??!
5 photos
Haier HVF-260

Reviews

2.7

20 reviews
5
(5)
4
(1)
3
(3)
2
(5)
1
(6)
Previous
Next

Constantly leaks water

published

Had my first one for 9 months but then the defrost unit failed. Replaced the entire freezer under warranty. The old and the new one both require/d regular defrosting (about every 6 months, more in Summer). And this is meant to be a "frost free" freezer. You know when they need defrosting because they leak huge amounts of water onto the floor. Would hate to have this on anything other than a tile floor

Purchased in January 2015 at Kambo's for A$735.00.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Steve

Steve

  • 6 reviews

Handle snaps off beware

published

Had this freezer 6 months past the warranty and the handle completely snapped off!
I must say I have never had a handle break on a freezer or fridge ever! Such a flimsy pathetic design.
The retailer Appliances Online, doesn't want to know about it.
Haier, F&P, state its out of warranty, tough luck. $75 thanks. Disappointing service all around.
Ah well, no more Haier products, no more AO. Lost a customer for the sake of a small cost to your businesses. Is it worth it?
Such lousy customer service/relations all around. Plus a pretty flimsy product!

Purchased in July 2017 at Appliances Online for A$669.00.

Genki jim

Genki jimSouth East Queensland, QLD

Absolute rubbish

published

Bought the freezer and initially happy with it great size and easy access for a vertical freezer.
Had to replace the mother board after only 6 months and then surprise surprise just out of warranty and the beeping has started ( as mentioned in other posts)
We have endured and persisted with working out how to stop it but certainly would not recommend this brand, spend a bit more and find something a bit better quality
Beep beep
As a side note when we went back to Harvey Norman to chat about the issues the young bloke who just shrugged his shoulders and said we should have bought another brand as these ones only last around 2 years

Purchased in June 2016 at Harvey Norman for A$700.00.

Freezers

Find out how Haier HVF-260 compares to other Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Juliez21

Juliez21Brisbane

  • 3 reviews

Total waste of money

published

My freezer has just reached the 3 year mark and I have just lost about $300 worth of food because it decided to die. I currently have water coming out off the bottom from it because it no longer freezes. You would expect to get long than 3 years out of a freezer. Will never touch the Haier brand again

Purchased in January 2016 for A$747.00.

You get what you pay for

published

I needed an upright freezer and this one was a great price for the size. The handle was a real pain as the plastic bits kept popping off. Worked pretty well - kept food frozen. Now after 4 years it is driving me batty with the beeping and the error codes. The repair guy just came and told me it was the gas and it would cost at least $500 to fix, if he could even get the parts. He says it is not worth it and I have to agree. he also tells me that he is seeing a lot of Haier products that have the same issues. I would have expected it to last longer than 4 years, though going by the reviews, I think that I was lucky it lasted that long. You definitely get what you pay for!

Date PurchasedNov 2014
rosscoandsandi

rosscoandsandiPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews

excellent prices and fast delivery,

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
JOHN D

JOHN D

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Looks good but cheap rubbish. Door handle design is faulty and cheap

published

Initially when I got this I was thrilled. For the price (sub $800) there isnt much competition.

However you get what you pay for. The door handles are made of 50% plastic, with cheap "Stainless steel" looking plastic covers that break.

I have owned the freezer just over 2 years so it is out of warranty. Never buying a Haier or Fisher and Paykel (who are owned by Haier) again. Terrible.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Diamondlighting

Diamondlighting

  • 16 reviews

Perfectly Convenient. The Right Size, Well Finished & Energy Efficient.

published

This Haier freezer is well made and far more energy efficient than the old chest freezer I was using prior to this purchase.
It's amazing how good it is for a unit at the cheaper end of the range.
The shelf / draw arrangement is good, and the display on the front to confirm it's working and still cold is large enough to see, without being obtrusive & ugly.
The LED lights inside make it easy to see what I'm after without being blindingly bright.
Quiet, efficient, & aesthetically pleasing, all at a very reasonable price point - what more could I ask for..?

1 comment
Diamondlighting
Diamondlighting
Richard

RichardCanberra

Cheap, quiet and effective freezer

published

I’ve owned this freezer for 4 months now. It has a reversible door which was a pain to switch over to right hand opening, however that’s really the only negative. If you plan to reverse the door, make sure you have a socket wrench - a screw driver likely won’t cut it for removing the ridiculously tight screws (fortunately the screws have hex heads). It hasn’t leaked, is quiet and is quite ergonomic to use.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Freezers

Find out how Haier HVF-260 compares to other Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Rubbish

published

Loved the size and drawers are great. But just a rubbish freezer. Always dripped water and then failed completely. Lasted just over 2 years. Beware!! Thankfully I purchased product care and I was given a store credit as there was no Haier freezer equivalent so I had to buy a different brand.

