5 photos
Haier HVF-260
2.6 from 21 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Upright Freezers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Haier

Pros

  • Touch LED temperature control

  • Super Freeze technology

  • Energy rating 3.5

Cons

  • Poor build quality

Reviews

Previous
Next
Adriana K.
Adriana K.North-West & West coast, TAS

Piece of crap

published

Unreliable. Temperature drops constantly and it makes a very loud noise during the night so you can't have it inside the house. We put it in the garage but ended up gibing it away for free as felt bad about someone else paying for this problem

Purchased in January 2020.

Incentivised Review No

Constantly leaks water

published

Had my first one for 9 months but then the defrost unit failed. Replaced the entire freezer under warranty. The old and the new one both require/d regular defrosting (about every 6 months, more in Summer). And this is meant to be a "frost free" freezer. You know when they need defrosting because they leak huge amounts of water onto the floor. Would hate to have this on anything other than a tile floor

Purchased in January 2015 at Kambo's for $735.00.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Steve
Steve
  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Handle snaps off beware

published

Had this freezer 6 months past the warranty and the handle completely snapped off!
I must say I have never had a handle break on a freezer or fridge ever! Such a flimsy pathetic design.
The retailer Appliances Online, doesn't want to know about it.
Haier, F&P, state its out of warranty, tough luck. $75 thanks. Disappointing service all around.
Ah well, no more Haier products, no more AO. Lost a customer for the sake of a small cost to your businesses. Is it worth it?
Such lousy customer service/relations all around. Plus a pretty flimsy product!

Purchased in July 2017 at Appliances Online for $669.00.

Incentivised Review No
Genki jim
Genki jimSouth East Queensland, QLD

Absolute rubbish

published

Bought the freezer and initially happy with it great size and easy access for a vertical freezer.
Had to replace the mother board after only 6 months and then surprise surprise just out of warranty and the beeping has started ( as mentioned in other posts)
We have endured and persisted with working out how to stop it but certainly would not recommend this brand, spend a bit more and find something a bit better quality
Beep beep
As a side note when we went back to Harvey Norman to chat about the issues the young bloke who just shrugged his shoulders and said we should have bought another brand as these ones only last around 2 years

Purchased in June 2016 at Harvey Norman for $700.00.

Incentivised Review No
Upright Freezers

Find out how Haier HVF-260 compares to other Upright Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Juliez21
Juliez21Brisbane
  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Total waste of money

published

My freezer has just reached the 3 year mark and I have just lost about $300 worth of food because it decided to die. I currently have water coming out off the bottom from it because it no longer freezes. You would expect to get long than 3 years out of a freezer. Will never touch the Haier brand again

Purchased in January 2016 for $747.00.

Incentivised Review No

You get what you pay for

published

I needed an upright freezer and this one was a great price for the size. The handle was a real pain as the plastic bits kept popping off. Worked pretty well - kept food frozen. Now after 4 years it is driving me batty with the beeping and the error codes. The repair guy just came and told me it was the gas and it would cost at least $500 to fix, if he could even get the parts. He says it is not worth it and I have to agree. he also tells me that he is seeing a lot of Haier products that have the same issues. I would have expected it to last longer than 4 years, though going by the reviews, I think that I was lucky it lasted that long. You definitely get what you pay for!

Date PurchasedNov 2014
rosscoandsandi
rosscoandsandiPerth, WA
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

excellent prices and fast delivery,

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Related Articles

Previous
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2020
Fridge and Dishwasher Awards for 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the top fridges and dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
fridge-and-dishwasher-awards-for-2020
Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
JOHN D
JOHN D
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Looks good but cheap rubbish. Door handle design is faulty and cheap

published

Initially when I got this I was thrilled. For the price (sub $800) there isnt much competition.

However you get what you pay for. The door handles are made of 50% plastic, with cheap "Stainless steel" looking plastic covers that break.

I have owned the freezer just over 2 years so it is out of warranty. Never buying a Haier or Fisher and Paykel (who are owned by Haier) again. Terrible.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Diamondlighting
Diamondlighting
  • 16 reviews
  • 10 likes

Perfectly Convenient. The Right Size, Well Finished & Energy Efficient.

published

This Haier freezer is well made and far more energy efficient than the old chest freezer I was using prior to this purchase.
It's amazing how good it is for a unit at the cheaper end of the range.
The shelf / draw arrangement is good, and the display on the front to confirm it's working and still cold is large enough to see, without being obtrusive & ugly.
The LED lights inside make it easy to see what I'm after without being blindingly bright.
Quiet, efficient, & aesthetically pleasing, all at a very reasonable price point - what more could I ask for..?

Diamondlighting
Diamondlighting
Upright Freezers

Find out how Haier HVF-260 compares to other Upright Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Richard
RichardCanberra

Cheap, quiet and effective freezer

published

I’ve owned this freezer for 4 months now. It has a reversible door which was a pain to switch over to right hand opening, however that’s really the only negative. If you plan to reverse the door, make sure you have a socket wrench - a screw driver likely won’t cut it for removing the ridiculously tight screws (fortunately the screws have hex heads). It hasn’t leaked, is quiet and is quite ergonomic to use.

Date PurchasedJuly 2017

Rubbish

published

Loved the size and drawers are great. But just a rubbish freezer. Always dripped water and then failed completely. Lasted just over 2 years. Beware!! Thankfully I purchased product care and I was given a store credit as there was no Haier freezer equivalent so I had to buy a different brand.

