1 photo
Hema HX-1 Navigator

Hema HX-1 Navigator (page 2 of 4)

1.7 from 81 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best GPS Navigation Systems in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Hema Navigator

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.5 (36)
  • Value for Money
    1.5 (36)
  • Ease of Use
    2.0 (36)
  • Battery Life
    2.2 (34)
  • Route Choice
    2.3 (32)
  • GPS Location Accuracy
    2.6 (34)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail

Ripoff

published

Need wifi to do anything with it, try that in the middle of nowhere. Makes my 8 year old garmin with topo maps look like god! Need about 53 32g micro sd to be able to store maps to be practable. Bluetooth can't use phone for internet. But an ipad with a gps tracking. Overpriced piece of junk.

Purchased in November 2019 at RAA Motoring for $599.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
JimSutt
JimSuttSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Rubbish ....

published

Purchased in May 2015 for $400.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
1/5
meeeh
meeehSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • Verified

Keep your money do not bother

published

Waste of money. Only had the unit for half hour and already hate it. "explore maps" are useless totally NOT user friendly, GPS keeps falling off line. Even the 389 page user guide that you have to find and download is not helpful. Just buy a $30 paper map and use a cheap android or ipad with gps to get you there.

Purchased in November 2019 at BCF Physical Store for $600.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Tan
TanPerth, WA
  • 17 reviews
  • 7 likes
  • Verified

Do not buy this unit!

published

We have had 2 x HX1's and both have same issue of overheating. There is a major issue by the looks of all the forums stating the same issue. Do your homework thoroughly before buying this unit.

Purchased in June 2017 at Action 4wd for $650.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
1/5
GPS Navigation Systems

Find out how Hema HX-1 Navigator compares to other GPS Navigation Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
CHRIS
CHRISSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Very Disappointed Buyer

published

Long time locating satellites.Explore mode map drop out so need to zoom out & in to fix.Coolah NP & Mt Moffit missing tracks, points of interest wrong spots, freezes, & hard deleting tracks.

Purchased in July 2019 at BCF Physical Store for $579.00.

Value for Money
2/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Grunf G.
Grunf G.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Complete crap

published

Did the High Country trip and when on explore mode map layers were mixing up (half a screen would be one resolution, other half the other resolution). Then it would just show blank white screen with grid lines.
Required numerous restarts. Was searching for GPS forever most of the time. Auto mode for day and night screen colours was not working etc etc
Sold it two weeks after at a $200 loss.
Went back to my faultless Garmin with topo maps and wikicamps when offroading.

Hema, thanks for nothing! Stick to what you do best - paper maps!

Purchased in September 2019 at BCF Physical Store for $559.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Unsatified
UnsatifiedQueensland

Battery issue

published

The maps are great easy to use. Issue with batteries swelling up and opening case up, I know of 3 people with this issue, they will fix for zero dollars if you push issue

Purchased in December 2017.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
2/5
Scibbo
ScibboFar North Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

nothing but problems since bought

published

first problem straight out of the box, wouldn't charge. eventually after 5 days it started to except a charge.
second problem, showed problem showed intersections or turns after you passed them
third problem after 2 1/2 to 3 hours machine gets too hot and screen goes funny, let it cool down and some times it will come back on with normal screen, lately have had to do reboot and sometime it will fix it, there is something wrong with these machines, I would not recommend spending this amount of money on these machines, have had to revert to my Garmin as it is more reliable.

Purchased in June 2017 at Johnny Appleseed GPS Online store for $699.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5

PRO’S & CON’S Product operational deficiency’s not initially apparent!

published

PRO’S
1 Excellent correlation of Hema paper charts with Hema HX1 data base greatly aids planning and big picture view.
2 Excellent, reliable GPS
CON’S
1 Inability to delete tracks or routes on the go. Can only be deleted when you are synced to your account. This makes using it remotely in the field annoying if trying to delete un-required noise. A major oversight.
2 Inability to adjust font size makes reading names on the go difficult and especially for anyone without perfect eyesight.
Overall this is a very useful tool supported by excellent reliable mapping but there is massive scope for improvement of the operator interface. It’s very disappointing in that regard.

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
5/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Incentivised Review No
GPS Navigation Systems

Find out how Hema HX-1 Navigator compares to other GPS Navigation Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
alex crunn
alex crunn
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

What a horrific waste of money !!!!!!

published

Turns itself on, wont turn off, started going thru screen changes with no one touching it, making weird noises, I think the thing is possessed! When I needed it most and clicked on my home address it just drew a bright red line direct to my place.... great if I had a helicopter. I wish I read the reviews before purchase

Purchased in June 2019 for $500.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
1/5
Dan
DanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Absolute Crap House

published

Where to start...
Glitchy, always freezing up
Touch screen is terrible and often doesn’t recognise touch
Boot up is slow
Regular updates that never seem to fix the problems
Save your money, just buy the map for your device, there is zero benefit to the HX1 over your phone

Purchased in May 2016.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
Andre Mark
Andre MarkDarwin, NT
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

A good idea poorly executed

published

Zooming is woeful and there is no Apple MAC update software. They don't warn you BEFORE you pay for the upgrade. Reflective screen requires another AUD$45 for flimsy screen visor.