Date PurchasedJan 2015
Wayne

Wayne

  • 13 reviews

So far so good

published

This freezer replaced our trusty Kelvinator which has been faultless but now too small for our family. We love this freezer. Size is great, drawers very functional, and the digital thermometer is cool. Never bought a Chinese appliance before so we are hoping it proves reliable long term. Online reviews were all very positive so here's hoping.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

I got a lemon!

published

Let me start with the product was great, till the "frost free" freezer started freezing up still under warranty. It has been a constant battle with Haier to fix it with no result. Now their plan is to not return my calls or fix the issue. Now I am stuck with a freezer that needs to b defrosted constantly. I would not recommend this product or any other that Haier / Fisher and Paykel make. So disappointing.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Rodsta

RodstaSydney

  • 3 reviews

Beep beep!

published
Date PurchasedJun 2014
T1NT1N

T1NT1NAuckland, NZ

  • 18 reviews
  • 3 likes

Continual alarms drive you insane....

published

We had a warranty claim within days of install as ice kept forming at top of door and falling to floor each time you opened - repair man suspected door was bent so replaced door but although issue improved the ice still appeared on occassion. Alarms continually sound - usually each time after a grocery shop which is annoying. Understand the alarm process but it seems overly sensitive....having a predictive idea of actions would be of benefit rather than the complex control panel. ie, a warming due to frequent door opening when stocking should kick fast freeze mode then auto switch to eco mode....instead you get alarms to indicate warming due to frequent door opening. Would not buy again - it is a bit of a beast and not in a good way.

Date PurchasedApr 2015
1 comment
T1NT1N
T1NT1N
Peter C

Peter CGoulburn Valley, VIC

  • 7 reviews

Initial faults but great overall

published

When we first got this freezer our household power was very unreliable and the freezer stopped working after showing error codes for a while (fan not working). We then had the circuit board replaced under warranty, It initially showed error codes sometime after that but we didn't do anything about it and now it's going perfectly. This may be because we now have VERY reliable power.

Date PurchasedJun 2015
1 comment
Peter C
Peter C
Freezers

Find out how Haier HVF-260 compares to other Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Terrible - do not buy

published

Have owned for 15 months and have had to have repaired twice including having the fan replaced as it was completely frozen up.
Both repairs due to an 'e1' error. Freezer beeps non stop when error shows.

Freezer is supported to be frost free but isn't and has ice build up in the bottom of the freezer.

If I could send it back for a full refund I would - Save yourself the hassle spend a little more and buy something else!

rrzing

rrzingAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

A total lemon......service included

published
1 comment
rrzing
rrzing
aduf

adufMenai

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Looked good, very disappointing

published

Looked good when purchased, but proved problematic. It began having multiple big and little faults, it would beep but it was very unclear what the problem was. "24/7" customer support was a lie, you get redirected to Fisher & Paykal who only do business hours. Lost one load due to thawing waiting for support. Service very slow and tedious. Same again recently, a "fan fault", another $220, another service call to endure.

4 comments
aduf
aduf
aduf
aduf
aduf
aduf

The replacement freezer continues to work perfectly. Clearly the first one was a lemon.

Kizzdog

KizzdogAU

  • 8 reviews

not terible

published

Works well freezer is what you pay for it comes up with an alarm randomly and beeps (gets rather anoying in the middle of the night) have had it fixed once under warranty but would beep for several hours even after turning the power off. Looks great and draws work really well nice bright light

darayus

darayusSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 19 reviews

Value for the Money

published

Questions & Answers

Lizzi

Lizziasked

HVF-260

Anyone know which holes the plugs go into in the unit.
On one side theres 3 plug holes the next to that there is another three holes

Pc sensor
Defrost sensor
Freezer light
Are the three things on the left side that need to be plugged in but looking for whats what..

Which plug hole does the pc sensor fmgo into which one goes into the defrost sensor

No answers
don r

don rasked

HVF-260

will not do a defrost

No answers
KylieB

KylieBasked

HVF-260

Hi there, what does error code Ed mean? Amd can it be fixed?

2 answers
Jane
Jane

Error Code Ed = Defrost heating system

Rolf
Rolf

ERROR E1

Get an answer from our members and Haier representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.