4 photos
GoPro Hero5 Black

GoPro Hero5 Black

MPNs: GPCHDHX-502, GPR00084 and KHGOPROH5BLK
2.8 from 30 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Action Cameras in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for GoPro? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

Previous
Next
qualityseek
qualityseek-, Tasmania
  • 8 reviews
  • 17 likes

Doesn't live up to the hype.

published

Purchased at JB Hi-Fi.

Incentivised Review No
James
JamesQueensland
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great camera with useful features

published

Very high quality camera with heaps of frame rates, resolutions and more to choose from. Stabilisation and other useful features make the footage very good. A great value option if you're looking for a second hand action camera.

Incentivised Review No

Other Action Cameras

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
lori
loribrisbane
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

gopro hero5 black not impressed

published

Purchased in March 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for $499.00.

Incentivised Review No
Action Cameras

Find out how GoPro Hero5 Black compares to other Action Cameras

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rod
Rod
  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great footage, minor niggles

published

Purchased in January 2019 for $300.00.

Incentivised Review No
Daniel F.
Daniel F.Sydney, NSW

Only 2 years old, used 5 times and now dead

published

I purchased the Hero5 and used it 5 times on 5 different holiday vacations.
On the 6th occasion the unit will not charge. I called Gopro support and over the phone GOPRO support advised that i am unable to repair it. They offered me a discount to buy the Hero7 (Nothing else only the Hero7) If I compare to any electrical equipment I have purchased, this Hero5 is dead after so little use and only 2 years. I have Video cameras, digital cameras that last 10s on years.
Im disgruntled as Gopro show no interest in trying to fix the issue, the focus is solely on selling me a new Hero7. Very poor after sales service. Buyer beware as Gopro do not have a shop you can visit and mainly have an online presence

Purchased in December 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for $500.00.

Incentivised Review No
Engelbert
EngelbertSydney, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Does the job

published

you can use a still photo, video and attached to anything, the attachments you can get for this are awesome, we like the genuine gopro fold out stick. the video quality on this device is crystal clear, was a great purchase for its price, and best of all its water proof so taking on holidays whilst on the water or in a pool with the kids is great. if you want a compact action video camera get a GOPRO

Purchased in January 2018 at Bing Lee Online store for $350.00.

Incentivised Review No
Tony
Tony
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Waste of money

published

Purchased in February 2017 at JB Hi-Fi.

Incentivised Review No
John Townshend
John TownshendBrisbane
  • 9 reviews
  • 9 likes

Not worth upgrading from Hero 3.......

published

After setting the world on fire with Gopro 3 & establishing the standard for action camera - the Hero 5 is unreliable and cheaply made compared to its predecessor. Fittings are no where near as robust as before and break far too easily. Software is clunky, unreliable and frustrating. Would not recommend upgrading or if a new to action camera, check out alternatives. Gopro obviously now too driven by profit to keep manufacturing a reliable robust camera with good supporting software.

Date PurchasedJuly 2018

Other Action Cameras

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Lanz
LanzPeel, WA
  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified

How cool is GoPro

published

This small video camera has so many benefits, you can use a still photo, video and attached to anything, the attachments you can get for this are awesome, we like the genuine gopro fold out stick. the video quality on this device is crystal clear, was a great purchase for its price, and best of all its water proof so taking on holidays whilst on the water or in a pool with the kids is great. if you want a compact action video camera get a GOPRO

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Action Cameras

Find out how GoPro Hero5 Black compares to other Action Cameras

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Connie
Conniebrisbane
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

GoPro Hero5 Session - bad product and do not last

published

****Poor product*****
If I could give zero stars, I would. I have trouble from the start. It always overheats and did not turn off properly. We went back to Harvey Norman and told to hard reboot the GoPro but the overheats and not able to turn off properly does not seem to go away. Now out of warranty....used less than 20 times and its dead. What a waste of money.....

Date PurchasedDec 2016
BobbyM
BobbyMAdelaide
  • 2 reviews

Unreliable waste of money

published

Received this as a present as have been wanting one for ages. Don't get me wrong, while it lasted it took decent pictures. After approx 4 months of minimal use it just stoped working. Trying to get it fixed (anywhere) has been a nightmare and I have all but given up. No one fixes them. At least not in Australia. It seems it is part of GoPro business plan to not fix them hoping simply you'll buy another. Absolute waste of money. Buy something else that actually cares about after care.

Date PurchasedDec 2015
RBC
RBCBrisbane
  • Verified

Do not take in water

published
Date PurchasedJune 2017
SMT
SMTSydney
  • 2 reviews

Hero 5 black - not happy with quality

published

Battery life is poor. When battery goes flat the internal clock is incorrect, so my videos always import with incorrect date. Condensation inside the front lens that ruins photos. Just today the cable door latch broke, I have only opened it perhaps 15 times. I never let my children touch it and I have been very careful with it, still so many problems. So disappointed.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Kate
KateIpswich
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Great camera

published

We use the GoPro 5 a lot when travelling/snorkelling/hiking and have never had a problem. You do need to learn how to use it to the best of its ability though. Only reason for 4 stars is because my brother had the same and his leaked but he took it back to jbhifi and they replaced it.

Date PurchasedJuly 2017

Other Action Cameras

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Atei7039
Atei7039NSW, 2320
  • 15 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified

Good camera but not for beginners

published

I had to exchange my first camera because the battery door wasn’t shutting properly. The second version works well but it is a bit temperamental with the voice commands. This product has various functions but it fails to provide enough i instructions on how to use it. You basically have to buy a separate book or listen to YouTube videos to learn how to use it. Most functions aren’t intuitive. The batteries run out really quick which is a pain when in the middle of action sports. On the positive side, picture quality is excellent, fun to use and never had problems with the water proofing. It’s quite expensive for a camera, but fun once you get the hang of it.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Action Cameras

Find out how GoPro Hero5 Black compares to other Action Cameras

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryAction Cameras
Price (RRP)$569.95
GPSNo
Video Quality4K Ultra HD
Megapixels12
Height44.4mm
Width61.7mm
Depth24mm
Weight118g
Wi-FiYes
NFCYes
Visit official website
  • GTIN12: 818279017984
  • MPN: GPCHDHX-502, GPR00084 and KHGOPROH5BLK

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.