1 photo
Holden Astra AH

Holden Astra AH (2004-2009)

3.4 from 99 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Convertibles in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Holden

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.5 (2)
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (2)
  • Braking
    5.0 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    5.0 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (2)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.5 (2)
  • Handling
    5.0 (2)
  • Interior Design
    5.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    3.5 (2)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (2)
  • Features
    3.0 (2)
Previous
Clear all
Next
Pandie
PandieCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

2009 Hatch

published

German design makes for lovely traction and handling.
Seems to be lacking some features my old 2006 Commodore had, although I haven't thoroughly searched through the manual properly:
No option for digital speed readout.
No switch for automatic headlights.
No sunglasses holder.
No Bluetooth in factory sound system.
Only one cupholder (although it will accommodate a wider cup that wouldn't fit in the Commodore's holder.
Otherwise, I'm happy.

Purchased in September 2020 for $3,800.

Build Quality
4/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
xtowen
xtowenwollongong
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

wonderful fora little car

published

this car is just enough for myself , small but is put down the back seat the room is big enough for any loading. I service the car once a year but never have problem , i can not believe this car allready been 11 years. never have any big issues,

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Naomi
NaomiSydney
  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car

published

Car is great
Reliable...zippy...good fuel economy
After time the interior door panels came loose.
The colour and exterior has withstood the elements well.
Strangely the clutch and brake pedals feel incredibly close together and I would prefer it had some cup holders. But generally a gregreat car. Although a manual car in the city can be tough going in the traffic.

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
Engine Size1.9L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2007
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hobart
HobartHobart
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Coil pack misfire

published

Bought it in early 2011 in Pickle Aution OD: 41000km, running very well for small car, happy with the fuel consumption. full tank 42-45L can run 520 - 560km.

2015 found it engine misfire, change the coil pack at Motors, cost around $600 and fixed problem.

2016 replace new battery.

Will keep this car till new born baby arrive, thinking to upgrade to SUV or bigger family car.

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2011
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Convertibles

Find out how Holden Astra AH compares to other Convertibles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
KZN
KZNNew South Wales
  • 12 reviews
  • 5 likes

Comfy, Powerfull and Good Looking

published

Purchased in July 2014 for $9,500.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
KZN
KZN
KZN
KZN
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

2005 Holden Astra AH CD - excellent car

published
Badge0
Engine Size1.8L
TransmissionAutomatic
BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
irishpete
irishpete
  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

2009 Astra 1.9CDTI Manual

published
Engine Size1.9CDTI
TransmissionManual
BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next
David5864
David5864AU
  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

SRI Turbo is a great car, vey fun to drive

published
Engine Size2.0L Turbo Petrol
BodyCoupe
BadgeSRi Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2010
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
annoyed
annoyedMelbourne
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good for a first car

published

This is my first car and have found it very reliable. Purchased second hand at 60,000k. Easy to maintain/service, although at around 100,000km the timing belt needs replacing and this can be pricey- so be wary if purchasing one around 90,000k. Cruise control is a breeze, very good on petrol, handles well. Not sure about other models but my car has full airbags including curtain airbags.
If you are outside the car and hold the unlock button down all the windows go down/ go up when you hold down lock. Cool trick and can close the windows once you've left the car.
Only one cupholder, no console/elbow rest.

TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeCD
BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Convertibles

Find out how Holden Astra AH compares to other Convertibles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Roger
Roger
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

We like it ...

published

We really like our Astra Twin Top. It had a few issues when it was brand new such as having to have the fuel pump replaced 3 times. This issue ended up being an issue that they recalled all the Twin Tops to fix. But now that is all sorted its a great car. It looks great and drives really well.
Sunny days with the top down
the roof takes a fair while to go up and down.

Transmission6 speed manual
BodyConvertible
Nitin
Nitin
Tinsel
Tinsel
prestigelink
prestigelink
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
ldigitalbathl
ldigitalbathlCanberra
  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great car! I wish i did more research though.

published
Engine SizeZ18XE
BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
hawat
hawat
  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Pleasantly surprised ! Best twin top in its class.

published
Transmissionmanual
BadgeTwin Top
BodyConvertible
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Convertibles

Find out how Holden Astra AH compares to other Convertibles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great Allrounder

published

I have had the Astra for about 4 years now, it has been a great all round car for the family,surfboards,sleeping and moving .The only problem was a air conditioner coil that was replaced, apparently a standard astra problem over the years. It has a bit of style and space for a very affordable price, go out and buy one today.
Reliable , inexpensive

TransmissionAuto
BodyWagon
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Good

published

It's a great car and a great head turner, especially with the top down. only dissapointment-engine is starting to get a bit noisy after only 13K.
looks great and drives well, handles corners sensationally.
Indicators are hard to turn on and keep on.

BodyConvertible
tcl66
tcl66
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
babyblade86
babyblade86
  • 90 reviews
  • 9 likes

Good

published
BodyConvertible
mariah
mariah

is this a twin top hard top leaking ?
I thought this only happens on soft top cars

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2
See all Holden Astra reviews

Questions & Answers

Mel
Melasked
Astra AH (2004-2009)

Holden astra 2006 ah sti cuts out when driving and sometimes won't start. Any ideas as to problem?

No answers
Ash W.
Ash W.asked
Astra AH (2004-2009)

How do I know which gearbox I have 05 holden astra ah auto 1.8

No answers
Ash W.
Ash W.asked
Astra AH (2004-2009)

How do I know what gear box I have it's a 05 ah astra auto 1.8

1 answer
lee.hayes.102977
lee.hayes.102977

The car’s ID tag should give you a transmission serial number.

See all Holden Astra AH (2004-2009) questions

Get an answer from our members and Holden representatives

Holden Astra AH (2004-2009)

Details

Compare all 17 Holden Astra
CategoryCars, Convertibles and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $24,290.00
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypeDiesel and Petrol
Wheels16" Steel
ANCAP Safety Rating4 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.8 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 52 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.8L
Max Power103kW @ 6300rpm
Max Torque170Nm @ 3800rpm
Country of ManufactureBelgium
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2004
Discontinuation dateDec 2009
Replaced byHolden Astra PJ
Compare all 17 Holden Astra

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.