??!
1 photo
Hickinbotham

Hickinbotham Questions & Answers

4.2 from 261 reviews

10 questions from our users

Quynh T.

Quynh T.asked

My house was built in 2005 by Hickinbotham. Anyone know what is the brand for the builder's standard tapware (flick mixer). I need to my shower flick mixer. Thanks. Quynh

No answers

Curious builder

Curious builderasked

As a second time builder of Hickenbotham do we get a discount for building again?

1 answer
Hickinbotham
Customer Service T.Hickinbotham

Hi,

Thank you for considering Hickinbotham for your next build!

We will always put our best offer to our repeat clients. Please talk directly to your Building Consultant to find out what we can offer you for building with us a second time.

Kind regards,
The Hickinbotham Team


Rhianna77

Rhianna77asked

What kind of paint and process does Hickinbotham use on their Homebuilds?

2 answers
Mon
Mon

Internal paint for me was Taubmans Easycoat Flat 2 Coat System (Lightly wipeable). Skirting and eves was as per walls but semi-gloss. You can call their office number for more specifics 8366 0000. Hope this helps.

Hickinbotham
Customer Service T.Hickinbotham

Hi Rhianna77,

For internal paint we use Taubman’s Low Sheen 2 Coat Paint System. Thank you Mon, you are correct!

If you would like to see our range of Taubman's paint, please feel free to visit The Design Studio, located at 25 North Terrace, Hackney. Alternatively, please call us on 8366 0000.

Kind regards,
The Hickinbotham Team


Jagu06

Jagu06asked

Hi, I am in Adelaide, looking to finalize a builder, I wanna know what's the inclusions in the current promotion of Hickinbotham 5k for 3 k offer.
Thank you
Jagu

1 answer
Hickinbotham
Customer Service T.Hickinbotham

Hi Jagu06,

Thank you for contacting Hickinbotham.

Please contact us at info@hickinbotham.com.au or on 8366 0000 and a Building Consultant will be able to assist with your enquiry.

Kind regards,
The Hickinbotham Team


Baz

Bazasked

Please help, we are at the stage where we have paid the deposit, plans are drawn up but after reading such bad reviews and a few problems with bad communication up to now, we are deciding if we should just take the hit and find another builder.........such a hard decision.

3 answers
Hickinbotham
Customer Service T.Hickinbotham

Hi Baz,

We are very disappointed to read that you may have had an unpleasant experience with Hickinbotham, please be assured that this is not Hickinbotham’s intention for our customers to feel this way.

To help us better understand the communication concerns, could you please contact us on info@hickinbotham.com.au with your experience so far.

Kind regards,
The Hickinbotham Team

Annoyed
Annoyed

We had also paid a deposit but after receiving a ridiculously overpriced costing of our footings (almost double then any other new build in the estate despite soil tests and foundation sizes practically exactly the same), we have pulled out and gone with another builder. We also found Construction Services difficult to deal with and having to ring them constantly and leave messages waiting for days for them to get back to us,if they did at all.Even losing our deposit we are 20K better off,have a bigger house and have way more upgrades. We found the whole experience with them confusing and difficult and we were also asked to pay to get our master plans changed when it was totally the sales consultant fault as VCR's were not forwarded on time. I regret it all from the first day we walked into the display village

kaz
kaz

Who did you end up building with?


David4023

David4023asked

At what point in time can I have an absolute price; as SA Home builders build so many homes per year why is it so hard to get a straight answer? How can one builder building 21.5m^2 be $30,000 more than another when the tradies work for each company? I'm frightened to enter into any arrangement because of the horror stories about estimated cost's and the fixed price quotes seem over the top.

1 answer
Hickinbotham
Customer Service T.Hickinbotham

Hi David,

Thank you for your question.

Unfortunately without all the information we're unable to answer your query to the best of our ability.

If you could please contact us at info@hickinbotham.com.au with the quotation you're referring too, we will be able to assist further.

Kind regards,
The Hickinbotham Team.


neeraj.pec

neeraj.pecasked

Planning to build a house on my block of land. However, after reading horrible reviews for Hickinbotham, Sterlings and Statesman, wondering which one to go forward with. Please suggest.,

2 answers
Steve
Steve

I have been dealing with Fairmont Homes who have built 4 homes for me. Ask for [name removed] a very thorough sales person.

Brett
Brett

Second this. [name removed] was our sales rep. She is quality. Site supervisor was jaded and non existent but we had few issues with the build so I was no problem. Good move to avoid hickinbotham thou. Avoid like the plague! Good luck.


