1 photo
Great Wall X-Series

Great Wall X-Series

X200, X240
3.5 from 113 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Great Wall? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

Previous
Next
Stevo
StevoIpswich

Just nope !

published

Bought an X240 with only 70k on clock thinking it would be less problems then a known brand with over 300k on the clock as I only had a 5grand budget , boy was I wrong
4x4 switch wouldn't work
Faulty central locking
Radio volume wouldn't work
Power surge in engine , absolute no power on take off due to this surge
Rust
Wouldn't ever buy another one

BadgeX240
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
colin
colin
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

.spare parts rip off

published

How com ed i can buy on internet for a one tenth of parts for a great wall eg covers gor wheel centre cap 7dollars delivered compare to 80 at dealer gear shift cover 101 dollars hear of dealer 24 dollars off lnternet and why should you give body number for a part what great wall going to buy it back

BadgeX240
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2011

I Hope I Live Long Enough

published
BadgeX240
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2013
Sara
SaraSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

I bought a lemon.....

published

I have had lots of trouble with my Great wall X series. Lots of weird mechanical stuff such as suddenly losing power, keys suddenly not working and now radiator hose bursting in the middle of a freeway. When it goes it's great.
Ive had real problems with the follow up form these incidents also. Mc Graths in Canberra told me the radiator hose will take 3 weeks to 3 months to come from canberra. They have voided my warranty as Ive been using another mechanic as I was so unhappy with the way they managed the last problem. Ive had a lot of cars in my life but never had issues such as this.....

Sara

BadgeX200
TransmissionManual
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Great Wall X-Series compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great Wall Customer Service Disgusting

published

I am the owner of a 2012 GW AWD X200 series. These are problems I have had: cruise control didn't work, turns out the manual software was installed and not the auto. Digital tyre pressure display indicated the wrong tyres and could have been dangerous. Paint work on roof has faded and needs a respray even though vehicle has been parked under cover 75% of the time. Internal drivers side door handle no longer works. I chose this vehicle having read numerous reviews and since I live remote thought they were reliable - WRONG! So far1400k to have cruise control fixed! Not happy!

BadgeX200
TransmissionAutomatic
Annie Croft
Annie Croft

Warranty good luck with that

published
BadgeX240
TransmissionManual
Willie
Willie
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Thank you, Ultratune

published
BadgeX240
TransmissionManual

Related Articles

Previous
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
andrew00
andrew00Central West, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Good car until 50,000 ks after that very poor

published

I've now had my X200 great wall little over 2 years was happy with it up until now, in the last few weeks it has cost over 9 grand to keep it on the road if I didn't owe more then its worth the thing would have been gone very poor after sales service dealers are not trained in repairing of these vehicles

February 11th 2015 Update:
no dealers have any new greatwalls or second hand ones either lol is this because we have all worked out the are piles of crap, I've learned the hardway mine has cost me $13,000 to keep on the road this year was told by dealer it was water in fuel well guess what that was not the case no a large fuel company are taking them to court to prove this lol can see a big recall coming up lol

BadgeX200

Lemon

published

Breakdown - 1 at 50,000k necessitated new short motor - breakdown - 2 caused by use-once screws that were used twice - motor power lack so new turbo at 65,000k - air-conditioning problems at 70,000k - uncomfortable seat height seat

BadgeX200
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Great Wall X-Series compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great Wall or Great Fall?

published

2012 Great wall x200 diesel 6 speed manual. Have had turbo intake blow off, replaced clamp, have had pipe between air intake and turbo melt and split, pipe replaced. Have replaced brakes and had rotors skimmed. Seal between gear box and transfer box replaced. Rear end has massive end play(told it was normal for modern cars) Tyre pressure sensor indicates wrong tyre on rear view mirror display. High FWD only get vehicle easily bogged and bottoms out. 6 gear is only good for 120km + Whole vehicle is too high geared. Vehicle has only done 15000km's!
Cheap on deisel, roomy, quiet. Good phone and stereo accessories
Warrenty a pain to claim.

TransmissionManual
BadgeX200

Questions & Answers

Adam
Adam asked
X240 (2010-2013)

Both Low beam lights not working have checked all relays and fuses. Still can’t get to work. Have heard about bcm mayhave something to do with it. Or switch. Anyone got any ideas.

No answers
Rex Bentley
Rex Bentleyasked
X-Series

How can I remove the front headlight to replace the low beam globe. Thank you.

No answers
Gill
Gillasked
X240 (2010-2013)

Hi where is cabin filter,I wanna change it, please let me the location

No answers
See all Great Wall X-Series questions

Get an answer from our members

Great Wall X-Series

Details

Compare all 3 Great Wall X-Series
Great Wall X200
  • Discontinued

Great Wall X200 (2011-2014)

3.6
(59)
Great Wall X240 CC6460KY
  • Discontinued

Great Wall X240 CC6460KY (2010-2013)

No reviews yet
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $27,990$23,990$23,990
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualManualManual
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating3 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.6 L/100km10.4 L/100km10.3 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 78 L70 L70 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.4L4 Cylinder 2.4L
Max Power105kW @ 4000rpm100kW @ 5250rpm100kW @ 5250rpm
Max Torque310Nm @ 1800-2800rpm200Nm @ 2500-3000rpm200Nm @ 2500-3000rpm
Country of ManufactureChinaChinaChina
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,700 kg1,800 kg1,700 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)600 kg600 kg700 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2011Jan 2010Jan 2010
Discontinuation dateDec 2014Dec 2013Dec 2013
Compare all 3 Great Wall X-Series

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next
See all Midsize / Medium SUVs

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.