Date PurchasedJan 2015
Wayne
Wayne
  • 15 reviews
  • 11 likes

So far so good

published

This freezer replaced our trusty Kelvinator which has been faultless but now too small for our family. We love this freezer. Size is great, drawers very functional, and the digital thermometer is cool. Never bought a Chinese appliance before so we are hoping it proves reliable long term. Online reviews were all very positive so here's hoping.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Upright Freezers

Find out how Haier HVF-260 compares to other Upright Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

I got a lemon!

published

Let me start with the product was great, till the "frost free" freezer started freezing up still under warranty. It has been a constant battle with Haier to fix it with no result. Now their plan is to not return my calls or fix the issue. Now I am stuck with a freezer that needs to b defrosted constantly. I would not recommend this product or any other that Haier / Fisher and Paykel make. So disappointing.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Rodsta
RodstaSydney
  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Beep beep!

published
Date PurchasedJune 2014
T1NT1N
T1NT1NAuckland, NZ
  • 18 reviews
  • 11 likes

Continual alarms drive you insane....

published

We had a warranty claim within days of install as ice kept forming at top of door and falling to floor each time you opened - repair man suspected door was bent so replaced door but although issue improved the ice still appeared on occassion. Alarms continually sound - usually each time after a grocery shop which is annoying. Understand the alarm process but it seems overly sensitive....having a predictive idea of actions would be of benefit rather than the complex control panel. ie, a warming due to frequent door opening when stocking should kick fast freeze mode then auto switch to eco mode....instead you get alarms to indicate warming due to frequent door opening. Would not buy again - it is a bit of a beast and not in a good way.

Date PurchasedApr 2015
T1NT1N
T1NT1N

Questions & Answers

Paul
Paulasked
HVF-260

How to turn off fast freeze?

No answers
Rhonda Wruck
Rhonda Wruckasked
HVF-260

Hi, I have an upright freezer not yet 5 years old and it started beeping and after unplugging and replugging to power, the beeping stopped but is displaying an error code “backward 7 + 1”. It still seems to be freezing but I don’t trust it to leave it so should I replace the freezer or is it an easy fix?

2 answers
Steve
Steve

AFAIK that should be E1, maybe some of the leds are out in the display?
E1 is a fan error, best to have it looked at.

Rhonda Wruck
Rhonda Wruck

Thanks Steve. Unfortunately we live on North Stradbroke and I doubt there would be a technican over here and would probably charge a fortune to come across from Cleveland although I saw their postal address is in Cleveland? Can you suggest who we could contact for maintenance/ repairs? Thanking you.
Rhonda

Ali S.
Ali S.asked
HVF-260

Hi where can I find the manual for the freezer ? HVF 260

No answers
See all Haier HVF-260 questions

Get an answer from our members and Haier representatives

Haier HVF-260

Details

This 258-litre upright freezer from Haier as a solid white finish and a capacity best suited to a medium to large family. It has a stylish black LED control panel on the exterior where you can easily monitor temperature and adjust settings on the fly.

The assist handle provides quick and easy access into the interior so that you can grab your frozen items without hassle. There are six storage bins within the freezer, two of them are extra large and capable of storing your large and bulky items like frozen meat and ice cream. Inside the door is a handy pizza box compartment where you can place your pizza for quick access without having to search throughout the other compartments.

This upright freezer has Super Freezer technology meaning it can quickly freeze items after a large grocery shop for better preservation. You won’t get lost inside this freezer with the handly LED lighting and you won’t have to worry about frost build-up since it’s been designed to be frost-free.

Additionally, for installation purposes, the front door is reversible, so that you can find a layout that suits your kitchen. This upright freezer is backed with a 2-year parts and labour warranty from Haier for added peace of mind.

Snap freeze groceries to preserve freshness and flavour for the longer term with SuperFreeze™. With convenient Touch LED temperature control.

Features

  • "Super Freeze" technology for quick cooling
  • Energy rating 3.5
  • Assist Handle
  • Configuration: x2 top transparent open lid shelves and x4 transparent drawers
  • Frost free
  • Interior LED light
  • Self-diagnostic assistance
  • White interior lining
  • Environmentally friendly R600A refrigerant
  • Child lock
  • Plastic freezer drawers 4
  • Pizza zone
  • Reversible door
  • Touch LED temperature control
  • 2-year parts and labour warranty

What reviewers thought:

There are many unhappy reviewers who complained about the build quality of the freezer. The handles tend to break, error codes come up after a short time and the freezer sometimes leaks. Some reviewers are happy with the product which they find to be spacious and energy-efficient.

Compare all 4 Haier HVF-260
Haier HVF-260SS
  • Discontinued

Haier HVF-260SS

3.3
(3)
Haier HVF-260WH
  • Discontinued

Haier HVF-260WH

1.7
(3)
CategoryUpright FreezersUpright FreezersUpright FreezersUpright Freezers
TypeUpright FreezersUpright FreezersUpright FreezersUpright Freezers
Capacity258L258L258L258L
Height1670mm1670mm1670mm1670mm
Width595mm595mm595mm595mm
Depth685mm685mm685mm685mm
Energy Rating3.53.533
Replaced byHaier HVF-260SS2Haier HVF-260WH2
Compare all 4 Haier HVF-260

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.