??!
1 photo
Google Home

Google Home (page 2 of 5)

MPN: GA3A00484A09
3.5 from 94 reviews

Reviews

3.5

94 reviews
5
(39)
4
(15)
3
(14)
2
(7)
1
(19)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

Donald Birks

Donald BirksGippsland, VIC

  • 19 reviews
  • 16 likes

Just OK but no phoe calls yet.

published

It cant make phone calls yet, saying that for months. Alexa can do it!. I use it to listen to the radio in the morning also to set alarm. great for asking whats in my day which includes time news and weather. also good for count down timer and getting phone numbers. don't think I would buy it again unless it did a bit more or if I lived in the usa where you can make calls.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
G L

G LAU

  • Verified purchase

Very difficult to return their faulty products.

published

Don't buy it if you expect you will get your return product soon! They don't have return service here in Oz, they need you to send it back to HK. Then wait until their warehouse received (which take more than 5 days by courier), Every time you call them, they just said you have to wait. Can you imagine if you return a mobile phone with Google. Surely they have to find a better way to improve their return procedure, or you just pray your Google home never fail!

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Bus man

Bus manNewcastle nsw

  • 4 reviews

Good choice

published

Good is the best thing
Good with weather
Good with calling people
Very easy to use
I love it
We all need to get one
Just one call away for help
I will see the new b1 train soon
You have the best maps and gps games are good to

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Speakers

Find out how Google Home compares to other Speakers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
day man

day manAU

  • 9 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Absolutely love it especially if useful if you are building a smart home

published

Have had this for a couple of weeks now and use it to control lights, my tv, smart plugs and the air conditioner. Also work well now that you can build a speaker network and can stream to multiple speakers within the house.

Great for asking those questions you need answered without having to pull your phone out as well,

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Adz

AdzMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Adore it!!!

published

Very cute and handy!!! Perfect for everyday silly questions. My kids enjoying asking it random general knowledge questions and getting answers straightaway is perfect. Love checking the weather on daily basis, Also playing music is good, speakers quite good! Havent tried setting up lights and other similar things as yet though.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Chastain

ChastainKnoxfield

Frustrating

published

Google home hub - cute device works well for daily weather and random questions - but trying to set up lights with smart plugs is a different matter, works for I night then doesn’t recognise the command and does not work - spent $90.00 on smart plugs - as advertised on tv - ie turn on “Christmas tree lights” they don’t work!!! Spent hours trying to get these to work
and stay working - would recomend anyone to buy them NO. Very disappointed... we have a IT background and still can not get these to work more than 1 day..

Date PurchasedOct 2018
AJC

AJCLawnton

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Google home - Not for everyone

published

I purchased Google Home out of curiosity to test the AI of modern houses .
I found it very interesting and with some additional purchases of smart bulbs it was all fun at first.
The devise is really good does what it says. Later when I purchased an Echo dot, I felt it more responsive to your voice than google Home from a distance. Anyway I used it on different rooms and listening to music on Google Home is fantastic ,the speaker quality is really good.
But, eventually I became bored by the new toy and only used to listen to news and for controlling lights. So ,unless you are very much into a smart home ,I think these devises are a waste investment.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Extremely "FAULTY", AS "GOOGLE THEMSELVES ADMIT!

published

5 Countries + Expanding(ie Australia, Norway, Finland), 3 Nights on Phone With "Google Support"(At There Cost). Being a "REGISTERED DEVELOPER" (FOR THEM), I get "Immediate Response", To My "Complaints". "Rosemary"(Lady In Charge, Of Customer Support), After Said 3 "Nights", Of "Factory RESETS" ( TO GOOGLE HOME), My "NETWORK"(11 Computers)(My Modem, D-Link Taipan ADSL-4320L Tri-Band Modem/Router), To Be "Sure Fault" Was "Google Unit", I was Told , To Return Item,To Where, I Obtained Item. And was Met By Statement "For ME TO PAY FOR RETURN OF ITEM" (Totally, Against "Ebays" "Policy" on "Faulty Returns". Makes You "Wonder" Eh?

