??!
1 photo
Henley

Henley (page 3 of 27)

3.5 from 530 reviews

Very mixed experience

Our build with Henley has been somewhat mixed. This was our third build (and was to be our last) so we entered the process with realistic expectations as we had done it before. There were certainly issues with the admin process with lack of communication between the various departments leading to a lot of inefficiency and time wasted and micro managing by us to pick up all the things missed and not handed over correctly. With regard to the issues We won some and lost some but Henley came to the table on each occasion and were willing discuss and see things from our point of view. So that’s great! And we are appreciative of that.

However what has really hampered our experience of Henley has been the quality of trades used throughout the home. In particular the tiling, rendering and painters have shown extremely poor workmanship that should in no way represent Henley’s brand.

What has been even more frustrating is they send the same tradie who didn’t do a good job in the first place to ‘rectify’ and they do the same standard of work again which in turn creates more issues. These mistakes and the subsequent ‘fixes’ lead to the home lacking the finesse that a new home should and can be very visible even to the untrained eye. We upgraded almost every aspect of our home, however the poor workmanship especially in the bathrooms and front facade rendering have left us very disappointed.

We have had to have bring in our own trades at times to try and address issues on a brand new home which is extremely disappointing given we have paid over $500 k to Henley.

Henley’s response when questioning the quality of trades and poor workmanship issues has often been “well that’s just how they do it”. This is certainly not reflected in your display homes which is the standard that is promised.

We loved the Henley designs, the inclusions offered, had a great experience with sales and our Admin was also responsive (issues at admin were beyond her control) but our Overall, the final outcome is“okay” and Not “Amazing”. That may be due to the volume of issues
identified that had to be rectified or purely because we are weary after this long process.

We are beginning the process of addressing these issues with Henley Home Assurance and are hopeful they can be resolved satisfactorily.

Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateDecember 2018
1 comment
Hello Amali A, Thank you for your detailed review, we are pleased to read that you love the inclusions and your customer service experience was great, however it is dissapointing to read that your final outcome was only okay! We trust the home assurance team are working towards improving that experience for you, please do not hesitate to contact customercare@henley.com.au should you have further issues that you feel require urgent attention or an extra set of hands. We do hope that you are enjoying your beautiful new home. Best wishes, Henley Team.

Excellent quality and design but made us wait long

Job Number: 312001
Development Approval / Building Approval Permit Number: 2748420177872/0
Build Location: Lot 1012, 53 Maiden Drive SUNBURY 3429
Home Design Name: Emperor 48

Our first home built by Henley. We are very happy with the quality of the house. The administration process went really well & fast. But as soon as we moved to construction stage, there were delays.

We had slab in 1 week and then we waited for frame to start after 3 months due to unavailability of carpenters (as advised by supervisor). Then after frame we had delays in almost every stage. And we finally got the keys after 10 months into construction (went over the contract date).

Even after all the delays, the end result was excellent. We just love our house. Overall the quality of the house if brilliant.

According to me, the area of improvement is none other than fastening up the construction process.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateApril 2019
1 comment
Hello Harnek, Thank you for reviewing your experience with us, and for your feedback and suggestions - we do take all of these on board. Congratulations on your settlement. Best wishes, Henley Team.

Confused and neglected

Bought the land and thought of building a dream house on it, went to all home builders and selected two floor plans one with Carlisle Homes and second with Henley Homes. We went with Henley as we saw value for money and secondly the sales woman was amazing at Upper Point Cook display estate.
From floor plan selection to color appointment everything went smooth then construction started and has not ended yet, as per the contract maximum construction period ended on April 12, 2019. still waiting...

Build StageMid-Construction
1 comment
Hello Shaikh J Sabir, Thank you very much for your review. We are always looking for ways to improve and we appreciate receiving your feedback regarding your experience with us thus far. We will continue working closely with you and we look forward to completing the construction of your home and we hope to have a positive outcome for you. Best wishes, Henley Team.

Excellent house designs

Our first home built with henley. We love our home. The process has its ups and down, great management with the lead up to the construction of the home, the staff at the display, henley colours and tender were excellent in guiding us and providing us with constant communication. Once we were at construction stage there were delays and areas for improvement in regards to communicating with us. Overall the we are happy with the quality of our home.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateMarch 2019
1 comment
Hello Kim, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us, and providing your feedback. We are so pleased to read that you love your new home. Congratulations on your settlement. Best wishes, Henley Team.

