1 photo
Holden Astra AH

Holden Astra AH (2004-2009)

3.4 from 99 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Convertibles in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Holden

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    5.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (2)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (2)
  • Braking
    4.5 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.0 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.5 (2)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (2)
  • Handling
    4.5 (2)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (2)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (2)
  • Comfort
    5.0 (2)
  • Features
    4.5 (2)
Previous
Clear all
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
BERnAced7
BERnAced7Perth, WA
  • 3 reviews

Top Car to roll tight in!

published

Purchased car @ Ventura Autos in Welshpool Western Australia.. James the owner is professional, accommodating and goes beyond expectation of service. Bought a CDX Astra 2006 and it's valued for the price!

Purchased in August 2019 at Ventura Autos for $2,600.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Darion
DarionGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great little car...solid build

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in February 2005 at Barloworld.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
perry
perryNorth Western Region, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

family car

published

serviced twice a year used for visiting relatives around the state excellent on fuel economy sum long like to sydney or larger regoinal citys liks dubbo or mudgee shopping trips to larger towns mostly over an hour away or doctors appoinments eye or heart specialist, vacation driving to the coast

BodyWagon
BadgeCDXi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2007
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stacey J
Stacey JAU
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Favourite car!

published

My car got written off and I bought a second hand Holden Astra and have never looked back! It feels so good to drive it’s so smooth, not too big on the outside but spacious five seater on the inside and best of all it’s very cheap on fuel! It’s honestly the best car I have ever owned!

BodyHatch
BadgeCDX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Convertibles

Find out how Holden Astra AH compares to other Convertibles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Abe
AbeAU
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great reliable car

published

We bought this car when it was 10 years old. It has done 160,000km and has proven to be very reliable with no major issues so far. It is quite cheap to run for city trips, however on long highway trips it could really have done with having an extra gear, at 110 it's pushing close to 3000rpm. Overall it is a good car that we plan to keep for a while, I'd highly recommend them.

BodyWagon
Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Best of 10 cars I ever owned

published

Amazing handling like a sports car -solid build throughout- pretty reliable over 10 years - large boot space -perfect dimension vehicle and perfect size for parking - good road-holding dynamics -running costs fair- easily accessible engine- had to replace electric window control, boot lid struts and plastic coolant bottle in engine after nine years.

BodyWagon
BadgeCDX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2007
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
emma.w
emma.wMelbourne
  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Reliable, zippy and attractive model

published
BodyHatch
BadgeCD
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next
Sandra
SandraDalwallinu

Best little car I have ever driven.

published

Bought our Astra2005 new . Best little car ever. Handles like a dream seems to hug the road . Best fuel consumption I have ever had. Only issue is the paint work is now getting sunburnt and patchy

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Nitro
NitroMelbourne
  • 18 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great car and hard to find any comparative with half the options..

published

CDX Coupe! great looking car 2006 even now still looks modern and drives like new.

Many features even in high end luxury cars don't match. eg. both front seats are fully adjustable for high AND tilt!

No issues at all.

Great car and no issues. would be perfect if rear suspension was independent and had a toe adjustment but for the price and at the time it was the best.

BodyCoupe
BadgeCDX
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2006
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Convertibles

Find out how Holden Astra AH compares to other Convertibles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

12 years of ownership

published
BodyHatch
BadgeCD
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

excellent build quality and reliability

published

I owned my ah astra cd coupe for four years.apart from servicing and replacing front brake pads nothing else needed doing.It had 110000 on the clock when I bought it and 175000 when I sold it.It was a pleasure to drive being a 5 speed manual was fun and zippy couldn't really fault this car I've owned 8 previous cars and this was by far the best!

BodyCoupe
BadgeCD
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tristan Throup
Tristan ThroupNEERIM SOUTH, VIC
  • 16 reviews
  • 16 likes

Who says European cars are unreliable?

published
Engine Size1.8L
TransmissionManual
BadgeCD
BodyHatch
Tristan Throup
Tristan Throup

UPDATE: I have clocked over 200,000 kilometres without any problems. The battery needed replacing as it was 5 years old. And I have decided to get ambitious and see if I could aim to clock 400,000 kilometres.

Tristan Throup
Tristan Throup

Another thing. I've managed to get 6.7L per 100 km lately with my car. Still running on the 95 PULP. Maintain them and they could still be good for many years to come.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Convertibles

Find out how Holden Astra AH compares to other Convertibles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
dan c
dan csydney
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic family car

published

I have owned my 2008 cdx wagon for 6 yrs i have had no problems with this car, it's been fantastic it has a luxury cabin with leather seats and seat warmers very good for the winter. It is a very economical car it is very roomy inside as well.

Transmissionauto
BodyWagon
BadgeCDX
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Great Car!!!!

published

Bought the car brand new - 08 CDX wagon. Have not had a problem with it in 6 years. Very economical, very reliable. Would definitely recommend.

TransmissionAuto
BadgeCDX
BodyWagon
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Darion
DarionVictoria
  • 8 reviews
  • 11 likes

Fantastic little car

published
Engine Size1.8 litre
TransmissionAutomatic
BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2
See all Holden Astra reviews

Questions & Answers

Mel
Melasked
Astra AH (2004-2009)

Holden astra 2006 ah sti cuts out when driving and sometimes won't start. Any ideas as to problem?

No answers
Ash W.
Ash W.asked
Astra AH (2004-2009)

How do I know which gearbox I have 05 holden astra ah auto 1.8

No answers
Ash W.
Ash W.asked
Astra AH (2004-2009)

How do I know what gear box I have it's a 05 ah astra auto 1.8

1 answer
lee.hayes.102977
lee.hayes.102977

The car’s ID tag should give you a transmission serial number.

See all Holden Astra AH (2004-2009) questions

Get an answer from our members and Holden representatives

Holden Astra AH (2004-2009)

Details

Compare all 17 Holden Astra
CategoryCars, Convertibles and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $24,290.00
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypeDiesel and Petrol
Wheels16" Steel
ANCAP Safety Rating4 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.8 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 52 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.8L
Max Power103kW @ 6300rpm
Max Torque170Nm @ 3800rpm
Country of ManufactureBelgium
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2004
Discontinuation dateDec 2009
Replaced byHolden Astra PJ
Compare all 17 Holden Astra

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.