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Dana F

Dana FSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 17 reviews

Didn't use it as much as I thought I would

published

We were "early adopters" of the Google Home and it was a nice novelty for the first few weeks but then it became kind of frustrating. It would listen to our conversation and pipe in with irrelevant results (even though I had told it to shut down) and failed miserably to sync up with my other Google tools. I found it became a toy for my child to hear fart jokes and wasn't really all that useful. Then it needed me to update it, giving it permission to randomly listen whenever it wanted and that was the last straw, got rid of it. I feel that smart technology needs better regulation to protect user privacy before I start using this sort of "toy" again.

Date PurchasedSep 2016
Speakers

Find out how Google Home compares to other Speakers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
head

headsydney

  • 46 reviews

Google adds

published

You turn on filters , but still keep getting bombarded on the tablet. If left feedback to google about the bombardment but to no avail. Any body any ideas to get these people out of our lives.
We dont mind google as a service but the adds are a real nuisance!

Date PurchasedOct 2018
JustinPer

JustinPerSydney

  • 4 reviews

Very good

published

We have this in our lounge and aside from using it to ask general questions, we find it great for our young children who, with supervision, are learning about tech with the family Inna friendly way. For example, one of our kids will ask to play a song on Spotify which links up to our family Spotify account.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
H W

H WSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Doesn't really work

published

it is quite silly and doesn't know the answers to many questions. always gets voices mixed up. Good for finding your phone tho. doesn't hear the ok google 50% of the time. Play the trivia game, its a great time waster half of the questions are totally irrelevant and bad.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Misha xie

Misha xieMelbourne

Terrible product

published

Started out great now it cant go 1 day without needing a reboot just to hear the news. Terrible engineering, i hardly use it and it just wont work in the random times that i need it. Waste of money so far. Would refund it if i could. Was impressed when i first got it never had a problem, now it seems as though its lost it's connectivity capability somehow. Disappointed in google, i own a chromecast, pixel 2 xl and google home and they just don't work.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Ollie N

Ollie NBrisbane

Handy and fun

published

I've recently bought a Google Home and went through the set up process which I found to be easy and straight forward. It took a while to understand my voice, but when I get the hang of it, it picks up nearly 90% of what i say. I can ask it questions as I walk around the house. Its fun.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Paul

PaulHunter Region, NSW

  • 23 reviews
  • 1 like

Google Home

published

The Google Home is a great little Assistance for. You can ask it the basic questions such as what time is it. What's the weather today. Play music and ask for the latest news from. Then you can ask more advanced questions such as mathematics problems. Recipes and ask it to give you reminders. I found it a fun.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Speakers

Find out how Google Home compares to other Speakers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Teen

TeenAltona meadows

  • 5 reviews

Wastage of money

published
Date PurchasedJun 2018
Mervyn

MervynPerth

A bundle of glitches

published

I have had this device for 24 hours and I am returning it tomorrow. It worked after being setup. Played music from Spotify and responded to requests for setting an alarm. By the following afternoon, it was responding to everything with: "Sorry, something went wrong."
"There's a glitch."
I have followed all the instructions on various forums.
Re-started. unplugged, rebooted etc etc.
It does not work.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Thomask

ThomaskSydney

Great little Bluetooth speaker with a little extra

published

I was initially looking to buy a normal Bluetooth speaker but then realized the mini is the same price as some of the cheaper ones. Very happy with the sound(as long as you don't expect too much bass) and the Google assistant works surprisingly well. Works best if you have Spotify premium.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Liam D

Liam DAU

  • 33 reviews

Can't live without it!

published

The main differences between the Google Home Mini and the regular Google Home are size and speaker quality. This device has a larger speaker which, obviously, results in more sound being emitted. I especially love the touch controls which the Mini doesn't have. To top it all off, the Google Home is on sale at the moment which makes it an absolute steal!

Date PurchasedJun 2018
rit

ritSydney, NSW

  • 30 reviews

The home assistant you need

published

Hopefully, google will keep adding on appliances to the application. For now, I have google home to listen to spotify, turn on the lights on command, and to answer any questions I have. The speakers on the home are pretty good. They sound like 10watts, much better than the google mini. But giving commands you have to be shouting or standing close to the unit - it's like it has earwax

Date PurchasedJan 2018
See all Google Home reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.