??!
1 photo
HCF Health Insurance

HCF Health Insurance (page 3 of 22)

3.5 from 422 reviews

See the Best Health Insurance in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
200
4 star
63
3 star
13
2 star
22
1 star
124

kostas73

kostas73Sydney, NSW

  • Verified customer

What service should be like!

published

I recently contacted HCF to discuss my cover. The person that answered my call was well informed, friendly and a true professional. I chose this NFPO years ago because it returns more to members and given my latest experience I can see why it is the 2018 Canstar winner. Keep up the good work!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateFebruary 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Samantha D.

Samantha D.Perth, WA

  • Verified customer

Great fund, great value for money

published

I changed to HCF about a year ago because they were cheaper than my previous fund. I have been surprised by how much more I get back and the service I recieve is excellent.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle Parent Family
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Looking for perfection

Looking for perfectionSydney, NSW

  • 37 reviews
  • 49 likes
  • Verified customer

HCF for 30 years, received $300 back from $6200 doctors bill in hospital. Go public, pay nothing. PATHETIC

published

Have been with HCF for over 30 years. Had jaw surgery with a doctors bill of $6,200. Medicare paid $1032 and HCF paid $308. What a slap in the face after 30 years. Currently paying $439 per month and didn't even get back one month of premiums. I am so glad I'm "PLATINUM" (government reforms). I called before surgery and HCF would not advise the out of pocket and asked me to go and ask the doctor. The doctor said that all health funds are different and I should ask them. $5000 out of pocket and $500 out of pocket for anesthetist. Should have gone to the public system and had no out of pocket. Health funds are pathetic joke.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Glenda

GlendaCanberra 2600, ACT

  • Verified customer

Scam! Do not even try to put your details on their website!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Claim MadeNo
Book AgainNo
See all answers
2 comments
HCF
HCF T.HCF
Glenda
Glenda

I wonder why people give you 5 stars.


Jen

JenSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified customer

Not likely to change provider anytime soon

published

I've been with HCF for close to 15 years and have never had any issues with the claim service. Every claim goes through quickly and easily and not once have I had to follow up. Top rate customer service and the uh cover all our families services needed.

Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week

Chris F

Chris FMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • Verified customer

A health insurance provider that understands its clients needs - great service and value for money

published

I have been a member of HCF for 4 years and enjoy the ease of ‘on the spot’ claiming with numerous claims on extras over the years. I recently had to contact HCF when I had a issue with a claim - I made a quick phone call and the problem was resolved - friendly staff and great service!

Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedYes

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Ann

Ann

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

Great health insurance company

published

Easy to use online system with email to confirm adjustments. Friendly service on the phone. Friendly helpful staff to assist you at convenient store locations in most local shopping centres.

Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Bianca B

Bianca BMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • Verified customer

As private insurance goes HCF has to be the quickest and cheapest insurance on the market.

published

Good value policy for families, plus there's an additional option for Kids Cover which is extremely affordable! Very happy with this service so far! We do a 6 monthly comparison to make sure we're getting the best for our money and they havent let us down in 3 years.

Plan CoverageExtras Only
Coverage TypeFamily
Claim MadeNo
Book AgainYes

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Andrew

AndrewMurray Region, NSW

  • Verified customer

Awesome customer service.

published

Awesome customer service at the Albury branch. Its not possible at all times but nice to be acknowledged as I walked in even though I had to wait a few minutes. The service itself with my enquiry was excellent and taken care of quickly!! Great health cover too!!

Value for Money
Customer Service
Plan CoverageExtras Only
Coverage TypeSingle
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Jason

JasonDarling Downs, QLD

  • Verified customer

Excellent customer experience

published

Contacted HCF to change the date that my Prius would be taken out. The HCF representative listened and seat with the matter immediately with no hesitation. The representatives made sure my concerns were understood. Their were no unnecessary delays or transfers.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Greg M

Greg MPerth, WA

  • Verified customer

Excellent cover affordable premiums

published

I was with HCF from about 2014-2017, and when with them found them very good with customer service and expediting claims. But I terminated my policy as I was unable to afford the payments any longer. This was not because they were expensive compared to other HI companies, and for a couple of years went without HI. When I was able to afford HI again, after doing some research found that HCF continue to be very competitive, and I am now back with them. I am though awaiting resolution of an issue and if they handle that well, I will give them the full thumbs up. All up, my experience with this company has been very positive.

Claim MadeNo
Book AgainYes

Stressed out

Stressed out

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified customer

Exceptional value for money

published

We find the value of our policy extremely good and had so far no problems with our claims, like eye surgery. Every claim was resolved with no delay. We are one year with HCF and never looked back

Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2018
Claim ApprovedYes

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


  • Verified customer

More than helpful and caring

published

I had been with HCF until moving over seas and went to my employers fund on my return. I left employer and went back to HCF for value and friendly service

Value for Money
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle Parent Family
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


  • Verified customer

Excellent cover at a reasonable price,

published

I have found HCF brilliant to work with, claims are easily made and the app makes it accessible to make claims after hours if needed. The staff are fantastic and great to speak to and will do their utmost to ensure you have the best option for you & your family. Far better than our previous provider. Also good to speak to someone local rather than overseas.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

  • Verified customer

Added an exclusion to our policy after we held it for 6 years to avoid paying further treatment for a known condition.

