??!
1 photo
Google Wifi

Google Wifi

MPN: GA00157-AU
4.3 from 76 reviews

Reviews

4.3

76 reviews
5
(55)
4
(6)
3
(6)
2
(4)
1
(5)
  • Build Quality
    4.7 (20)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (20)
  • Number of Connected Devices 10.143 devices (21)
  • Ease of Setup
    3.9 (20)
  • Wi-Fi Range
    4.5 (19)
  • Reliability
    4.0 (19)
Previous
Next
Glen2000

Glen2000

  • 3 reviews

Love this product, works brilliantly

published

This is one of those thing that does what its supposed to do faultlessly. I have a big block and had range extenders and they never cover the area. Google wifi was easy to set up, I have the three pack and its been brilliant for about 3 years now. One password from the pool at the back fence to the front. The software is easy and has lots of features. I can just turn the kids devices off at the touch af a button, set schedules (I.e. bed time) and its never missed a beat. Love it.

Purchased in January 2016 at Harvey Norman for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 25 devices
ISPiiNet
ModemiiNet TG789
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Blane F.

Blane F.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Brought today set now full reception

published

Brought today from bing lee set it up now work pefect full reception
Brought a netgear router $399 still didn't get a good signal
We have a induced aircon think that why it didn't work
Big house
Paid $399 today for 2pack Google nest and works love it already

Best money what I have spent almost $800 in total though

Purchased in April 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 14 devices
ISPAussie Broadband NBN
ModemNetgear
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Finn

FinnGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Best WIFI of all time

published

Went from the terrible belong modem included in our HFC NBN plan, which was patchy, dropping out and just plain old frustrating.
Didn't expect the world to change with Google WIFI, but wow. Seriously, it's the best decision you will make regarding home internet.
Since changing router we have never had one more drop out and the coverage is insane. 45mb/sec all over the house on the NBN50 plan.

Nice Google!

Purchased in January 2019 at Officeworks.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 12 devices
ISPBelong Broadband NBN
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Routers

Find out how Google Wifi compares to other Routers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
zerohjaw

zerohjawDarling Downs, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Very fast, great signal and excellent features!

published

Extremely satisfied and never had any issues while using the device. Excellent signal throughout the house and the yard with no dropouts of any kind. The speed has been very fast and consistent. Very easy to configure and the application interface makes it very convenient to manage.

Purchased at Officeworks.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 10 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
L.Le

L.LeGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Great trendy design, perfect for minimalist

published

We bought the set of 3 and been using them for almost 2 years. Never have any issue with the dropouts. Our house is narrow and spread out over 2 storeys, this helps with the stable internet throughout the house, even to the garden. Love the colour as it easy to blend in and it has very cool smooth design

Purchased in June 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 3 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Kerri

KerriSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Finally Good Speed

published

We just installed our Google Home to increase our internet speed in our home. OMG What a difference. We are finally able to work from any area of the house, and being that we both work from home this is life changing.

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 6 devices
ISPTelstra Broadband (BigPond)
ModemTelstra Smart Modem Gen 2
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
rnodern

rnodernGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Slow, inflexible & unfinished

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Officeworks for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 10 devices
ISPTPG Broadband ADSL
ModemNetgear DM200
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Total Control

published

Was so easy to set up. Had all 3 points set up within 30 mins and everything tested out really great. Even in areas where before with my AC1700 system I couldn't even connect! I'm very happy.
PS as a parent it has always been a struggle in the mornings with my youngest daughter. She goes to bed for 12 hours a night and she's still so tired in the morning! 1st night with Google WiFi I could see that she was streaming on her iPad 2 hours after her bedtime! BUSTED! Thank you Google!

Purchased in September 2019 for A$350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 10 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Jeff

JeffGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Excellent

published

My home is long narrow 2 storey and has always had a problem with wifi coverage. Not any more purchased a 2 Google Mesh units and problem solved. Easy to set up and easy to add other units if required. The only issue in set up was that I needed to turn off the wifi on my Telstra modem there seemed to be some interference between them. My tech head mates tell me that is unlikely but anyway it worked for me and I have excellent coverage every where in the house. Great product and highly recommended. Purchased from the Good Guys $149.00.

Purchased in August 2019 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
Routers

Find out how Google Wifi compares to other Routers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rocky road

Rocky road

  • 11 reviews

Be aware of connection

published

I have a Ring doorbel which has proven to be difficult to get working on my NBN/iinet home WiFi setup. It was due to the amount of brick and concrete between the doorbel and my iinet router. I tried power line extenders without success. I got a Google WiFi and found that it had to be near the doorbel and an ethernet cable had to be run back to the iinet router for it to work. Bingo! it now works well.

Purchased in August 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$149.00.

Number of Connected Devices 3 devices
ISPiiNet Fixed Wireless NBN 25
Modemiinet/Google WiFi
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Danielle

Danielle

  • 19 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Network Superstar!

published

The Google Wifi pack is amazing - it was easy to setup and has worked well since we purchased it in April 2019. We have 3 Google Wifi devices throughout our home and it has extended the wifi range significantly. We have a 2 story, 3 bedroom townhouse and it is easily handling 20+ devices. The interface for managing connections, speed test and network testing is clean and simple to use.