Purchased in December 2018 at The Chart and Map Shop for $559.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
GPS Navigation Systems

Find out how Hema HX-1 Navigator compares to other GPS Navigation Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
DUKU
DUKUperth

RUBBISH

published

We are up to unit (GPS) # 3. Finally this unit (GPS) will accept a charge from the cigarette lighter adaptor supplied. The GPS will 'crash' when in trees and won't even fix to a satellite in our carport. The satellite position fix is very slow and constantly loses a signal. When 'off the beaten track' the free app Mapme is generally better.
In summary the HEMA HX-1 is expensive rubbish.

Bin it

published

If I turn it off so it will charge faster, it turns itself back on with no provocation whatsoever.
There does not seem to be any way to edit a saved location once you have saved one.
The maps of large cities seem ok. Bought it for the maps of way out in the middle of nothing, which I doubt it will last long enough for us to try.

Charlie
CharlieSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Buy a Garmin instead

published

Reliable maps not reliable positioning on maps takes forever to get gps signal. constantly loses signal. battery life dies I've tried many different gps units from unidens to ultra cheap android based systems. This has to be the worst GPS ever sold should be recalled by Hema I'm seeking a refund

Worst online company ever

published

Attempted to purchase a HX1 from Hema online store. 15 days later and it has still not been shipped. Have rang repeatedly to be told there is a computer problem and nothing can be done. There was no problem taking the money. I am now trying to get the money refunded. Not at all hopeful but have to try. The worst online purchase ever. Avoid this company or be ripped off.

Brian P
Brian PSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Camera fail

published

I had the camera fail after about twenty months. I open a ticket in the tech support section on the website and received timely replies to my queries, when we were unable to resolve the issue the technician requested that I return the device. The camera was replaced, new charger supplied and software update under warranty.
I suspect that the HX1 is like most if not all software and electronic devices (i.e. mobile phones) where new models are put on the market too soon without detail testing to beat the opposition into the market place, then identify any issues bugs etc. And fix under warranty.
However, they fixed mine in a timely manner without charge and I was impressed with the service.

Paul
PaulSydney

absolute junk

published

Kept overheating and shut down. Was told not to mount on dash as sunlight affects it!!! What's the point of the dash mount kit and how do I use it and drive then??. Not fit for its purpose and dangerous as it left me without navigation for three months in the Outback. Had to buy reliable paper maps at Alice Springs.

Darrin
Darrin
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Rubbish Product Not Fit For Purpose.

published

Even though I read the mostly bad reviews, I decided to buy this unit as I do a lot of outback touring. Difficult to use, hopeless in Explore mode. Street GPS is OK. I have now had this unit for 15 Months and on a recent trip to Cape York the battery failed, leaving me without a navigator. Not good enough!

Andy Boot
Andy BootGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 20 reviews
  • 44 likes

Average user interface, can't download maps

published

So just got a new Hema HX-1 with my supertourer from Patriot Campers, apart from not being able to download maps its just a gps. Got a message today that there is an update of all the maps, 4.5gb. Clicked download and it got to South Australia on the list and said "Your HDD is full, try deleting some videos or photos or previously downloaded maps" I just turned the thing on there are no photos or maps to delete. So i can't download the update.

Fail.

Seems OK

published

Bought the HX 1 after I couldn’t upgrade and get the UK map off my old Garmin
It took a bit to get used to with all the different screens but if you play with an iPad you shouldn’t have to much trouble
We have just returned from touring SA VIc and Tassie with no issues with the Hema until we got back to WA and pointed it towards home on the shortest route and it did try to take us on a scenic 300km further route
The Hema updated through the wifi on my phone when I told it to with no dramas
It does lose satilitte contact now again but regained them pretty quickly
Overall quite happy with it

Blackie
BlackiePerth

Not worth the price tag

published

Get the HN-7 before buying HX-1 unless you have in dash reversing camera

published

Lacks a rear view camera input and is not as easy to use as Garmin.

You have to purchase a range of maps to get any off road coverage which adds to the cost, difficult to input places and not very intuitive.

The fact that the older HN7 has a camera input and the HX-1 doesn't is not clearly articulated.
Get a HN-7 if you want HEMA unless you have in dash reversing camera.

Geoff
GeoffSydney

Awsome

published
gtp
gtp
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good idea, poorly executed

published
Page 2 of 4

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.