1 photo
HIF (Health Insurance Fund)

HIF (Health Insurance Fund)

2.9 from 124 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by HIF (Health Insurance Fund)

Reviews

3.7
12 reviews
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (7)
  • Transparency
    4.5 (6)
  • Customer Service
    5.0 (7)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (5)
    • 1-2 weeks (1)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (7) · No
Previous
Next
Ben
Ben
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Covered when you need

published

My wife was admitted for emergency back surgery. Very stressful situation. I spoke to HIF literally 30min before she was admitted and they were very helpful with the process etc
HIF were there when we needed and I would recommend.
Thanks!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
HIF (Health Insurance Fund)
HIF A.HIF (Health Insurance Fund)
Ben
Ben

Shall do! Thanks!!

James
JamesMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

Best private health

published

I have been a member for 5+ years and have added my wife and now newborn son to our cover. The cover is brilliant and covers all our needs for a affordable price. Every time I have contacted HIF the staff are so friendly and helpful. Every claim I have made has been paid and the team make sure everything is sorted so promptly.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
HIF (Health Insurance Fund)
HIF A.HIF (Health Insurance Fund)
Ravshan U.
Ravshan U.Perth, WA

I can't be more thankful!

published

I was with them from early 2011 till 2013 on overseas visitor hospital cover. My wife joined a few month later.
11 month after my wife joining HIF our first child was born and needed intensive care, and hospital costs came to about 20k. Due to her not having completed 12 month waiting period HIF first declined to cover these costs. However after I mentioned that they have earlier had told me over the phone that it would be covered (wrongly assuming me and my wife joined at the same time), they quickly (within hour) investigated the recorded calls and told me they will accept the claim.
We were of course over the moon! That time 20k was hell lot of money that we didn't have.
Belated thanks to HIF!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital Only
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJuly 2012
Claim ApprovedYes
HIF (Health Insurance Fund)
HIF A.HIF (Health Insurance Fund)
Health Insurance

Find out how HIF (Health Insurance Fund) compares to other Health Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mrs A
Mrs APerth, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

A very happy HIF member.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
HIF (Health Insurance Fund)
HIF A.HIF (Health Insurance Fund)
Mrs A
Mrs A

David, what a lovely response! Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive and caring reply. My husband and I are doing great now thanks, both happy and healthy thanks to HIF. :) Take care and keep up the great work!

Bertie59
Bertie59Perth, WA
  • Verified

Glad I made the switch

published

Up until recently, I was with another insurer and paying a very high premium. I recently switched to HIF and while I slightly lowered my cover, I have managed to save a lot of money and still be covered for the things I need. I signed up over the phone and the salesperson, Gavin, was friendly and knowledgeable and made everything easy for me to understand (I'm a bit of a technophobe!). So far I'm very happy with the service and the benefits I've received for my optical and dental claims. I'm glad I've made the switch.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
HIF (Health Insurance Fund)
HIF A.HIF (Health Insurance Fund)

Related Articles

Previous

Best Super Funds in 2020!

A good super fund can make a substanial difference to the amount you retire with. From retail super funds to self managed super funds, view reviewer ratings for the best super funds of 2020!

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.7 Nov 2019
best-super-funds-in-2020

Best Credit Cards in 2020!

Whether it's the sign up bonus, rates and fees, or reliable customer service that you look for in a credit card, a credit card is often used everyday, so it's important you choose one that meets your needs and that you're happy with. These are the best credit cards this year, as decided by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.19 Nov 2019
best-credit-cards-in-2020

Australian Government Rebates & Incentives for Private Health Insurance

There are a number of government rebates, discounts, and additional charges that could apply to you when taking out private health insurance. We've outlined the main ones here so you don't have to dig through all the research yourself.

Nathan S.
Nathan S.7 Feb 2020
australian-government-rebates-incentives-for-private-health-insurance
Next
Michael
MichaelPerth, WA

Excellent Service

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim ApprovedYes
HIF (Health Insurance Fund)
HIF A.HIF (Health Insurance Fund)
Rachel Lee
Rachel LeePerth, WA

HIF rocks ! Especially Carly !

published

Spoke to Carly regarding claiming online as the app wasnt playing ball.
She has gone above and beyond exceeding expectations after I have had issues with my card at my naturopath visits.
This lady is truly an asset to your awesome company. I wish I switched from HBF a lot earlier.
Thank you !!!!

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
HIF (Health Insurance Fund)
HIF A.HIF (Health Insurance Fund)

Questions & Answers

kevin b
kevin basked

I have gold star hospital & super extras, can I claim for A REPLACEMENT PILLOW MASK for my existing machine, which had before joining HIF, I have been a member for over 4 years

1 answer
HIF (Health Insurance Fund)
HIF A.HIF (Health Insurance Fund)

Hi Kevin,

Thank you for getting in touch. So that I can investigate this for you and look into your policy includions, do you mind sending through your HIF member number to our email address: social@hif.com.au.

From here we can access your policy and give you a better idea of what you are covered for.

Kind regards,
Ricky @ HIF.

Peter McNess
Peter McNessasked

Hello
This is Peter Mcness one of your members.
Please let me know, what is the incentive reward for getting a family member or friend to switch from Medibank to HIF?
Thanks

1 answer
HIF
HIF

Hi Peter,

Thanks for your question. It’s our preference to reward our existing members which is why we have our member referral program. If you recommend HIF to family or friends, make sure they mention your name when joining as you'll be rewarded with a $70 eftpos card for each successful referral (and there's no limit to how many you can earn!). Information on our Member Rewards Program can be found on our website if you’re interested in finding out more: www.hif.com.au/members/member-rewards

Peter, if you have any more questions or feedback, please don’t hesitate to email me directly at social@hif.com.au.

Warm regards, Lisa.

glenville
glenvilleasked

I am currently a member of HIF on Goldstar basic. I suffer from sleep apnea. If I buy a Cpap Machine, can I claim something from the fund? glenvilleaitken@gmial.com. Thank you.

2 answers
HIF (Health Insurance Fund)
HIF A.HIF (Health Insurance Fund)

Hello Glenville,

Thanks for your question. We certainly do pay a rebate on CPAP machines however it’s included on our Super or Premium Options Extras Covers (not Hospital cover) within the External Prosthesis / Medical Appliance category. Here's a quick overview of what can be claimed:

One machine can be claimed every 5 years from the previous supply (per person) and the benefit will be deducted from the Prosthesis annual limit of $1,500. The benefits payable are:
$300 for Members who've held Super or Premium Options for 3-5 years.
$600 for Members who've held Super or Premium Options for 5+ years.

It’s important to note though, that a 3-year waiting period would apply for this service should you wish to add Extras cover to your existing hospital cover. I hope this helps, however, if you have any further questions, or would like to speak with one of our Product Experts, feel free to email me directly at social@hif.com.au and I can arrange this for you.

Take care, Lisa.

glenville
glenville

Thanks, i also rang and found out same info.

See all HIF (Health Insurance Fund) questions

Get an answer from our members and HIF (Health Insurance Fund) representatives

Details

CategoryHealth Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Pet and Travel

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.