??!
5 photos
Gro Clock

Gro Clock

3.0 from 52 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.0

52 reviews
5
(12)
4
(9)
3
(9)
2
(13)
1
(9)
Previous
Next
Sarah2013

Sarah2013Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 15 reviews
  • 13 likes

Worked Initially

published

I used these a few years ago for my first 2 children, and initially they worked well in teaching my kids to stay in bed until the sun came up. However the clock stopped keeping time properly and i was forever adjusting it every few days. Only writing this review now as i wanted to see if there were any improvements as I'm looking for a new clock for my 3rd child, but might try Sam the lamb/sheep clock.

Samantha C.

Samantha C.Central, TAS

Clock that doesn’t keep time

published

The clock I got as a gift. Within a week of using it the time was falling more and more behind. When I reached out to Tommee Tippee (who owns gro clock) they said without a receipt they cannot help at all because they “have to be fair”.

Claire

ClaireGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Gro clock was losing power intermittently and then wouldn't turn on altogether. This is what was wrong...

published

Purchased at Facebook for A$45.00.

Night Lights

Find out how Gro Clock compares to other Night Lights

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kez

KezAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Disappointed

published

Purchased in May 2020 at Dick Smith for A$49.95.

Laura

LauraSouth East Queensland, QLD

Irregular

published
KNyman

KNymanIllawarra, NSW

Disappointing Display

published

Have two Gro Clocks both with display issues - lights not working as should. My children hate the fact the images have disappeared mummy can’t fix them. Would never purchase again. Waste of money with no resolution from company.

Purchased for A$60.00.

Kirst

KirstSydney, NSW

Disappointed

published

Someone bought this for me in 2016 when I was pregnant and we have had it packed away until today. We opened it up today and the pictures and clock don't light up fully.

Purchased in September 2016 at Myer.

Lisa

LisaSydney, NSW

Great concept terrible manufacturing

published

Within 6mo bits from the screen started to disappear until it was no longer working. No matter what we tried nothing would work. There is no warranty - esp after it had worked for about 6 months. Now we don't even know the best environmentally responsible way to dispose of it. Very sad.

Purchased in January 2017 for A$50.00.

Dennis S.

Dennis S.

  • 2 reviews

Amaizing Service

published

Eight Homes are amaizing.And very reason is their very professionalism in handling Customer issue.I had a minor issue and I was rude and bit aggressive.
But in manner how Stephanie handled my complain,I apologized and asked her if I can re-start fresh.
She is very focused and I do realise that she must run into customers who can be difficult.
I like to thank Stephanie for a smooth transition towards settlement.

Purchased in October 2019 at Eight Homes for A$300,000.00.

Night Lights

Find out how Gro Clock compares to other Night Lights

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Edel

EdelSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Happy with purchase

published

Great product, bought for 3 yr old to keep her in bed longer in morning. Works great she now waits quietly and she gets very excited when sun comes up. Not the easiest to use but once you follow instructions it’s fine.

Purchased in August 2019 at Baby Bunting for A$50.00.

Good idea, poor quality

published

We loved this to start with and our son learned to wait in bed until the sun came up. However like several other reviews have stated, parts of the display started disappearing after 6 months. We took the clock back for a replacement and were told our unit was the only one they’d ever seen with this fault (which clearly isn’t true, reading these reviews).

The replacement clock had exactly the same problem, and again the store expressed surprise. This time I didn’t bother getting a replacement.

In short: good idea, but very disappointing quality especially considering it’s not a cheap item. I definitely wouldn’t get another one.

Purchased in April 2017 at Baby Bunting for A$60.00.

Ange

AngeGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Did not work for us..

published

This is the last resort of trying and hoping it will work for my child, but unfortunately outcome is still the same "early riser". My little one manage to figure out how to change the time and so he can see the difference pictures on the screen ( sun and the star). I think it need to build/ design better to outsmart kids..

Purchased in April 2019 at Baby Bunting for A$59.00.

izogi

izogiGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Would be great if not for low build quality

published

Purchased in December 2016.

Coco

Coco

  • 24 reviews
  • 14 likes

Excellent

published

Our child has a bed time routine, he is generally in bed regularly by 7pm.. As soon as he was able to go through the night without feeding and was able to understand the concept, we used it. we have used it every night with no problems for over 2 years. There was a period of time when he was being toilet trained when we stopped using the gro clock and he would get up at 4am to use the toilet. After he was toilet trained fully, we restarted the clock setting it to 6am and it worked. It's a clever concept and is worth persevering with .The Gro clock coupled with a regular bed time, means a restful sleep for everyone .

Dba

Dba

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Worked for our kid

published

Our kid was waking about 4-5 times a night at 18 months. In conjunction with refusing to take him out of his cot, I bought this clock and explained to him that he can't get out of bed until the "yellow sun". It took him about two weeks of fighting it... "no clock, no clock!" to get used it.

He slowly began sleeping more. He's almost 2.5 years old now. He still occasionally wakes at night but he looks at the clock and settles back down. Pressing the button is our new bedtime ritual and he loves saying goodnight to the sun and the star. The accompanying story book was useless in the beginning, but he enjoys it now.

I find the times very easy to program and the clock easy to use.

Night Lights

Find out how Gro Clock compares to other Night Lights

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
kam054

kam054AU

  • 3 reviews

Baby loves Mr Sun!

published

We got the clock after 6 months of suddenly not sleeping well after 11pm. We haven’t managed to sleep until Mr Sun to appears but we have noticed she doesn’t wake crying, she talks to Mr Star instead. She’s only 2 so we expect this will take a while but here has been a definite improvement!

DaniTheGirl

DaniTheGirlAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Sub standard

published
Ang T

Ang TPerth

Difficult to program, didn’t keep to time (ran fast)

published

I found this clock very difficult to program. Once programmed and working it then gained time, waking earlier and earlier each day. It just ended up confusing my son. Other cons with the design: blue night light and no back up battery. Only used for a week then ended in the bin. Unfortunately I had brought the clock ahead of time as I had heard how great it was so it was out of warranty.

James B

James BGold Coast

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Worked for early wake up

published

I have only had the clock a few months but am soooo happy it has changed my daughters wake up time from 4am back to 6.30am. Took a couple of weeks but my daughter who has only just turned 2 totally understood the concept. My husband did the set up and sets it every night and did say it’s a bit complex but totally worth it for the extra 2.5hrs of sleep every day.

Great concept but clock screen lasted less than 1 year

published

The concept of this clock is great. It allows you to teach your child that they need to stay in bed/when it is appropriate to wake up.

HOWEVER...
-I do not like that the nighttime colour is blue. I have read that blue lights are not ideal to have in your bedroom.

The manufacturers warranty only lasts for 1 year (typical?). That’s about how long the digital time lasted on my clock until parts of the numbers disappeared. When I spoke to a representative about this, she seemed not to care that the time was not working and only that the colours were still functional.

When you pay upwards of $60 plus tax for a clock, you expect it to work for longer than one year.

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Luke T.

Luke T.asked

Does any one know why before the set sleep time why the start comes out?

No answers
stephen m.

stephen m.asked

Gro clock has been working fine for months; over last three days set the clock on the "sun" time to activate the clocks sunrise for the next morning at 0730 hrs. However the next morning the screen is still showing 8+ stars and has the blue nigh time screen.Suggestions please ? Thank you

1 answer
Alannah A.
Alannah A.

Mine to would love to know why

eve

eveasked

is there any way of dimming the wake up sun ?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Gro Company representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.