We did have an issue initially regarding the range and capability of so many devices on our home network; however we managed to bridge the connection from the modem into the Google Wi-Fi simply using settings.

Purchased in April 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$423.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 20 devices
ISPDodo ADSL
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
MAA

MAAGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great device once you get through the setup process!

published

Purchased in December 2018 at Officeworks for A$156.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 8 devices
ISPOptus Broadband NBN 50 (Speed Pack 3)
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
oldad60

oldad60Sydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Easy set up but a BIG issue

published

The Google Mesh Wifi system is very easy to set up and works really well for me. The overall speed of the network varies quite a bit and depends on the placement of the 'pucks' and the individual devices. There are two issues to be aware of - the really big one is that the LAN doesn't work if your external internet connection is not working. The mesh depends on access to the cloud. The second smaller problem is that it sets a range of IP addresses that may be different to the one previously used. This means that you will have difficulties finding devices with a static IP address that is not in the range the Google Wifi uses. In my case it's a NAS that I'm yet to be able to reconnect to my PC.

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 8 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Works—kinda.

published

Was having problems with existing modem-router unit and IPv6, heard about the Google WiFi unit and grabbed one.

Coverage with WiFi was great.
Doesn't support IPv6 over PPPoE connections (2 hours of phone calls to google established this)
Doesn't like torrent servers (router locks up after 24hrs and needs to be power cycled)

Would not recommend for power users at all.

Purchased in June 2019 for A$188.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
ISPInternode
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Jason W.

Jason W.

  • 4 reviews

Never Stops

published

Being in IT I've tried many different wifi routers at home. Eventually they all need a reset or you need to disconnect the wifi on your device and reconnect. Not with Google WIFI, once setup it just works. I have since installed at my elderly parents home and my brothers.

Purchased in June 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 22 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Routers

Find out how Google Wifi compares to other Routers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dave

Dave

  • 5 reviews

A decent product.

published

This product has mixed reactions and i feel it can be a little hard for some people to set it up.Mine has been good so far and i am using cable modem and so far and seems to be going OK.If you have lots of family in one room trying to watch Netflix it can be hard with some buffering but its my guess that the traffic outside is busy then the info coming into the house can be a little tedious.The app is good and i can control all the the devices from my smart phone,great if you have kids with screen addiction.

Purchased in March 2019 at The Good Guys for A$350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 7 devices
ISPOptus Broadband Cable
ModemNetgear AC1200 D6200
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
stuff

stuffCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 23 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

tried and failed - returning to the store today

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Officeworks Physical store for A$188.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 8 devices
ISPiiNet NBN 12
Modemiinet supplied TG789
Functionality
Ease of Setup
See all answers
Jason H.

Jason H.South East Queensland, QLD

Terrible product if you have any additional Ethernet devices near you Internet router

published

Purchased in May 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Online Store for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 9 devices
ISPTPG Broadband NBN
ModemHuawei HG659
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Jeremy H.

Jeremy H.Perth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Does not work with Google Home devices

published

I have had Google WiFi for nearly a year. A few month's ago it stopped working with Google Home devices. I have done many many hours of tests for Google support but they can't work out what the problem is. I will never buy from Google again I do not trust them and their equipment is unreliable. Go to another supplier

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 8 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
MikeN

MikeNSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

WIFI Issues Solved

published

Solved all our networking issues. We have a larger house on a 4000m2 block. House is double brick, two story with suspended concrete slab. The first google wifi point is downstairs beside the cable modem. This connects to second point upstairs which is on a window sill. 50m away is the shed where the 3rd point sits on a window sill. They all mesh reliably. The shed signal is weak but we still get 20-30Mbps. The complete house has a strong signal. The signal covers most of the property. And it was so easy to setup, 30 minutes maximum.
The end result exceeded my expectations.

Purchased in January 2019 at Officeworks Physical store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 7 devices
ISPTelstra Broadband Cable
ModemTelstra Smart Modem Gen 2
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

G B.

G B.asked

Would Google mesh work with Optus wireless broadband modem please

1 answer
L.Le
L.Le

i am not too sure about this. Sorry i cant help

LOULA

LOULAasked

Is the Google Wifi System compatible with Telstra Smart Modem?

2 answers
Damian
Damian

Google wifi is simple to use and yes it would work with your telstra modem.
For best results you would want to disable the wifi network from your telstra modem if that is possible. I say this as typically all telco supplied modems are locked in terms of what you can configure. I have never used a telco supplied modem so youd need to establish this for yourself.
Google wifi however is super simple and does what it says. I have 3 points in my house and devices move seamlessly between them and i have strong connection in all places which normal routers could not achieve in my 2 storey house.
I have HFC NBN so only have the NBN supplied box which supplies 1 ethernet port to which my google wifi connects.
Hope this helps

LOULA
LOULA

Thankyou :)

stevothedivo

stevothedivoasked

Is this an actual router? I have an 85mq apartment currently serviced (well) by a Netgear AC1750. Can I onesell this, keep the Belong decoder and install a single Google Home unit. Should the coverage at least match that of my current router?

1 answer
Ash
Ash

Router yes, modem no. The google wifi still needs a modem to assign it an IP address. I use a basic wifi modem that has its wifi antennas unscrewed so it has very limited wifi (in case I need to connect to it for settings etc) and google does the rest.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.