Quality Builder but made us wait long

The house was really well managed and the supervisor was very particular about everything. There was some issues at the start where the builder was unable to site the house and due to late in finding that had to change the house design completely and had to re-do the selection process. The cost at the start to the finish was very accurate but the only thing I was unhappy with was the delay the builder had in completing the job. Very slow they were I felt infact they went beyond the maximum day of construction based on the contract.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateApril 2019
1 comment
Hi Ravi Gupta, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. Although there were delays, we are pleased to read that your build was well managed and we trust you are happy with your home. Congratulations on your settlement. Best wishes, Henley Team.

Brilliant quality and design

This is my second house builth with Henley. They are by far have the best inclusions and final quality and built is brilliant as always. Communicated well throughout the whole process. Highly recommended!

Customer Service
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateMarch 2019
1 comment
Hello Salman, We are so pleased to read your review, and that this is your second build with us! Thank you for recommending Henley, and we hope to see you for home number 3! Best wishes, Henley Team.

Perfect home

Managing my building stages, starts from design, colour selection tender, contract, variations and construction phases all were good. We have some issues with sales person because she was not gave us correct information.
The quality of construction work was good and they gave us house before expecting time just because of our site supervisor Darren was very good and worked professionally.
The team communication and cooperation is very good. Overall our experience was very good.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateApril 2019
1 comment
Hello Harminder Singh, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience, we are so pleased to read that it was such a positive one throughout. We trust you are enjoying your beautiful new home. Congratulations on your settlement. Best wishes, Henley Team.

Regret building with henley

Not happy with the build quality of our property.
We had to engage a private inspector who found multiple defects during the construction period and these defects were not properly rectified by construction team. In fact we had hard time getting construction team to even acknowledge the defects.
* we have yellow stains on our brickwork and builder doesn't want to do anything about it.

They refuse to take responsibility for their mistakes, In the Theater, they installed the heating vent right behind the projector(As shown in the picture below) , due to hot air flowing through the vent, Our projector starts overheating and Henley won't do anything about it because it is "as per the plan" and i signed off on the plan. Yes they are trying to blame it on me but if i knew everything about building plans, why would i hire this pathetic builder ?

My advice to people wanting to build with Henley is that if you don't know everything about building plans, do not build with them because in the end they will blame you for their own mistakes.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateJanuary 2019
6 comments
Hello Sumit A, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. Many customers engage in Independent inspectors, and it is not uncommon for many small "defects" to be found, however the Inspectors are not qualified to comment on the structural integrity of the build and therefor this may have been why some of these items were not identified by Henley as defective. Responses are provided to our clients to let you know which items we will complete. In regards to brickwork, the construction manager has advised that this is efflorescence and i believe your administrator has sent you some information regarding this. It is pleasing to read that you are satisfied with our Home Assurance department and your feedback will certainly be passed on. Congratulations on your settlement. Best wishes, Henley Team.Hi do you have anything to say on installing heating vent right behind the projector ? Who is the genius that came up with the idea to install it right behind the projector ?Hi Sumitm We are looking into this for you. Kind regards, Henley Team.

Build Quality - Very Good

My first build with a high volume builder - management of my build was very good, on-site project manager was exceptional. Quality of workmanship is high for a this type of builder. Henley's responses to issues were exceptional - any issues were dealt with quickly. Final cost came in UNDER budget !! If i had known this - we could have added further upgrades. My only complaint was that our contract (which needed urgent signing) was delivered to our demolished site (??) and admin staff didn't inform us that contracts were not delivered...... Otherwise l recommend Henley very highly for built quality.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateDecember 2018
1 comment
Hello Peter S, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We are so pleased to read that you are happy with the management of your build! We trust you are enjoying your new home. Congratulations on your settlement. Best wishes, Henley Team.

My first house with Henley ( Expensive than Expected)

Built was well managed.
Quality was above average.
Overall satisfied but had issues with company but did help to resolve the issues. Building took longer than expected time. Good builder but slow in response.
Final cost was higher than expected.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateSeptember 2018
1 comment
Hello Dips, Thank you for sharing your experience, it is pleasing to read that you are happy with the quality and management of your build. Congratulations on your settlement. Best wishes, Henley Team.

Henley House Review!

We bought a Ready Built home from Henley 2019, it means which it had already built by Henley with good materials and we loved the floor plan and the sizes of the rooms with reasonable price.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateFebruary 2019
1 comment
Hello Ghulam Abbasi, Thank you for your review! we are so pleased to read that you love your home. Congratulations on your settlement. Best wishes, Henley Team.

Expensive but well built

It was all well managed by Henley.
As we just built, we will tell more if we live there for few months. But all looks fine.
It was all well managed but they were charging money for all this.
$20000 more than estimated. Because Henley charge a lot for site cost.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Electrical & Lighting
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateApril 2019
1 comment
Hello Vikram kataria, Thank you for sharing your experience! We trust you are enjoying your new home. Best wishes, Henley Team.

