  • Verified

Very Happy

published

I feel I am getting good value and making claims is very easy.
Claims are paid into my bank and very quick to resolve
I have been with GMHBA for at least 15 years

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

  • Verified

Great for us so far!!!

published

GMHBA has been our health insurance for over 20 years and we have been looked after well by this company. Claims are quick, easy and with no fuss. Hospital stays and other medical issues are taken care of and the staff are very caring and helpful.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2018
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

  • Verified

Always there for me

published

Had a few unexpected medical issues this year and GMHBA never faulted. Cant thank them enough. My bills were paid no questions asked. I have no regret for being part of a first class insurer.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Coverage TypeSingle
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Health Insurance

Find out how GMHBA Health Insurance compares to other Health Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jacqui
JacquiPioneer Bay
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Private healthh insurance is important to me.but it.is getting very expensive for people on the pension

published

Over a few years and I have never had a problem with claims l found gmhba very good when my husband was diagnosed with mind and I also found gmhba very caring

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Stewart Liddell
Stewart LiddellGippsland, VIC
  • Verified

Have been behind us for many years.

published

We have been well served by our health fund over a period of approx 30 years. They have been there for us during some challenging times including current issues during the past few years.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

  • Verified

GMHBA seems to be Made for Us

published

We are happy with our Health Fund because it meets our needs pretty well. We have kept ancilliaries cover particularly for Eye Health and Hearing issues and it has been excellent to date. We will not be changing Health Funds any time soon.
Ray and Jose Jones

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Frank Health Insurance

Looking for Health Insurance?

Read the reviews for Frank Health Insurance

512 reviews
Ad
Kenneth Pakes
Kenneth PakesGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Have no complaints as service is 1st class

published

The policy is definitely good value, and did not take very long to arrangs.e
When I lodge a claim it is usually processed within a few days.
I have nbeen with GMHBa for many years

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

  • Verified

Excellent

published

Good value yes
Did not take long at all was done through the private hospital and the attending medical surgeons.
Have been with the fund about 6 months now quiet happy with the change from H C F.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Liselotte Lindsay
Liselotte LindsayGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • Verified

Keep up the good work.

published

I believe that GMHBA provide good value for the premium you pay when compared to other health funds. I also believe in keeping locals in GEELONG in a job.

Keep up the good work.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with GMHBA Health Insurance

Health Insurance

Find out how GMHBA Health Insurance compares to other Health Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 2 of 4
See all GMHBA Health Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Wilma S.
Wilma S.asked

Which A C T pathology groups do GMHBA have agreements with . I would like to join but have read reviews which Suggest ACT residents may be disadvantaged .thank you Wilma

2 answers
Old boy
Old boy

Capital Pathology has the bulk of the business in the ACT. Only a problem if you are hospitalised and lot of blood tests were done, as in my case. I am not sure if GMHBA has no fee agreements with others in the ACT.

Wilma S.
Wilma S.

Thanks for your response . Perhaps GMHBA could clarify this .

Carol W.
Carol W.asked

Is GMHBA refunding extras to policy holders not used during COVID?

3 answers
John
John

Perhaps a rethink on the way this question is asked may help - at least me - especially the reference to COVID
I am not aware of what may be suggested here
What exactly has prompted this question?
Is their murmuring within the ranks I know nothing about?

Carol W.
Carol W.

There was a mention on Channel 7 last week that some health funds were refunding portions of unused extras on policies during 2020.

John
John

Thanks. It is now dawning on me as to your intent ... don't follow those type of sensational Public Affairs TV shows
My response: Why expect a refund?
What about 'normal' years when 'we' don't use all of our 'entitlements'
So, why should we cry foul just because we have a political lockdown?

I did not receive a full Extras refund fr GMHBA on new spectacles, as I did not think to check if my wife had claimed earlier in the same year (mine was at a considerable cost - three sets of specs: general, reading and 'required' prescription sun glasses (early cataracts developing). If I had just held out till the new Extras year rolled over ... !

Would be nice to be able to claim 'certain extras' to support specific medical conditions, in my case, a quality BP monitor
My long history of cardiac claims (GMHBA) would surely have given some value where our GMHBA Extras have generally (I think) been on the moderate side. Not sure how this could be manageable without an even greater admin burden on the Health Fund

And where do you stop like, a no-claim bonus where we don't use our Hospital cover for any year?

On my care insurance I recently had an automatic refund of approx $250, all because I had just included one of my daughters (aged 45) as another authorized driver (not a full-time driver). I was not under any penalties on that policy, although her no-claim accident history counted towards that $250.

My only point here is flexibility if possible at all, and every case on its merit and loyalty. Thank you. John

Elke
Elkeasked

Is varicose vein treatment covered in the Bronze Plus Insurance package? It is not clear. It does not mention veins, only blood.

1 answer
Jann
Jann

Try ringing them on their 13hundred number and asking.

See all GMHBA Health Insurance questions

Get an answer from our members and GMHBA Health Insurance representatives

Details

CategoryHealth Insurance
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.