??!
1 photo
Holden Astra TS

Holden Astra TS

3.5 from 117 reviews

See the Best Convertible in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.


Emission and TCS light always on, pressing gas takes long time to increase speed and noisy engine

Hi, I just bought an old car and just recently it has some problems:
* Emission and TCS light always on
* Whenever speed back to 0 (red light, traffic), pressing gas takes long time to increase speed
* Engine has a weird noise

Can someone please help and let me know what's going on?

Thanks in advance.

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018

Ok for the price, especially being a convertible

There are not many convertible 4 seater cars in the market for the price of an Astra. convertible roofs are complex and prone to faults. Astra is not exception. but finding parts for this car is easy in Australia.
My car had these issues since owning it:
- roof stopped working. busted hydraulic pipe cost around 1k to fix
- leaking engine once from rocker gasket and once from oil pressure sensor
- wheel hub and screws and nuts needed replacements
- shock absorbents needed replacement

lots of issues for a car done just 130k. but still cheaper than trying to buy a let's say golf convertible.

BodyConvertible
BadgeBertone
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017

Manual 2000 Holden Astra Hatch. Great little first car

Bought it when I was 16 as a learners car, it’s great on fuel economy (I get about 7L/100km Maximum km is 700km and minimum is 450ish km with spirited driving) and very cheap as well ( $50 for full tank depends on fuel price ) With one full tank I can go from Dunsborough to Perth and still have half a tank left! It handles and feels like a big car, the noise on freeway driving is little to none, interior is a bit plastic-ish but it doesn’t bother me, leg room both front and rear is amazing! I can fit 5 people easily, and when I need to haul stuff I just put the rear seats down. I live in the country/coastline and I do take her off-roading/soft-roading every time and she does the job! Very reliable if maintenanced regularly, only thing to look out for when buying is the timing belt/water pump, change it every 50xxxkms. I’ve had mine for nearly 2 years of doing Learners and 18 months of P-plates and did 47xxxkms before breaking down when water pump gave up spunning the timing belt, piston hits the valve. Other than that is great reliable car.

BodyHatch
BadgeCity
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Easy fix for Holden Astra !!!!

If your Astra overheats,
goes into limp mode,
or just plain and simple runs like crap, then call me in Western Australia to fix or perhaps improve the way it runs. My mobile is 0400501037. I have had two TS Astra sedans over the years and since I made this simple modification no limp mode or faults have come and both cars have been driven by learner drivers constantly stalling.....

BodySedan
BadgeCity
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2016

Fun Fun Fun in the Sun

Great all rounder car for cruising etc
Good on fuel consumption, Performance & handling on the road with the power when you need it Perfect.
If it rains while enjoying the roof down, going 50km or more you do NOT get wet. Back seat is roomy for all passengers.
Bertone interior looks stylish with sports seats that are so comfortable, even has heater in the seats for warmth in Winter

BodyConvertible
BadgeBertone
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2015

Awesome car when in function...

Why does my astra 05 sedan. TS model
Thump into reverse also thump into drive selection and yet the motor runs and sounds normal.However when in drive car does not want to preform like every other day... trans oil check
Engine oil check. Battery check.. may it be a sensor fault.. car starts fine. Need advice plz
Thanks... Sonya perth...

BodySedan
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2010

Good reliable drive

Picked up our 05 Astra Bertone Convertible a few years ago and its been a very reliable drive. They are a good handling car with low outside noise and plenty of cabin room front and back. With the top down the radio increases and decreases volume as needed to compensate for the extra ambient noise. The only real negative is the size of the sunshield being to small to really make much of a difference.

BodyConvertible
BadgeBertone
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Not a Bad for safety

Saved my life in a massive car accident, thank god airbags worked. It was very unfortunate incident, although I believe mechanically this car wasnt A-one but m more happy to be alive. at the time of purchase it felt like a very strong carand reliable too but later iit gave me a little issues

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2003

this is a great car need some ideas too get it fixed

I have not driven the car but would love too have my beautiful car on the road. And I need a bit of help to make this hapoen. My car has some sort of problem it won't kick over and it need a water pump replacement would this have anything too do with it.

