??!
1 photo
Holden Astra TS

Holden Astra TS (1998-2005)

3.5 from 118 reviews

Reviews

3.5

118 reviews
5
(30)
4
(43)
3
(11)
2
(21)
1
(13)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.5 (2)
  • Handling
    5.0 (2)
  • Braking
    5.0 (2)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (2)
  • Interior Design
    4.5 (2)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (2)
  • Features
    4.5 (2)
  • Comfort
    5.0 (2)
Previous
Next

Finally said goodbye to my 18 year old Astra

published

Purchased in January 2003 for A$20,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2002
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ngoc Nam Nguyen

Ngoc Nam NguyenSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Emission and TCS light always on, pressing gas takes long time to increase speed and noisy engine

published

Hi, I just bought an old car and just recently it has some problems:
* Emission and TCS light always on
* Whenever speed back to 0 (red light, traffic), pressing gas takes long time to increase speed
* Engine has a weird noise

Can someone please help and let me know what's going on?

Thanks in advance.

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018
BBBrisbane

BBBrisbaneQLD, 4101

  • 17 reviews
  • 9 likes

Ok for the price, especially being a convertible

published

There are not many convertible 4 seater cars in the market for the price of an Astra. convertible roofs are complex and prone to faults. Astra is not exception. but finding parts for this car is easy in Australia.
My car had these issues since owning it:
- roof stopped working. busted hydraulic pipe cost around 1k to fix
- leaking engine once from rocker gasket and once from oil pressure sensor
- wheel hub and screws and nuts needed replacements
- shock absorbents needed replacement

lots of issues for a car done just 130k. but still cheaper than trying to buy a let's say golf convertible.

BodyConvertible
BadgeBertone
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Convertibles

Find out how Holden Astra TS compares to other Convertibles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nick B.

Nick B.Dunsborough

Manual 2000 Holden Astra Hatch. Great little first car

published
BodyHatch
BadgeCity
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Beck

BeckPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Easy fix for Holden Astra !!!!

published

If your Astra overheats,
goes into limp mode,
or just plain and simple runs like crap, then call me in Western Australia to fix or perhaps improve the way it runs. My mobile is 0400501037. I have had two TS Astra sedans over the years and since I made this simple modification no limp mode or faults have come and both cars have been driven by learner drivers constantly stalling.....

BodySedan
BadgeCity
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2016
AshlynSusan

AshlynSusanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Fun Fun Fun in the Sun

published

Great all rounder car for cruising etc
Good on fuel consumption, Performance & handling on the road with the power when you need it Perfect.
If it rains while enjoying the roof down, going 50km or more you do NOT get wet. Back seat is roomy for all passengers.
Bertone interior looks stylish with sports seats that are so comfortable, even has heater in the seats for warmth in Winter

BodyConvertible
BadgeBertone
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2015

Awesome car when in function...

published

Why does my astra 05 sedan. TS model
Thump into reverse also thump into drive selection and yet the motor runs and sounds normal.However when in drive car does not want to preform like every other day... trans oil check
Engine oil check. Battery check.. may it be a sensor fault.. car starts fine. Need advice plz
Thanks... Sonya perth...

BodySedan
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2010
Bones269

Bones269Belmont

Good reliable drive

published

Picked up our 05 Astra Bertone Convertible a few years ago and its been a very reliable drive. They are a good handling car with low outside noise and plenty of cabin room front and back. With the top down the radio increases and decreases volume as needed to compensate for the extra ambient noise. The only real negative is the size of the sunshield being to small to really make much of a difference.

BodyConvertible
BadgeBertone
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2016
gori

goriAdelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

Not a Bad for safety

published

Saved my life in a massive car accident, thank god airbags worked. It was very unfortunate incident, although I believe mechanically this car wasnt A-one but m more happy to be alive. at the time of purchase it felt like a very strong carand reliable too but later iit gave me a little issues

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2003
Convertibles

Find out how Holden Astra TS compares to other Convertibles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
jess

jesstoowoomba

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

this is a great car need some ideas too get it fixed

published

I have not driven the car but would love too have my beautiful car on the road. And I need a bit of help to make this hapoen. My car has some sort of problem it won't kick over and it need a water pump replacement would this have anything too do with it.