Blossum

Blossumasked

Could someone please help regarding who is suppose to pay for the water meter to be placed in the property sold as a house and land package through Divine and Hickinbotham. After a major mess up with the land (first block was sold, but we had a hold on it with the salesperson from Divine. Then said we could have a similar block opposite but we had to have the plans for the house changed to suit our job. We are now being told we have to pay to have the water meter moved because it is wrong on the plans (it sits in the middle of the driveway). This has been going on for a year and Hickinbotham refuse to start the house (deposit paid) until we pay to have the water meter moved. I am a little confused why we have to pay when it is a house and land package which includes all amenities??

6 answers
Jabram86
Jabram86

We ran into the same problem, we bought a house and land package and signed up while the blocks were still being built. They placed the water meter and a light post in the middle of where our driveway was going to be, we had to either pay to move the water meter and light pole or mirror the plans of the house to avoid them. We chose to pay the $500 to change the plans as it was cheaper. It's annoying as hell but the builder doesn't talk to the developer and the consumer gets stung. So to answer your question, yes it's on you to pay for it.

Hickinbotham
Customer Service T.Hickinbotham

Dear Blossum,

Thank you for your question. We understand that you have today also spoken with our client services team who clarified your query. If you have any further queries at all, please do not hesitate to contact us on 8366 0000.

Kind regards
Hickinbotham Client Services Team

Chris CDDS
Chris CDDS

The water meter to the block should be installed by the person who subdivided the block. This person ends up paying approximately $20k to divide one block into two and this cost includes all services to the block ie the gas, water and sewer connections. The original block will already have a meter installed and then they install the other in a nominal location normally near the side boundary. If the meter is in the centre of the driveway then at a guess this may be the original meter. I would say from experience to date to relocate a meter the new owner would have to pay this cost. However I would dispute this with the builder (good luck by the way as Hickinbotham Homes are poor at this process). Can you build any form of house on this block where the water meter is placed if not then why are they selling it as a development block.

Chris CDDS


sandrasmortified

sandrasmortifiedasked

Has anyone else had major problems with Hickinbotham? Like my slab being poured in the wrong spot?

3 answers
AKS1987SA
AKS1987SA

I hope that is just a theoretical problem - and not something you actually have to deal with!

My friend's mother had her tiling in wet areas done improperly, her laundry flooded and as far as I am aware, she required an ombudsman to have it repaired.

My partner also treats a lot of Hickinbotham homes (Pest Control technician) and many of his clients have complaints about the company. Nothing as serious as a slab in the wrong place though! Mostly issues with tiling not done very well, leaks, water damage.

We have now finished with the "maintenance" after the three month period, and the maintenance bloke didn't really do a great job. He got stain on our walls and floors, patched up wall damage and repainted with a completely different colour, and also broke kitchen tiles trying to fill a hole under our wall cupboards...

nohappy1000
nohappy1000

we had our slab poured in the wrong position and wrong size. The site supervisor never picked up on it, i had to ring the site supervisor and ask him why the timber frame was hanging out over the slab. They kept going with the building. They ended up cutting one side of the slab back and repouring the other side meanwhile pouring concrete all over my sliding doors and window. They scratched all the powder coating off the doors and windows then sprayed over them with a spray can. the day of hand over we still had exposed reo rods sticking out of foundations so we refused hand over until the problem was fixed and had a engineers report. Needless to say we had to get lawyers before anything was done

bron
bron

When my slab was poured they used too much water and as a result the edges of the concrete to the garage entrances are crumbling i've already had them repaired once and now 3 years later need to be redone again. to top it off i have problems with slab edge dampness as they failed to use a damp course and to pull up the plastic from the footings when doing the driveway and pathways around the house. i will have to pay to have it redone as its going to cause serious problems with the slab


sheena61

sheena61asked

Great price. Too good to be true? Did your footing costs go up much from the original quote? Also, what were the selections like? Pretty basic or quite a good range. Did you find your PC items differed much from what they quoted? Thanks very much.

2 answers
Angi
Angi

no they didn't. the selections were pretty basic and any upgrade from the standard cost quite a bit more. pc items were fairly accurate. must mention that our problem with bricks of our house has finally been corrected in that our whole house has been rendered and painted (after almost one year!)by hickinbotham, and both the renderer and painter did a really good job.

AKS1987SA
AKS1987SA

I found their quote to be pretty accurate - our footings were cheaper, and they had a decent selection of items except flooring. Definitely get that done elsewhere. Better quality for your money - same with air con. Watch them though, their customer service was disgusting once we had a problem. They installed the wrong cupboards in our kitchen and we had to see a lawyer to have it resolved...4-5 months later.


Get an answer from our members and Hickinbotham representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.