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Claim MadeNo
Book AgainNo
See all answers
Judy

JudyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • Verified customer

Happy with HCF

published

Claims are very easy to submit using the phone app. Policy prices seem to compare well with other health insurance providers. They have a pretty decent-looking rewards program, although I don't really use it much.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Terry I

Terry IPerth, WA

  • Verified customer

Strength and Reliability

published

We have only been with HCF for a short time but have been very happy with the contacts made. Our claims have been handled in a proficient manner and we are getting used to using the website for helpful information and claim details

Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedYes

KKnox

KKnoxSydney, NSW

  • Verified customer

Fabulous customer service from the team members

published

The HCF team members are helpful friendly professional and informative they really do care. The receptionist, dentist and dental nurse were all extremely helpful and very knowledgeable on their chosen profession.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


FRA

FRACentral Queensland, QLD

  • Verified customer

HCF with gratitude

published

I love HCF! Life has been hard since 2014, many operations and hospital
Stays. HCF has been my partner and saviour on this journey. The staff have treated me with respect, made me feel like a person and not a number. Am SO grateful! Thank, thank you from the bottom of my unwell heart - you took away a big stress in what has been a horrid time. Happy to send you proof send me an email and I will and I to you.

Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJune 2018
Claim ApprovedYes

David Hunt

David HuntFlorey 2615, ACT

  • Verified customer

Updating Policy to meet New arrangements from 1 April 2019

published

We attended the HCF console at the Westfield Belconnen Mall and spent some very valuable time with the staff member. We had not reviewed our policy for quite some years and it was an eye opener to see what arrangements were far more suitable for our age group under the new private health care arrangements. The staff member was very friendly and gave us a new insight into how best to use our HCF health cover.

We came away very impressed and very pleased with the outcome which also fitted well into our p[rivate health care budget.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Claim MadeNo
Book AgainYes
See all answers

Page 3 of 22

Questions & Answers

lena saba

lena sabaasked

i am Australian citizen living overseas but I am coming back to live I Sydney and I need to know if I can continue with you as I used to have a membership with hcf and I froze it?

No answers

Guini L.

Guini L.asked

Is GP regular doctors' visits covered in "Short Stay " overseas visitors health cover?
The website only stated the following: "Depending on the level of cover you choose, you can be covered for up to 100% of the cost of seeing a GP from our GP network. "

1 answer
HCF
HCF T.HCF

Hi Guini

That is correct, GP Consultations are covered under the “Short Stay” Overseas Visitors Cover.

You are covered for doctors’ services for items listed on the Australian Government Medicare Benefits Schedule (MBS) and where the service would be eligible for an MBS benefit if provided to an Australian resident:

For regular doctor visits, you will be covered with nothing to pay when you see a doctor through our network.

https://www.hcf.com.au/content/dam/hcf/pdf/OVHC/Overseas-Visitors-Short-Stay.pdf

Our Overseas Visitors Helpline is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week on 13 68 42 (13 OVHC), option 2.

You can call the helpline to ask health questions* or to access providers and services through the HCF network, including:

• regular doctors (GPs)
• after-hours GPs
• emergency departments
• specialist doctors
• private hospitals.
• nurse triage

Hope this helps.
Regards
HCF Team


Bernard L.

Bernard L.asked

I just want to know if I am eligible form a claim on my insurance. I had a skin cancer removed a few weeks ago. The bill from the medical centre is $578.00. I realise I will be refunded by medicare for some of the amount. Will HCF provide further funding for this? My member number is 95484434.

1 answer
HCF
HCF T.HCF

Hi Bernard

We hope you are recovering well after your procedure.

Private health insurance policies cover some or all the costs of being a private patient in either a Public or Private Hospital for in-hospital (from when you’re officially admitted to hospital to when you’re officially discharged) treatment costs such as accommodation, operating theatre and other associated costs.

If the consultations is deemed to be a outpatient service then health funds are not allowed to pay a benefit, this can only be claimed from Medicare.

We are more than happy to look into this further for you, if you could email us at customersupport@hcf.com.au.

Please include your membership number and mention “product review” in the subject of the email and also do let us know whether you were officially admitted to a hospital as an inpatient.

Alternatively you can call us on 13 13 34 and our Hospital Information Line staff will be glad to assist you.

Regards

HCF Team


Get an answer from our members and HCF representatives

Details

CategoryHealth Insurance
Contact Number 13 13 34
24-Hour Phone Contact No
Other Insurance Types Offered Income, Pet and Travel

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.