BodyHatch
BadgeVXR
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017

12 Years trouble free

Really loved my 2.2 Sri. Had a punchy engine that got upto speed quick. Gear box was smooth but clutch seemed a bit on the touchy side. In my ownership i never had problem and thought the car was well put together. The only problem i had was with the rear wing, you lost a lot of vision from behind with it.

BodyHatch
BadgeSRi
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2003

2002 City Coupe - first car - owned for 5 years now

I first got this car when I was 16 years old when I was a learner driver. I am now 21. I have not owned or wanted to own any other car. I have driven a few different vehicles including new ones and this is by far my favourite. Sure, there are lemons out there. Yes, they can and do have issues. The main one being the timing belt/water pump and coil pack. This car came out in 1998 - that's 18 years ago, but you still see plenty of them around and some have no issues at all. So they're not that bad. However not be bias let me tell you about the problems my car has had. When I first got my astra it needed its throttle body and ECU replaced by Holden (after the previous owners changed the tachometer to an incompatible one that shorted it out) - however the throttle body I discovered I can manually clean out myself (and using 95 or 98 fuel keeps it clean). My car also had coil pack issues that caused it to misfire but since replacing it (did it myself rather than through Holden to save a few hundred dollars) it has not had a single problem in 3 years since fixing these initial problems that came from a lack of regular servicing. When regularly serviced (including good quality oil) these are solid, reliable, sporty little cars. I really enjoy driving it; I have driven from Perth to Albany in it with no issues and it has gotten me to and from uni safely. I get 30mpg on average (7.8L per 100kms) and the car starts first pop every time and doesn't blow any smoke. The boot is spacious (and in the hatch I can fold the seats down - I have helped friends move house and fit so many boxes in the back in my car), it has excellent acceleration power and the build quality is very solid - thick steel, you feel very safe driving it and feel like you're in a larger car than you are. Someone in a big van hit me in the parking lot and the dent pulled right out you can't even notice where it was. I'm pleased I've kept it all this time and hope to keep it for many more years to come.

BodyCoupe
BadgeCity
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2012

Puss car

Was bad would not reccomed don't not buy very pricey in parts and Labour over all bad experience I have a car that won't start after timing belt was replaced and now car won't start if anyone is looking can I plz have some answers if possible thanks in advance

BodySedan
BadgeCDTI
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2003

Good If maintained

I have owned this car for a little while now. They handle and drive very well being German engineered. The maintenance on these vehicles however is a bit more than compared to Japanese car's of its class parts are very cheap because so many of them where bought and sold, so after market parts are easy to find and almost every wreckers I have been to has them in there yards. As long as they are maintained as per the service manual and proper repairs are done they make excellent car's to own and drive and are very economical to run they are perfect for anyone who like to do a bit of diy servicing and repairs most repairs on these cars are relatively easy to do the only draw back on the model I have is that the timing belt must be done ever 60,000 km instead of every 100 000 km apart from that I like the car I have had 1 major issue with the car since I have purchased it the cars ecu had failed which costed around 550 dollars to have it repaired apart from that the car has done 178 000 km so it's expected that something will fail but then apart from coil packs, ecu 's and timing belt replacements they do make good cars to own and a pleasure to drive

BodyHatch
BadgeCDX
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

No help given

Reported that my dash panel not working eg temp fuel and speedo not working I was told to see a auto electrician I have already done that I was looking for advice of what was wrong with electric system not to contact auto electrician that was no help at all

BodySedan
BadgeCD Classic
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2016

Generally good, but problems appear with age

Bought this car new in 2002 and still have it. It currently has 165,000 kms on the clock. Used to love this car, but age (the car's, not mine :) ) has somewhat changed my opinion. Apart from the frequent timing belt changes, I am on my 4th coil pack, 3rd thermostat, 2nd water pump, and the air conditioning hasn't worked for 3 years (too expensive to fix). And I had to replace the ECU 4 months ago (why would ANYONE bolt sensitive electronic components onto the engine block??? (vibration and extreme heat)). Other than that, it is a joy to drive, has very reasonable fuel economy, plenty of legroom front and back, plenty of space in the boot, and the hatch is really useful. Oh, and some grub drew circles with a sharp implement on all panels down the nearside. Can't understand such mentality.