BodyHatch
BadgeVXR
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
John

JohnAdelaide

  • 12 reviews
  • 9 likes

12 Years trouble free

published

Really loved my 2.2 Sri. Had a punchy engine that got upto speed quick. Gear box was smooth but clutch seemed a bit on the touchy side. In my ownership i never had problem and thought the car was well put together. The only problem i had was with the rear wing, you lost a lot of vision from behind with it.

BodyHatch
BadgeSRi
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2003
Tash

TashPerth

2002 City Coupe - first car - owned for 5 years now

published
BodyCoupe
BadgeCity
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2012

Puss car

published

Was bad would not reccomed don't not buy very pricey in parts and Labour over all bad experience I have a car that won't start after timing belt was replaced and now car won't start if anyone is looking can I plz have some answers if possible thanks in advance

BodySedan
BadgeCDTI
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2003
Yusufs outdoors

Yusufs outdoorsGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 9 likes

Good If maintained

published
BodyHatch
BadgeCDX
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
philip kerr

philip kerrbrisbane

  • 2 reviews

No help given

published

Reported that my dash panel not working eg temp fuel and speedo not working I was told to see a auto electrician I have already done that I was looking for advice of what was wrong with electric system not to contact auto electrician that was no help at all

BodySedan
BadgeCD Classic
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Convertibles

Find out how Holden Astra TS compares to other Convertibles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
snapback

snapback

  • 45 reviews
  • 22 likes

Generally good, but problems appear with age

published
BodyHatch
BadgeCD
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2002

Great car, sweet to drive

published

I loved this car. Been very reliable and is a sweet car to drive, I loved it so much. Purchased second hand, was my very first car. Had a Holden Astra 2003 Manual. I found it easy to drive, changing gears was pretty easy to learn in and I felt very safe driving it. Great for learners or first car or just a round around. I wouldn't say it is the best for doing long distances, but still goes pretty strong witj no issues!
Have had no major issues apart from replacing the starter motor which was fairly cheap, otherwise I seriously had no problems!! It was my pride and joy, handles pretty well. The only thing was the air-con was pretty dodgy and got hot, but otherwise was great.

BodyHatch
BadgeCDX
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2016
JJm

JJmSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Bottomless money pit.

published

Had this car for four years. Performed the required services but alas, the problems continued to mount. Two ecu's, two coils packs, brake rotors and pads not lasting, engine overheating and doing the head. Thousands of dollars and mechanics who haven't a clue how to diagnose a problem, I've had enough. The car has gone into limp mode again because it is misfiring. Time for another car.

BodyHatch
BadgeCity
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Bullet dodger

Bullet dodgerVictoria

  • 2 reviews
  • 8 likes

Happy customer

published
BodyHatch
BadgeCD
TransmissionAutomatic
Karz

KarzSydney

  • 2 reviews

Don't buy this car !!! Nothing but trouble

published

I brought a 2000 Holden Astra it did last me only 5 years but during that time every 6 months something would go it cost so much money to fix and most mechanic can never fix the problem it lacked guts very slow take off , the car shook every-time I stopped or it would turn of on hills , then got that fixed other things went wrong the radio would be so loud every time I turned the car on even tho I never turned it up , oil light would stay on even tho there was no oil leaks and always oil in it faulty dash lights!
I would never ever buy this car again nothing but trouble
The only thing I like it just got me from a to b just .

BodySedan
BadgeCD
TransmissionAutomatic
Page 1 of 6
See all Holden Astra reviews

Questions & Answers

Mass R.

Mass R.asked

Astra TS (1998-2005)

Hi there
I have a Holden Astra TS 2003 manual. the dashboard light stopped working as well as the alarm for leaving lights on, so some times I forget to turn the lights off and get out of the car. I was wondering if anyone has the solution for it?
Thank you

No answers
Jamieson78

Jamieson78asked

Astra TS (1998-2005)

Hi i have got a 2005 Astra it tries to drive when i have foot on brake waiting for lights to change or at a stop sign if you put in neutral it seems to do the same sort of thing but maybe like a shudder is it the idling or ?? Thanks

No answers
Glenn S.

Glenn S.asked

Astra TS (1998-2005)

My digital screen is faulty can't see the whole letters an numbers y

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Other Convertibles

Previous
Mazda MX-5

Mazda MX-5

4.2
(34)
BMW M3

BMW M3

4.7
(15)
Audi TT

Audi TT

4.3
(12)
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.