Review for Sales and Design Showroom Stages

So far we have great things to say. [Names Removed] were very helpful at the sales stage, and [Name Removed] our administrator has been very helpful. Communication with all 3 of them has been quick & responsive, very helpful.

We did lots of research & found their house layout is the best 2 story price wise on the market. The design allows for the most garden space to biggest floor plan ratio of all the houses we seen on the market. Great to see someone making good use of floor space and preserving gardens.

Their prices are very transparent, some changes resulted in a credit to us which was great! They have plenty of documentation to support all the different choices we need to make, its all been pretty simple to follow. The showroom is great, the staff there are super helpful and really friendly. The range of choices is more than enough, the free range has plenty and if you want to upgrade most things don't cost very much.

As we continue through the stages i'll update this review / or add new ones for specific stages.

Job Number: 315865
House: Electra 35
Type: Knock Down rebuild

For a detailed review including photos & key dates of how long each stage takes, you can follow our journey here: https://forum.homeone.com.au/viewtopic.php?f=31&t=95301&p=1843772#p1843772

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Build StagePre-Construction
1 comment
Hello cob, We are so pleased to read that the process so far is going smoothly and the team has been responsive. We hope the remainder of the process is breezy and are excited to read about your experience. Best wishes, Henley Team.

Henley Product review - This is super cool!!

We recently bought a new Ready Built Home from Henley. I would say this is a best decision we have made and we are lucky enough to find a good builder like Henley. Be it the structure, or the features inside in the house or the materials used, everything is top-notch and the quality is so perfect and looks luxurious. Thanks Henley and would definitely recommend to my friends.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateMarch 2019
1 comment
Hello Sivalakshmi Sampathkumar, We are so pleased to read that you are loving your brand new ready built home. Congratulations on your settlement. Best wishes, Henley Team.

Pretty average building experience so far

Pre build experience was just about average where we felt we got rushed with colors and electrical appointments, whilst we felt really good with tender appointment as the person we were dealing with was very knowledgeable and helpful. Defects were found at pre slab pour, frame and pre plaster stages. Took a few emails and calls to get updates and confirmations if these defects were fixed or not. Biggest let down has been the proactiveness of administration staff to call and provide updates. We had to adjust a lot and let go of upgrades we wanted to fit our build budget, as a lot of upgrades were quite expensive compared to other builders.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Build StageMid-Construction
1 comment
Hello Ravi, Thank you for reviewing your experience so far. Many customers engage in Independent inspectors, and it is not uncommon for many small "defects" to be found, however the Inspectors are not qualified to comment on the structural integrity of the build and therefor this may have been why some of these items were not identified by Henley as defective, and why you may see many items. We appreciate your feedback on our response process and will certainly take that on board. Your feedback has been passed on through the team, and we hope that we can work towards 5 stars at settlement. Best wishes, Henley Team.

Amazing job by Henley

Everything was built beautifully and in time And all the best materials were used. We couldn’t have picked anyone else to build our house for us. Absolutely in love with everything.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateFebruary 2019
1 comment
Hello Jas S, Thank you for your amazing review, we are so pleased to read that you are in love with your brand new Ready Built home. Congratulations on your settlement. Best wishes, Henley Team.

first homebuild, good experience

Good experience for a first build. Transparent on all pricing and inclusions. Everyone is helpful and gives valuable opinions and recommendations but not too pushy. But may need to improve the aftersales or post handover services as thats where they’ve got a letdown for customers.

Job Number: 312834
Development Approval / Building Approval Permit Number: 2748420179473/0
Build Location: ROCKBANK 3335
Home Design Name: Electra 35

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateMarch 2019
1 comment
Hello BuiltouAUsomehome, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us, we appreciate your feedback and have certainly taken this on board and are working on ways to smooth out the handover process. We trust you are enjoying your beautiful new home. Best wishes, Henley Team.

New Home, New Heaven with Henley

We recently built home (Lexington 28) from Henley and are satisfied with the overall construction. We had a great start with [Name Removed] who helped us identifying the right selection and estimation for the house construction. [Names Removed] started with Colour Selection and then Contract Sign with great experience. Later [Name Removed] (construction administrator) and [Name Removed] (Supervisor) took over during construction and provided a great support and value.
Almost two months after moving in and we've had no major building issues to report. Overall build quality was excellent. Internally we're mostly happy with the finish. The kitchen and bathrooms are well done. In particular the tiler did a great job. Our only disappointment was with the carpentry work in some places.
There were a few issues/delays at the start or during construction, items that had been overlooked. However the customer service team addressed each of those problems and they were resolved fairly quickly.
Overall we'd recommend Henley.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateFebruary 2019
1 comment
Hello shegin, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience, we are so excited to read this review! It is great to read that any issues were addressed quickly and you are happy with your overall experience. Congratulations on your settlement. Best wishes, Henley Team

Built our new home with Henley.