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2002

Great car, sweet to drive

I loved this car. Been very reliable and is a sweet car to drive, I loved it so much. Purchased second hand, was my very first car. Had a Holden Astra 2003 Manual. I found it easy to drive, changing gears was pretty easy to learn in and I felt very safe driving it. Great for learners or first car or just a round around. I wouldn't say it is the best for doing long distances, but still goes pretty strong witj no issues!
Have had no major issues apart from replacing the starter motor which was fairly cheap, otherwise I seriously had no problems!! It was my pride and joy, handles pretty well. The only thing was the air-con was pretty dodgy and got hot, but otherwise was great.

BodyHatch
BadgeCDX
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2016

Bottomless money pit.

Had this car for four years. Performed the required services but alas, the problems continued to mount. Two ecu's, two coils packs, brake rotors and pads not lasting, engine overheating and doing the head. Thousands of dollars and mechanics who haven't a clue how to diagnose a problem, I've had enough. The car has gone into limp mode again because it is misfiring. Time for another car.

BodyHatch
BadgeCity
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic

Happy customer

I brought my 2005 Astra used in roughly 2008-2009.

I love this car. It has been mostly reliable. The only real issue I had was that I needed to replace the timing belt but I was told upon purchase that this was a common issue in Astra's. Also, I didn't like my local Holden's customer service.

Driving experience is good. It handles well with little noise. Sometimes it lags a little uphill but that's it. It's good on long trips and I find it comfortable to drive. There could be some improvement in legroom in the back but it isn't terrible.

The interior is nice and at the time of buying had the usual features in its price range.

Running costs are great! i dont spend a lot to fill the tank and I don't need to fill it often when just driving around town. Long trips doesn't use a lot compared to similiar small cars either.

This is a perfect first car and I'd happily keep it forever if it wasn't for the fact that I have now been tempted by newer model cars!

I have a daughter and when it's time for her first car I will be looking for something just like this Astra for her.

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
TransmissionAutomatic

Don't buy this car !!! Nothing but trouble

I brought a 2000 Holden Astra it did last me only 5 years but during that time every 6 months something would go it cost so much money to fix and most mechanic can never fix the problem it lacked guts very slow take off , the car shook every-time I stopped or it would turn of on hills , then got that fixed other things went wrong the radio would be so loud every time I turned the car on even tho I never turned it up , oil light would stay on even tho there was no oil leaks and always oil in it faulty dash lights!
I would never ever buy this car again nothing but trouble
The only thing I like it just got me from a to b just .

BodySedan
BadgeCD
TransmissionAutomatic

Alternator

Today I got replaced an alternator (new) and cost me 620 AUD dollar (400 for alternator and for fitting it with its supply is 220) moreover I asked for second hand alternator to get it fixed but he said me there wouldn't any warranty on that. I was just wondering either it was really($) that expensive for astra TS 2004 HATCHBACK or mechanic ripped me off. The reason I got it done was my car was acting up for 2 days as it was showing engine, sport (s), emission sing on dashboard moreover after getting start its steering used to get harder than harder after 30 second, at the end I would ask anyone here with same problem or similar bit. Thanks!

BodyHatch
BadgeCD Classic
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic

Page 1 of 6

See all Holden Astra reviews

Questions & Answers

will a 2005 Astra front guards off a sedan model fit a convertible i have just changed the bonnet that fits great, all so the same question about the boot ? i did measure it seems OK but one has springs to support the boot lid and the convertible has gas struts, but the sedan has no support holes or bracket for the struts. but i may be wrong on the exact size of boot lids
No answers

Is Astra 2004 1.8l TS motor an interference or noninterference engine?
1 answer
Interference

Does my Holden astra convertible 2003 T's model have turbo
1 answer
No they were not released in turbo that model and year...

Details

Holden Astra TS (1998-2005)
CategoryCars, Convertible, Hatchbacks and Sedans
Starting Price $43,990
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels16" Alloy
Doors2
Seats4
Fuel Consumption8.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 52 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.2L
Max Power108kW @ 5800rpm
Max Torque203Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureBelgium
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateJan 1998
Discontinuation dateJan 2005
Replaced byHolden Astra AH
Compare all Holden Astra

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.