1 photo
Holden Astra AH

Holden Astra AH (2004-2009)

3.4 from 99 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Convertibles in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Holden

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    1.0 (1)
  • Braking
    4.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    2.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    2.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    3.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    3.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    1.0 (1)
  • Features
    1.0 (1)
Previous
Clear all
Next
Byron N.
Byron N.Western Australia
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Horrible car, noisy and unreliable

published

Purchased in May 2009 at Hyundai Dealers for $21,000.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sam ADAM
Sam ADAMNowra
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

DON'T BUY THIS TRASH

published

Bought this car in 2014 for $7000 however, I had to spend another $4000 repairs
The car shakes/judders when driving at 60km or higher. The sports button makes the car undrivable. Another typical European Holden, nothing but problems.

Avoid at all costs especially L and P platers as we don't have that much money to spend.

BodyHatch
BadgeCDTI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jacob g
Jacob g
  • 2 reviews

Crap car

published

Worst car ive ever owned. I cant believe there are reviews stating astras are great little cars far from it. I got the wagon 2006 model for 6grand. The horn stoped working after the first week. Then only 1 year later replaced the brake pads but there aas a major problems so from a $300 job it turned into $1000. And just only after that the coil pack went and the parts for the astra wagon are so expensive seriously guys this is the worst type of car and now i have a new problem and j dont know what has happened for ages it keeps cutting out after i try to turn it on and its not the starter motor or the alternator

BodyWagon
BadgeCDX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Worst car of all award goes to Astra

published

Worst car of all. Coolant started leaking just at 70000km and again at 120000k, head gasket failed at 150000K, Transmission failed at 160000K, now at 170000k engine has starting misfiring. Had to change front wheel bearings, power window motor, sway bar links. Should have gone for Japanese car.

Dealers were worse then the car itself. Rear Power window weren't working so went it to have it checked. Dealer said we need to replace the electric motor cost estimate ($900). The best part was that I had already checked and the motor was working fine, it was the window regulator that was broken cost estimate ($50). Bought it over ebay and fixed it myself rather get duped for $900. What a farce.

BodyHatch
BadgeCDX
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2005
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Convertibles

Find out how Holden Astra AH compares to other Convertibles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Holden Astra Sucks

published

After 13 fixes $41,000 later the judge says no money just 1 more fix
Watever big business sux
So 6 years later I'm supposed to be patient for one more time so the judge can say you've had the cat for 7 years you've used it right?

No I've had Anxiety each time i opened the roof.

June 6th 2018 Update: Holden Astra was so bad it hit discontinued... not only that some parts you cannot get

If you want to spend 45K then sob for the following years... deal with holden! I regretted having ever dealt with them and the last straw was to find out some parts have been totally discontinued.... joke
The times I was left by the way side - rained on ... how infuriating.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ray
RayPerth
  • 2 reviews

Dont buy one and if you have one sell it now

published
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
BodyHatch
BadgeCD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
drew76
drew76Perth, WA
  • 19 reviews
  • 22 likes

Solid and good looking. Mechanically soul destroying.

published
Engine Size1.9DTH
TransmissionManual
BadgeCDTI
BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next

2009 Holden Astra Hatch

published
TransmissionAuto
BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Terrible car

published
Engine SizeSRI 2.2
Transmission4 speed auto
BodyHatch
Cloudy
Cloudy
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Convertibles

Find out how Holden Astra AH compares to other Convertibles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
DissapointedDriver2012
DissapointedDriver2012QLD, 4852
  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

I regret the day that I drove out of the dealership!

published
Engine Size4 Cyl
TransmissionAuto
BodyHatch
RGVturbo
RGVturbo

from what i read the water pump and the cams share the same belt. so the last time you gave up was when the cam belt snapped. I feel sorry for you reading this.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
ginga13
ginga13
  • 2 reviews

Terrible

published
BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Terrible

published
BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Convertibles

Find out how Holden Astra AH compares to other Convertibles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
kylie_mul
kylie_mulNorthern Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Terrible

published
BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bushypete
Bushypete
  • 37 reviews
  • 12 likes

Terrible

published

Having managed fleets for many years I can say the Holden Astra has to be the most unreliable car we have had, no other car in the mid-ranged field has had so many electrical problems and breakdowns, I would not recommend this car for these points. However if you are still interested in what I have to say Holden fixed all the issues under warranty and never once ripped me off, the services were I felt expensive, but now the Astra is no longer imported into Australia long live the Cruze which will be made in Australia in 2011
Firm ride, sharp handling
Not reliable, expensive to service

BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Terrible

published
BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all Holden Astra reviews

Questions & Answers

Mel
Melasked
Astra AH (2004-2009)

Holden astra 2006 ah sti cuts out when driving and sometimes won't start. Any ideas as to problem?

No answers
Ash W.
Ash W.asked
Astra AH (2004-2009)

How do I know which gearbox I have 05 holden astra ah auto 1.8

No answers
Ash W.
Ash W.asked
Astra AH (2004-2009)

How do I know what gear box I have it's a 05 ah astra auto 1.8

1 answer
lee.hayes.102977
lee.hayes.102977

The car’s ID tag should give you a transmission serial number.

See all Holden Astra AH (2004-2009) questions

Get an answer from our members and Holden representatives

Holden Astra AH (2004-2009)

Details

Compare all 17 Holden Astra
CategoryCars, Convertibles and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $24,290.00
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypeDiesel and Petrol
Wheels16" Steel
ANCAP Safety Rating4 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.8 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 52 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.8L
Max Power103kW @ 6300rpm
Max Torque170Nm @ 3800rpm
Country of ManufactureBelgium
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2004
Discontinuation dateDec 2009
Replaced byHolden Astra PJ
Compare all 17 Holden Astra

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.