??!
4 photos
GoPro Hero5 Black

GoPro Hero5 Black

MPN: KHGOPROH5BLK
2.8 from 26 reviews

See the Best Action Cameras in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
5
4 star
7
3 star
2
2 star
1
1 star
11

Daniel F.

Daniel F.Sydney, NSW

Only 2 years old, used 5 times and now dead

published

I purchased the Hero5 and used it 5 times on 5 different holiday vacations.
On the 6th occasion the unit will not charge. I called Gopro support and over the phone GOPRO support advised that i am unable to repair it. They offered me a discount to buy the Hero7 (Nothing else only the Hero7) If I compare to any electrical equipment I have purchased, this Hero5 is dead after so little use and only 2 years. I have Video cameras, digital cameras that last 10s on years.
Im disgruntled as Gopro show no interest in trying to fix the issue, the focus is solely on selling me a new Hero7. Very poor after sales service. Buyer beware as Gopro do not have a shop you can visit and mainly have an online presence

Purchased in December 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for $500.00.


Engelbert

EngelbertSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Does the job

published

you can use a still photo, video and attached to anything, the attachments you can get for this are awesome, we like the genuine gopro fold out stick. the video quality on this device is crystal clear, was a great purchase for its price, and best of all its water proof so taking on holidays whilst on the water or in a pool with the kids is great. if you want a compact action video camera get a GOPRO

Purchased in January 2018 at Bing Lee Online store for $350.00.

Tony

Tony

  • 3 reviews

Waste of money

published

Purchased in February 2017 at JB Hi-Fi.

John Townshend

John TownshendBrisbane

  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Not worth upgrading from Hero 3.......

published

After setting the world on fire with Gopro 3 & establishing the standard for action camera - the Hero 5 is unreliable and cheaply made compared to its predecessor. Fittings are no where near as robust as before and break far too easily. Software is clunky, unreliable and frustrating. Would not recommend upgrading or if a new to action camera, check out alternatives. Gopro obviously now too driven by profit to keep manufacturing a reliable robust camera with good supporting software.

Date PurchasedJul 2018

Lanz

LanzPeel, WA

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

How cool is GoPro

published

This small video camera has so many benefits, you can use a still photo, video and attached to anything, the attachments you can get for this are awesome, we like the genuine gopro fold out stick. the video quality on this device is crystal clear, was a great purchase for its price, and best of all its water proof so taking on holidays whilst on the water or in a pool with the kids is great. if you want a compact action video camera get a GOPRO

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Connie

Conniebrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

GoPro Hero5 Session - bad product and do not last

published

****Poor product*****
If I could give zero stars, I would. I have trouble from the start. It always overheats and did not turn off properly. We went back to Harvey Norman and told to hard reboot the GoPro but the overheats and not able to turn off properly does not seem to go away. Now out of warranty....used less than 20 times and its dead. What a waste of money.....

Date PurchasedDec 2016

BobbyM

BobbyMAdelaide

  • 2 reviews

Unreliable waste of money

published

Received this as a present as have been wanting one for ages. Don't get me wrong, while it lasted it took decent pictures. After approx 4 months of minimal use it just stoped working. Trying to get it fixed (anywhere) has been a nightmare and I have all but given up. No one fixes them. At least not in Australia. It seems it is part of GoPro business plan to not fix them hoping simply you'll buy another. Absolute waste of money. Buy something else that actually cares about after care.

Date PurchasedDec 2015

RBC

RBCBrisbane

  • Verified purchase

Do not take in water

published
Date PurchasedJun 2017
SMT

SMTSydney

  • 2 reviews

Hero 5 black - not happy with quality

published

Battery life is poor. When battery goes flat the internal clock is incorrect, so my videos always import with incorrect date. Condensation inside the front lens that ruins photos. Just today the cable door latch broke, I have only opened it perhaps 15 times. I never let my children touch it and I have been very careful with it, still so many problems. So disappointed.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Kate

KateIpswich

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Great camera

published

We use the GoPro 5 a lot when travelling/snorkelling/hiking and have never had a problem. You do need to learn how to use it to the best of its ability though. Only reason for 4 stars is because my brother had the same and his leaked but he took it back to jbhifi and they replaced it.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Atei7039

Atei7039NSW, 2320

  • 13 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Good camera but not for beginners

published

I had to exchange my first camera because the battery door wasn’t shutting properly. The second version works well but it is a bit temperamental with the voice commands. This product has various functions but it fails to provide enough i instructions on how to use it. You basically have to buy a separate book or listen to YouTube videos to learn how to use it. Most functions aren’t intuitive. The batteries run out really quick which is a pain when in the middle of action sports. On the positive side, picture quality is excellent, fun to use and never had problems with the water proofing. It’s quite expensive for a camera, but fun once you get the hang of it.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Carlos

Carlos

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

GoPro - No waterproof guarantee for a waterproof product

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

it leak

published

I buy this go pro 6 months ago and it shows problem saying SD CARD error and i change it again but yesterday I went for swimming and it leak, inside the camera there is water bubbles. Not a good quality just they charge $400 for bad things. just waste of Money. So don't buy it.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Carey

Carey

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great footage, program not quite there yet

published

Bought this for my partner for Christmas for a ski trip we are on right now. Seems very easy to charge, attach to helmet/selfie stick and film. It also has an led screen now so you can review footage before having to put on computer. Also had gps data, distance gone, altitude etc. Program by gopro isn't quite there yet though. Can only put 60 sec blocks of footage on social media. They need to update their editing program.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Sammy B

Sammy BSydney

It leaks

published

Used it snorkeling - water got in every time - it’s now stopped working. I bought this for water sports - and was very clear in this requirement - but the product clearly has a design fault with seals. Unacceptable GoPro - you’ve lost me forever. Mine is now in the bin!

Date PurchasedSep 2017
JosieJo2000

JosieJo2000Perth, WA

  • 66 reviews
  • 44 likes

Great picture quality but many disappointments

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Brendan

BrendanTerrigal

  • Verified purchase

Not waterproof and worst customer service

published
Date PurchasedJul 2017

Dan W

Dan WPerth

  • 2 reviews

Nice

published

Used my Gopro hero5 now for ten months. Great robust action camera that is compact. Disappointingly It would sometimes freeze and the battery needed to be taken out every now and then. Other than this it is a great camera with many freatures, too many to list. Logical touchscreen menu.... My Gopro had an issue after 10 months. Gopro really helpfully and issued a new camera. Extremely happy with their service.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Harley F

Harley FAU

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Great camera

published

Works great, filming is clear and beautiful. Best decision I ever made for a camera was buying this.
It's super tough and durable and I take it everywhere. I love the quality of the screenshots you can take from the video too, awesome.
I use it for work, for holidays, at the beach.... everywhere!

Date PurchasedMar 2017

jenny36

jenny36SYDNEY

  • 10 reviews
  • 10 likes
  • Verified purchase

Throwing money down the drain

published
Date PurchasedSep 2017

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.


Get an answer from our members and GoPro representatives

Details

CategoryAction Cameras
Price (RRP)$569.95
GPSNo
Video Quality4K Ultra HD
Megapixels12
Height44.4mm
Width61.7mm
Depth24mm
Weight118g
Wi-FiYes
NFCYes

Visit official website
  • GTIN12: 818279017984
  • MPN: KHGOPROH5BLK

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.