Very poorly managed, our house got delayed by over 3 months beyond contracted period of 290 days. We had to do multiple inspections before settlement and finally we settled as we had to move in. Rendering works are still being completed and the cleaners that henley use are hopeless. The windows are dirty at the time of settlement. Our site supervisors got changed multiple times. This maybe the last time we will deal with henley.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateApril 2019
1 comment
Hello Arpita R, We are disappointed to read of your experience, and we have private messaged you to obtain further details so that we can work on improvements in the future. Should you have outstanding items or feel you require further assistance you can email us at customercare@henley.com.au to voice your concerns. We do hope that aside from the above, you love your beautiful new home. Best wishes, Henley Team.

Solid builder

We recently purchased a brand new, ready built home from Henley and are satisfied with the overall purchase. Henley is one of the few builders that offers new homes that are ready to move into, so we were quite happy that the option was available to us. As first home buyers we didn't have the luxury of being too picky with the floor plan or colour scheme. Thankfully the colour scheme was well done and the floor plan made the most of minimal space (it is a 2 bedroom townhouse).

Almost a year after moving in and we've had no major building issues to report. Overall build quality was excellent. Internally we're mostly happy with the finish. The kitchens and bathrooms are well done. In particular the tiler did a great job. Our only disappointment was with the plastering and paint work in some places. Especially when we compared it with our friends' houses who built with other builders.

There were a few issues at the start, items that had been overlooked, and some damage to parts of the property. However the customer service team addressed each of those problems and they were resolved fairly quickly.

Overall we'd recommend Henley.

Customer Service
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateJune 2018
1 comment
Hello Dimitri, Wow, what an amazing review! we are so pleased to read that you are satisfied with our Ready Built product. Thank you for your feedback, this will be passed throughout our Ready Built team. We are excited that you would recommend Henley to others, and trust you are enjoying your beautiful new home. Best wishes, Henley Team.

Page 3 of 27

Questions & Answers

After final contract sighed , Henley would like to “confirm “discrepancy in items related contract price. I was informed after tender appointment , any item has be locked otherwise we have to pay $150 each if applicable . What I am curious about is after more than one month after Building Contract , Henley will send me the variation for me to sigh . Can I stick to the final contract set of document as the same ? , I am confused? What does contract mean for Henley . Any friends here could answer my question thanks in advance.
4 answers
What variation they sent you ? For something you have changed after Tender appt?Thanks Nish ! I asked privacy lock for my toilet in tender appointment , obviously they have not charged us in the final contract by “human “mistake “what is contract, from my understanding both party must obey . Am I right? Should I ask for their apologies !!Hi Jess_2013, These are questions that your administrator can answer, as they know the process. Variations to the contract are common, there are very minimal jobs that do not have Post Contract Variations. If something has not been placed into your tender, it will not be installed on site. Please contact your administrator for a better explanation of our processes. Kind regards, Henley Team.

Hi Henley Customer care, Would you please email me a pdf copy of the brochure for Henley Collections valid on the 14/09/2017? I have requested for this from my Henley Admin and am as usual given the run around. Thanks, Dionne
7 answers
Hi Dionne, I am aware of your request, and as per your administrators email to you Yesterday 30/05 at 2.56pm, she is working on this - there is no apparent run around in relation to this request. Kind regards.I disagree- Please check facts below: My request for the brochure was last week Friday the 24/05/2019. Her response was that she would respond 'early next week'. No response. When I emailed a reminder on Wed 29/05/19 I was told 'she was not at work all day' and indicated that she would respond on the day'. No response I again emailed a reminder on Thu 30/05/2019 and then got a response but brochure was not attached and was told to expect a general 48hr turnaround. My original email is dated 24/05/2019 and today is the 31/05/2019- My request is not complete.Hi Dionne, We are looking into the request, as per emails from your administrator. You have had responses within the agreed time as per company policy, your emails have not remained unanswered. Kind regards.

We are about to sign contract with Henley, but I wonder if anyone else has this problem with their built. Henley has removed the top drawer beneath the stove to just a fixed panel with no credits back to us, also I request a tower with the coffee machine space which also has a drawer beneath the space and they are also replacing that with a fix panel. Does that sound reasonable to anyone? Or has anyone else has this same issue?
No answers

Details

Henley
Contact Number (03) 9574 5333
Address395 Ferntree Gully Road, Mount Waverley VIC 3149, Australia

Visit official website